DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-12, 14-15 have been considered. New rejection below is based on amendment. Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous 112 rejections are overcome by amendment.
Previous 103 rejections are overcome by amendment. Previously applied references are utilized to reject the claim as amended. Arguments pertaining to the prior art previously used pertain to the thinned portion – newly amended scope limitation – which was not previously considered. No arguments pertain to the rejected scope previously applied.
New rejection addresses claim scope amendment to claim 15.
New claim 16 arguments on pg 10 and pg 11 do not provide citation to the instant specification where support can be found. The scope of an insulating layer and rib is not taught as a single embodiment in the instant specification. The scope of an insulating layer “only” on a first surface is not taught in the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Reason 1 - combination of embodiments not explicitly taught at the time of filing:
Claim 16, newly added, relies on the inclusion of embodiment of originally filed Figure 8 invention and originally field Figure 9 invention into a single joined invention that was not presented at the time of filing.
Reason 2 - recitation of “only” is not supported in the originally filed specification:
Applicant response pg 10 – pg 11 discuss the importance of “only” and the specific location and relationship of features relative to each other. The instant specification does not recite these features. When considering Figure 9 of the instant specification, the insulating material is clearly visible on the first surface of the bending portion as well as the second surface and the third surface.
No prior art rejection submitted to reject claim 16 because an insulating layer only on the first surface and not on the second or third surface is not taught or obviated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (PGPUB 2022/0367978) and further in view of Hashizaki et al (JP 2010/212155) and Yong (KR 20100114595).
Claim 15: Pan teaches a first battery (1) and second battery (2) that are joined by a first bus bar component (30) [Fig 1]. Each of the battery cells comprise a recess (11) which comprises the scope of applicant’s first surface, second surface, and third surface [Fig 2; 0050-0061]. A first electrode terminal arranged at the second surface protrudes in the first direction and facing the first recess [Fig 1-2]. The depths, height, directions, and projection areas articulated by the claim are met by teaching of the prior art for showing the same battery terminal configuration in a recess; adjustments to relative shape of the inventive concept as presented by the prior art would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art under MPEP 2144.04 in order to improve the fit and security of the terminals in the embodiment during operation of the device. A bus bar competent (30) electrically connects two electrode terminals of the batteries [Fig 2]. The bus bar comprises a first and second end (31, 33) with a portion that connects the first and second end after bend portions (32) [Fig 2].
Pan teaches a bus bar connecting two adjacent battery cells to comprise a first bending region to be connected the first end and a second bending portion connected to a second end, but is silent to teach a middle region having one or more reinforcing ribs.
Hashizaki teaches a terminal connection member and assembled battery [0001] wherein the terminal connection member comprises a feature which reads on a “rib” [Fig 5]. It would have been obvious at the time of invention to modify the flat connecting portion of the bus bar of Pan to have the shape as taught by Hashizaki in order to suppress the increase in contact resistance by suppressing a temperature rise between the electrode terminals during charge and discharge [0005-0015].
Pan is silent to teach the curved regions of the busbar connection between two terminals to have a thinner portion relative to the flat part connecting them.
Yong teaches a rechargeable battery module having a precisely welded busbar and terminal of a unit cell [Abstract]. The connection between a first terminal (114) and second terminal of a second cell (115) are connected by a busbar that has two bends and a middle portion (220) [Fig 2a]. The bend regions outside of the central part (223) comprises a thinned portion [Pg 4 Para 5, Pg 10 Para 9-10, Pg 12 Para 4-8, Pg 13 Para 5-10]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the busbar connection element of Pan to include thinned portions at the curves outside the center of the connection portion as taught by Yong in order to have a buffering effect on the distance difference between two-unit cells [Pg 2 Para 7 (Tech-problem)].
Claim 2-4: Pan teaches the first battery length (d) to be 400mm-2500mm and the proportion of the width (e) and height (f) to be 2e<d<50e [0071-0078]. Pan is silent to teach the specifics of the first recess. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a need to have the dimensions of the recess enough to create space for the battery external terminal and the bus bar as shown in Fig 2 while allowing for internal support of the cell tab (142) [Fig 3-4; 0062-0063]. It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A. Additionally, it is obvious to change the sizes and proportions of elements within a known structure to apply the inventive concept of prior art teachings to different proportions MPEP 2144.04 IV A – as the size of the casing is changed within the range of Pan, so to will the relative recess size in order to accommodate the inventive concepts taught within the prior art.
