DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: RCE filed on 04/20/2026.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-23 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are canceled.
The previous rejection of claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US2014/0327677) in view of Nicholls (US 9,575,615), D’Onofrio, II et al. (US2012/0102015), An et al. (“Browser-based Web Content Sharing System”), and Valz (US10,873,616).
In regards to claim 1, Walker et al. substantially discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating for display, at a first machine, content that includes a first webpage comprising a set of search results having items (Walker fig. 6 para[0069] ln3-11, first content on a first machine and additional content on a second screen, para[0055] ln8-10, first screen presents search results as items in a grid.);
receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a first item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Walker para[0070] ln7-13, selects content item for display).
Walker does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage; and
generating for display at the second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item.
However Nicholls substantially discloses receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Nicholls col11 ln43-51, user interaction determines item selected for display); and
generating for display, at a second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item (Nicholls col2 ln28-49, displays supplemental content/additional information including recommendations of similar items).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage.
However D’Onofrio, II et al. discloses the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage (D’Onofrio, II et al. fig. 1 para[0058], step 107 identify items and attributes of interest from results table to create comparison table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the comparison method of D’Onofrio, II et al. in order to compare information from multiple similar pages in a single table (D’Onofrio, II et al. para[0006]).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, modifying the content at the first machine to include details about the first item.
However An et al. substantially discloses in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, modifying the content at the first machine to include details about the first item (An et al. fig. 1 pg1129 section III.A 5-6, student identifies first item on second (student) machine, additional details (answer) are displayed on first (teacher) machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the content sharing method of An et al. in order to allow users transfer content between multiple user devices (An et al. pg1128 section I para4).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network.
However Valz discloses the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network (Valz fig. 2 col8 ln31-52, in the system 200, content is requested by an initiating device 106a for receipt by, and presentation on, a separate but co-located presentation device 106b, col10 ln29-32, In some implementations, the initiating device 106a and the presentation device 106b can be communicatively coupled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
In regards to claim 3, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al., and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second webpage is generated in response to the selection of the first item (Nicholls col15 ln34-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein configurable options provided at the first machine determine the select subset of item attributes for the first item and the second item.
However Valz discloses wherein configurable options provided at the first machine determine the select subset of item attributes for the first item and the second item (Valz col8 ln33-50, The selection can include identifying a second different content item based at least in part on the profile information for the identified user and the enhanced presentation characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
In regards to claim 4, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al., and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising generating for display, in response to the selection of the first item, an item indicator at the first machine, the item indicator identifying whether the select subset of item attributes for the first item are being displayed for comparison at the second webpage (Walker para[0093] ln2-6).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the second machine is linked to the first machine based on detecting that a first session corresponding to the first machine overlaps with a second session corresponding to the second machine.
However Valz discloses wherein the second machine is linked to the first machine based on detecting that a first session corresponding to the first machine overlaps with a second session corresponding to the second machine (Valz col12 ln 47-59, indication is received from initiating device to send content to collocated presentation device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
In regards to claim 5, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al., and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising communicating, from the first machine to the second machine, information corresponding to the comparison of the select subset of item attributes for the first item and the second item without a request for the information from the second machine (Nicholls col17 ln7-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the first machine is designated as a primary machine displaying the set of search results and the second machine is designated as a secondary machine for displaying the comparison table based on determining the first machine initiated a first session prior to the second machine initiating a second session, and responsive to determining the second machine initiated the second session, prompting the first machine to link the second machine.
However Valz discloses wherein the first machine is designated as a primary machine displaying the set of search results and the second machine is designated as a secondary machine for displaying the comparison table based on determining the first machine initiated a first session prior to the second machine initiating a second session, and responsive to determining the second machine initiated the second session, prompting the first machine to link the second machine (Valz Fig. 3B col12 ln 47-59, indication is received from initiating device to send content to collocated presentation device col13 ln4-11, A prompt is provided directly to the separate co-located presentation device that includes the input).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
In regards to claim 6, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al., and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second webpage is displayed based on the second machine receiving, from the first machine, a URL (Uniform Resource Locator) corresponding to the second webpage (Nicholls col16 ln2-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the second machine and the first machine are linked via a peer-to-peer network.
However Valz discloses wherein the second machine and the first machine are linked via a peer-to-peer network (Valz col5 ln46-54, The content management system 110 can include plural engines, some or all of which may be combined or separate, and may be co-located or distributed (e.g., connected over the network 102)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
In regards to claim 7, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al., and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein:
the selection of the first item populates the comparison table with a first set of values for the select subset of item attributes, each of the first set of values being associated with the first item (Nicholls col11 ln43-51); and
the selection of the second item populates the comparison table with a second set of values for the select subset of item attributes, each of the second set of values being associated with second item (Nicholls col15 ln34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
In regards to claim 8, Walker et al. substantially discloses a system comprising:
At least one processor (Walker et al. para[0056]); and
One or more machine-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor (Walker et al. para[0057]), to perform operations comprising:
Displaying, at a first machine, a first webpage comprising a set of search results having items (Walker fig. 6 para[0069] ln3-11, first content on a first machine and additional content on a second screen, para[0055] ln8-10, first screen presents search results as items in a grid.);
receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a first item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Walker para[0070] ln7-13, selects content item for display).
