DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application KR 10-2022-0126214 filed in Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO) on October 4, 2022 and receipt of a certified copy thereof.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on August 14, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7 and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1, “a tilt angle of the first side surface” should read --the tilt angle of the first side surface--.
In claim 3, line 2, “a tilt angle of the second side surface” should read --the tilt angle of the second side surface --.
In claim 4, line 1, “a tilt angle of the second side surface” should read --the tilt angle of the second side surface--.
In claim 6, line 4, “a top surface of the connection substrate” should read --the top surface of the connection substrate--.
In claim 7, lines 1-2, “a thickness of the connection line disposed on the top surface of the connection substrate” should read --the thickness of the connection line disposed on the top surface of the connection substrate--.
In claim 7, lines 2-3, “a thickness of the connection line disposed on the first side surface” should read --the thickness of the connection line disposed on the first side surface--.
In claim 13, line 3, “a thickness of a connection line disposed on the first side surface” should read --a thickness of the connection line disposed on the first side surface--.
In claim 13, lines 4-5, “a tilt angle of the first side surface is , t2/t1 ≥ tan” should read --a tilt angle of the first side surface is t2/t1 ≥ tan--.
In claim 14, line 3, “a thickness of a connection line disposed on the first side surface” should read --a thickness of the connection line disposed on the first side surface--.
In claim 14, lines 4-5, “a tilt angle of the first side surface is , 2t2/t1 ≥ tan” should read -- a tilt angle of the first side surface is 2t2/t1 ≥ tan--.
In claim 15, line 1-2, “a first side surface disposed in the straight area” should read --the first side surface of the connection substrate disposed in the straight area--.
In claim 15, line 3, “the inner peripheral surface and the outer peripheral surface of the curved area” should read --an inner peripheral surface and the outer peripheral surface of the curved area--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the feature “the connection substrate” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a connection substrate of the plurality of connection substrates--.
Claim 2 recites the feature “the connection line” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a connection line of the plurality of connection lines--.
Claim 6 recites the feature “the connection line” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a connection line of the plurality of connection lines--.
Claim 15 recites the feature “the curved area” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim, intervening claim(s) and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a curved area of the plurality of curved areas--.
Claim 16 recites the feature “the side surface of the pixel substrate” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim, intervening claim(s) and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a side surface of a pixel substrate of the plurality of pixel substrates--.
Claim 17 recites the feature “the curved area” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim, intervening claim(s) and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a curved area of the plurality of curved areas--.
Claim 19 recites the feature “the curved area” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a curved area of the plurality of curved areas--.
Claim 19 recites the feature “the connection line” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this feature in the claim and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a connection line of the plurality of connection lines--.
Claim 20 recites “a width of the top surface of the connection substrate in the straight area is larger than a width of the top surface of the connection substrate in the curved area” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of “the straight area” and “the curved area” in the claim, intervening claim(s) and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a width of a top surface of the connection substrate in a straight area is larger than a width of a top surface of the connection substrate in a curved area of the plurality of curved areas--.
Claim 21 recites “a width of the bottom surface of the connection substrate in the curved area is equal to a width of the bottom surface of the connection substrate in the straight area” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of “the curved area” and “the straight area” in the claim and base claim. For the examination purpose, the above feature is interpreted to as --a width of a bottom surface of the connection substrate in a curved area of the plurality of curved areas is equal to a width of a bottom surface of the connection substrate in a straight area--.
Claims 2-21 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2021/0192988 (Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 4-5 (First embodiment)).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 4-5 (First embodiment); [44]-[123]), comprising:
a plurality of pixel substrates (e.g., ST1, Figs. 1-2) disposed on a lower substrate (e.g., DS, Figs, 1-2) spaced apart from one another and at least one pixel (e.g., PX, Fig. 2) disposed on the plurality of pixel substrates;
a plurality of connection substrates (e.g., CS, Fig. 2, Fig. 4) which includes a plurality of curved areas (e.g., CA, Fig. 4) configured to connect a plurality of adjacent pixel substrates (e.g., ST1, Fig. 2, Fig. 4), among the plurality of pixel substrates; and
a plurality of connection lines (e.g., 120 (121, 122), Fig. 2, Fig. 3) configured to electrically connect pads (e.g., 131, 132, Fig. 3, Fig. 2) disposed on the plurality of adjacent pixel substrates on the plurality of connection substrates,
wherein the connection substrate includes a first side surface (e.g., first side surface 421; see the annotated Fig. 5 below; Fig. 4) and a second side surface (e.g., second side surface; see the annotated Fig. 5 below; Fig. 4) and the second side surface has a tilt angle different from that of the first side surface (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 5 below).
