Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments and arguments filed May 13th, 2026 have been received and entered into the file.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 15 has overcome the requirement for restriction set forth in the Restriction mailed March 23rd, 2026. Accordingly, the requirement for restriction has been withdrawn.
Claim Status
Currently claim 15 is amended and claim 17 is new, resulting in claims 1-17 pending for examination.
Election/Restriction
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 13th, 2026.
However, as noted above, the requirement for restriction has been withdrawn and therefore election is not required, resulting in claims 1-17 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7, 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 7, the instant claim recites “a peak of a detected amount of magnesium” and “a peak of a detected amount of nickel” and “a peak of a detected amount of aluminum.” It is unclear to the examiner what peaks the instant claim refers to and how they relate to the distance from a surface to a certain depth. If the peaks are related to a graph, it is unclear to the examiner from the instant claim as written what the graph is showing (x axis, y axis). For the purposes of Examination, the peaks of the instant claim are presumed to refer to a graph of an energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) line analysis, in accordance with the instant specification (Paragraph 0132). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 5-7, they are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Regarding claims 11 and 14, the instant claim recites “a peak of a detected amount of magnesium” and “a peak of a detected amount of nickel” and “a peak of a detected amount of aluminum.” It is unclear to the examiner what peaks the instant claim refers to and how they relate to the distance from a surface to a certain depth. If the peaks are related to a graph, it is unclear to the examiner from the instant claim as written what the graph is showing (x axis, y axis). For the purposes of Examination, the peaks of the instant claim are presumed to refer to a graph of an energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) line analysis, in accordance with the instant specification (Paragraph 0132).
Regarding claims 12-14, they are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami (Chinese Patent Publication No. 113016094 A) in view of Hashimoto (Japanese Patent Publication No. 2003306331 A).
Regarding claim 1, Mikami teaches a positive electrode active material comprising:
lithium;
a transition metal M (cobalt);
oxygen (Paragraph 27), and
an additive element (magnesium, fluorine) (Paragraphs 28-29).
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material is higher than or equal to 1.0 x 1010 Ω.cm at a temperature of higher than or equal to 20 °C and lower than or equal to 30 °C and at a pressure of higher than or equal to 10 MPa and lower than or equal to 20MPa.
It is reasonable to presume that the powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material at the aforementioned temperatures and pressures is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
In the method of producing the positive electrode active material Mikami teaches the process exemplified in the embodiment shown in Figure 8.
The instant disclosure provides a step S11 in the method which is equated with the step S21 in the method of Mikami.
S11 of instant specification
S21 of Mikami
Lithium source and cobalt source are prepared (Paragraph 0365)
Lithium source and a transition metal (cobalt) source are prepared (Paragraph 207)
Lithium source: lithium carbonate, lithium hydroxide, lithium nitrate, lithium fluoride (Paragraph 0366)
Lithium source: lithium carbonate, lithium fluoride (Paragraph 208)
Cobalt Source: cobalt oxide, cobalt hydroxide (Paragraph 0367)
Transition metal source is preferably cobalt (Paragraph 209), for example cobalt oxide, cobalt hydroxide (Paragraph 210)
The instant disclosure provides a step S12 in the method which is equated with the step S22 in the method of Mikami.
S12 of instant specification
S22 of Mikami
Mixing of lithium source and cobalt source performed via wet or dry method (Paragraph 370)
Mixing of the lithium source and the transition metal source (cobalt) performed via a dry or wet method (Paragraph 212)
Performed with ball mill, bead mill (Paragraph 0371)
Performed with a ball mill, sand mill (Paragraph 212)
When using ball mill, aluminum oxide or zirconium oxide balls are preferably used (Paragraph 0371)
When using ball mill, zirconium balls are preferably used (Paragraph 212)
The instant disclosure provides a step S13 in the method which is equated with the step S23 in the method of Mikami.
S13 of instant specification
S23 of Mikami
Mixed material is heated
Mixed material is heated
Temperature: 800 ºC or high and 1100ºC or lower (Paragraph 0372)
Temperature: 800 ºC or high and 1100ºC or lower (Paragraph 214)
Time: 2 hours or more and 20 hours or less (Paragraph 0373)
Time: 2 hours or more and 20 hours or less (Paragraph 214)
Atmosphere of heat treatment: air with little moisture (Paragraph 0375)
Atmosphere of heat treatment: low moisture (Paragraph 215)
Optional cooling to room temperature of the material after heating (Paragraph 0378)
Optional cooling to room temperature of the material after heating (Paragraph 216)
The instant disclosure provides a step S14 in the method which is equated with the steps S24 and 25 in the method of Mikami, in which lithium cobalt oxide is obtained (Instant disclosure, Paragraph 0384)/recovered (Mikami, Paragraph 218).
