Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 01, 2023, August 21, 2024, February 12, 2025, and March 11, 2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I with partial traverse and election of Species AI (Claims 1-3, 9-18, 22 and 24-28) in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 are acknowledged. However, the record does not clearly indicate which claims are subject to the partial traverse and which claims have been elected without traverse. Because of this lack of clarity, the issue of traverse could not be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-18, 22, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0051907 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kang et al. discloses a package substrate, comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising:
a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer, comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above)); and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603); and a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein the first metal layer is at least partially embedded in the first insulating layer, and the plurality of first metal interconnects comprises a plurality of first embedded metal traces embedded in the first insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) - first insulating layer comprising dielectric layer 324)
Regarding Claim 3, Kang et al., as applied to claim 2. discloses
the package substrate, further comprising:
a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); a second insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – second insulating layer 326); a second metal layer at least partially embedded in the second insulating layer and adjacent to the third surface, the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second embedded metal traces embedded in the second insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); and the second insulating layer, comprising: a second metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)).
Regarding Claim 9, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein :the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction; and the plurality of first metal pads has a second pitch equal to the first pitch in the first direction (Par. 0034, 0045; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – first metal interconnects seem to be regularly spaced; on the other hand, the first metal pads seem to be irregularly spaced – some of the first metal pads seem to be as closely packed as the first metal interconnects are) .
Regarding Claim 10, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction less than or equal to one hundred (100) micrometers (µm) (Par. 0034).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein the plurality of first metal interconnects has a first pitch in the first direction less than or equal to eighty (80) micrometers (µm) (Par. 0034).
Regarding Claim 12, Kang et al., as applied to claim 9. discloses
the package substrate, wherein: the plurality of first metal interconnects each have a first width in the first direction; and the plurality of first metal pads each have a second width less than the first width in the first direction (see annotated Fig 10E above – at least part of the metal pad has a width less than the width of the first metal interconnect).
Regarding Claim 13, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein: each first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects is separated from an adjacent first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects by a first distance; each first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads is separated from an adjacent first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads by a second distance greater than the first distance (see annotated Fig 10E above).
Regarding Claim 14, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, further comprising:
a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above); a second metal layer adjacent to the third surface (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above), the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above); and a second insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above), comprising: a second metal pad layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above), comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second metal interconnect of the plurality of second metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above).
Regarding Claim 15, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate, wherein the first metal layer further comprises one or more second metal interconnects each disposed between two (2) first metal interconnects of the plurality of first metal interconnects in the first direction (see annotated Fig 10E attached below) .
Regarding Claim 16, Kang et al., as applied to claim 15. discloses
the package substrate, wherein each of the one or more second metal interconnects is not coupled to a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (see annotated Fig 10E above).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang et al., as applied to claim 1. discloses
the package substrate integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (Par. 0144).
Regarding Claim 18, Kang et al. discloses a method of fabricating a package substrate, comprising: forming a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer, comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E below)); and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603); and
a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above).
Regarding Claim 22, Kang et al., as applied to claim 18. discloses
the package substrate, further comprising forming one or more second metal interconnects between two (2) first metal interconnects of the plurality of first metal interconnects in the first direction; wherein each of the one or more second metal interconnects is not coupled to a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (see annotated Fig 10E above) .
Regarding Claim 24, Kang et al. discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising: a package substrate, comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3); a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A- 10F & Fig. 3 – first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E below)); and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3) – first metal pad comprising 325; first metal interconnect 323 (see annotated Fig. 10E above; also see Fig. 6B – first metal comprising via 601 and pad 603); and
a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3 (see annotated Fig. 10E above); and
a die comprising a plurality of die interconnects each coupled to a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0039-0045; Figs. 10A-10F & Fig. 3 – die 204; die interconnects 240).
Regarding Claim 25, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24, at least implicitly discloses
the IC package, wherein a capacitor is coupled to at least one first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects (Par. 0144; Figs. 3, 14 etc. – not mentioned explicitly but implied).
Regarding Claim 26, Kang et al., as applied to claim 25, at least implicitly discloses
the IC package, wherein the capacitor is coupled to the at least one first metal interconnect by the capacitor being coupled to at least one first via of the plurality of first vias (Par. 0144; Figs. 3, 14 etc. – not mentioned explicitly but implied – even if the capacitor is not directly coupled to the first via, it is at least indirectly coupled).
Regarding Claim 27, Kang et al., as applied to claim 24. discloses
the IC package, wherein the first metal layer is at least partially embedded in the first insulating layer, and the plurality of first metal interconnects comprises a plurality of first embedded metal traces embedded in the first insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (see annotated Fig. 10E above) - first insulating layer comprising dielectric layer 324)
Regarding Claim 28, Kang et al., as applied to claim 27, discloses
the IC package, wherein the package substrate further comprises:
a second metallization layer extending in the first direction and coupled to the first metallization layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)), the second metallization layer comprising: a third surface and a fourth surface opposite the third surface in the second direction (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); a second insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above) – second insulating layer 326); a second metal layer at least partially embedded in the second insulating layer and adjacent to the third surface, the second metal layer comprising a plurality of second embedded metal traces embedded in the second insulating layer (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); and the second insulating layer, comprising: a second metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of second metal pads each in contact with a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); and a plurality of second vias adjacent to the fourth surface and each in contact with a second metal pad of the plurality of second metal pads (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)); wherein: the plurality of first vias are each coupled to a second embedded metal trace of the plurality of second embedded metal traces (Par. 0106-0119; Figs. 10A-10F (also see annotated Fig. 10E above)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0350630 A1) – This prior art teaches a package substrate, comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction, the first metallization layer comprising: a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; a first metal layer adjacent to the first surface, the first metal layer, comprising a plurality of first metal interconnects; and a first insulating layer, comprising: a first metal pad layer, comprising: a plurality of first metal pads each in contact with a first metal interconnect of the plurality of first metal interconnects; and a plurality of first vias adjacent to the second surface and each in contact with a first metal pad of the plurality of first metal pads (see Figs. 2A-2E).
02/15/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893