DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 1/28/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn. Applicant has NOT provided the requested FIVE SPECIES, which must be provided in the response.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/8/2023, 8/15/2024 and 10/9/2024 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2013/0049889 A1) to Shimizu (hereinafter Shimizu).
Shimizu is directed toward composite wafers formed on a piezoelectric substrate. Shimizu discloses at paragraph [0028] that a composite wafer is formed. Shimizu discloses at paragraph [0035] that the substrate has an oxide disposed on the surface. Shimizu discloses at paragraph [0029] that an amorphous layer is present. Shimizu discloses at paragraph [0029] that the layer is 1 to 8 nm thick, which reads on Applicants range of 2nm to 250 nm. Shimizu is silent regarding concentrations of iron, chromium and nickel being present. Shimizu discloses at paragraph [0019] that a lithium tantalate may be used as a substrate.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Shimizu to select the Applicants composite wafer that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-9.
7. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2012/0229003 A1) to Ito (hereinafter Ito).
Ito is directed toward wafer devices. Ito discloses at paragraph [0034] that a film layer of silicon nitride may be present. Ito discloses at paragraph [0011] that lithium tantalate is a substrate. Ito discloses at paragraph [0010] that the layer thickness is from 2nm to 25 nm, which reads on Applicants range of 2nm to 250 nm. Ito is silent regarding concentrations of iron, chromium and nickel being present.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Ito to select the Applicants composite wafer that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-10.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766