DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on December 11, 2025, has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presently pending with claims 1, 13, and 20 being independent. Claims 2, 12, and 14 are original claims. Claims 1, 3-11, 13, and 15-20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed December 11, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-20 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0209606 A1; hereinafter Zhang) in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0016312 A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus (read as UE) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 12, element 1202 Processor; ¶ [0135] UE may include a processor.), and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform (Fig. 12, element 1202 Processor, element 1204 Memory, element 1206 Instructions; ¶ [0135] The UE may include a memory.; ¶ [0137] The memory may store instructions. The instructions may include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the operations.):
transmitting the first message with repetitions over the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0083] A random access preamble transmission scheme using multiple ROs. Each of the PRACH preamble sequences correspond to the same PRACH preamble sequence. The UE transmits four repetitions of the PRACH preamble sequence.; ¶ [0085] Transmit a MSG1 using multiple ROs.);
generating a random access - radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on the determined RO sequence (read as a function of the multiple ROs) of the multiple ROs, wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to use identification information of a last RO of the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0064] A set of rules may be defined for determining RA-RNTI(s).; ¶ [0066] Determine whether to determine a single RA-RNTI or multiple RA-RNTIs for the multiple ROs. The set of rules may specify a new function for determining an RA-RNTI for the multiple ROs. The UE may determine a single RA-RNTI as a function of the multiple ROs.; ¶ [0121] The new formulation may be a function of each RO of the multiple ROs. The new function can be denoted as F(RO1, RO2, …, RO_K), where K is the latest RO in the multiple ROs.; ¶ [0122] S_id represents the index of the first OFDM symbol of an RO. T_id represents the index of the first slot of the RO. F_id represents the index of the RO in the frequency domain. The RO may be an earliest RO, a latest RO, or any RO within the multiple ROs.); and
using the generated RA-RNTI in the random access procedure (¶ [0006] Monitoring for a random access response (RAR) message based on the one or more determined RA-RNTIs in a RAR window associated with the multiple ROs.).
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs from multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs for transmission of a first message with repetitions in the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure.
In analogous art, Li teaches teach determining a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs from multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs for transmission of a first message with repetitions in the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure (¶ [0005] In response to receiving the SIB, the UE determines a first number of repetitions for a transmission of a RA preamble, a corresponding first resource set, and a corresponding first maximum number of transmissions.; ¶ [0120] Signaling in a SIB, linking sets of path-loss ranges to sets of respective resources for a RA preamble transmission. Each number of repetitions can have an associated PRACH resource configuration.; ¶ [0122] The UE determines a PRACH resource configuration from the acquired mapping.¶ [0131] Table1B provides an exemplary RA preamble resource (time, or frequency, or preamble domain) adjustment according to a number of repetitions for a transmission for a RA preamble.; ¶ [0132] In Table 1B, different resource configurations can be mapped according to a number of RA preamble repetitions.
).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a first message with repetitions as taught by Li with random access procedure as taught by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve random access reliability and reduce failed access attempts by transmitting the first random access message with repetitions over configured random access occasions so that the receiving base station has a greater likelihood of detecting the message and responding successfully (Li: ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein using the generated RA-RNTI comprises detecting downlink control information with cyclic redundancy check scrambled by the generated RA-RNTI (¶ [0061] The BS may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE via a PDCCH. The scheduling grants may be transmitted in the form of DL control information (DCI).; ¶ [0076] In some aspects, the PDCCH includes DCI including a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) masked by the RA-RNTI (e.g., by scrambling the CRC with the RA-RNTI).; ¶ [0096] The UE may apply a first mask to a CRC in a detected PDCCH using the RA-RNTI.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use an identifier of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0004] The RA-RNTI may be dependent on the time and/or frequency resource locations (e.g., time and/or frequency resource indexes) of the random access resource.; ¶ [0071] The random access ID can be derived based on the frequency-time resource used. There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.; ¶ [0122] Computing an RA-RNTI for multiple ROs.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI (read as computing an RA-RNTI) is configured to further use a time domain parameter t_id as an identifier of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0122] The new function for computing an RA-RNTI for multiple ROs can be defined as:
