Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites a RIE process but not what it is used for, because the intervening claims 8, 9 were not incorporated into claim 10 so the claim is unclear. Thus it is assumed that the Applicant means that in some way, anywhere in the process a RIE etch is used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
See previously indicated allowable subject matter.
Claim 8, 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmae (CN 110718507 A) in view of Georg et al. (CN 100421223 C) hereafter referred to as Georg
In regard to claim 1 Ohmae teaches a method, comprising:
removing a portion of a substrate layer [“upper surface of sapphire substrate LED wafer prepared in this embodiment of 10 a thickness of 0.45mm laminated on a GaN layer on the GaN layer in the area divided by several segmentation preordination lines are crossed with each other 12 is formed with a plurality of LED 14” “As shown in FIG. 8 shown above, the front face 10a formed with an LED 14 side is upwards and the subjected to the segmentation process and grinding process of LED chips 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20, so as to form an integrated unit 30” “the support substrate 20 is a rigid substrate having a predetermined, for example formed from polyethylene terephthalate (PET)” “so that the cutting depth of 0.15mm, according to the depth of 0.3mm implementation all the predetermined dividing line the same cutting process 12 implemented with the same cutting process. As a result, as in FIG. 5 (b) as a partial enlarged view showing forming depth (0.45mm) and the dividing groove width is 0.2mm 100, the dividing groove 100 the support substrate 20, the LED chip 10 is completely divided into each LED chip 14 '” “so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22” “chamfer angle processing is carried back 10b side of the LED wafer 10, so that the cutting device 40 of the holding table 42 held by the integrated unit 30 temporarily taken out as shown in section in the figure, so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22. if the LED chips 10 adhered to the new supporting substrate 22, the supporting substrate 20 as shown to the upper stripping, to form a new integrated unit formed by the LED chip 10 and the support substrate 22 of 32 as shown in FIG. 9. can be understood from FIG. 9, the support substrate 20 from the LED chip 10, so as to form the position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 of the grinding groove 102 exposed together with the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10”] included in a plurality of dies [i.e. LEDs], the plurality of dies arranged on and bonded to an insulation layer [see first adhesively bonded to “polyethylene terephthalate (PET)” 20, then 22] included in a support structure, wherein the plurality of dies define a plurality of channels [“then as shown in FIG. 10, the integrated unit 32 transported to the exerting edge rounding process of the cutting device 40, the supporting substrate 22 side holding table 42 for sucking and holding. the cutting device 40 of the main shaft 54, the front end part is installed with front end set with the first V-shape angle is 120 degrees first V-shape of the cutting edge 63a of the cutting tool 63, for a cutting unit for exerting edge rounding processing. aligning unit if it keeps the integrated unit 32 on the holding table 42, then using a cutting device 40 comprising non-camera icon or the like, to grind groove exposed on the holding table 42 holding back of the LED chips 10 of 10b 102 with the first V shape cutting tool 63 of alignment (alignment). if performing the alignment, then the main shaft 54 by not illustrated driving mechanism such as to rotate according to the rotational speed of 30, 000rpm. and processing the end as the starting position of the first V shape cutting tool 63 is positioned over the grinding groove is exposed along the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10 side of the predetermined dividing line 12 102 above, and according to the obtained the predetermined cutting depth (e.g., distance between back surface 10b is 0.05mm) is reduced. If the first V shape cutting tool 63 is reduced, then the holding table 42 on FIG. 10 in the direction indicated by arrow X according to the speed of 5mm/ seconds to process feed is carried out along the cutting position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 to form the chamfered portion 103”] between adjacent dies; and
forming a corner feature on a plurality of corners [“as shown in FIG. 11 (a), forming a first chamfered portion 103a constituting the chamfered portion 103 at an angle of 120 ° along the two side corners of the grinding groove 102 on the back surface 10b side” “if forming the second chamfered portion 103b” “forming the first chamfered portion 103a and the second chamfered portion 103b the same conditions” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”] of the substrate layer adjacent to the plurality of channels,
but does not teach wherein forming the corner feature on a plurality of corners comprises planarizing the substrate layer by a chemical mechanical planarization process.
