DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 16 line 5 contains an extra period punctuation mark. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 16 recites “the first and second support plates,” which has unclear antecedent basis. Which first and second support plates? Two of each are recited previous to this limitation.
Claims 4, 5, 6, and 10 each recite “upper control roller,” and/or “lower control roller,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3708152 A (hereinafter “Bulin”).
Regarding claim 1 Bulin discloses a snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) for mining equipment (fig. 1), comprising:
a fairlead frame (F; see annotated figure below) comprising—
a first upper support plate (UP);
a first lower support plate (LP) spaced apart from the first upper support plate (UP);
a first web (13) having a first end portion coupled to the first upper support plate (UP) and a second end portion coupled to the first lower support plate (LP);
a second upper support plate (UP2) spaced apart from the first upper support plate (UP);
a second lower support plate (LP2) spaced apart from the second upper support plate (UP2); and
a second web (12) having a first end portion coupled to the second upper support plate (UP2) and a second end portion coupled to the second lower support plate (LP2);
a mounting subassembly (16/17) coupled to the fairlead frame (F), wherein the mounting subassembly (16/17) is configured to attach the fairlead frame (F) to a portion (1) of the mining equipment; and
a roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) carried by the fairlead frame (F) and configured to receive a cable (6), the roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) comprising—
a first control roller (10) rotatably coupled between the first and second webs (13/12) and positioned proximate the first and second support plates (UP/UP2/LP/LP2);
a second control roller (11) rotatably coupled between the first and second webs (13/12) and positioned proximate the first and second lower support plates (LP/LP2), wherein the first (10) and second (11) control rollers are spaced apart by a distance to receive the cable (6) therebetween and rotate to allow bidirectional movement of the cable (6);
a first side roller (19) rotatably coupled between the first upper support plate (UP) and first lower support plate (LP); and
a second side roller (20) rotatably coupled between the second upper support plate (UP2) and second lower support plate (LP2), wherein the first and second side rollers (19/20) are configured to restrict lateral movement of the cable (6).
Regarding claim 2 Bulin discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) further comprises:
a third side roller (21) rotatably coupled between the first upper and first lower support plates (UP/LP), wherein the first web (13) is positioned between the first (19) and third (21) side rollers; and
a fourth side roller (22) rotatably coupled between the second upper (UP2) and second lower (LP2) support plates, wherein the second web (12) is positioned between the second (20) and fourth (22) side rollers.
Regarding claim 7 Bulin discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the first side roller (19) comprises:
a first end portion coupled to a first bearing retained within an upper bearing bracket coupled to the first upper support plate (UP), the first end portion having a first transition portion to provide clearance (see fig. below) between the first side roller (19) and the upper bearing bracket; and
a second end portion coupled to a second bearing retained within a second bearing bracket coupled to the first lower support plate (LP), the second end portion having a second transition portion to provide clearance (see fig. above) between the first side roller (19) and the lower bearing bracket.
Regarding claim 8 Bulin discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein:
the fairlead frame (F) further comprises a base plate (B; i.e. upper flange of 13) coupled to the first and second upper support plates (UP/UP2); and
the mounting subassembly (16/17) comprises a hoist ring component (i.e. round shaped component of 17 fixed at 1; see fig. 2) coupled (at least indirectly) to the base plate (B), wherein the hoist ring component is configured to rotate relative to the fairlead frame (F).
Regarding claim 9 Bulin discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the mounting subassembly (16/17) comprises: a mounting component (16) configured to suspend the fairlead frame (F) from the portion of the mining equipment (1); and a hoist ring component (i.e. round shaped component of 17 fixed at 1; see fig. 2) having a first end portion coupled (at least indirectly) to the mounting component (16) and a second end portion coupled (at least indirectly) to the fairlead frame (F).
Regarding claim 10 Bulin discloses a cable routing system, comprising:
a cable (6) having a first end configured to be coupled (made in a manner in which it can be coupled; i.e. this is a functional recitation) to a stationary portion of a mining shovel (1) and a second end configured to be coupled to a movable bucket (3) of the mining shovel (1); and
a snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) configured to be coupled between the stationary portion and the movable bucket (3), wherein the snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) comprises:
a fairlead frame (F, see annotated fig. 2 below) including:
a base plate (B);
an upper support plate (UP) coupled (at least indirectly) to a lower side of the base plate (B);
a lower support plate (LP) spaced apart from the upper support plate (UP);
a web (13) coupled and extending between the upper support plate (UP) and the lower support plate (LP);
a roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) coupled to the fairlead frame (F), the roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) including:
a first control roller (10) rotatably coupled to the web (13) and positioned proximate to the upper support plate (UP);
a second control roller (11) rotatably coupled to the web (13) and positioned proximate to the lower support plate (LP); and
a side roller (19) rotatably coupled between the upper (UP) and lower (LP) support plates;
wherein the cable (6) is configured to extend between the upper (10) and lower (11) control rollers and adjacent to the side roller (19).
Regarding claim 11 Bulin discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) further comprises a mounting subassembly (16/17) coupled to the fairlead frame (F), wherein the mounting subassembly (16/17) is configured to attach the fairlead frame (F) to the mining shovel (1).