t_id represents the index.).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use identification information of one or more of the multiple ROs belonging to the RO sequence (¶ [0045] A new function for computing RA-RNTI may be defined based on time and/or frequency locations of each RO of the multiple ROs.; ¶ [0071] There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the identification information comprises a time domain identifier of a the last RO of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0071] The random access ID for a particular sent random access preamble can be derived based on the frequency-time resource used. There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.; ¶ [0076] The RA-RNTI may be a function of the time and/or frequency resource of the RO.; ¶ [0122] A function for computing RA-RNTI for multiple ROs shows that t_id represents the index of the first slot symbol of the RO in a system frame.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein the generation of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use a sum of the identification information of the multiple ROs in the RO sequence (¶ [0122]
Where s_id represents the index of the first OFDM symbol of an RO within the multiple ROs, t_id represents the index of the first slot symbol of the RO in a system frame, f_id represents the index of the RO in the frequency domain, and ul_carrier_id represents the UL carrier used for the random access preamble transmission.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches wherein the identification information comprises frequency domain identifier of the last RO of the multiple ROs in the RO sequence (¶ [0071] The random access ID can be derived based on the frequency-time resource. There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs.; ¶ [0076] The RA-RNTI may be a function of the time and/or frequency resource of the RO.; ¶ [0122] f_id represents the index of the RO in the frequency domain.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use identification information of at least one of a first (read as earliest) RO of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0071] There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.; ¶ [0095] The UE may determine an RA-RNTI for each RO based on the corresponding RO.; ¶ [0122]
The RO may be an earliest RO, a latest RO, or any RO within the multiple ROs.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein the random access procedure is contention based random access, CBRA (¶ [0038] The self-contained integrated subframe supports communications in unlicensed or contention based shared spectrum.; ¶ [0042] The selection of the random access preamble and/or the multiple ROs can be a random selection.; ¶ [0060] The connection response may indicate a contention resolution.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches an apparatus (read as Base Station (BS)) comprising at least one processor (Fig. 11, element 1102 Processor; ¶ [0125] BS may include a processor.), and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform (Fig. 11, element 1102 Processor, element 1104 Memory, element 1106 Instructions; ¶ [0125] The BS may include a memory.; ¶ [0127] The memory may store instructions. The instructions may include instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the operations.):
generating a random access - radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on the detected RO sequence (read as a function of the multiple ROs) (¶ [0064] A set of rules may be defined for determining RA-RNTI(s).; ¶ [0066] Determine whether to determine a single RA-RNTI or multiple RA-RNTIs for the multiple ROs. The set of rules may specify a new function for determining an RA-RNTI for the multiple ROs. The UE may determine a single RA-RNTI as a function of the multiple ROs.); and
using the generated RA-RNTI in the random access procedure (¶ [0006] Monitoring for a random access response (RAR) message based on the one or more determined RA-RNTIs in a RAR window associated with the multiple ROs.).
Zhang does not explicitly teach detecting transmission of a first message with repetitions over a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs that is a determined one of multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure.
In analogous art, Li teaches detecting transmission of a first message with repetitions over a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs that is a determined one of multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure (¶ [0005] In response to receiving the SIB, the UE determines a first number of repetitions for a transmission of a RA preamble, a corresponding first resource set, and a corresponding first maximum number of transmissions.; ¶ [0120] Signaling in a SIB, linking sets of path-loss ranges to sets of respective resources for a RA preamble transmission. Each number of repetitions can have an associated PRACH resource configuration.; ¶ [0122] The UE determines a PRACH resource configuration from the acquired mapping.¶ [0131] Table1B provides an exemplary RA preamble resource (time, or frequency, or preamble domain) adjustment according to a number of repetitions for a transmission for a RA preamble.; ¶ [0132] In Table 1B, different resource configurations can be mapped according to a number of RA preamble repetitions.