However see polishing step, edge rounding processing “According to the present invention, is not limited to the above embodiments, it is possible to provide various modifications. for example, in the above embodiment, using a blade 61a having a first width of 0.2mm of the first cutting tool 61 to implement segmenting process, using a second blade having a 62a width is 0.3mm of the second cutting tool 62 to implement a polishing step” “In the above embodiment, when carrying out the dividing process, after the grinding process, the grinding groove formed along the segmentation preconcerted line 12 102 subjected to the chamfering process, but may also be prior to performing the dividing step, a polishing step, the chamfer part 103 formed along the back of the LED wafer 10 10b position of the predetermined dividing lines 12 and then from the front face 10a side performing segmentation process and the grinding process to form the grinding groove 102” “but not limited thereto, for example, also can be adjusted by the angle of the V shape is capable of being set to any angle of a V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding process, it is also possible to use two kinds of V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding processing” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”.
See Georg teaches grinding and rounding and CMP is a standard polishing method, see “using a conventional grinding process, using a forming grinding wheel, with continuous or periodic feed belt grinding technique or combination of rounding process (edge grinding and polishing is completed in one step). chemical processing step comprises cleaning and etching, in particular, removing impurities, removing the damaged surface layer and reducing the surface roughness. in the etching process, and the use of the etching process; using the alkaline medium, preferably on the basis of sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide and tetramethyl ammonium hydroxide (TMAH) alkaline medium, or acidic medium, especially based on HN03/HF mixture, or combination of these etching process. sometimes also can use other etching, such as plasma etching. chemical-mechanical processing step comprises polishing, partial removal of material (ablation) by mechanical method by chemical reaction and the part to make the surface smooth. the single-side polishing (SSP) condition during the machining process, the back surface of the semiconductor wafer by cement, vacuum or adhesive is fixed on the supporting plate”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Ohmae to include wherein forming the corner feature on a plurality of corners comprises planarizing the substrate layer by a chemical mechanical planarization process.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that along with edge rounding and grinding, CMP is a standard versatile polishing method that combines chemical and mechanical removal of material to produce smooth surfaces that are rounded well.
In regard to claim 2 Ohmae Georg as combined teaches wherein at least one sidewall of at least one of the plurality of dies is tapered [see Ohmae Fig. 7 see the grinding angles, see the combination rounding thus there is a taper and including the angles claimed, the angle will increase from zero to 90 see “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”], and wherein an angle of the at least one tapered sidewall is between 60 degrees and 85 degrees.
In regard to claim 3 Ohmae Georg as combined does not specifically teach wherein a radius of the corner feature is between 5 micrometers (μm) and 20 μm.
However this depends on the extent of griding and polishing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “wherein a radius of the corner feature is between 5 micrometers (μm) and 20 μm”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
In regard to claim 4 Ohmae Georg as combined teaches wherein an angle of the corner feature [see “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”, see combination rounding, the angle will increase from zero to 90 ] is between 5 degrees and 45 degrees.
In regard to claim 6 Ohmae Georg as combined teaches [see Ohmae Fig. 7 see the width of the grinding tool, see the V shape] wherein a length of the plurality of channels from a top of the corner feature on a first die of the plurality of dies to a top of the corner feature on a second die of the plurality of dies is between 50 micrometers (μm) and 4 millimeters (mm).
Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmae (CN 110718507 A) in view of Ogawa (US 5481127 A)
In regard to claim 10 Ohmae teaches a method, comprising:
removing a portion of a substrate layer [“upper surface of sapphire substrate LED wafer prepared in this embodiment of 10 a thickness of 0.45mm laminated on a GaN layer on the GaN layer in the area divided by several segmentation preordination lines are crossed with each other 12 is formed with a plurality of LED 14” “As shown in FIG. 8 shown above, the front face 10a formed with an LED 14 side is upwards and the subjected to the segmentation process and grinding process of LED chips 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20, so as to form an integrated unit 30” “the support substrate 20 is a rigid substrate having a predetermined, for example formed from polyethylene terephthalate (PET)” “so that the cutting depth of 0.15mm, according to the depth of 0.3mm implementation all the predetermined dividing line the same cutting process 12 implemented with the same cutting process. As a result, as in FIG. 5 (b) as a partial enlarged view showing forming depth (0.45mm) and the dividing groove width is 0.2mm 100, the dividing groove 100 the support substrate 20, the LED chip 10 is completely divided into each LED chip 14 '” “so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22” “chamfer angle processing is carried back 10b side of the LED wafer 10, so that the cutting device 40 of the holding table 42 held by the integrated unit 30 temporarily taken out as shown in section in the figure, so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22. if the LED chips 10 adhered to the new supporting substrate 22, the supporting substrate 20 as shown to the upper stripping, to form a new integrated unit formed by the LED chip 10 and the support substrate 22 of 32 as shown in FIG. 9. can be understood from FIG. 9, the support substrate 20 from the LED chip 10, so as to form the position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 of the grinding groove 102 exposed together with the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10”] included in a plurality of dies [i.e. LEDs], the plurality of dies arranged on and bonded to an insulation layer [see first adhesively bonded to “polyethylene terephthalate (PET)” 20, then 22] included in a support structure, wherein the plurality of dies define a plurality of channels [“then as shown in FIG. 10, the integrated unit 32 transported to the exerting edge rounding process of the cutting device 40, the supporting substrate 22 side holding table 42 for sucking and holding. the cutting device 40 of the main shaft 54, the front end part is installed with front end set with the first V-shape angle is 120 degrees first V-shape of the cutting edge 63a of the cutting tool 63, for a cutting unit for exerting edge rounding processing. aligning unit if it keeps the integrated unit 32 on the holding table 42, then using a cutting device 40 comprising non-camera icon or the like, to grind groove exposed on the holding table 42 holding back of the LED chips 10 of 10b 102 with the first V shape cutting tool 63 of alignment (alignment). if performing the alignment, then the main shaft 54 by not illustrated driving mechanism such as to rotate according to the rotational speed of 30, 000rpm. and processing the end as the starting position of the first V shape cutting tool 63 is positioned over the grinding groove is exposed along the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10 side of the predetermined dividing line 12 102 above, and according to the obtained the predetermined cutting depth (e.g., distance between back surface 10b is 0.05mm) is reduced. If the first V shape cutting tool 63 is reduced, then the holding table 42 on FIG. 10 in the direction indicated by arrow X according to the speed of 5mm/ seconds to process feed is carried out along the cutting position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 to form the chamfered portion 103”] between adjacent dies: and
forming a corner feature [“as shown in FIG. 11 (a), forming a first chamfered portion 103a constituting the chamfered portion 103 at an angle of 120 ° along the two side corners of the grinding groove 102 on the back surface 10b side” “if forming the second chamfered portion 103b” “forming the first chamfered portion 103a and the second chamfered portion 103b the same conditions” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”] on a plurality of corners of the substrate layer adjacent to the plurality of channels,
but does not teach [see 112 rejection] wherein a first RIE process comprises using a radio frequency between 400 kilohertz (KHz) and 14 megahertz (MHz), radio frequency power less than 7 kilowatts (kW), a flow rate less than 2000 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm), and a pressure between 20 milliTorr (mT) and 250 mT, for a duration less than 5 minutes.
However see polishing step, edge rounding processing “According to the present invention, is not limited to the above embodiments, it is possible to provide various modifications. for example, in the above embodiment, using a blade 61a having a first width of 0.2mm of the first cutting tool 61 to implement segmenting process, using a second blade having a 62a width is 0.3mm of the second cutting tool 62 to implement a polishing step” “In the above embodiment, when carrying out the dividing process, after the grinding process, the grinding groove formed along the segmentation preconcerted line 12 102 subjected to the chamfering process, but may also be prior to performing the dividing step, a polishing step, the chamfer part 103 formed along the back of the LED wafer 10 10b position of the predetermined dividing lines 12 and then from the front face 10a side performing segmentation process and the grinding process to form the grinding groove 102” “but not limited thereto, for example, also can be adjusted by the angle of the V shape is capable of being set to any angle of a V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding process, it is also possible to use two kinds of V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding processing” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”.
