Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 10 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Matsudo et al. (JP 2014-102935 A).
As to claim 1. Matsudo et al. discloses an end cap (14), comprising:
a cap body (14-lid) having a pressure relief region (18 pressure release valve); and
a reinforcing portion (24 and 25 -convex part) arranged on a side of the cap body in a protruding manner (figure 3) in a thickness direction, the reinforcing portion being arranged around the pressure relief region (figure 1).
As to claim 2. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 1, wherein:
the reinforcing portion comprises two first connecting sections (straight portion) and two second connecting sections (arc sections see figure 2), and
one of the first connecting sections, one of the second connecting sections, the other first connecting section and the other second connecting section are sequentially connected end to end in a circumferential direction of the pressure relief region to form a closed structure (figure 1);
the two first connecting sections are arranged opposite each other in a first direction (straight section), and the two second connecting sections are arranged opposite each other in a second direction (arc section), the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (see figure 1 or 2); and
a dimension of each of the first connecting sections in the first direction is greater than a dimension of each of the second connecting sections in the second direction (length is longer in direction of straight edge than it is in direction of width).
As to claim 5. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 2, wherein the reinforcing portion comprises at least one arc section, and one of the first connecting sections and one of the second connecting sections are connected to each other by means of one of the at least one arc section (see figure 2).
As to claim 6. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 1, wherein the cap body is provided with a recess in a position corresponding to the reinforcing portion (see figures 3 or 4), and
in the thickness direction, the cap body has an inner surface and an outer surface opposite each other, the reinforcing portion is arranged on the inner surface in a protruding manner, and the recess is recessed from the outer surface in a direction close to the inner surface (figure 3 or 4).
As to claim 7. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 6, wherein a first space is formed by an inner side wall of the reinforcing portion, a second space is formed by a side wall and a bottom wall of the recess, and the first space and the second space are located on two sides of the pressure relief region in the thickness direction (figure 3 or 4, depicts a space above and below the pressure relief section).
As to claim 8. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 1, wherein the pressure relief region is provided with a pressure relief groove (23).
As to claim 10. Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 8, wherein the reinforcing portion and the pressure relief groove are respectively located on two sides of the pressure relief region in the thickness direction (figures 3 or 4).
As to claim 14. Matsudo discloses a battery cell (13), comprising:
an electrode assembly (12);
a housing having an accommodation space with one end open (figure 1), the accommodation space being configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (figure 1); and
the end cap according to claim 1 (see rejection above of claim 1), wherein the end cap is connected to the housing and closes the opening (figure 1).
As to claim 15. Matsudo discloses a battery (10) , comprising: a case (11); and the battery cell according to claim 14, wherein the battery cell is accommodated inside the case (figure 1).
As to claim 16. Matsudo discloses the battery according to claim 15, wherein the end cap is arranged on a side of the battery cell close to a bottom wall of the case (see figure 1, the end cap (14 lid is on one side of the battery cell as it is on one side it can be called the bottom wall of the case).
As to claim 17. Matsudo discloses a power consuming device, comprising the battery according to claim 15, wherein the battery is configured to provide electric energy [0002] (used in vehicles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudo et al. (JP 2014-102935 A).
As to claims 3 and 4. Matsudo et al. discloses the end cap according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teaches wherein the dimension of one of the first connecting sections in the first direction is 5%-35% of a dimension of the one of the first connecting sections in the second direction or wherein the dimension of one of the second connecting sections in the second direction is 5%-30% of a dimension of one of the second connecting sections in the first direction.
In addition, as the ratio of a distance from the pressure relief groove to an edge of the cap body to a width of the cap body is dependent upon the size of the battery case the cap body is attached to, the ratio can be changed at will as a function of a simple change in size/proportion with expected results, See MPEP 2144.04.IV.
Claim(s) 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudo et al. (JP 2014-102935 A). in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2007/0059586 A1)
As to claim 9. Matsudo et al. discloses the groove as an x- shape but not as a closed groove extending along a closed trajectory that is connected end to end.
Matsumoto et al. disclose a prismatic battery and teaches a safety vent (16) where the groove is an oval shaped thus allows the gas in the battery goes out swiftly, which makes it possible to ensure prevention of the burst of the battery [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to have an oval shaped (closed trajectory) groove because this would allow allows the gas in the battery goes out swiftly, which makes it possible to ensure prevention of the burst of the battery.
As to claim 11. Matsudo et al. discloses the groove as an x- shape but not the pressure relief groove comprises a first groove section, a second groove section, a third groove section, and a fourth groove section that are connected in sequence; in the first direction, the first groove section and the third groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a maximum distance between the first groove section and the third groove section is a first distance; in the second direction, the second groove section and the fourth groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a minimum distance between the second groove section and the fourth groove section is a second distance; and the second distance is greater than the first distance, and the first direction, the second direction and the thickness direction are perpendicular to each other.
Matsumoto et al. disclose a prismatic battery and teaches a safety vent (16) where the groove is an oval shaped thus allows the gas in the battery goes out swiftly, which makes it possible to ensure prevention of the burst of the battery [0024]. The oval shape would have a first groove section, a second groove section, a third groove section, and a fourth groove section that are connected in sequence; in the first direction, the first groove section and the third groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a maximum distance between the first groove section and the third groove section is a first distance; in the second direction, the second groove section and the fourth groove section are arranged opposite each other, and a minimum distance between the second groove section and the fourth groove section is a second distance; and the second distance is greater than the first distance, and the first direction, the second direction and the thickness direction are perpendicular to each other
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to have an oval shaped (closed trajectory) groove because this would allow allows the gas in the battery goes out swiftly, which makes it possible to ensure prevention of the burst of the battery.
As to claim 12. Modified Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 11, wherein: the first groove section and the third groove section are linear grooves; and/or the second groove section and the fourth groove section are arc grooves. The oval shape fulfills this shape.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsudo et al. (JP 2014-102935 A). in view of Shimoji et al. (JP 2007-141518 A)
As to claim 13, Matsudo discloses the end cap according to claim 1, but not wherein the cap body partially protrudes in the thickness direction to form a bump, and the reinforcing portion is arranged on a side of the bump in a protruding manner in the thickness direction.
Shimoji et al. discloses a battery with a lid and a relief valve (5). The relief valve (5) includes a curved portion (5d) as seen in figure 3, the curved portion extends in the manner in the thickness direction. Shimoji teaches when an internal pressure exceeding the predetermined explosion-proof pressure is applied, the curved portion 5d on the inside of the groove is immediately cut open at the groove, functioning as a safety valve.
Therefore, the safety valve 5 will function safely and reliably without causing significant
deformation to the outer casing 1, preventing accidents such as unforeseen damage to the equipment on which the secondary battery A1 is installed. [0026]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to have the curved portion of Shimoji to the battery of Matsudo because when an internal pressure exceeding the predetermined explosion-proof pressure is applied, the curved portion 5d on the inside of the groove is immediately cut open at the groove, functioning as a safety valve.
Conclusion
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727