The instant disclosure teaches a step S15 wherein the lithium cobalt oxide is heated, referred to as initial heating (Paragraph 0385). Further the instant disclosure provides that pre-synthesized lithium-cobalt oxide may be used in the Step S14, and thus the steps S11 to S13 can be skipped.
The instant disclosure teaches the initial heating is performed at least in part to reduce impurities containing in the lithium cobalt oxide obtained in Step S14 (Paragraph 0386).
Like the instant disclosure, Mikami teaches that in steps S24 and S25 (equated with the instant step S14 of the method), a composite oxide containing lithium, transition metal, and oxygen synthesized in advance can be used (Paragraph 219). Additionally, Mikami teaches that when such a pre-made material is used as the lithium transition metal composite oxide, the material preferably has few impurities (Paragraph 220).
Although Mikami does not disclose a specific step S15 of heating the lithium transition metal oxide a second time, , Mikami teaches that it is desirable for the lithium transition metal oxide at step S25 to contain few impurities, which overlaps with the function of the step S15 of the instant method which is heating to reduce impurities. As such, the ordinary artisan would expect the same properties of the final product positive electrode active material produced from the method, particularly the powder resistivity, because the desirably low impurity content of the lithium transition metal oxide of Mikami in step S25 aligns with the resulting product from heating the lithium transition metal oxide in step S15 of the instant disclosure.
In the alternative, Hashimoto discloses a production method of synthesizing lithium cobalt oxide where a mixture of a lithium compound and a cobalt compound are subjected to a first heat treatment step to promote their reaction and a second heat treatment step (Paragraph 0008) in order to control the size of the resulting particles (Paragraph 0015) and ensure a smooth final product (Paragraph 0004). Hashimoto teaches the lithium reactant may suitably be lithium carbonate or lithium nitrate (Paragraph 0003) and the cobalt compound may be suitably cobalt oxide (Paragraph 0003), overlapping with the materials provided in the instant disclosure (Paragraphs 0366-0367). Further, Hashimoto teaches the second heat treatment step performed at 850 ºC to 950 ºC for 2 to 10 hours (Paragraph 0015), overlapping with the conditions of heating the lithium cobalt oxide in step S15 of the instant method (Paragraph 0388).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of producing the positive electrode active material of Mikami to incorporate the teachings of Hashimoto in which an additional (second) heating step (equated with the step S15 of the instant method) is performed on the lithium cobalt oxide before mixing it with additives. Doing so would advantageously result in the desired particle size and smoothness of the lithium cobalt oxide, as recognized by Hashimoto.
The instant disclosure provides a step S21 in the method which is equated with the step S11 in the method of Mikami.
S21 of instant specification
S11 of Mikami
The additive element A source to be added to the lithium cobalt oxide is prepared (Paragraph 0395)
A halogen source and a magnesium source are prepared to make a first mixture (Paragraph 196)
The additive element may be a magnesium source: magnesium fluoride, magnesium oxide, magnesium hydroxide, magnesium carbonate (Paragraph 0397)
Magnesium source: magnesium fluoride, magnesium oxide, hydrous magnesium oxide, magnesium carbonate
Lithium fluoride or lithium carbonate can be used as a lithium source (Paragraph 0399)
Lithium fluoride or lithium carbonate can be used as a lithium source (Paragraph 197)
The additive element may be a fluorine source: lithium fluoride (LiF), magnesium fluoride (MgF2) (Paragraph 0398)
The halogen source: lithium fluoride (LiF), magnesium fluoride (MgF2) (Paragraph 198)
Example: lithium fluoride and magnesium fluoride are mixed at a ratio of 65:35 (Paragraph 0401)
Example: lithium fluoride and magnesium fluoride are mixed at a ratio of 65:35 (Paragraph 200)
The instant disclosure provides a step S22 in the method which is equated with the step S12 in the method of Mikami.
S22 of instant specification
S12 of Mikami
The magnesium source and the fluoride source are ground and mixed according to the conditions described above for Step S12 (Paragraph 0402)
Materials prepared in the previous step S11 are mixed and pulverized
Mixing performed via wet or dry method (Paragraph 370)
Mixing of the material performed via a dry or wet method (Paragraph 202)
Performed with ball mill, bead mill (Paragraph 0371)
Performed with a ball mill, sand mill (Paragraph 202)
When using ball mill, aluminum oxide or zirconium oxide balls are preferably used (Paragraph 0371)
When using ball mill, zirconium balls are preferably used (Paragraph 202)
The instant disclosure provides a step S23 in the method which is equated with the steps S13 and S14 in the method of Mikami.
