DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 1/2/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-10 are pending and claims 1-3 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II, claims 4-10 in the reply filed on 1/2/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/16/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 11/7/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a light-emitting diode" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is a light-emitting diode the same or different than then a light-emitting diode of claim 8, of which this claim depends. For the purpose of examination, “a light-emitting diode” will be interpreted as “the light-emitting diode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tu et al. (US 2022/0359253 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tu teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Fig. 1), comprising:
providing a transfer substrate(710) having a carrying surface(710b) on which the electronic component(720/721, ¶0085) to be bonded is disposed and a non-carrying surface(710a) which is opposite to the carrying surface(710b);
providing a target substrate(740, ¶0021) having a bonded surface and a non-bonded surface which is opposite to the bonded surface;
arranging the carrying surface(710b) of the transfer substrate(710) to face the bonded surface of the target substrate(740, ¶0021);
making the transfer substrate(710) and the target substrate(740, ¶0021) approach each other until the electronic component(720/721, ¶0085) is in contact with the bonded surface of the target substrate(740, ¶0021);
applying a flexible push(140, ¶0021) to the non-carrying surface(710a) of the transfer substrate(710) or to the non-bonded surface of the target substrate(740, ¶0021), wherein the flexible push(140, ¶0021) is in a greater magnitude(Fig. 1D, ¶0060) onto a central portion of the non-carrying surface(710a) or of the non-bonded surface than onto a peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface(710a) or of the non-bonded surface at the start of the flexible push(140, ¶0021) being applied; and
applying an energy beam(L1, ¶0034) to bond the electronic component(720/721, ¶0085) on the bonded surface of the target substrate(740, ¶0021) from the transfer substrate(710).
Regarding claim 5, Tu teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the flexible push(140, ¶0021) reaches a universal magnitude(Fig. 1F, ¶0065) gradually from the central portion to the peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface(710a) or of the non-bonded surface.
Regarding claim 7, Tu teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the energy beam(L1, ¶0034) is a laser beam(¶0041).
Regarding claim 8, Tu teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the electronic component(720/721, ¶0085) is a light-emitting diode(¶0085).
Regarding claim 9, Tu teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the target substrate(740, ¶0021) is a thin film transistor substrate(¶0045).
Regarding claim 10, Tu teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting diode display(Fig. 1, ¶0085), comprising bonding the light-emitting diode(720/721, ¶0085) using the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 8(please see claim 8 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tu et al. (US 2022/0359253 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/01202185 A1) as cited in the IDS of11/7/2023 .
Regarding claim 6, Tu teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, but is not relied on to teach the flexible push(140, ¶0021) is generated by inflating an air bag.
Lee teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Fig. 4) wherein the flexible push(air, ¶0035) is generated by inflating an air bag(124, ¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the method of Tu, so that the flexible push is generated by inflating an air bag, as taught by Lee, so that a void is discharged to the outside of the semiconductor chip and does not remain at the interface between the electronic component and the target substrate, and thus, the bonding reliability between the electronic component and the target substrate may be improved(¶0067).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2022/0238358 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/01202185 A1) as cited in the IDS of11/7/2023 .
Regarding claim 4, Liao teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Figs. 9-12), comprising:
providing a transfer substrate(S, ¶0032) having a carrying surface(S1001, ¶0032) on which the electronic component(C, ¶0032) to be bonded is disposed and a non-carrying surface(S1002, ¶0032) which is opposite to the carrying surface(S1001, ¶0032);
providing a target substrate(P, ¶0032) having a bonded surface and a non-bonded surface which is opposite to the bonded surface;
arranging the carrying surface(S1001, ¶0032) of the transfer substrate(S, ¶0032) to face the bonded surface of the target substrate(P, ¶0032);
making the transfer substrate(S, ¶0032) and the target substrate(P, ¶0032) approach each other until the electronic component(C, ¶0032) is in contact(S102, ¶0035) with the bonded surface of the target substrate(P, ¶0032);
applying(S104, ¶0032) a flexible push(gas, ¶0035) to the non-carrying surface(S1002, ¶0032) of the transfer substrate(S, ¶0032) or to the non-bonded surface of the target substrate(P, ¶0032); and
applying an energy beam(laser beam, ¶0036) to bond the electronic component(C, ¶0032) on the bonded surface of the target substrate(P, ¶0032) from the transfer substrate(S, ¶0032).
Liao is not relied on to teach the flexible push(gas, ¶0035) is in a greater magnitude onto a central portion of the non-carrying surface(S1002, ¶0032) or of the non-bonded surface than onto a peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface(S1002, ¶0032) or of the non-bonded surface at the start of the flexible push(gas, ¶0035) being applied.
Lee teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Fig. 4) wherein the flexible push(air, ¶0035) is in a greater magnitude(Fig. 4c) onto a central portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface than onto a peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface at the start of the flexible push(air, ¶0035) being applied. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the method of Liao, so that the flexible push is in a greater magnitude onto a central portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface than onto a peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface at the start of the flexible push being applied, as taught by Lee, so that a void is discharged to the outside of the semiconductor chip and does not remain at the interface between the electronic component and the target substrate, and thus, the bonding reliability between the electronic component and the target substrate may be improved(¶0067).
Regarding claim 5, Liao teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, but is not relied on to teach the flexible push(gas, ¶0035) reaches a universal magnitude gradually from the central portion to the peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface(S1002, ¶0032) or of the non-bonded surface.
Lee teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Fig. 4) wherein the flexible push(air, ¶0035) reaches a universal magnitude(Fig. 4E) gradually from the central portion to the peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the method of Liao, so that the flexible push reaches a universal magnitude gradually from the central portion to the peripheral portion of the non-carrying surface or of the non-bonded surface, as taught by Lee, so that a void is discharged to the outside of the semiconductor chip and does not remain at the interface between the electronic component and the target substrate, and thus, the bonding reliability between the electronic component and the target substrate may be improved(¶0067).
Regarding claim 6, Liao teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, but is not relied on to teach the flexible push(gas, ¶0035) is generated by inflating an air bag.
Lee teaches a method for bonding an electronic component(Fig. 4) wherein the flexible push(air, ¶0035) is generated by inflating an air bag(124, ¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the method of Liao, so that the flexible push is generated by inflating an air bag, as taught by Lee, so that a void is discharged to the outside of the semiconductor chip and does not remain at the interface between the electronic component and the target substrate, and thus, the bonding reliability between the electronic component and the target substrate may be improved(¶0067).
Regarding claim 7, Liao teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the energy beam(laser beam, ¶0036) is a laser beam(¶0036).
Regarding claim 8, Liao teaches the method for bonding an electronic component according to claim 4, wherein the electronic component(C, ¶0032) is a light-emitting diode(¶0003).
Conclusion
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892