The Examiner notes that in fact the process of Ohmae see Fig. 7 only has specific angles i.e. the grinding is not actually rounding with a smooth rounded surface, instead the result has facets.
However RIE etching is well known in the art for rounding, see Ogawa “FIGS. 15-17 are enlarged schematic views of a portion indicated by "B" in FIG. 14 for specifically showing sputter etching stages. Referring to FIG. 15-17, the sputter etching is carried out under the following conditions. An RIE apparatus of the parallel flat plate type is used under the conditions that an RF power is between 0.2 and 1.0 KW/cm.sup.2, a gas pressure is not more than 30 mTorr, an Ar gas flow rate is between 20 and 50 sccm, a frequency is not more than 13.56 MHz, and a sputter etching time is between 1 minute and 3 minutes”, see “a projected portion is etched in preference to the others”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Ohmae to include wherein a first RIE process comprises using a radio frequency between 400 kilohertz (KHz) and 14 megahertz (MHz), radio frequency power less than 7 kilowatts (kW), a flow rate less than 2000 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm), and a pressure between 20 milliTorr (mT) and 250 mT, for a duration less than 5 minutes.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that adding a RIE etching step gives a well rounded surface to the structure of Ohmae who states that he wants rounding, and RIE etch is well known in the art for rounding.
In regard to claim 11 Ohmae and Ogawa as combined does not specifically teach wherein removing the portion of the substrate layer included in the plurality of dies comprises etching the portion of the substrate layer by a second RIE process.
However see Ogawa Figs. 10-17, see Ogawa uses a plurality of successive etches.
See using plurality of etches is obvious, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co.v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8;
Claim(s) 15-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmae (CN 110718507 A) in view of Georg et al. (CN 100421223 C) hereafter referred to as Georg and further in view of Horng et al. (US 20120193653 A1) hereafter referred to as Horng
In regard to claim 15 Ohmae teaches an LED structure, comprising:
a support structure [“As shown in FIG. 8 shown above, the front face 10a formed with an LED 14 side is upwards and the subjected to the segmentation process and grinding process of LED chips 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20, so as to form an integrated unit 30” “the support substrate 20 is a rigid substrate having a predetermined, for example formed from polyethylene terephthalate (PET)” “so that the cutting depth of 0.15mm, according to the depth of 0.3mm implementation all the predetermined dividing line the same cutting process 12 implemented with the same cutting process. As a result, as in FIG. 5 (b) as a partial enlarged view showing forming depth (0.45mm) and the dividing groove width is 0.2mm 100, the dividing groove 100 the support substrate 20, the LED chip 10 is completely divided into each LED chip 14 '” “so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22” “chamfer angle processing is carried back 10b side of the LED wafer 10, so that the cutting device 40 of the holding table 42 held by the integrated unit 30 temporarily taken out as shown in section in the figure, so that the LED wafer 10 faces downwards; the back surface 20b of the support substrate 20 side faces upward, the adhesive or the like coated with LED front surface 10a of the wafer 10 adhered to the supporting substrate 20 with the same shape and same raw material composed of the upper surface 22a of the support substrate 22. if the LED chips 10 adhered to the new supporting substrate 22, the supporting substrate 20 as shown to the upper stripping, to form a new integrated unit formed by the LED chip 10 and the support substrate 22 of 32 as shown in FIG. 9. can be understood from FIG. 9, the support substrate 20 from the LED chip 10, so as to form the position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 of the grinding groove 102 exposed together with the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10”] including an insulation layer;