Regarding claim 14 Bulin discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the cable (6) comprises a braided cable (6) sleeving made from steel (see column 3 lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 15 Bulin discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the upper support plate (UP) is a first upper support plate (UP), wherein the lower support plate (LP) is a first lower support plate (LP), wherein the web (13) is a first web (13), wherein the side roller (19) is a first side roller (19), wherein the fairlead frame (F) further includes:
a second upper support plate (UP2, i.e. upper flange of 13; see annotated fig. below) coupled (at least indirectly) to a lower side of the base plate (B) and spaced apart from the first upper support plate (UP);
a second lower support plate (LP2) spaced apart from the second upper support plate (UP2); and
a second web (12) coupled and extending between the second upper support plate (UP2) and the second lower support plate (LP2), wherein the roller set (10/11/19/20/21/22) further includes a second side roller (20) rotatably coupled between the second upper (UP2) and second lower (LP2) support plates, and wherein the cable (6) is configured to extend between the first and second side rollers (19/20).
Regarding claim 16 Bulin discloses a method of routing a cable (6), comprising:
mounting a snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) to a mining shovel (1), wherein the snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) includes:
a first web (13);
a second web (12) spaced apart from the first web (13)[,] a first control roller (10) rotatably coupled between the first (13) and second (12) webs;
a second control roller (11) rotatably coupled between the first and second webs (13/12) and spaced apart from the first control roller (10);
a first side roller (19) extending parallel and proximate to the first web (13); and
a second side roller (20) extending parallel and proximate to the second web (12); and
routing a cable (6) between the first and second control rollers (10/11) and between the first and second side rollers (19/20).
Regarding claim 19 Bulin discloses the above method, and further discloses moving the cable (6) through the snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2), thereby causing at least one of the first control roller (10), the second control roller (11), the first side roller (19), or the second side roller (20) to roll against the cable (6).
Regarding claim 20 Bulin discloses the above method, and further discloses wherein the snatch roller fairlead assembly (see fig. 2) further comprises a mounting subassembly (16/17) coupled to the fairlead frame (F), wherein the mounting subassembly (16/17) is configured to attach the first web (13) to the mining shovel (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulin.
Regarding claims 3 and 5 Bulin discloses the above assembly, but does not discuss the material used for the fairlead frame, or for the pulleys. It is argued that those of ordinary skill in the art were well versed in selecting materials to use for constructing cranes. For example, Bulin mentions the use of steel for a different component (col. 3 lines 7-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any appropriate material for the fairlead frame and/or pulleys of Bulin, including structural steel, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to make a component which is strong enough to perform the required functions as specified by Bulin.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulin in view of US 20210179361 A1 (hereinafter “Ellerhorst”).
Regarding claim 4 Bulin discloses the above assembly, but fails to disclose a specific material for the rollers. Making rollers from ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW) is considered an obvious variation, in view of Ellerhorst. Ellerhorst teaches pulleys (32) used to guide an elongate material (16). Ellerhorst further teaches using ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW) as the material for the pulleys (paragraph 20).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulin in view of US 20040256180 A1 (hereinafter “Eichhorn”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18 Bulin discloses the above method, and further discloses wherein the cable (6) includes a braided cable sleeving (see column 3 lines 7-8). Bulin fails to teach a roller coating. Eichhorn teaches a hoisting device which uses rollers to guide a cable. Eichhorn further teaches wherein the roller (41; see fig. 3) is at least partially coated with a wear-resistant material (42) (see paragraphs 30-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an anti-friction coating to Bulin, as taught by Eichhorn with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow for less friction between the rollers and line of Bulin.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,419,508 (hereinafter “Pierce”) in view of Bulin.
Regarding claims 10 and 12 Pierce teaches a cable (10) having a first end configured to be coupled (capable of being coupled, i.e. this is a functional recitation) to a stationary portion of a mining shovel (i.e. the side of the vehicle) and a second end configured to be coupled (capable of being coupled, i.e. this is a functional recitation) to a movable bucket of the mining shovel; and a snatch roller fairlead assembly (33) configured to be coupled between the stationary portion and the movable bucket; wherein the cable (10) is an electrical cable configured to be operatively coupled to transfer power to/from an electrical component (i.e. element 10 is a power cable). Pierce teaches four rollers on the fairlead (33), but does not teach all the specifics of the fairlead as set forth in claim 10. Bulin, as discussed above, teaches all the remainder of these limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fairlead of Pierce for the fairlead of Bulin with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better guide the cable, and have more flexibility in the fairlead arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or make obvious the combination of claim recitations set forth in either of claims 13 or 17. Specifically, these claims require:
[Claim 13] a cable having a first end configured to be coupled to a stationary portion of a mining shovel and a second end configured to be coupled to a movable bucket of the mining shovel; and a snatch roller fairlead assembly configured to be coupled between the stationary portion and the movable bucket; wherein the cable is an electrical cable configured to be operatively coupled to transfer power and/or signals to/from an electrical component; wherein the electrical component includes a sensor configured to measure characteristics in the movable bucket of the mining shovel..
[Claim 17] a method comprising mounting a snatch roller fairlead assembly to a mining shovel; routing a cable between the first and second control rollers and between the first and second side rollers; wherein the mining shovel includes a bucket, wherein the cable includes an electrical cable, the method further comprising: operatively coupling the cable to an electrical component mounted on the bucket; and transferring power and/or signals to/from the electrical component through the cable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654