DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 3:
“wherein the adhesive film comprises a first adhesive film, and a second adhesive film located on the first adhesive film”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a plurality of second conductive bumps” in lines 6-7. The limitation raises ambiguity as it implies that there is a plurality of first conductive bumps that is not recited in the claim. Correction/clarification is required.
Claims 2-12 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. 2010/0301475) in view of LEE et al. (US Pub. 2015/0041971).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a semiconductor package structure, comprising:
a first substrate 400 (Fig. 10);
a first semiconductor die 360 connected to the first substrate 400 (Fig. 10); and
a second semiconductor die stack structure 500 located on the first semiconductor die 360, the second semiconductor die stack structure 500 including a plurality of second semiconductor dies sequentially stacked onto one another in a first direction (see Fig. 10 and Para [0029])
Hsu is silent on a plurality of second conductive bumps being formed on a side of the second semiconductor die stack structure in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction parallel to a plane where the first substrate is located; and
a second substrate, a signal line in the second substrate being connected to the plurality of second conductive bumps, and the second substrate being connected to the first substrate in a direction perpendicular to the plane where the first substrate is located.
However, LEE teaches a plurality of second conductive bumps 170 being formed on a side of the second semiconductor die stack structure 1 in the first direction, wherein the first direction is a direction parallel to a plane where a first substrate 110 is located; and a second substrate 150, a signal line 151 in the second substrate 150 being connected to the plurality of second conductive bumps 170, and the second substrate 150 being connected to the first substrate110 in a direction perpendicular to the plane where the first substrate is located (see Fig. 2). This has the advantages of providing high density chip integration, improved signal integrity and reduced power consumption. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Hsu with the conductive bumps and the second substrate, as taught by LEE, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hsu and LEE teaches the semiconductor package structure according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor die 360 comprises a logic die, and the second semiconductor die stack structure comprises DRAM dies (Hsu’s Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hsu and LEE teaches the semiconductor package structure according to claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor die 360 and the second semiconductor die stack structure 500 communicate with each other in a wireless manner (Fig. 10 & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hsu and LEE teaches the semiconductor package structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of through silicon vias 96, each of the plurality of through silicon vias 96 penetrating through a respective one of the plurality of second semiconductor dies in the first direction (Hsu’s Fig. 10); and a plurality of fourth conductive bumps (note the bumps between each semiconductor dies in the die stack 500, Fig. 10) located between any two adjacent second semiconductor dies of the plurality of second semiconductor dies, each of the plurality of fourth conductive bumps being connected to a respective one of the plurality of through silicon vias 96, wherein each of the plurality of second conductive bumps is connected to a respective one of the plurality of through silicon vias and a respective one of the plurality of fourth conductive bumps (Hsu’s Fig. 10).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 103 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US Pub. 2021/0074660).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hsu and LEE is on the semiconductor package structure according to claim 1, further comprising: an adhesive film located between the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die stack structure. However, Lee teaches in Fig. 2 an adhesive film (580 and/or 270) located between a first semiconductor die 100 and a second semiconductor die stack structure (see die stack 200-400). This has the advantages of providing adhesion and protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Hsu & LEE with the adhesive/protective film, as taught by Lee, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hsu and LEE the semiconductor package structure according to claim 3, wherein the adhesive film comprises a first adhesive film 280, and a second adhesive film 270 located on the first adhesive film, wherein an elastic modulus of the second adhesive film 270 is greater than an elastic modulus of the first adhesive film 280 (Fig. 1 and associated text).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 & 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818