DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-12, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2023/0420493 A1; hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Fig. 2 and related text, Lin teaches an integrated circuit device, comprising: a substrate (202) (paragraph 25); and a trench capacitor structure (100) within the substrate, comprising: a plurality of electrode layers comprising a first material (203A-203D formed of titanium nitride), wherein the first material has a first modulus of elasticity (a modulus of elasticity of titanium nitride) (paragraph 25); a plurality of insulator layers (205A-205D) interspersed with the plurality of electrode layers (paragraph 25); and a merged dielectric layer comprising a second material (209 formed of silicon oxide) in a merge region (a region where 209 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of a top-most insulator layer of the plurality of insulator layers (co-facing surfaces of 205D of 205A-205D) (paragraph 27), wherein the second material has a second modulus of elasticity that is lesser relative to the first modulus of elasticity (a modulus of elasticity of 209 formed of silicon oxide is less than the modulus of elasticity of 203A-203D formed of titanium nitride as a material property) (paragraphs 25-27).
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches wherein a depth of each trench of the trench capacitor structure is greater relative to a width of each trench of trench capacitor structure (Figs. 2 and 3F and paragraphs 30-33).
Regarding claim 3, Lin teaches wherein the first material comprises a titanium nitride material, and wherein the second material comprises: an oxide material (paragraphs 25-27).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches wherein the oxide material comprises: an aluminum oxide material, a zirconium oxide material, or a silicon dioxide material (paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 7, referring to Fig. 2 and related text, Lin teaches an integrated circuit device, comprising: a substrate (202) (paragraph 25); a trench capacitor structure (100) within the substrate, comprising: a plurality of electrode layers comprising a first material (203A-203D formed of titanium nitride), wherein the first material has a first coefficient of thermal expansion (a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of titanium nitride) (paragraph 25); a plurality of insulator layers (205A-205D) interspersed with the plurality of electrode layers (paragraph 25); and a merged dielectric layer comprising a second material (209 formed of silicon oxide) in a merge region (a region where 209 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of a top-most layer of the plurality of electrode layers (co-facing surfaces of 203D of 203A-203D) (paragraph 27), wherein the second material has a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is lesser relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (a CTE of 209 formed of silicon oxide is less than the CTE of 203A-203D formed of titanium nitride as a material property) (paragraphs 25-27).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches wherein the first material comprises: a titanium nitride material (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 10, Lin teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer excludes co-facing surfaces in contact with each other and that form an interface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lin teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer is on a top-most insulator layer (205D) of the plurality of insulator layers (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Lin teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer includes a portion (a top portion of 209) outside the merge region (Fig. 2) and further comprising: an interconnect structure (324a-324d) passing through the portion and to a top-most electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers (Fig. 3Q and paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches a method, comprising: forming an insulator layer (308a-308d) of a trench capacitor structure on a device region including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (308a-308d formed of hafnium oxide having a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE)) (Figs. 2 and 3G and paragraphs 15-16, 25, and 34); forming an electrode layer (306a-206d) of the trench capacitor structure on the insulator layer from a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is greater relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (306a-306d formed of copper has a CTE greater than 308a-308d formed of hafnium oxide as a material property) (Figs. 2 and 3G and paragraphs 25 and 34); and forming a merged dielectric layer (310) in a gap (a gap where 310 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of the electrode layer (co-facing surfaces of 306d) from a third material having a third coefficient of thermal expansion that is lesser relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (310 formed of silicon oxide has a CTE less than 308a-308d formed of hafnium oxide as a material property) (paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes: using an atomic layer deposition process (paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes: using a high aspect ratio process, wherein the high aspect ratio process includes a chemical vapor deposition process or a physical vapor deposition process (paragraph 28, CVD).
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes forming a lateral portion of the merged dielectric layer (a lateral portion of 209/310) over the insulator layer (Figs. 2 and 3G).
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches further comprising: forming a cavity (a cavity where 324a-324d are formed therein) through the lateral portion of the second material and through insulator layer to expose an electrode layer; and forming an interconnect structure (324a-324d) in the cavity that connects with the electrode layer (Fig. 3Q and paragraph 41).
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 2021/0036097 A1; hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Figs. 1-2 and related text, Tsai teaches an integrated circuit device, comprising: a substrate (103) (paragraph 13); and a trench capacitor structure (213) within the substrate (paragraph 16), comprising: a plurality of electrode layers (203A-203D) comprising a first material (for example, titanium nitride), wherein the first material has a first modulus of elasticity (a modulus of elasticity of titanium nitride) (paragraph 17); a plurality of insulator layers (205A-205D) interspersed with the plurality of electrode layers (paragraph 17); and a merged dielectric layer (209) comprising a second material (for example, silicon oxide) in a merge region (a region where 209 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of a top-most insulator layer of the plurality of insulator layers (co-facing surfaces of 205D of 205A-205D) (paragraph 21), wherein the second material has a second modulus of elasticity that is lesser relative to the first modulus of elasticity (a modulus of elasticity of 209 formed of silicon oxide is less than the modulus of elasticity of 203A-203D formed of titanium nitride as a material property) (paragraphs 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches wherein a depth of each trench of the trench capacitor structure is greater relative to a width of each trench of trench capacitor structure (for example, D1 is greater than W1) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches wherein the first material comprises a titanium nitride material, and wherein the second material comprises: an oxide material (paragraphs 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches wherein the oxide material comprises: an aluminum oxide material, a zirconium oxide material, or a silicon dioxide material (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches wherein the substrate comprises: a third material having a third modulus of elasticity (for example, 103 formed of silicon having a modulus of elasticity) (paragraph 13), wherein the third modulus of elasticity is lesser relative to the first modulus of elasticity (the modulus of elasticity of silicon of 103 is less than the modulus of elasticity of titanium nitride of 203A-203D as a material property), and wherein the third modulus of elasticity is greater relative to the second modulus of elasticity (the modulus of elasticity of silicon of 103 is greater than the modulus of elasticity of silicon oxide of 209 as a material property).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches wherein a ratio of the third modulus of elasticity to the second modulus of elasticity is greater than approximately 5:2 (considering 180GPa as the modulus of elasticity of silicon in an average range of 130-185 GPa and 60GPa as the modulus of elasticity of silicon oxide in an average range of 60-75 GPa, 180:60 is 3:1, which is greater than 5:2).
