DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 10, and cancellation of claim 9 in “Claims - 12/31/2025” is acknowledged.
This office action considers claims 1-8 and 10 are pending for further examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in “Remarks - 12/31/2025 - Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment”, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Applicant’s argument that “Steinberg publication date and the filing date are later than the filing date of the present application, August 14, 2023 is moot because the Effective filing date of the prior art STEINBERG; Oren et al., (US 20250035965 A1) from priority date (US 12132137 B2) is “August 05 2022”. “US 12132137 B2” teaches at least absorption region 114 includes, inter alia, indium gallium arsenide phosphide (InGaAsP) or indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs) (column 8, Line 17-25), Therefore, STEINBERG; Oren et al. is a valid prior art, and meet the requirement of amended potion of claim 1 (original claim 9)
Secondly, Examiners would like to note that the 103 rejection of claim 9 and now claim 1 by the combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) is found to be proper.
Finally, moving a rejected limitation from a claim 9 to independent claim 1 does not bring more opportunity of allowances.
As Applicant’s other arguments are also based on the patentability of claim 1, no further response is put forward, other than the Office Action’s diligent effort to present examiner's position why claims (1-9 and 10) are not patentable as described in sections I-II, Infra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (106; Fig 1A; [0027] or C 5, L 65-67) = (element 106; Figure No. 1A; Paragraph No. [0027]) or Column No 5, Line Nos. 65-67). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” or “Column No, Line Nos" shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young; Nigel David et al., (US 20100187426 A1; of record) hereinafter Young; in view of Kub; Francis J et al., (US 20190305157 A1 of record) hereinafter kub; and in further view of STEINBERG; Oren et al., (US 20250035965 A1, of record) hereinafter Steinberg. see section II, below, for an alternative rejection of claims 1-6 ):
1. Young teaches an ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function, being adopted to receive external light for sensing, comprising (see the entire document; Figs 1A- 8 ; specifically Fig 1A, and as cited below;
Young Figure 1A
a visible light sensing chip (106; Fig 1A; [0027]) used for sensing light corresponding to a response band of visible light, and including a light receiving surface (top of 106); and
a wavelength conversion layer (117; [ 0026]) used to convert light corresponding to a specific ultraviolet light band (UVA, UVB, UVZC etc) of the external light into light corresponding to the response band of visible light, and covering at least a part of the light receiving surface.
But Yung is silent on wherein the visible light sensing chip includes a semiconductor stack structure which has an aluminum gallium indium phosphide material layer.
However, in the analogous art, Kub teaches photodetectors, and more particularly to extreme ultraviolet (EUV) detectors ([0002). Wherein (Fig 1; [0066, 0108]) a UV photodetector structure comprises: a substrate (30), a first electrode layer (50) and a second electrode layer (35), and the semiconductor stack structure ({40,25,15,55}) and the first electrode layer (50) are disposed on two opposite sides of the substrate (30)respectively, and wherein the semiconductor stack structure forms the light receiving surface on a side away from the substrate (30), and the second electrode layer (35) is disposed on the light receiving surface and exposing out of the wavelength conversion layer.
Kub Figure 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the structure of Kub into Young’s sensor so that the combination of (Young and Kub) has astructure as claimed in claim 9 and 10.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Youngs PD in the manner set forth above because, at least this structure has high quantum efficiency (Kub [0003])
The combination of (Young and Kub) does not expressly disclose the structure has an aluminum gallium indium phosphide material layer, though Kub suggests ([0108) other appropriate material layer for semiconductor material (e.g., photodetector body layer 15), along with any of aluminum gallium nitride, indium phosphide indium aluminum nitride, aluminum nitride.
However, in the analogous art, Steinberg. Specifically teaches ([0046) The absorber region 114 may be positioned above the collector region 112 to capture the transmitted light and generate photogenerated carriers. The absorber region 114 may be formed from materials such as indium gallium arsenide phosphide (InGaAsP) or indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs), which may be selected for their effective absorption properties within the designated wavelength range..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select Steinberg materials for the combination structure as claimed in claim 9, since this material, at least. Provides effective absorption properties within the designated wavelength range (Steinberg [0046]).
2. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young further teaches, (the sensor) further comprising a band-pass filter (109; Fig 1A; region III; [0026]) formed on the wavelength conversion layer (117) for filtering the light corresponding to the specific ultraviolet light band (UVA, UVB, UVC) of the external light (incident radiation ; [0026)).
3. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 2 , Young further teaches, wherein the band-pass filter (30; [0039]) is a multi-membrane structure (30; [0040]) formed through layer-by-layer stacking of two kinds of membranes with different materials, and wherein the band-pass filter includes a combination of two dielectric materials with different n values or a combination of a metal and a dielectric material.
4. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young further teaches, wherein the specific ultraviolet light band is at least one wavelength band selected from ([0024, 0026 the following group: 315 nm to 400 nm, 280 nm to 315 nm, and 100 nm to 280 nm.
5. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young further teaches, wherein the wavelength conversion layer is made of phosphor powder (0026]).
6. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young further teaches, wherein a plurality of channel zones (I, II, III) are formed in the visible light sensing chip (106) and the wavelength conversion layer at least partially covers the light receiving surface corresponding to at least one of the channel zones (III).
7. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 6, Young further teaches. wherein a recessed structure (construed from [0043]: Note that the photodetectors 106 in the reference region (II) and the UV sensitive region (III) are separated devices without contacting to each other ) is formed between two adjacent channel zones.
8. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young further teaches. wherein the response band of visible light ranges from about 460 nm to 660 nm ([0026]).
10. The combination of (Young, Kub and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, Young in view of Kub (Fig 1; [0066, 0108]), further teaches, wherein the visible light sensing chip further includes a substrate (30), a first electrode layer (50) and a second electrode layer (35), and the semiconductor stack structure ({40,25,15,55}) and the first electrode layer (50) are disposed on two opposite sides of the substrate (30)respectively, and wherein the semiconductor stack structure forms the light receiving surface on a side away from the substrate (30), and the second electrode layer (35) is disposed on the light receiving surface and exposing out of the wavelength conversion layer.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over DEL MONTE; Andrea (US 20210193719 A1) hereinafter DelMonte, in view of STEINBERG; Oren et al., (US 20250035965 A1, of record) hereinafter Steinberg see section I, above, for an alternative rejection of claims 1-6 ):
1. DelMonte teaches an ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function, being adopted to receive external light for sensing, comprising (see the entire document; Fig 2 ; specifically Fig 2, and as cited below; please see also section 2, below, for an alternative rejection of claim 1):
DelMonte Figure 8 (or 6)
a visible light sensing chip (4; Fig 8; [0031]) used for sensing light corresponding to a response band of visible light, and including a light receiving surface (2a); and
a wavelength conversion layer (11; [0030, 0036]) used to convert light corresponding to a specific ultraviolet light band of the external light into light corresponding to the response band of visible light, and covering at least a part of the light receiving surface.
But Yung is silent on wherein the visible light sensing chip includes a semiconductor stack structure which has an aluminum gallium indium phosphide material layer.
However, in the analogous art, Steinberg. Specifically teaches ([0046) The absorber region 114 may be positioned above the collector region 112 to capture the transmitted light and generate photogenerated carriers. The absorber region 114 may be formed from materials such as indium gallium arsenide phosphide (InGaAsP) or indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs), which may be selected for their effective absorption properties within the designated wavelength range..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select Steinberg materials for the combination structure as claimed, since this material, at least. provides effective absorption properties within the designated wavelength range (Steinberg [0046]).
2. The combination of (Young and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, DelMonte further teaches, (the sensor) further comprising a band-pass filter (11; Fig 8; [0038]) formed on the wavelength conversion layer (10) for filtering the light corresponding to the specific ultraviolet light band of the external light.
3. The combination of (Young and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 2, DelMonte further teaches, DelMonte further teaches, wherein the band-pass filter (11) is a multi-membrane structure formed through layer-by-layer stacking of two kinds of membranes with different materials, and wherein the band-pass filter includes a combination of two dielectric materials with different n values or a combination of a metal and a dielectric material.
4. The combination of (Young and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, DelMonte further teaches, DelMonte further teaches, wherein the specific ultraviolet light band is at least one wavelength band selected from ([0003])the following group: 315 nm to 400 nm, 280 nm to 315 nm, and 100 nm to 280 nm.
5. The combination of (Young and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, DelMonte further teaches, DelMonte further teaches, wherein the wavelength conversion layer is made of phosphor powder (0043]).
6. The combination of (Young and Steinberg) as applied to the ambient light sensor with ultraviolet light detection function as claimed in claim 1, DelMonte further teaches, DelMonte further teaches, wherein a plurality of channel zones are formed in the visible light sensing chip and the wavelength conversion layer at least partially covers the light receiving surface corresponding to at least one of the channel zones (4, Fig 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (see MPEP § 1207.03(a).I.1). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
March 4, 2026