DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The term “circuit” in claim 8 is interpreted to be an arrangement of interconnected electrical components, which is a structural machine, consistent with the specification and the plain meaning.
The term “processor” in claim 16 is interpreted to be short for “microprocessor” or equivalent, which is a structural machine, consistent with the specification and the plain meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 9-12 and 17-19 each recites the limitation (element) "the object". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironica et al. (hereafter referred to as “Mironica”, US 2024/0420394), and in view of C et al. (hereafter referred to as “C”, US 10,319,116).
Regarding claim 1, Mironica discloses a computer-implemented method (Figs. 2-5) comprising:
removing text from an object represented in a first image (Fig. 3, image 305 represents a captured scene (object) that contains text. Fig. 2 and pg. [0057] “noise component 220 adds noise to the image in the region corresponding to the text to obtain a noisy image”. Text is effectively removed by adding noise to the text regions, resulting in a noisy image. Figs. 4&5 show details of generating the “noisy image”);
providing the first image of the object, without the removed text, as input to a generative diffusion model; receiving, as output of the generative diffusion model, a second image of the object including one or more annotations to the object (Pg. [0028] “generate a new modified image, which can remain largely similar to the original background image, but now contains the contrasting color in the text overlap region”. Figs. 4&5, final step: “Generate new modified image using noisy image as condition to generative diffusion model”. The new modified image corresponds to the “second image” that includes the contrasting color (i.e., annotation); and
blending the text into the second image of the object to cause the one or more annotations to be represented as being applied to the object Figs. 4&5, final step: “… and combine original text with new modified image”, pg. [0044] “superimposes the text on the modified image to obtain a composite image”).
Mironica does not expressly disclose causing the contrasting color to be represented as being applied to the text.
However, combining two images to generate a composite image using weighted average to harmonize the blending is well known and common practice in the art, as for example disclosed in C (Fig. 3 and col. 11, lines 33-63. Blend text with theme background through “weighted average of the theme background color code value and the text background color code value”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the well-known techniques as described in C into Mironica’s system to yield the invention as described in claim 1, because the blending through weighted average effectively causes the contrasting color to be represented as being applied to the text. This combination (modification) could be made using known methods with no changes to the operating principles of either reference to produce nothing more than highly predictable results of harmonizing images and text.
Regarding claim 3, Mironica in view of C discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose: providing, as additional input to the generative diffusion model, a text prompt indicating at least a type or a magnitude of the one or more annotations to be generated for the object in the second image.
However, as disclosed in Mironica (Fig. 6 and pg. [0092]-[0095]), a user may provide a design with text (605) that provides additional information about the type (e.g., flower) of modified image to be generated by the generative diffusion model (i.e., flowers with color that contrasts with the text).
It is clearly desirable to provide designer easy ways such as text prompt to modify a design. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to yield the invention as described in claim 3 from the teachings of Mironica in view of C.
Regarding claim 5, Mironica in view of C discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein blending the text into the second image of the object allows the one or more annotations to be generated for the object in the second image without modification of a semantic meaning of the text by the generative diffusion model (Mironica, Figs. 4&5, combining original text with new modified image clearly should not modify the semantic meaning of the text. The purpose of changing the image underneath the text is to increase the contrast and legibility of the text).
Regarding claim 6, Mironica in view of C discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the blending is performed using a text blend weight and an annotation blend weight (see analysis of claim 1, C, Fig. 3 and col. 11, lines 33-63. Blend text with theme background through “weighted average of the theme background color code value and the text background color code value”).
Regarding claim 7, Mironica in view of C discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the blending includes calculating a weighted pixel value average for one or more pixel locations corresponding to the text performed according to at least one of the text blend weight or the annotation blend weight (see analysis of claim 6).
Claims 8, 10, 12-14, 16 and 18 have been analyzed and are rejected for the same reasons as outlined above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-7, 1 and 3 respectively. The term “texture” in claims 8 and 16 corresponds to “object” in claim 1. The terms “semantic content” and “augmentations” in claim 16 corresponds, respectively, to “text” and “annotations” in claim 1. Both Mironica and C’s system are computer-based. Processor(s) and storage(s) are the main building blocks of a computer system.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Mironica’s system is a system for rendering graphical output (Figs. 2-5).
Claims 4, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironica (US 2024/0420394) in view of C (US 10,319,116), and further in view of Gokturk et al. (hereafter referred to as “Gokturk”, US 2006/0253491).
Regarding claim 4, Mironica in view of C discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, the removing comprising:
removing the text from the first image by setting pixel values, at one or more pixel locations corresponding to the identified text, to pixel values determined based in part on pixel values of the object proximate the one or more pixel locations (Mironica, e.g., Fig. 4, step 410 “Generate a Gaussian mask corresponding to the region(s) and blurred by Gaussian noise”).
Mironica does not expressly disclose identifying at least a portion of the first image as the text using an optical character recognition (OCR) model.
However, using OCR model to detect text is well known and common practice in the art, as for example disclosed in Gokturk (pg. [0170] “text detection and OCR can be used jointly, for example using an iterative process where the text detection first performs a crude segmentation of the image, and OCR then identifies likely text regions. The likely text regions are passed to the text detection and normalization to be refined”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the well-known techniques as described in Gokturk into Mironica in view of C’s system to yield the invention as described in claim 4. This combination (modification) could be made using known methods with no changes to the operating principles of either reference to produce nothing more than the highly predictable results.
Claims 11 and 19 have been analyzed and are rejected for the same reasons as outlined above in the rejection of claims 3, respectively. Both Mironica in view of C’s and Gokturk’s systems are computer-based. Processor(s) and storage(s) are the main building blocks of a computer system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of the base claim.
Claims 9 and 17 would be allowable if the rejection under U.S.C. 112(b) above is overcome and rewritten in independent form including all limitations of the base claim.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Contact Information
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666