a plurality of dies [i.e. LEDs] arranged on and bonded to the insulation layer, wherein the plurality of dies include [ “upper surface of sapphire substrate LED wafer prepared in this embodiment of 10 a thickness of 0.45mm laminated on a GaN layer on the GaN layer in the area divided by several segmentation preordination lines are crossed with each other 12 is formed with a plurality of LED 14” ] a substrate layer, and wherein the plurality of dies define a plurality of channels [“then as shown in FIG. 10, the integrated unit 32 transported to the exerting edge rounding process of the cutting device 40, the supporting substrate 22 side holding table 42 for sucking and holding. the cutting device 40 of the main shaft 54, the front end part is installed with front end set with the first V-shape angle is 120 degrees first V-shape of the cutting edge 63a of the cutting tool 63, for a cutting unit for exerting edge rounding processing. aligning unit if it keeps the integrated unit 32 on the holding table 42, then using a cutting device 40 comprising non-camera icon or the like, to grind groove exposed on the holding table 42 holding back of the LED chips 10 of 10b 102 with the first V shape cutting tool 63 of alignment (alignment). if performing the alignment, then the main shaft 54 by not illustrated driving mechanism such as to rotate according to the rotational speed of 30, 000rpm. and processing the end as the starting position of the first V shape cutting tool 63 is positioned over the grinding groove is exposed along the back surface 10b of the LED wafer 10 side of the predetermined dividing line 12 102 above, and according to the obtained the predetermined cutting depth (e.g., distance between back surface 10b is 0.05mm) is reduced. If the first V shape cutting tool 63 is reduced, then the holding table 42 on FIG. 10 in the direction indicated by arrow X according to the speed of 5mm/ seconds to process feed is carried out along the cutting position corresponding to the predetermined dividing line 12 to form the chamfered portion 103”] between adjacent dies; and
a corner feature included on a plurality of corners [“as shown in FIG. 11 (a), forming a first chamfered portion 103a constituting the chamfered portion 103 at an angle of 120 ° along the two side corners of the grinding groove 102 on the back surface 10b side” “if forming the second chamfered portion 103b” “forming the first chamfered portion 103a and the second chamfered portion 103b the same conditions” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”] of the substrate layer adjacent to the plurality of channels,
but does not teach that the LED structure is interconnect structure and wherein the corner feature on a plurality of corners is formed by planarizing the substrate layer of each of the plurality of dies by a chemical mechanical planarization process.
The limitation " wherein the corner feature on a plurality of corners is formed by planarizing the substrate layer of each of the plurality of dies by a chemical mechanical planarization process " is taken to be a product by process limitation and considered a non-limitation. In a product-by-process claim, it is the patentability of the claimed product and not of the recited steps which must be established. Therefore, when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be identical with or only slightly different than the product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based on sections 102 or 103 is fair. The Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by a myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art product and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972). Also, a product-by-process claim directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ I S at 17 (footnote 3). See In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983); and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final structure of the product "gleaned" from the process steps, which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process. See also MPEP 2113. Moreover, an old and obvious product produced by a new method is not a patentable product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not.
However see polishing step, edge rounding processing “According to the present invention, is not limited to the above embodiments, it is possible to provide various modifications. for example, in the above embodiment, using a blade 61a having a first width of 0.2mm of the first cutting tool 61 to implement segmenting process, using a second blade having a 62a width is 0.3mm of the second cutting tool 62 to implement a polishing step” “In the above embodiment, when carrying out the dividing process, after the grinding process, the grinding groove formed along the segmentation preconcerted line 12 102 subjected to the chamfering process, but may also be prior to performing the dividing step, a polishing step, the chamfer part 103 formed along the back of the LED wafer 10 10b position of the predetermined dividing lines 12 and then from the front face 10a side performing segmentation process and the grinding process to form the grinding groove 102” “but not limited thereto, for example, also can be adjusted by the angle of the V shape is capable of being set to any angle of a V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding process, it is also possible to use two kinds of V-shaped cutting tool for exerting edge rounding processing” “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”.
See the case law above, no secondary reference is needed for the product-by-process limitation, however the Examiner provides a secondary reference.