Walker does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage; and
displaying at a second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item.
However Nicholls substantially discloses receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Nicholls col11 ln43-51, user interaction determines item selected for display); and
generating for display, at a second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item (Nicholls col2 ln28-49, displays supplemental content/additional information including recommendations of similar items).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage.
However D’Onofrio, II et al. discloses the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage (D’Onofrio, II et al. fig. 1 para[0058], step 107 identify items and attributes of interest from results table to create comparison table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the comparison method of D’Onofrio, II et al. in order to compare information from multiple similar pages in a single table (D’Onofrio, II et al. para[0006]).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, removing the first item form the comparison table at the second machine; and
Removing an item indicator corresponding to the first item from display at the first machine.
However An et al. substantially discloses in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, removing the first item form the comparison table at the second machine (An et al. pg1129 section III.A5-6 and B 3-5, selected item disappears from display of second (student) device) ; and
Removing an item indicator corresponding to the first item from display at the first machine (An et al. pg1129 section III.A5-6 and B 3-5, removes indicator (video controller) from first (tv) device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the content sharing method of An et al. in order to allow users transfer content between multiple user devices (An et al. pg1128 section I para4).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network.
However Valz discloses the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network (Valz fig. 2 col8 ln31-52, in the system 200, content is requested by an initiating device 106a for receipt by, and presentation on, a separate but co-located presentation device 106b, col10 ln29-32, In some implementations, the initiating device 106a and the presentation device 106b can be communicatively coupled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
Claims, 10-14 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 3-7. Thus claims 10-14 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 3-7.
In regards to claim 15, Walker et al. substantially discloses One or more machine-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
generating for display, at a first machine, a first webpage comprising a set of search results having items (Walker fig. 6 para[0069] ln3-11, first content on a first machine and additional content on a second screen, para[0055] ln8-10, first screen presents search results as items in a grid.);
receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a first item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Walker para[0070] ln7-13, selects content item for display).
Walker does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage; and
generating for display at a second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item.
However Nicholls substantially discloses receiving, from the first machine, a selection of a second item selected from the set of search results at the first webpage (Nicholls col11 ln43-51, user interaction determines item selected for display); and
generating for display, at a second machine linked to the first machine, a second webpage separate from the first webpage, the second webpage comprising a comparison table, the comparison table comprising a comparison of one or more item attributes for the first item and the second item (Nicholls col2 ln28-49, displays supplemental content/additional information including recommendations of similar items).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the supplementary content of Nicholls in order to identify and display related information (Nicholls col1 ln5-24).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage.
However D’Onofrio, II et al. discloses the comparison table comprising a comparison of a select subset of item attributes for the first item and second item that art included at the first webpage (D’Onofrio, II et al. fig. 1 para[0058], step 107 identify items and attributes of interest from results table to create comparison table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the comparison method of D’Onofrio, II et al. in order to compare information from multiple similar pages in a single table (D’Onofrio, II et al. para[0006]).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, removing the first item from the comparison table at the second machine.
However An et al. substantially discloses in response to an input identifying the first item received at the second machine, removing the first item from the comparison table at the second machine (An et al. pg1129 section III.A5-6 and B 3-5, selected item disappears from display of second (student) device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the content sharing method of An et al. in order to allow users transfer content between multiple user devices (An et al. pg1128 section I para4).
Walker et al. does not explicitly disclose the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network.
However Valz discloses the second machine and the first machine being a computing device and the second machine being different from the first machine and connected to the first machine via a network (Valz fig. 2 col8 ln31-52, in the system 200, content is requested by an initiating device 106a for receipt by, and presentation on, a separate but co-located presentation device 106b, col10 ln29-32, In some implementations, the initiating device 106a and the presentation device 106b can be communicatively coupled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined additional content display method of Walker with the enhanced content display method of Valz in order to display selected content on a second collocated device with improved presentation characteristics (Valz col 1 ln31-53).
Claims 17-20 recite substantially similar limitations to claims 3-6. Thus claims 17-20 are rejected along the same rationale as claims 3-6.
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Nicholls, D'Onofrio, II et al., An et al., Valz and Kraus et al. (US2014/0019205).
In regards to claim 21, Walker as modified by Nicholls, D’Onofrio II et al., An et al. and Valz substantially discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. Walker does not explicitly disclose wherein the select subset of item attributes is determined by a greatest variance between an item attribute of the first item and the item attribute of the second item.
However Kraus et al. discloses the select subset of item attributes determined by a greatest variance between an item attribute of the first time and the item attribute of the second item (Kraus et al. para[0039], ranks attributes by variance and select highest ranked attributes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the additional content display method of Walker with the data analysis method of Kraus et al. in order to allow users to identify useful and relevant attributes in multidimensional data (Kraus et al. para[0003]).
Claim 22 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 21. Thus claim 22 is rejected along the same rationale as claims 21.
Claim 23 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 21. Thus claim 23 is rejected along the same rationale as claims 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-23 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141