S23 of instant specification
S13 and S14 of Mikami
The material is recovered to obtain a first mixture (Paragraph 0403)
The material is recovered to obtain a first mixture (Paragraph 204)
The particle diameter of the first mixture (D50) is in the range of 600 nm – 10 µm (Paragraph 0404)
The particle diameter of the first mixture (D50) is in the range of 600 nm – 20 µm (Paragraph 205)
The first mixture resulting from step S14 of Mikami is equated with the A source resulting from step S23 of the instant disclosure. The lithium transition metal oxide resulting from step S25 of Mikami is equated with the lithium cobalt oxide resulting from step S15 of the instant disclosure.
The instant disclosure provides a step S31 in the method which is equated with the step S31 in the method of Mikami.
S31 of instant specification
S31 of Mikami
The lithium cobalt oxide and the additive element A source (A source) are mixed (Paragraph 0409)
The first mixture obtained in step S14 and the composite oxide containing lithium and transition metal obtained in step S25 are mixed (Paragraph 225)
The mixing in Step S 31 is preferably performed under milder conditions than the mixing in Step S 12 , in order not to damage the shapes of the lithium cobalt oxide particles (Paragraph 0410)
In order not to damage the particles of the composite oxide, the mixing in step S31 is preferably performed under milder conditions than the mixing in step S12 (Paragraph 226)
For example, a condition with a smaller number of rotations or a shorter time than that for the mixing in Step S 12 is preferable (Paragraph 0410)
For example, it is preferable to perform it under the condition that the number of rotations of the mixing in step S12 is smaller or the time is shorter (Paragraph 226)
a dry method is regarded as a milder condition than a wet method. For example, a ball mill or a bead mill can be used for the mixing. When a ball mill is used, zirconium oxide balls are preferably used as a medium, for example (Paragraph 0410)
In addition, the dry method has milder conditions than the wet method. For mixing, for example, a ball mill, a sand mill, or the like can be used. When a ball mill is used, for example, zirconium balls are preferably used as the medium (Paragraph 226)
The instant disclosure provides a step S32 in the method which is equated with the step S32 and S33 in the method of Mikami.
S32 of instant specification
S32 and S33 of Mikami
The materials mixed in the above step are collected, and a mixture (Element 903) is obtained (Paragraph 0412)
The materials mixed in S31 are recovered to obtain a second mixture (Paragraph 228)
The instant disclosure provides a step S33 in the method which is equated with the step S34 in the method of Mikami.
S33 of instant specification
S34 of Mikami
The mixture is heated under conditions depending on the composition of the mixture and the particle diameter (Paragraphs 0417-0434)
The mixture is heated under conditions depending on the composition of the mixture and the particle diameter (Paragraphs 233-240)
In the case where the lithium cobalt oxide has a median diameter (D50) of approximately 12 μm, the heating temperature is preferably higher than or equal to 650° C. and lower than or equal to 950° C., for example. The heating time is preferably longer than or equal to 3 hours (Paragraph 0433).
When the average particle diameter (D50) of the particles is about 12 μm, the annealing temperature is preferably 600° C. or more and 950° C. or less, for example. The annealing time is, for example, preferably 3 hours or more (Paragraph 235)
In the case where the lithium cobalt oxide has a median diameter (D50) of approximately 5 μm, the heating temperature is preferably higher than or equal to 650° C. and lower than or equal to 950° C., for example. The heating time is preferably longer than or equal to 1 hour and shorter than or equal to 10 hour (Paragraph 0434).
When the average particle diameter (D50) of the particles is about 5 μm, the annealing temperature is preferably 600° C. or more and 950° C. or less, for example. The annealing time is, for example, preferably 1 hour or more and 10 hours or less (Paragraph 236).
The instant disclosure provides a step S34 in the method which is equated with the step S35 in the method of Mikami, in which positive electrode active material final product is obtained (Instant disclosure, Paragraph 0435)/recovered (Mikami, Paragraph 243).
For at least the above described similarities in the methods taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the final product of the positive electrode active material final product produced by the method of Mikami possesses the inherent property of a powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material is higher than or equal to 1.0 x 1010 Ω.cm at a temperature of higher than or equal to 20 °C and lower than or equal to 30 °C and at a pressure of higher than or equal to 10 MPa and lower than or equal to 20MPa, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 1.
Mikami teaches the median particle diameter of the positive electrode active material is preferably 5 μm or more and 30 μm or less (Paragraph 144-145). The average particle diameter of Mikami overlaps with the range of the median diameter of the positive electrode active material of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 3, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 1.
As described above, Mikami teaches in the step S21 of the disclosed method a halogen (fluorine) source and a magnesium source are prepared to make a first mixture (Paragraph 196 and 198), which is later mixed with the lithium transition metal oxide in step S31 (Paragraph 225).
