CTFR 18/450,636 CTFR 89716 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim has incorrect status identifier of “previously presented” and should be replaced by the status identifier “withdrawn” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites " the package substrate of claim 9, wherein: the first width is at least fifteen (15) micrometers (µm) greater than the second width ”. There are insufficient antecedent bases for the terms “ the first width ” and “ the second width ”. The terms first width and second width do not appear in any of the previous claims and the Examiner is unsure about what the Applicant intends to convey by these terms. Hence, claim 12 cannot be examined against any prior arts. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 9-11, 13-18, 22, 24-28 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0051907 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Kang et al. discloses a package substrate, comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F ); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer, comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603 ); and a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) – only one first via is shown but it is understood that there are plurality of them in the structure ); wherein the first metal pad layer is disposed between the first metal layer and the plurality of first vias in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ) . Regarding Claim 2, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein the first metal layer is at least partially embedded in the first insulating layer, and the plurality of first metal interconnects comprises a plurality of first embedded metal traces embedded in the first insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) - first insulating layer comprising dielectric layer 324 ) Regarding Claim 3, Kang et al., as applied to claim 2. discloses the package substrate, further comprising: a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); a second insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – second insulating layer 326 ); a second metal layer at least partially embedded in the second insulating layer and adjacent to the third surface, the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second embedded metal traces embedded in the second insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale the second insulating layer, comprising: a second metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ). Regarding Claim 9, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein :the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction; and the plurality of first metal pads has a second pitch equal to the first pitch in the first direction ( Par. 0034, 0045; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – first metal interconnects seem to be regularly spaced; on the other hand, the first metal pads seem to be irregularly spaced – some of the first metal pads seem to be as closely packed as the first metal interconnects are ) . Regarding Claim 10, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction less than or equal to one hundred (100) micrometers (µm) ( Par. 0034 ). Regarding Claim 11, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction less than or equal to eighty (80) micrometers (µm) ( Par. 0034 ). Regarding Claim 13, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein: each first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects is separated from an adjacent first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects by a first distance; each first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads is separated from an adjacent first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads by a second distance greater than the first distance ( see annotated Fig 10E above ). Regarding Claim 14, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, further comprising: PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ); a second metal layer adjacent to the third surface ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ), the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ); and a second insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ), comprising: a second metal pad layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ), comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above ). Regarding Claim 15, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate, wherein the first metal layer further comprises one or more second metal interconnects each disposed between two (2) first metal interconnects of the plurality of first metal interconnects in the first direction ( see annotated Fig 10E attached below ) . PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 16, Kang et al., as applied to claim 15. discloses the package substrate, wherein each of the one or more second metal interconnects is not coupled to a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads ( see annotated Fig 10E above ). Regarding Claim 17, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the package substrate integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter ( Par. 0144 ). Regarding Claim 18, Kang et al. discloses a method of fabricating a package substrate, comprising: forming a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F ); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer, comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E below) ); and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603 ); and PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) – only one first via is shown but it is understood that there are plurality of them in the structure ); wherein the first metal pad layer is disposed between the first metal layer and the plurality of first vias in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ) . Regarding Claim 22, Kang et al., as applied to claim 18. discloses the package substrate, further comprising forming one or more second metal interconnects between two (2) first metal interconnects of the plurality of first metal interconnects in the first direction; wherein each of the one or more second metal interconnects is not coupled to a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads ( see annotated Fig 10E above ) . Regarding Claim 24, Kang et al. discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising: a package substrate, comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3 ); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A- 10F & Fig. 3 – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E below) ); and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3 ) – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603 ); and PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) – only one first via is shown but it is understood that there are plurality of them in the structure ); wherein the first metal pad layer is disposed between the first metal layer and the plurality of first vias in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and and PNG media_image2.png 428 700 media_image2.png Greyscale a die comprising a plurality of die interconnects each coupled to a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0039-0045; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3 – die 204; die interconnects 240 ). Regarding Claim 25, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24, at least implicitly discloses the IC package, wherein a capacitor is coupled to at least one first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0144; Figs. 3, 14 etc. – not mentioned explicitly but implied ). Regarding Claim 26, Kang et al., as applied to claim 25, at least implicitly discloses the IC package, wherein the capacitor is coupled to the at least one first metal interconnect by the capacitor being coupled to at least one first via of the plurality of first vias ( Par. 0144; Figs. 3, 14 etc. – not mentioned explicitly but implied – even if the capacitor is not directly coupled to the first via, it is at least indirectly coupled ). Regarding Claim 27, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24. discloses the IC package, wherein the first metal layer is at least partially embedded in the first insulating layer, and the plurality of first metal interconnects comprises a plurality of first embedded metal traces embedded in the first insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) - first insulating layer comprising dielectric layer 324 ) Regarding Claim 28, Kang et al., as applied to claim 27, discloses the IC package, wherein the package substrate further comprises: a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); PNG media_image1.png 536 758 media_image1.png Greyscale a second insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – second insulating layer 326 ); a second metal layer at least partially embedded in the second insulating layer and adjacent to the third surface, the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second embedded metal traces embedded in the second insulating layer ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and the second insulating layer, comprising: a second metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) ). Regarding Claim 32, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the IC package, wherein the plurality of first vias do not directly contact the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ). Regarding Claim 33, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24. discloses the IC package, wherein the plurality of first vias do not directly contact the plurality of first metal interconnects ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ). Regarding Claim 34, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses the IC package, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects each have a first width in the first direction, and the plurality of first metal pads each have a second width less than the first width in the first direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ). Regarding Claim 35, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24. discloses the IC package, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects each have a first width in the first direction, and the plurality of first metal pads each have a second width less than the first width in the first direction ( Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) ) . Response to Arguments Applicants’ arguments filed on 02/10/2017 have been fully considered but they are not found to be persuasive. Please see the rejections above. The Applicants Argue : “In Kang, the Examiner annotates Figure 10B of Kang, shown below, and maps the "interconnects 325" as including both the "metal pads" and the "vias" in the claims. (citing Kang, Figs. 1 OA- 1 OF and Fig. 6A showing "via 601 and pad 603"). However, in Kang's structure, the vias (part of element 325) contact the embedded interconnects 323. See Kang, paragraph [0040] ("The plurality of embedded interconnects 323 is coupled to the plurality of interconnects 325."). Thus, there is no intervening "metal pad layer disposed between the metal layer" containing the embedded interconnects 323 and the "vias in the second direction" as required by the amended claims”. The Examiner’s Rebuttal: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above assertion. It seems that the Applicants might have misunderstood the Office’s position. Firstly, Fig. 10E has been annotated and not Fig. 10B. To make annotations further clearer, only a part of annotated Fig. 10E is taken and reproduced below with some modifications. For clarity, only a portion of the first metal pad layer is shown PNG media_image3.png 512 730 media_image3.png Greyscale Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED I GHEYAS whose telephone number is (571)272-0592. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. 05/29/2024 /SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 14 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 15 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 16 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 17 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 18 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/450,636 Page 19 Art Unit: 2893