DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on November 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 14 recites the plasma processing device includes wherein at least one of the upper direct current power supplies is annular. However, it should be noted, as seen below in Figure 1, direct current power supplies are conventionally shown as equal signs “=” and do not have a particular shape. Additionally, electronic components of a DC power supply are housed in box. Typically the DC power supply is connected to an electrode, baffle, or focus ring and those components have annular shapes. Hence, for purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “wherein at least one of the upper direct current power supplies is annular” to mean it is coupled or connected annularly around a circular or annular upper electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatomi et al. (U.S. 2020/0211823) in view of Itoh (U.S. 2021/0111008) and Endoh et al. (U.S. 2007/0227663).
Referring to Figure 1A and paragraphs [0038]-[0062], Hisatomi et al. disclose a plasma processing device, comprising: a chamber 10 (par.[0038]); a plurality of direct current power supplies 104, 115 provided in an upper portion 101 and on a side wall 11 of the chamber, wherein the direct current power supplies are configured to operate individually (pars.[0047],[0062]); and a controller 200 configured to control the direct current power supplies such that the direct current power supplies apply respective direct current voltages independent of each other. (pars.[0047],pars.[0054]-[0055]).
Hisatomi et al. fail to teach wherein the direct current power supplies include: two or more upper direct current power supplies provided in differing positions from a center of the chamber in the upper portion of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the upper portion of the chamber, and two or more side wall direct current power supplies provided in differing positions in a direction along the side wall of the chamber in the side wall of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the side wall of the chamber.
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraphs [0022], [0028], Itoh teach a plasma processing device having two or more upper direct current power supplies 71, 72 provided in differing positions from a center of the chamber in the upper portion of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the upper portion of the chamber since it is a conventionally known parameter used in dry cleaning of a chamber (pars.[0039], [0049]-[0052]). Referring to Figure 1 and paragraphs [0049], [0065], Endoh et al. teach a plasma processing device having two or more side wall direct current power supplies 47, 48 provided in differing positions in a direction along the side wall of the chamber in the side wall of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the side wall of the chamber to control the plasma distribution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hisatomi et al. to have two or more upper direct current power supplies provided in differing positions from a center of the chamber in the upper portion of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the upper portion of the chamber, and two or more side wall direct current power supplies provided in differing positions in a direction along the side wall of the chamber in the side wall of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the side wall of the chamber as taught by Itoh and Endoh et al. since they are conventionally known parameters used in dry cleaning of a chamber and improve the plasma distribution.
Additionally, with regards to the two or more upper direct current power supplies and the two or more side wall direct current power supplies, the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In the instant case, using multiple direct current power supplies will improve plasma distribution and enhance uniformity.
With respect to claim 2, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. further includes a stage (20-Hisatomi-Fig. 8A, 12-Endoh-Fig 1) on which a substrate is mounted, and an upper electrode (34-Hisatomi-Fig. 8A, 34-Endoh-Fig 1) provided above the stage, wherein the side wall direct current power supplies (11-Hisatomi-Fig. 8A, 43, 45-Endoh-Fig 1) are between the stage and the upper electrode in the direction.
With respect to claim 3, the plasma processing device according of Hisatomi et al. further comprising: a gas supplier 64, 66 configured to supply a gas into the chamber (par.[0045]); and a gas processor 34 including an electrode and configured to convert the gas into plasma (par.[0045]), wherein the controller 200 is further configured to control the direct current power supplies causing the direct current power supplies to apply the independent direct current voltages during a plasma processing (par.[0047]).
With respect to claim 4, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. further comprising a sensor (i.e. photodiode, photomicrosensor, photoelectric conversion element) configured to detect an amount of radicals in the chamber (par.[0060]), wherein the controller 200 is further configured to control the direct current power supplies causing the direct current power supplies to apply the independent direct current voltages based on the detected amount of radicals (pars.[0047],[0054]-[0055], [0060]).
With respect to claim 10, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. further includes wherein the controller 200 is further configured to control the direct current power supplies 104, 115 so as to apply a direct current in a predetermined cycle (par.[0055]).
With respect to claim 11, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. further includes wherein the gas includes a fluorocarbon gas (par.[0051]).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatomi et al. (U.S. 2020/0211823) in view of Itoh (U.S. 2021/0111008) and Endoh et al. (U.S. 2007/0227663) as applied to claims 1-4 and 10-11 above, and further in view of Miya et al. (U.S. 2008/0110569).
The teachings of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. have been discussed above.
Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. fail to teach the controller is further configured to calculate a spatial distribution of the radicals in the chamber based on the detected amount of radicals, and control the direct current power supplies causing the direct current power supplies to apply the independent direct current voltages based on the calculated spatial distribution.
Referring to paragraphs [0034]-[0044], Miya et al. teach a plasma processing device wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a spatial distribution of the radicals in the chamber based on the detected amount of radicals in order to accurately control various components during the plasma etching process (pars.[0037]-[0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. with a controller that is further configured to calculate a spatial distribution of the radicals in the chamber based on the detected amount of radicals as taught by Miya et al. in order to accurately control various components during the plasma etching process. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to program the controller of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. to control the direct current power supplies causing the direct current power supplies to apply the independent direct current voltages based on the calculated spatial distribution as taught by Miya et al. in order to accurately control the direct current power supplies during the plasma etching process. The resulting apparatus of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh, Endoh et al., and Miya et al. would yield the controller is further configured to calculate a spatial distribution of the radicals in the chamber based on the detected amount of radicals, and control the direct current power supplies causing the direct current power supplies to apply the independent direct current voltages based on the calculated spatial distribution.
With respect to claim 6, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh, Endoh et al., and Miya et al. further includes wherein the controller is further configured to control each of the direct current power supplies to a corresponding position to raise the applied direct current voltage when a result of a detection by the sensor is equal to or lower than a first predetermined value, and control each of the direct current power supplies to a corresponding position to lower the applied direct current voltage when the result of the detection by the sensor is equal to greater than a second predetermined value, and the second predetermined value is higher than the first predetermined value (Hisatomi et al.-pars.[0055], Miya et al.-pars.[0037]-[0039]).
With respect to claim 7, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh, Endoh et al., and Miya et al. further includes wherein the controller is configured to control the gas supplier such that an amount of the gas supplied is approximately the same in response to a result of a detection by the sensor (Miya et al.-par.[0039]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatomi et al. (U.S. 2020/0211823) in view of Itoh (U.S. 2021/0111008) and Endoh et al. (U.S. 2007/0227663) as applied to claims 1-4 and 10-11 above, and further in view of Honda et al. (U.S. 2007/0221493).
The teachings of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. have been discussed above.
Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. fail to teach the controller is further configured to control the gas supplier in accordance with a timing of when the direct current voltages are applied.
Referring to paragraphs [0084], [0091]-[0092], Honda et al. teach a plasma processing device the controller 52 is further configured to control the gas supplier 34 in accordance with a timing of when the direct current voltages 49 are applied in order to achieve the desired processing conditions for RIE processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. such that the controller is configured to control the gas supplier in accordance with a timing of when the direct current voltages are applied as taught by Honda et al. in order to achieve the desired processing conditions for RIE processing.
With respect to claim 9, the plasma processing device of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh, Endoh et al., and Honda et al. further includes wherein the controller 52 is further configured to control the gas supplier so as to reduce an amount of the gas supplied during applying the direct current voltages (Honda et al.-pars. [0084], [0091]-[0092]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisatomi et al. (U.S. 2020/0211823) in view of Itoh (U.S. 2021/0111008) and Endoh et al. (U.S. 2007/0227663) as applied to claims 1-4 and 10-11 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (U.S. 2014/0320016).
The teachings of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. have been discussed above.
Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. fail to teach wherein at least one of the upper direct current power supplies is annular.
Referring to Figure 12 and paragraph [0134], Chang et al. teach a plasma processing device wherein the power source is coupled or connected annularly around the upper electrode 114 (i.e. at least one of the upper direct current power supplies is annular) in order to distribute the power uniformly around the electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Hisatomi et al. in view of Itoh and Endoh et al. such that at least one of the upper direct current power supplies is annular as taught by Chang et al. in order to distribute the power uniformly around the electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new references Itoh’008 and Endoh et al.’663 teach two or more upper direct current power supplies provided in differing positions from a center of the chamber in the upper portion of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the upper portion of the chamber, and two or more side wall direct current power supplies provided in differing positions in a direction along the side wall of the chamber in the side wall of the chamber and each configured to apply a direct current voltage to the side wall of the chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. White et al.’481 and Ostubo et al.’862 teach two or more side wall direct current power supplies. Moriya et al.’773 teach two or more upper direct current power supplies with a side wall direct current power supply. Long et al.’983, Yamagishi et al.’709, and Lane et al.’854 teach power supplies distributed annularly.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716