Therefore, Mikami teaches the additive element is at least one of magnesium and fluorine, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Further, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material is a composite oxide that may additionally comprise one or both of aluminum and nickel (Paragraphs 129, 209), further meeting the instant claimed limitations of the additive element including nickel and aluminum.
Regarding claim 4, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 1.
As discussed above, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise at least one of magnesium and nickel, and it would have been obvious to provide both additive elements in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches a peak of a detected amount of magnesium in the EDX analysis (see above 112b interpretation) of the positive electrode active material particles appears in a range from the surface of the particles to a depth of 3 nm toward the center, and more preferably appears in a range to a depth of 1 nm (Paragraph 186), meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less.
It is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure teaches that the additive element may be added to the lithium source and the cobalt source in step S11 so as to obtain the lithium cobalt oxide containing the additive element in step S13 of the method. The instant disclosure teaches that when performed this modification, there is no need to separately perform S11 to S14 and S21 to S23, which results in the method being simplified and more productive (Paragraph 0340). Therefore, the instant disclosure teaches that the nickel additive may be suitably added to the positive electrode active material in the step at which lithium and cobalt-containing precursors are mixed, which aligns with the step S21 of Mikami in which an aluminum source is mixed with the lithium source and the transition metal (Paragraph 206-209). Mikami teaches the aluminum source may be suitably aluminum oxide or aluminum hydroxide, which are the same materials taught by the instant disclosure as aluminum sources used in step S21 (Paragraph 0407).
For at least the above described similarities in the methods taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the final product of the positive electrode active material final product produced by the method of Mikami possesses the inherent property of the peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 4.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel.
It is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention, as discussed above in the rejections of claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claim 6, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 4.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium.
It is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention, as discussed above in the rejections of claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claim 7, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 4.
As discussed above, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise aluminum, and it would have been obvious to additionally provide aluminum as an additive element in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm.
It is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure teaches that the additive element may be added to the lithium source and the cobalt source in step S11 so as to obtain the lithium cobalt oxide containing the additive element in step S13 of the method. The instant disclosure teaches that when performed this modification, there is no need to separately perform S11 to S14 and S21 to S23, which results in the method being simplified and more productive (Paragraph 0340). Therefore, the instant disclosure teaches that the aluminum additive may be suitably added to the positive electrode active material in the step at which lithium and cobalt-containing precursors are mixed, which aligns with the step S21 of Mikami in which a nickel source is mixed with the lithium source and the transition metal (Paragraph 206-209). Mikami teaches the nickel source may be suitably nickel oxide or nickel hydroxide, which are the same materials taught by the instant disclosure as nickel sources used in step S21 (Paragraph 0407).
For at least the above described similarities in the methods taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the final product of the positive electrode active material final product produced by the method of Mikami possesses the inherent property of the peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Mikami teaches a positive electrode active material comprising:
lithium;
a transition metal M (cobalt);
oxygen (Paragraph 27), and
an additive element (magnesium, fluorine) (Paragraphs 28-29).
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach wherein a powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material is higher than or equal to 1.0 x 105 Ω.cm at a temperature of higher than or equal to 180 °C and lower than or equal to 200 °C and at a pressure of higher than or equal to 0.3 MPa and lower than or equal to 2 MPa.
It is reasonable to presume that the powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material at the aforementioned temperatures and pressures is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
As described above, the following method steps of Mikami and the instant disclosure were related to draw such a conclusion, owing to the similarities in the conditions and the sequence of steps of the aforementioned disclosures.
S11 of instant specification
S21 of Mikami
S12 of instant specification
S22 of Mikami
S13 of instant specification
S23 of Mikami
S14 of instant specification
S24 and S25 of Mikami
S15 of the instant specification
Resulting composition of lithium cobalt oxide taught by Mikami, or in the alternative taught by the modification of Mikami in view of Hashimoto
S21 of instant specification
S11 of Mikami
S22 of instant specification
S12 of Mikami
S23 of instant specification
S13 and S14 of Mikami
S31 of instant specification
S31 of Mikami
S32 of instant specification
S32 and S33 of Mikami
S33 of instant specification
S34 of Mikami
Regarding claim 9, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 8.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 2, Mikami teaches the median particle diameter of the positive electrode active material is preferably 5 μm or more and 30 μm or less (Paragraph 144-145). The average particle diameter of Mikami overlaps with the range of the median diameter of the positive electrode active material of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 10, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 8.
As described above in the rejection of claim 3, Mikami teaches in the step S21 of the disclosed method a halogen (fluorine) source and a magnesium source are prepared to make a first mixture (Paragraph 196 and 198), which is later mixed with the lithium transition metal oxide in step S31 (Paragraph 225).
Further, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material is a composite oxide that may additionally comprise one or both of aluminum and nickel (Paragraphs 129, 209), further meeting the instant claimed limitations of the additive element including nickel and aluminum.