Claim 5: Pan teaches a case (152) with a void region (153) to accommodate a battery cell and its electrode assembly therein (141) and an end cover (151) to cover the assembly whereby the surfaces that are present as taught [Fig 3; 0024-0035, 0056-0061].
Claim 6: Pan teaches a region of the end cover corresponding to the electrode assembly protrudes in a direction facing away from the case so as to form a groove on a side of the end cover facing the case [Fig 3-4].
Claim 7: Pan teaches a groove configured to position the electrode assembly when assembled [Fig 3-4].
Claim 8: Pan teaches a contouring line between an edge region of the end cover and the groove [Fig 3-4]. The recitation of “configured to” is not positively recited structural limitations as the weld does not need to be present – thus limitations pertaining to the process of welding are not further limiting. Additionally, these product by process limitations fail to further limit the structure features of the groove and line. A weld and a welding trajectory are not positively recited structural features required by the scope of the instant claim due to applicant’s selection of “configured to” language. The prior art meets all positively recited structural limitations.
Claim 9: Pan teaches a position capable of being welded and an edge of an end cover [Fig 3-4] [0059-0063, 0095-0098]. The specific dimensions of the weld trajectory are obvious to optimize; It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A.
Claim 10: Pan teaches a groove, but is silent to teach its depth. It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A. Additionally, it is obvious to change the sizes and proportions of elements within a known structure to apply the inventive concept of prior art teachings to different proportions MPEP 2144.04 IV A – as the size of the casing is changed within the range of Pan, so to will the relative recess size in order to accommodate the inventive concepts taught within the prior art.
Claim 11: Pan teaches at least one dimension in a cross sectional plane perpendicular to the first direction that comprises a groove dimensions that is greater than or equal to a dimension of the electrode assembly [Fig 1, 3-4].
Further:
Claim 12: Pan teaches the opposite side of the battery casing to have a second recess and terminal feature whereby the second recess corresponds to a different polarity and has the same depth and projection area considerations as the first [Fig 1; 0061-0068].
Claim 14: Electrical device is the result the plurality of battery cells being brought into connection [Fig 1]; if the scope of the claim intends to be one to include a “use of” condition such as an electric vehicle – examiner takes official notice that it is well known to use batteries to discharge a stored energy to operate an electrical device since electric starter motors were used in 1920. Discovering a secondary reference to prove electrical devices are powered by batteries is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 2-12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (PGPUB 2022/0367978) and further in view of Cao et al (CN 112151895 with English translation to PGPUB 2021/0104797) and Yong (KR 20100114595).
Claim 15: Pan teaches a first battery (1) and second battery (2) that are joined by a first bus bar component (30) [Fig 1]. Each of the battery cells comprise a recess (11) which comprises the scope of applicant’s first surface, second surface, and third surface [Fig 2; 0050-0061]. A first electrode terminal arranged at the second surface protrudes in the first direction and facing the first recess [Fig 1-2]. The depths, height, directions, and projection areas articulated by the claim are met by teaching of the prior art for showing the same battery terminal configuration in a recess; adjustments to relative shape of the inventive concept as presented by the prior art would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art under MPEP 2144.04 in order to improve the fit and security of the terminals in the embodiment during operation of the device. A bus bar competent (30) electrically connects two electrode terminals of the batteries [Fig 2]. The bus bar comprises a first and second end (31, 33) with a portion that connects the first and second end after bend portions (32) [Fig 2].
Pan teaches a bus bar connecting two adjacent battery cells to comprise a first bending region to be connected the first end and a second bending portion connected to a second end, but is silent to teach a middle region having one or more reinforcing ribs.
Cao teaches a battery module having multiple battery units that are electrically connected [Abstract]. The inventive concept of the terminal connecting portion is depicted in Fig 3-4. The terminal connecting portion comprises a bending configuration that is interpreted to read on the presented scope of applicant’s “rib” element. The configuration of the convex and concave portions as shown in Figure 4 is to increase heat conduction [0069-0079] and be capable of having improved mechanical strength when in operation and the assembly connected with a mounting plate [0101-0106]. It would have been obvious at the time of invention to modify the flat connecting portion of the bus bar of Pan to have the shape as taught by Hashizaki in order to improve the mechanical stability and improve the heat conduction of a flat bar area [0101-0106].