Regarding claim 7, referring to Figs. 1-2 and related text, Tsai teaches an integrated circuit device, comprising: a substrate (103) (paragraph 13); a trench capacitor structure (213) within the substrate (paragraph 16), comprising: a plurality of electrode layers (203A-203D) comprising a first material (for example, titanium nitride), wherein the first material has a first coefficient of thermal expansion (a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of titanium nitride) (paragraph 17); a plurality of insulator layers (205A-205D) interspersed with the plurality of electrode layers (paragraph 17); and a merged dielectric layer (209) comprising a second material (for example, silicon oxide) in a merge region (a region where 209 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of a top-most layer of the plurality of electrode layers (co-facing surfaces of 203D of 203A-203D) (paragraph 21), wherein the second material has a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is lesser relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (a CTE of 209 formed of silicon oxide is less than the CTE of 203A-203D formed of titanium nitride as a material property) (paragraphs 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches wherein the first material comprises: a titanium nitride material (paragraph 17).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer excludes co-facing surfaces in contact with each other and that form an interface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer is on a top-most insulator layer (205D) of the plurality of insulator layers (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches wherein the merged dielectric layer includes a portion (a top portion of 209) outside the merge region (Fig. 2) and further comprising: an interconnect structure (307A-307E) passing through the portion and to a top-most electrode layer of the plurality of electrode layers (Fig. 3 and paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 13, Tsai teaches wherein the substrate comprises: a third material having a third coefficient of thermal expansion (for example, 103 formed of germanium having a CTE), wherein the third coefficient of thermal expansion is lesser relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (the CTE of germanium of 103 is less than the CTE of titanium nitride of 203A-203D as a material property), and wherein the third coefficient of thermal expansion is greater relative to the second coefficient of thermal expansion (the CTE of germanium of 103 is greater than the CTE of silicon oxide of 209 as a material property).
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches wherein a ratio of the third coefficient of thermal expansion to the second coefficient of thermal expansion is greater than approximately 7:1 (considering 6 as the CTE of germanium in an average range of 5.8-6 ppm/oC and 0.5 as the CTE of silicon oxide in an average range of 0.5-0.6 ppm/oC, 6:0.5 is greater than 7:1).
Regarding claim 15, referring to Figs. 1-2 and related text, Tsai teaches a method, comprising: forming an insulator layer (205A-205D) of a trench capacitor structure (213) on a device region (a region where 213 is formed) including a first material having a first coefficient of thermal expansion (for example, aluminum oxide having a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE)) (paragraphs 13-17); forming an electrode layer (203A-203D) of the trench capacitor structure on the insulator layer from a second material having a second coefficient of thermal expansion that is greater relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (for example, 203A-203D formed of copper has a CTE greater than 205A-205D formed of aluminum oxide as a material property) (paragraph 17); and forming a merged dielectric layer (209) in a gap (a gap where 209 is formed therein) between co-facing surfaces of the electrode layer (co-facing surfaces of 203D) from a third material having a third coefficient of thermal expansion that is lesser relative to the first coefficient of thermal expansion (209 formed of silicon oxide has a CTE less than 205A-205D formed of aluminum as a material property) (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes: using an atomic layer deposition process (paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes: using a high aspect ratio process, wherein the high aspect ratio process includes a chemical vapor deposition process or a physical vapor deposition process (paragraph 22, CVD).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai teaches wherein forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes forming a lateral portion of the merged dielectric layer (a lateral portion of 209) over the insulator layer (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Tsai teaches further comprising: forming a cavity (a cavity where 307A-307E are formed therein) through the lateral portion of the second material and through insulator layer to expose an electrode layer; and forming an interconnect structure (307A-307E) in the cavity that connects with the electrode layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai.
Regarding claim 9, Tsai does not explicitly teach that the second material for the merged dielectric layer comprises a polyimide material. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the polyimide material as the readily available organic dielectric material known in the art in place of inorganic dielectric materials such as silicon oxide or silicon nitride in order to obtain the predictable dielectric characteristics.
Regarding claim 18, Tsai does not explicitly teach that forming the merged dielectric layer in the gap from the second material includes: a deposition operation having a thermal cycle that includes a cooling duration. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize, after a review of Tsai’s teaching of the deposition method such as CVD and/or ALD for the merged dielectric layer (209) (paragraphs 21-22), that the CVD and/or the ALD processing includes the thermal cycle including heating and cooling durations for its depositing operation.
Furthermore, since Tsai teaches each and every method steps for the trench capacitor structure structurally and compositionally identical to that of the claim, the claimed property (i.e., “wherein the cooling duration introduces the shrinkage strain within the trench capacitor structure based on a combination of the first coefficient of thermal expansion, the second coefficient of thermal expansion, and the third coefficient of thermal expansion” would be also identical: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) and MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893