Therefore, Mikami teaches the additive element is at least one of magnesium, fluorine, aluminum, or nickel, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 8.
As described above in the rejection of claim 4, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise at least one of magnesium and nickel, and it would have been obvious to provide both additive elements in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches a peak of a detected amount of magnesium in the EDX analysis (see above 112b interpretation) of the positive electrode active material particles appears in a range from the surface of the particles to a depth of 3 nm toward the center, and more preferably appears in a range to a depth of 1 nm (Paragraph 186), meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less.
It is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure teaches that the additive element may be added to the lithium source and the cobalt source in step S11 so as to obtain the lithium cobalt oxide containing the additive element in step S13 of the method. The instant disclosure teaches that when performed this modification, there is no need to separately perform S11 to S14 and S21 to S23, which results in the method being simplified and more productive (Paragraph 0340). Therefore, the instant disclosure teaches that the nickel additive may be suitably added to the positive electrode active material in the step at which lithium and cobalt-containing precursors are mixed, which aligns with the step S21 of Mikami in which an aluminum source is mixed with the lithium source and the transition metal (Paragraph 206-209). Mikami teaches the aluminum source may be suitably aluminum oxide or aluminum hydroxide, which are the same materials taught by the instant disclosure as aluminum sources used in step S21 (Paragraph 0407).
For at least the above described similarities in the methods taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the final product of the positive electrode active material final product produced by the method of Mikami possesses the inherent property of the peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 11.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 5, Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel.
It is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention, as discussed above in the rejections of claims 1, 4, 8, and 11.
Regarding claim 13, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 11.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 6, Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium.
It is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention, as discussed above in the rejections of claims 1, 4, 8, and 11.
Regarding claim 14, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claim 11.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 7, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise aluminum, and it would have been obvious to additionally provide aluminum as an additive element in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm.
It is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure teaches that the additive element may be added to the lithium source and the cobalt source in step S11 so as to obtain the lithium cobalt oxide containing the additive element in step S13 of the method. The instant disclosure teaches that when performed this modification, there is no need to separately perform S11 to S14 and S21 to S23, which results in the method being simplified and more productive (Paragraph 0340). Therefore, the instant disclosure teaches that the aluminum additive may be suitably added to the positive electrode active material in the step at which lithium and cobalt-containing precursors are mixed, which aligns with the step S21 of Mikami in which a nickel source is mixed with the lithium source and the transition metal (Paragraph 206-209). Mikami teaches the nickel source may be suitably nickel oxide or nickel hydroxide, which are the same materials taught by the instant disclosure as nickel sources used in step S21 (Paragraph 0407).
For at least the above described similarities in the methods taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the final product of the positive electrode active material final product produced by the method of Mikami possesses the inherent property of the peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Mikami teaches a secondary battery comprising (Paragraph 274):
a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material comprising lithium, a transition metal M (cobalt), an additive element (magnesium, fluorine), and oxygen (Paragraphs 27-29, 279), and
an electrolyte solution (Paragraphs 274, 321);
and a separator (Paragraph 332).
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material is higher than or equal to 1.0 x 1010 Ω.cm at a temperature of higher than or equal to 20 °C and lower than or equal to 30 °C and at a pressure of higher than or equal to 10 MPa and lower than or equal to 20 MPa.
It is reasonable to presume that the powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material at the aforementioned temperatures and pressures is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
As described above, the following method steps of Mikami and the instant disclosure were related to draw such a conclusion, owing to the similarities in the conditions and the sequence of steps of the aforementioned disclosures.
S11 of instant specification
S21 of Mikami
S12 of instant specification
S22 of Mikami
S13 of instant specification
S23 of Mikami
S14 of instant specification
S24 and S25 of Mikami
S15 of the instant specification
Resulting composition of lithium cobalt oxide taught by Mikami, or in the alternative taught by the modification of Mikami in view of Hashimoto
S21 of instant specification
S11 of Mikami
S22 of instant specification
S12 of Mikami
S23 of instant specification
S13 and S14 of Mikami
S31 of instant specification
S31 of Mikami
S32 of instant specification
S32 and S33 of Mikami
S33 of instant specification
S34 of Mikami
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach wherein the electrolyte solution has a current density of less than or equal to 1.0 mA cm-2 at any voltage of lower than or equal to 5.0 V when a linear sweep voltammetry measurement is performed at a voltage scanning rate of 1.0 m vs-1 at a temperature of 25 °C on a coin cell comprising a working electrode in which a mixture of a conductive material and a binder with a ratio of 1: 1 is applied to a current collector coated with carbon; a lithium metal counter electrode.
