DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 7/14/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are elected for examination, and claims 6-7 and 13-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Codama et al. (US Pub. No. 2002/0014836 A1), hereafter referred to as Codama.
As to claim 1, Codama discloses a display device (fig 1B, [0045]) comprising:
a rib (fig 1B, 3) including an aperture (aperture in rib 3) and an upper surface (upper surface of 3);
a partition (5) arranged on the upper surface of the rib (upper surface of 3);
a first electrode (2) overlapping with the aperture (aperture in rib 3);
an organic layer (6) including a first end portion located on the upper surface (end of 6 on upper surface of 3), and covering the first electrode (2);
a second electrode (7) including a second end portion located on the upper surface (end of 7 on upper surface of 3), and covering the organic layer (6);
a first inorganic layer (8; [0077]) arranged on the rib (3), the first inorganic layer being arranged apart from the partition (5); and
a second inorganic layer (9; [0079]) covering the partition (5), the second electrode (7), and the first inorganic layer (8),
wherein at least a part of the first inorganic layer (8) is located between the first end portion (end of 6 on upper surface of 3) and the partition (5) and is in contact with the second inorganic layer (9).
As to claim 2, Codama discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the second end portion (end portion of 7) is located between the first end portion (end portion of 6) and the first inorganic layer (8).
As to claim 3, Codama discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the partition (5 through 4) is in contact with the upper surface of the rib (upper surface of 3), and
the first inorganic layer (8) is located between the first end portion (end portion of 6) and the partition (5).
As to claim 4, Codama discloses the display device of claim 3 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first inorganic layer (8) has a frame shape surrounding the aperture in plan view (layer 8 provides a frame shape surrounding aperture in rib 3 in plan view).
As to claim 5, Codama discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the partition (5) is arranged on the first inorganic layer (8).
As to claim 8, Codama discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the partition (5/4) includes a first portion (5) having a first width, and
a second portion (4) having a second width smaller than the first width (width of 5), and
the second portion (4) is located between the first portion (5) and the rib (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Codama in view of Choung et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0077251 A1), hereafter referred to as Choung.
As to claim 9, Codama discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Codama does not disclose a power supply line.
Nonetheless, Choung discloses an organic display device including a power supply line (222) arranged on a rib (126),
wherein a second electrode (114) is in contact with the power supply line (222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the power supply line on the rib as taught by Choung in the display device of Codama since this will improve electrical connection of the common electrode and prevent voltage drop regions of the display.
As to claim 10, Codama in view of Choung disclose the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Choung further discloses wherein the power supply line (222) is located between the first inorganic layer (202) and the first end portion (end portion of 112), on the upper surface of the rib (upper surface of 126).
As to claim 11, Codama in view of Choung disclose the display device of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Choung further discloses wherein the power supply line (222) has a frame shape surrounding the aperture in plan view (aperture 124A).
As to claim 12, Codama in view of Choung disclose the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Choung further discloses wherein the first inorganic layer (202) covers a part of the power supply line (222).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12,120,938B2; and US 2012/0228603A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 9/14/2026