Pan is silent to teach a thinned portion on the bending regions.
Yong teaches a rechargeable battery module having a precisely welded busbar and terminal of a unit cell [Abstract]. The connection between a first terminal (114) and second terminal of a second cell (115) are connected by a busbar that has two bends and a middle portion (220) [Fig 2a]. The bend regions outside of the central part (223) comprises a thinned portion [Pg 4 Para 5, Pg 10 Para 9-10, Pg 12 Para 4-8, Pg 13 Para 5-10]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the busbar connection element of Pan to include thinned portions at the curves outside the center of the connection portion as taught by Yong in order to have a buffering effect on the distance difference between two unit cells [Pg 2 Para 7 (Tech-problem)].
Claim 2-4: Pan teaches the first battery length (d) to be 400mm-2500mm and the proportion of the width (e) and height (f) to be 2e<d<50e [0071-0078]. Pan is silent to teach the specifics of the first recess. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a need to have the dimensions of the recess enough to create space for the battery external terminal and the bus bar as shown in Fig 2 while allowing for internal support of the cell tab (142) [Fig 3-4; 0062-0063]. It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A. Additionally, it is obvious to change the sizes and proportions of elements within a known structure to apply the inventive concept of prior art teachings to different proportions MPEP 2144.04 IV A – as the size of the casing is changed within the range of Pan, so to will the relative recess size in order to accommodate the inventive concepts taught within the prior art.
Claim 5: Pan teaches a case (152) with a void region (153) to accommodate a battery cell and its electrode assembly therein (141) and an end cover (151) to cover the assembly whereby the surfaces that are present as taught [Fig 3; 0024-0035, 0056-0061].
Claim 6: Pan teaches a region of the end cover corresponding to the electrode assembly protrudes in a direction facing away from the case so as to form a groove on a side of the end cover facing the case [Fig 3-4].
Claim 7: Pan teaches a groove configured to position the electrode assembly when assembled [Fig 3-4].
Claim 8: Pan teaches a contouring line between an edge region of the end cover and the groove [Fig 3-4]. The recitation of “configured to” is not positively recited structural limitations as the weld does not need to be present – thus limitations pertaining to the process of welding are not further limiting. Additionally, these product by process limitations fail to further limit the structure features of the groove and line. A weld and a welding trajectory are not positively recited structural features required by the scope of the instant claim due to applicant’s selection of “configured to” language. The prior art meets all positively recited structural limitations.
Claim 9: Pan teaches a position capable of being welded and an edge of an end cover [Fig 3-4] [0059-0063, 0095-0098]. The specific dimensions of the weld trajectory are obvious to optimize; It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A.
Claim 10: Pan teaches a groove, but is silent to teach its depth. It is obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to discover workable ranges of the dimensions of the recess in order to maintain structural integrity, maximize energy density, and allow for easy manufacturing that avoids short circuits MPEP 2144.05 II A. Additionally, it is obvious to change the sizes and proportions of elements within a known structure to apply the inventive concept of prior art teachings to different proportions MPEP 2144.04 IV A – as the size of the casing is changed within the range of Pan, so to will the relative recess size in order to accommodate the inventive concepts taught within the prior art.
Claim 11: Pan teaches at least one dimension in a cross sectional plane perpendicular to the first direction that comprises a groove dimensions that is greater than or equal to a dimension of the electrode assembly [Fig 1, 3-4].
Further:
Claim 12: Pan teaches the opposite side of the battery casing to have a second recess and terminal feature whereby the second recess corresponds to a different polarity and has the same depth and projection area considerations as the first [Fig 1; 0061-0068].
Claim 14: Electrical device is the result the plurality of battery cells being brought into connection [Fig 1]; if the scope of the claim intends to be one to include a “use of” condition such as an electric vehicle – examiner takes official notice that it is well known to use batteries to discharge a stored energy to operate an electrical device since electric starter motors were used in 1920. Discovering a secondary reference to prove electrical devices are powered by batteries is well known in the art.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752