It is noted by the Examiner that the limitation of “a linear sweep voltammetry measurement is performed at a voltage scanning rate of 1.0 m vs-1 at a temperature of 25 °C on a coin cell comprising a working electrode in which a mixture of a conductive material and a binder with a ratio of 1: 1 is applied to a current collector coated with carbon; a lithium metal counter electrode” is a method limitation directed to how the property of the product is measured and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of measuring a feature of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2133.
However, it is reasonable to presume that the currently density of the electrolyte, when measured in the above described way of the instant claim, is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches an electrolyte composition used in the secondary battery which is similar to that of the instant disclosure, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention. Further, Mikami teaches that in the fabrication of the coin cell the working electrode comprises conductive material and a binder, which is suitably coated on the current collector (Paragraph 152). Mikami teaches that lithium metal may be suitably used as the counter electrode of the cell (Paragraph 153).
The following similarities in the electrolyte solutions of Mikami and the instant invention are highlighted below:
Electrolyte of instant specification
Electrolyte of Mikami
Comprises a solvent and a lithium salt (Paragraph 0487)
Comprises a solvent and an electrolyte (Paragraph 321)
Aprotic organic solvents preferably used:
ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), butylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), methyl formate, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate, methyl propionate, propyl propionate, methyl butyrate, 1,3-dioxane, 1,4-dioxane, dimethoxyethane (DME), dimethyl sulfoxide, diethyl ether, methyl diglyme, acetonitrile, benzonitrile, tetrahydrofuran, sulfolane, and sultone can be used, or two or more of these solvents can be used in an appropriate combination in an appropriate ratio (Paragraph 0487).
Aprotic organic solvents preferably used:
ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), butylene carbonate, vinyl chloride carbonate, vinylene carbonate, and γ-butyrolactone can be used. , γ-valerolactone, dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), methyl formate, methyl acetate, ethyl acetate, methyl propionate, propyl propionate, methyl butyrate, 1,3-dioxane, 1,4-dioxane, ethylene glycol dimethyl ether (DME), dimethyl sulfoxide, diethyl ether, methyl One of methyl diglyme, acetonitrile, benzonitrile, tetrahydrofuran, sulfolane, sultone, etc., or two or more of the above can be used in any combination and ratio (Paragraph 321).
Ionic liquids to prevent the secondary battery from exploding/igniting:
aliphatic onium cations such as a quaternary ammonium cation, a tertiary sulfonium cation, and a quaternary phosphonium cation, and aromatic cations such as an imidazolium cation and a pyridinium cation.
monovalent amide-based anion, a monovalent methide-based anion, a fluorosulfonate anion, a perfluoroalkylsulfonate anion, a tetrafluoroborate anion, a perfluoroalkylborate anion, a hexafluorophosphate anion, and a perfluoroalkylphosphate anion (Paragraph 0495)
Ionic liquids for flame retardancy and decrease volatility:
aliphatic onium cations such as quaternary ammonium cations, tertiary sulfonium cations, and quaternary phosphonium cations, or aromatic cations such as imidazolium cations and pyridinium cations
monovalent amide anions, monovalent methide anions, fluorosulfonic acid anions, perfluoroalkylsulfonic acid anions, tetrafluoroborate anions, and perfluoroalkyl borate anions, Hexafluorophosphate anion, or perfluoroalkyl phosphate anion (Paragraph 322)
Lithium salt:
LiPF6 , LiClO4 , LiAsF6 , LiBF4 , LiAlCl4 , LiSCN, LiBr, LiI, Li2 SO4 , Li2 B10 Cl10 , Li2 B12 Cl12 , LiCF3 SO3 , LiC4 F9 SO3 , LiC(CF3 SO2 )3 , LiC(C2 F5 SO2 )3 , LiN(CF3 SO2 )2 , LiN(C4 F9 SO2 )(CF3 SO2 ), and LiN(C2 F5 SO2 )2 can be used, or two or more of these lithium salts can be used in an appropriate combination at an appropriate ratio (Paragraph 0498)
Lithium salt:
LiPF6, LiClO4, LiAsF6, LiBF4, LiAlCl4, LiSCN, LiBr, LiI, Li2SO4, Li2B10Cl10, Li2B12Cl12, LiCF3SO3, LiC4F9SO3, LiC(CF3SO2)3, LiC(C2F5SO2)3, LiC(C2F5SO2)3 can be used. LiN(CF3SO2)2, LiN(C4F9SO2)(CF3SO2), LiN(C2F5SO2)2 and other lithium salts, or two or more of the above can be used in any combination and ratio (Paragraph 323)
Impurity content: the electrolyte solution is preferably highly purified with the weight ratio of impurities to the electrolyte solution is preferably less than or equal to 1 wt %, further preferably less than or equal to 0.1 wt %, still further preferably less than or equal to 0.01 wt % (Paragraph 0499).
