DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group III, in the reply filed on 1/16/26 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-12, 15-17 is/are withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 13-14, 18-20 is/are rejected.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig 1a: 118.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112 (a)
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 19-20 recite “the electric field is selected to reduce a trapping time” and “the electric field is selected to produce a dielectrophoretic force”. These limitations refer to a desired result (reducing trapping time or producing a dielectrophoretic force) without clarifying how or what fields are selected in sufficient detail to recognize what is claimed. MPEP 2163.03 states “An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc).”
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 13-14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ndukaife (US 20200241177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ndukaife teaches an optical tweezer apparatus, comprising:
a shaped nanoaperture (see e.g. fig 3: 313) defined in a conductive layer (see 312, [0040]); and
an electrode (e.g. 313 along with 322) situated to produce a fringe field that attracts nanoparticles to the shaped nanoaperture (natural result of electrode geometry to have a fringe field that attracts positive or negative nanoparticles to the center nanoaperture; see generally fig 7; note also polarization in [0052] and AC voltages in [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Ndukaife teaches a voltage source (see Ndukaife, fig 3: 340) coupled to electrode and the conductive layer defining the shaped nanoaperture to produce the fringe field (see fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Ndukaife teaches the voltage source is operable to provide one or both of a DC voltage and an AC voltage (see Ndukaife, e.g. [0021]).
Regarding claim 13, Ndukaife teaches a method, comprising:
situating a fluid specimen (see e.g. [0023]) at a shaped nanoaperture (see e.g. fig 3: 313);
applying an electric field (see via 340, [0040]) to attract nanoparticles in the fluid specimen to the shaped nanoaperture (natural result of applying voltage to attract or repulse nanoparticles) (alternately see generated electromagnetic field, [0022]); and
trapping at least one nanoparticle at the shaped nanoaperture with an optical beam (see optical tweezing, e.g. [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Ndukaife teaches the applied electric field is a fringe electric field (fringe field is natural result of the fields generated by the electrode geometries of the system; see generally Ndukaife, fig 7).
Regarding claim 18, Ndukaife teaches the electric field at the shaped nanoaperture has a field gradient having a magnitude that increases towards the shaped nanoaperture (see e.g. Ndukaife, [0053]; alternately note natural result of geometries of electrodes in fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, Ndukaife teaches the electric field is selected to reduce a trapping time (compared with different configuration of fields, voltages, system statuses, etc).
Regarding claim 20, Ndukaife teaches the electric field is selected to produce a dielectrophoretic force (natural result of application of e.g. AC field, see e.g. Ndukaife, [0021]) that reduces a trapping time (compared with different configuration of fields, voltages, system statuses, etc).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Medoro (US 20030047456 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Medoro teaches an optical tweezer apparatus, comprising:
a shaped nanoaperture (see fig 21: WI) defined in a conductive layer (see LIJ, [0090]); and
an electrode (WI along with e.g. M2 serve as an electrode) situated to produce a fringe field that attracts nanoparticles to the shaped nanoaperture (natural result of electrode geometry to produce a fringe field that attracts nanoparticles toward the center nanoaperture).
Furthermore, it is noted that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647, and MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 2, Medoro teaches a voltage source (see e.g. Medoro, fig 21: VRE) coupled to electrode and the conductive layer (see fig 21: LIJ, M1, M2) defining the shaped nanoaperture to produce the fringe field (see fig 21).
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 13-14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Verschueren et al., Nano-Optical Tweezing of Single Proteins in Plasmonic Nanopores, Small Methods 3, 1800465 (2019).
Regarding claim 1, Verschueren teaches an optical tweezer apparatus, comprising:
a shaped nanoaperture (see p2, fig 1a-c) defined in a conductive layer (see fig 1a, p2, col 2, last para); and
an electrode (see e.g. in combination with electrodes, p8, col 1, last para) situated to produce a fringe field that attracts nanoparticles to the shaped nanoaperture (see p2, col 1, para 1; also note natural result of electrode geometry to produce some fringe field that attracts nanoparticles towards a nanoaperture).
Regarding claim 2, Verschueren teaches a voltage source (required for operation of system, see e.g. Verschueren, p8, col 1, last para) coupled to electrode and the conductive layer defining the shaped nanoaperture to produce the fringe field (see fig 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Verschueren teaches the voltage source is operable to provide one or both of a DC voltage and an AC voltage (see e.g. Verschueren, fig 5 caption).
Regarding claim 13, Verschueren teaches a method, comprising:
situating a fluid specimen (see e.g. p2, col 2, para 2) at a shaped nanoaperture (see e.g. p2, figs 1a-c);
applying an electric field (see p2, col 2, para 2) to attract nanoparticles in the fluid specimen to the shaped nanoaperture (see p2, col 1, para 1; also note natural result of electrode geometry to produce some fringe field that attracts nanoparticles towards a nanoaperture); and
trapping at least one nanoparticle at the shaped nanoaperture with an optical beam (see fig 1a, e.g. p2, col 1, para 1).
Regarding claim 14, Verschueren teaches the applied electric field is a fringe electric field (see p2, col 1, para 1; also note natural result of electrode geometry to produce some fringe field that attracts nanoparticles towards a nanoaperture).
Regarding claim 18, Verschueren teaches the electric field at the shaped nanoaperture has a field gradient having a magnitude that increases towards the shaped nanoaperture (see e.g. Verschueren, fig 1c; see also p1, col 2, last para).
Regarding claim 19, Verschueren teaches the electric field is selected to reduce a trapping time (compared with different configuration of fields, voltages, system statuses, etc).
Regarding claim 20, Verschueren teaches the electric field is selected to produce a dielectrophoretic force (natural result of application of field and geometries, especially during voltage changes) that reduces a trapping time (compared with different configuration of fields, voltages, system statuses, etc).
Conclusion
/JAMES CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2881