Annotated Fig. 5 of Kim
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the connection line is disposed only on the first side surface (e.g., first side surface 421; see the annotated Fig. 5 above), between the second side surface and the first side surface.
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2021/0192988 (Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 8-9 (Third embodiment)).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and Figs. 8-9 (Third embodiment); [44]-[113], [130]-[135]), comprising:
a plurality of pixel substrates (e.g., ST1, Figs. 1-2) disposed on a lower substrate (e.g., DS, Figs, 1-2) spaced apart from one another and at least one pixel (e.g., PX, Fig. 2) disposed on the plurality of pixel substrates;
a plurality of connection substrates (e.g., CS, Fig. 2, Fig. 8) which includes a plurality of curved areas (e.g., CA, Fig. 8) configured to connect a plurality of adjacent pixel substrates (e.g., ST1, Fig. 2, Fig. 8), among the plurality of pixel substrates; and
a plurality of connection lines (e.g., 120 (121, 122), Fig. 2, Fig. 3) configured to electrically connect pads (e.g., 131, 132, Fig. 3, Fig. 2) disposed on the plurality of adjacent pixel substrates on the plurality of connection substrates,
wherein the connection substrate includes a first side surface (e.g., first side surface; see the annotated Fig. 9 below; Fig. 8) and a second side surface (e.g., second side surface; see the annotated Fig. 9 below; Fig. 8) and the second side surface has a tilt angle different from that of the first side surface (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 9 below).
Annotated Fig. 9 of Kim
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a tilt angle of the first side surface is smaller than a tilt angle of the second side surface (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first side surface is disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the connection substrate and the second side surface is disposed on an inner peripheral surface of the connection substrate (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 9 above; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the connection line is further disposed on a top surface of the connection substrate (e.g., top surface of CS; see the annotated Fig. 9 above) and a thickness (e.g., T3; see the annotated Fig. 9 above) of the connection line disposed on the first side surface is different from a thickness (e.g., T4, ; see the annotated Fig. 9 above) of the connection line disposed on a top surface of the connection substrate (e.g., [134]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein a thickness (e.g., T4; see the annotated Fig. 9 above) of the connection line disposed on the top surface of the connection substrate is thicker than a thickness (e.g., T3; see the annotated Fig. 9 above) of the connection line disposed on the first side surface (e.g., [134]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the first side surface and the connection line disposed on the first side surface are in contact with the lower substrate (e.g., see the annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of connection substrates further includes a straight area (e.g., SA, Fig. 8) which is straightly disposed between the plurality of curved areas.
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein in the curved area, a top surface of the connection line is disposed with a same width (e.g., Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a width of the bottom surface of the connection substrate in the curved area is equal to a width of the bottom surface of the connection substrate in the straight area (e.g., Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2021/0192988.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 3 as discussed above.
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein a tilt angle of the second side surface is perpendicular with respect to a bottom surface of the connection substrate.
A shape/angle of the connection substrate is one of expected variables, so is not limited to one shape/angle. Kim also recognizes that the shapes/angles of the plurality of connection substrates CS illustrated in FIG. 2 are illustrative and the shape/angle of the plurality of connection substrates CS may vary depending on the design (e.g., [34], [67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize and control the shape/angle of the connection substrate of Kim, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the display device according to claim 9 as discussed above.
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein a width of the top surface of the connection substrate in the straight area is different from a width of the top surface of the connection substrate in the curved area.
A size/shape of the connection substrate is one of expected variables, so is not limited to one size/shape. Kim also recognizes that the sizes/shapes of the plurality of connection substrates CS illustrated in FIG. 2 are illustrative and the size/shape of the plurality of connection substrates CS may vary depending on the design (e.g., [34], [67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize and control the size/shape of the connection substrate of Kim, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04.
Conclusion
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 December 5, 2025