Impurity content: the electrolyte solution is preferably highly purified with the weight ratio of impurities to the electrolyte solution is preferably less than or equal to 1 wt %, further preferably less than or equal to 0.1 wt %, still further preferably less than or equal to 0.01 wt % (Paragraph 324).
Possible to include additives:
vinylene carbonate (VC), propane sultone (PS), tert-butylbenzene (TBB), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), lithium bis(oxalate)borate (LiBOB), a dinitrile compound such as succinonitrile or adiponitrile, fluorobenzene, ethylene glycol bis(propionitrile) ether may be added to the electrolyte solution.
The concentration of the material to be added in the whole solvent is, for example, higher than or equal to 0.1 wt % and lower than or equal to 5 wt % (Paragraph 0500)
Possible to include additives:
vinylene carbonate, propane sultone (PS), tert-butylbenzene (TBB), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), lithium bisoxalate borate (LiBOB) or succinonitrile to the electrolyte. Additives such as dinitrile compounds such as adiponitrile. The concentration of the added material can be set to, for example, 0.1 wt% or more and 5 wt% or less in the entire solvent (Paragraph 325).
Can also be a gel electrolyte:
As a polymer that undergoes gelation, a silicone gel, an acrylic gel, an acrylonitrile gel, a polyethylene oxide-based gel, a polypropylene oxide-based gel, a fluorine-based polymer gel, or the like can be used (Paragraph 0502)
Examples of the polymer include a polymer having a polyalkylene oxide structure, such as polyethylene oxide (PEO); PVDF; polyacrylonitrile; and a copolymer containing any of them. For example, PVDF-HFP, which is a copolymer of PVDF and hexafluoropropylene (HFP), can be used. The formed polymer may be porous (Paragraph 0503)
Can also be a gel electrolyte:
As the gelled polymer, silicone gel, acrylic gel, acrylonitrile gel, polyethylene oxide gel, polypropylene oxide gel, fluorine polymer gel, etc. can be used (Paragraph 328)
As the polymer, for example, a polymer having a polyoxyalkylene structure such as polyethylene oxide (PEO), PVDF, polyacrylonitrile, etc., and copolymers containing these, etc. can be used. For example, PVDF-HFP which is a copolymer of PVDF and hexafluoropropylene (HFP) can be used. In addition, the formed polymer may also have a porous shape (Paragraph 329)
Can also be a solid electrolyte:
a solid electrolyte including an inorganic material such as a sulfide-based or oxide-based inorganic material, a solid electrolyte including a polymer material such as a polyethylene oxide (PEO)-based polymer material, or the like may be used. When the solid electrolyte is used, a separator and/or a spacer is/are not necessary. Furthermore, the battery can be entirely solidified; therefore, there is no risk of liquid leakage and thus the safety of the battery is dramatically improved (Paragraph 0504).
Can also be a solid electrolyte:
A solid electrolyte containing inorganic materials such as sulfides or oxides, and a solid electrolyte containing polymer materials such as PEO (polyethylene oxide) may be used instead of the electrolyte. When a solid electrolyte is used, there is no need to provide a separator or spacer. In addition, since the entire battery can be solidified, there is no fear of liquid leakage and safety is significantly improved (Paragraph 330).
For at least the above described similarities in the cells, particularly the components of the electrolyte solutions, taught by Mikami and the instant disclosure, it is reasonable to presume that the electrolyte of Mikami, when tested in a coin cell comprising a working electrode in which a mixture of conductive material and a binder with a ratio of 1:1 is applied to the current collector coated with carbon; a lithium metal counter electrode; and a separator, possesses the inherent property of a current density of less than or equal to 1.0 mA cm-2 at any voltage of lower than or equal to 5.0 V, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 16, Mikami teaches the secondary battery according to claim 15.
It is noted by the Examiner that the limitation of “a linear sweep voltammetry measurement is performed at a voltage scanning rate of 1.0 m vs-1 at a temperature of 25 °C on a coin cell comprising a working electrode in which a mixture of a conductive material and a binder with a ratio of 1: 1 is applied to a current collector coated with carbon; a lithium metal counter electrode” in the independent claim on which the dependent claim depends is a method limitation directed to how the property of the product is measured and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of measuring a feature of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP 2133. As a result, the instant claim appears to be claimed features of the coin cell used for measuring the current density of the electrolyte solution, and therefore are also considered product by process limitations.
However, additionally, Mikami teaches that the conductive material implemented in the coin cell may suitably be acetylene black (Paragraph 282), the binder of the coin cell comprises poly(vinylidene fluoride) (Paragraph 295), the current collector of the coin cell comprises aluminum foil (Paragraph 152), and the separator comprises a polypropylene separator (Paragraph 155), additionally meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Mikami teaches the secondary battery according to claim 15.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material is higher than or equal to 1.0 x 105 Ω.cm at a temperature of higher than or equal to 180 °C and lower than or equal to 200 °C and at a pressure of higher than or equal to 0.3 MPa and lower than or equal to 2 MPa.