See Georg teaches grinding and rounding and CMP is a standard polishing method, see “using a conventional grinding process, using a forming grinding wheel, with continuous or periodic feed belt grinding technique or combination of rounding process (edge grinding and polishing is completed in one step). chemical processing step comprises cleaning and etching, in particular, removing impurities, removing the damaged surface layer and reducing the surface roughness. in the etching process, and the use of the etching process; using the alkaline medium, preferably on the basis of sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide and tetramethyl ammonium hydroxide (TMAH) alkaline medium, or acidic medium, especially based on HN03/HF mixture, or combination of these etching process. sometimes also can use other etching, such as plasma etching. chemical-mechanical processing step comprises polishing, partial removal of material (ablation) by mechanical method by chemical reaction and the part to make the surface smooth. the single-side polishing (SSP) condition during the machining process, the back surface of the semiconductor wafer by cement, vacuum or adhesive is fixed on the supporting plate”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Ohmae to include wherein the corner feature on a plurality of corners is formed by planarizing the substrate layer of each of the plurality of dies by a chemical mechanical planarization process.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed limitation.
The motivation is that along with edge rounding and grinding, CMP is a standard versatile polishing method that combines chemical and mechanical removal of material to produce smooth surfaces that are rounded well.
Ohmae and Georg as combined does not teach that the LED structure is interconnect structure, however see Ohmae “compared with the processing method by laser processing for dividing, can improve the brightness of the LED chip 14 while emitting light” and the Examiner notes that the LED cannot emit light without an anode and cathode contact on the LED chip and that these are part of the “interconnect” thus the it is clear that the LED is an “interconnect structure” according to the description of Ohmae.
See Horng paragraph 0055, 0060 “as shown in FIG. 8, series interconnects 312 are formed on top of first polymer layer 502 to connect anodes 308 and cathodes 310 of adjacent LEDs. In certain embodiments, first polymer layer 502 covers portions of LEDs 304 in addition to filling gaps 306 between the LEDs. In FIG. 8, four LEDs (LEDs 304A-D) are shown with three interconnects 312 between anodes 308 and cathodes 310 of the LEDs. Because of the relatively smooth surface profile of first polymer layer 502, the subsequently formed metal-based interconnects 312 may have thin and smooth profiles” “Parallel interconnects 519A and 519D short circuit the anodes to the cathodes of the respective LEDs 304A and 304D. Parallel interconnect 519A may be extended to connect to the cathode of adjacent LED 304B. Parallel interconnect 519D may be extended to connect to the anode of adjacent LED 304C”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Ohmae to include that the LED structure is interconnect structure.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that anode and cathode contacts are useful to provide electricity to the LED of Ohmae in order to operate it to emit light.
In regard to claim 16 Ohmae Georg and Horng as combined teaches wherein at least one sidewall of at least one of the plurality of dies is tapered [see Ohmae Fig. 7 see the grinding angles, see the combination rounding thus there is a taper and including the angles claimed see “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”], and wherein an angle of the at least one tapered sidewall is between 60 degrees and 85 degrees.
In regard to claim 17 Ohmae Georg and Horng as combined does not specifically teach wherein a radius of the corner feature is between 5 micrometers (μm) and 20 μm.
However this depends on the extent of griding and polishing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “wherein a radius of the corner feature is between 5 micrometers (μm) and 20 μm ”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
In regard to claim 18 Ohmae Georg and Horng as combined teaches wherein an angle of the corner feature [see “the V-shaped cutting tool of different angle by preparing a plurality of V-shape to carry out chamfering process, enables the chamfered portion 103 becomes approximate curve, which helps to improve the LED chip of each obtained by dividing 14 degrees of brightness”, see combination rounding, the angle will increase from zero to 90 ] is between 5 degrees and 45 degrees.
In regard to claim 21 Ohmae Georg and Horng as combined teaches wherein at least one sidewall [see Ohmae Fig. 7 see the grinding angles, see the combination rounding thus there is a taper] of at least one of the plurality of dies is tapered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITARAMARAO S YECHURI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893