Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2, 3, and 4 should recite “Seamless” instead of “Seemless.” Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the powered system” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 15-17, 19, and 20 depend on claim 14; therefore, they are indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7-9, 11, 13-15, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2024/0036943) and further in view of Jutzi (US 2023/0376344).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches: A powered system (¶ 26, “a vehicle system 105 of a vehicle 100”) comprising:
a control system having processors positioned onboard the powered system and communicatively coupled with each other by a data plane of a communication network (¶ 26, “a vehicle system 105 of a vehicle 100 includes a master controller 110, a plurality of control modules 115, and a vehicle network 120 communicatively coupling the master controller 110 and the control modules 11”), the processors configured to run software applications in containers to control operation of the powered system (¶ 33, “The applications are executed on the control modules 115. The applications can control features of the vehicle 100”), the processors configured to switch, among themselves (¶ 40, “The queue 206 stores identifications of applications needing to be reassigned”) and during operation of the powered system (¶ 68, “In the decision block 399, the master controller 110 determines whether the vehicle 100 is still on. If so, the process 300 returns to the block 315 to check the statuses of the control modules 115”), which of the processors are running different ones of the software applications operating in different ones of the containers (¶ 63, “in a block 375, the master controller 110 allocates the application to the control module 115 selected in the block 370, as described above”), without changing the code of the software applications (¶ 34, “The applications may be containerized. Containerization means the packaging of software code, in this case one of the applications, with just the operating system libraries and other necessary software for the software code to execute, so that the containerized application can be deployed to different computing environments”).
Chen does not teach; however, Jutzi discloses: without recompiling code of the software applications (¶ 57, “a container 636 (or pod of containers) may be flexibly migrated from one of the edge nodes 620 to other edge nodes (e.g., another one of edge nodes 620, one of the edge resource node(s) 640, etc.) such that the container with an application and workload does not need to be reconstituted, re-compiled, re-interpreted in order for migration to work”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of without recompiling code of the software applications, as taught by Jutzi, in the same way to the switching which processor runs the software application, as taught by Chen. Both inventions are in the field of migrating containers, and combining them would have predictably resulted in a system configured to “transparently move the workloads already developed by the ISV for the cloud/edge, to the client edge/end user device,” as indicated by Chen (¶ 24).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches: The powered system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to operate the processors and the software applications in the containers to control or change movement of a vehicle (¶ 33, “The applications can serve as drivers for components of the vehicle 100, i.e., can provide a software interface for the components. The components can be sensors such as cameras, radars, ultrasonic sensors, inertial measurement units, temperature sensors, GPS sensors, wheel-speed sensors, etc.; actuatable components such as brake actuators, the EPAS actuator, windshield wipers, headlights, etc.; user interface components such as screens and displays, speakers, microphones, etc.; or other types of components”).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches: The powered system of claim 1, wherein the processors are configured to be connected with each other and the data plane is configured to operate within Ethernet connections of the communication network (¶ 29, “The master controller 110 may transmit and receive data through a vehicle network 120 such as a controller area network (CAN) bus, Ethernet, WiFi, Local Interconnect Network (LIN), onboard diagnostics connector (OBD-II), and/or by any other wired or wireless communications network”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches: The powered system of claim 1, wherein the processors are configured to be disposed within different devices of the powered system that perform different operations of the powered system (¶ 31, “The control modules 115 can be programmed for performing different functions for the vehicle 100. For example, the control modules 115 can include an engine control module, a body control module, a restraint control module, an accessory control module, a power-steering control module, an antilock brake control module, etc”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches: The powered system of claim 6, wherein the different devices include an input- output device, a sensor (¶ 33, “The components can be sensors such as cameras, radars, ultrasonic sensors, inertial measurement units, temperature sensors, GPS sensors, wheel-speed sensors, etc”), or an energy management system.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 17, 19, and 20 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Thurimella, as applied above, and further in view of Kang (Kang, Z., An, K., Gokhale, A., & Pazandak, P. (2020). Evaluating Performance of OMG DDS in Kubernetes Container Deployment (Industry Track). ACM Middleware’20).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Thurimella do not teach; however, Kang discloses: run the software applications in the containers in a data distribution service configuration (Conclusion, “In this paper, we validated the feasibility of deploying DDS applications with k8s and explained the k8s components and operations through a workflow”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to have applied the known technique of run the software applications in the containers in a data distribution service configuration, as taught by Kang, in the same way to the processors, as taught by Chen and Thurimella. Both inventions are in the field of application execution, and combining them would have predictably resulted in “an open standardized middleware for real-time and distributed IIoT applications,” as indicated by Kang (Introduction).
Claims 10 and 16 recite commensurate subject matter as claims 3. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/450,850 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application teaches or at least suggests each and every limitation of the instant application. See claim correspondence below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
Reference Application
1. A powered system comprising: a control system having processors communicatively coupled with each other by a data plane of a communication network, the processors configured to
1. A powered system comprising: a control system having processors communicatively coupled with each other by a data plane of a communication network, the processors configured to
run software applications in containers to control operation of the powered system,
the processors configured to run software applications in containers to control operation of the powered system
the processors configured to switch, during operation of the power system, which of the processors are running different ones of the software applications operating in different ones of the containers
the processors configured to switch which of the processors are running different ones of the software applications operating in different ones of the containers
without recompiling code of the software applications or changing the code of the software applications.
change a mode of at least one of the containers to a shadow mode that prevents output from at least a first application of the software applications that is running in the at least one of the containers operating in the shadow mode from changing operation of the powered system.
Conclusion
/JACOB D DASCOMB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198