It is reasonable to presume that the powder volume resistivity of the positive electrode active material at the aforementioned temperatures and pressures is inherent to Mikami. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
As described above, the method steps of Mikami and the instant disclosure were related to draw such a conclusion, owing to the similarities in the conditions and the sequence of steps of the aforementioned rejections.
Claims 4-7, 11-14 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami in view of Hashimoto as applied to claims 1-18 above, and further in view of Monma (Chinese Patent Publication No. 112864380 A).
Regarding claim 4 and 11, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claims 1 and 8.
As discussed above, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise at least one of magnesium and nickel, and it would have been obvious to provide both additive elements in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches a peak of a detected amount of magnesium in the EDX analysis (see above 112b interpretation) of the positive electrode active material particles appears in a range from the surface of the particles to a depth of 3 nm toward the center, and more preferably appears in a range to a depth of 1 nm (Paragraph 186), meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less.
In the event that the method to produce the positive electrode active material of Mikami in which the nickel additive is added simultaneously with the mixing of the lithium source and the cobalt source (in steps S21-S22) in found to result in a product in which a peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less is not inherent, an alternate rejection in view of Monma is presented below.
Monma discloses a positive electrode active material including lithium, transition metal M, oxygen, where additives may be added to a composite oxide represented by LiMO2, where M may be cobalt and thus additives are added to lithium cobalt oxide (Paragraphs 113-114). In the method of producing the positive electrode active material of Monma, as exemplified in Figures 9-12, the nickel and aluminum-containing additives are prepared separately from the lithium cobalt oxide (steps S15-S17 and S18-S20) (Paragraphs 280-283). The materials of the nickel and aluminum-containing additive sources of Monma, nickel hydroxide and aluminum hydroxide, overlap with those of the instant disclosure (Paragraph 0407). Monma teaches the nickel hydroxide and aluminum hydroxide additive materials are added to lithium cobalt oxide in pre-synthesized lithium cobalt oxide in step S31of the disclosed method (Paragraphs 290-292). Monma teaches that it is preferable to add metals such as nickel and aluminum to lithium cobalt oxide (instead of lithium cobalt oxide precursors, lithium source and aluminum source) in order to stabilize the crystal structure without altering crystallinity (Paragraph 183).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the additive of nickel and aluminum source additives of Mikami to incorporate the teachings of Monma in which the additives are mixed with lithium cobalt oxide (and thus, nickel and aluminum additives may suitably be mixed in with the mixing step S31 of Mikami when the first mixture and lithium cobalt oxide are mixed). Doing so would advantageously result in a stabilized crystal structure while preserving crystallinity, as recognized by Monma.
The result of such a modification is the method of producing the positive electrode active material taught by Mikami in view of Monma teaching the addition of a nickel additive element in a similar step with similar materials. As such, it is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of nickel is observed in a region ranging from a surface to a depth of 3 nm or less is inherent to Mikami in view of Monma. Support for said presumption is found in at least the reasons discussed above with respect to the composition and process of including a nickel additive element in the positive electrode active material composition.
Regarding claim 5 and 12, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claims 4 and 11.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel.
In the alternative to the rejection of claims 5 and 12 presented above, it is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of nickel is inherent to Mikami in view of Monma. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami in view of Monma teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami in view of Monma is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claims 4 and 11.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium.
In the alternative to the rejection of claims 6 and 13 presented above, it is reasonable to presume wherein the peak of the detected amount of nickel is closer to the surface than the peak of the detected amount of magnesium is inherent to Mikami in view of Monma. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami in view of Monma teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, and therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami in view of Monma is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Mikami teaches the positive electrode active material according to claims 4 and 11.
As discussed above, Mikami teaches the additive element may comprise aluminum, and it would have been obvious to additionally provide aluminum as an additive element in the lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active material, as is taught to be suitable by Mikami.
Mikami teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach a peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm.
In the alternative to the rejection of claims 7 and 14 presented above, it is reasonable to presume that the peak of a detected amount of aluminum is observed in a region ranging from the surface to a depth of greater than or equal to 5 nm and less than or equal to 30 nm is inherent to Mikami in view of Monma. Support for said presumption is found in that Mikami in view of Monma teaches a similar method of manufacturing the positive electrode active material as the claimed invention, particularly the addition of a nickel additive element in a similar step with similar materials as those described in the instant disclosure. Therefore the resulting positive electrode active material of Mikami in view of Monma is expected to have the same properties as the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789