).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a first message with repetitions as taught by Li with random access procedure as taught by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve random access reliability and reduce failed access attempts by transmitting the first random access message with repetitions over configured random access occasions so that the receiving base station has a greater likelihood of detecting the message and responding successfully (Li: ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches wherein using the generated RA-RNTI comprises scrambling a cyclic redundancy check of downlink control information by the generated RA- RNTI (¶ [0061] The BS may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE via a PDCCH. The scheduling grants may be transmitted in the form of DL control information (DCI).; ¶ [0076] In some aspects, the PDCCH includes DCI including a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) masked by the RA-RNTI (e.g., by scrambling the CRC with the RA-RNTI).; ¶ [0096] The UE may apply a first mask to a CRC in a detected PDCCH using the RA-RNTI.); and
transmitting the downlink control information (¶ [0061] The BS may transmit UL and/or DL scheduling grants to the UE via a PDCCH. The scheduling grants may be transmitted in the form of DL control information (DCI).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use an identifier of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0004] The RA-RNTI may be dependent on the time and/or frequency resource locations (e.g., time and/or frequency resource indexes) of the random access resource.; ¶ [0071] The random access ID can be derived based on the frequency-time resource used. There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.; ¶ [0122] Computing an RA-RNTI for multiple ROs.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches wherein the generation of the RA-RNTI (read as computing an RA-RNTI) is configured to further use a time domain parameter t_id as an identifier of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0122] The new function for computing an RA-RNTI for multiple ROs can be defined as:
t_id represents the index.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to use identification information of ROs belonging to the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0045] A new function for computing RA-RNTI may be defined based on time and/or frequency locations of each RO of the multiple ROs.; ¶ [0071] There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use identification information of at least one of a first (read as earliest) RO of the RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0071] There is a one-to-one mapping between the ROs and the random access IDs. The random access IDs are referred to as RA-RNTIs.; ¶ [0095] The UE may determine an RA-RNTI for each RO based on the corresponding RO.; ¶ [0122]
The RO may be an earliest RO, a latest RO, or any RO within the multiple ROs.).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches a method comprising:
transmitting the first message with repetitions over the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0083] A random access preamble transmission scheme using multiple ROs. Each of the PRACH preamble sequences correspond to the same PRACH preamble sequence. The UE transmits four repetitions of the PRACH preamble sequence.; ¶ [0085] Transmit a MSG1 using multiple ROs.);
generating a random access - radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) based on the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs, wherein the generating of the RA-RNTI is configured to use identification information of a last RO of the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs (¶ [0064] A set of rules may be defined for determining RA-RNTI(s).; ¶ [0066] Determine whether to determine a single RA-RNTI or multiple RA-RNTIs for the multiple ROs. The set of rules may specify a new function for determining an RA-RNTI for the multiple ROs. The UE may determine a single RA-RNTI as a function of the multiple ROs.); and
using the generated RA-RNTI in the random access procedure (¶ [0006] Monitoring for a random access response (RAR) message based on the one or more determined RA-RNTIs in a RAR window associated with the multiple ROs.).
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs from multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs for transmission of a first message with repetitions in the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure.
In analogous art, Li teaches determining a random access channel occasion (RO) sequence of multiple ROs from multiple candidate RO sequences of multiple ROs for transmission of a first message with repetitions in the determined RO sequence of the multiple ROs, wherein the first message is part of a random access procedure (¶ [0005] In response to receiving the SIB, the UE determines a first number of repetitions for a transmission of a RA preamble, a corresponding first resource set, and a corresponding first maximum number of transmissions.; ¶ [0120] Signaling in a SIB, linking sets of path-loss ranges to sets of respective resources for a RA preamble transmission. Each number of repetitions can have an associated PRACH resource configuration.; ¶ [0122] The UE determines a PRACH resource configuration from the acquired mapping.¶ [0131] Table1B provides an exemplary RA preamble resource (time, or frequency, or preamble domain) adjustment according to a number of repetitions for a transmission for a RA preamble.; ¶ [0132] In Table 1B, different resource configurations can be mapped according to a number of RA preamble repetitions.
).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine transmission of a first message with repetitions as taught by Li with random access procedure as taught by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve random access reliability and reduce failed access attempts by transmitting the first random access message with repetitions over configured random access occasions so that the receiving base station has a greater likelihood of detecting the message and responding successfully (Li: ¶ [0005]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Li further in view of Shin et al. (US 2024/0340967 A1; hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang and Li do not explicitly teach wherein the generation of the RA-RNTI is configured to use sum modulo N of the identification information of the multiple ROs in the RO sequence.
In analogous art, Shin teaches wherein the generation (read as deriving) of the RA-RNTI is configured to further use a sum modulo N (read as modulo using 2M or 2M-K2M ) of the identification information of the multiple ROs in the RO sequence (¶ [0131] Deriving a random access preamble identifier (e.g., a RA-RNTI) may include a method of applying a modulo operation to the entire existing RA-RNTI equation.; ¶ [0132]
;
¶ [0142] A specific RNTI may be determined based on a value derived by a modulo operation using 2M or 2M-K2M as a divisor.; Note that the instant application, ¶ [0114] states “mod() is the modulo operator.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine generating RA-RNTI using sum modulo N as taught by Shin with transmission of a first message with repetitions as taught by Li and random access procedure as taught by Zhang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to allow faster initial access to the network and improve efficiency by reducing the risk of overlapping or duplicated RA-RNTIs modulo arithmetic improves how UEs map to identifiers (Shin: ¶¶ [0004-0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US 2015/0117374 A1) discloses “Method of Handling Random Access in Wireless Communication System”
Ohara (US 2020/0337090 A1) discloses “User Apparatus”
Xiong et. (US 2020/0374928 A1) discloses “RAR Window Enhancement During Random Access Procedure for New Radio (NR)-Unlicensed Spectrum”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464