DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, in the submission dated 12/05/2025, are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 4, and 7-10 are amended. Claims 5 and 6 are cancelled by the applicant. Claims 11-19 are added without the addition of new matter. Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are pending. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 is withdrawn in light of the amendments to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by TW M596362 (of record, see IDS dated 10/31/2025, where a machine translation is cited, hereinafter, “Wu”).
Regarding new independent claim 11, Wu discloses a lightweight industrial eyeglass structure (Fig. 2 depicts an embodiment of the eyeglasses disclosed, refer to lines 59-61 of the machine translation), comprising:
a lens having two lateral ends (Fig. 2, lens base 1 holds lenses 11, lines 59-62, and lenses 11 have two lateral ends), each of the two lateral ends of the lens being formed with a protective plate (Figs. 2 and 3 show assembly unit 2 that is equivalent to a protective plate at the lateral ends of lenses 11, lines 64-65), the protective plate at each of the two lateral ends of the lens having an inner surface (Figs. 2 and 3, assembly unit 2 has an inner surface, lines 64-65), and a first pivot member is formed at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens (Fig. 3, assembly unit 2 includes two assembly members 21 formed with a pivot slot that opens toward the other assembly member 21, lines 64-66), thereby each first pivot member is hidden at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens with respect to an outside of the lens (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 are hidden at the inner surface of assembly unit 2); and
two temples (Fig. 2 shows a temple unit 3 on either side of the glasses), each of the two temples being pivotally connected to a corresponding protective plate at each of the two lateral ends of the lens and being formed with two opposing ends (Fig. 2 shows temple unit 3 pivotally connected to assembly unit 2, lines 101-102, temple units 3 have two opposing end), and one of the two opposing ends of each of the two temples is formed with two second pivot members (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 with two pivot members 31, lines 110-112), the two second pivot members of each of the two temples are spaced vertically and aligned with respect to each other (Fig. 3 shows pivot members 31 are spaced vertically and aligned with respect to each other, lines 64-65), thereby subsequent to the two second pivot members of each of the two temples and a corresponding first pivot member being connected to one another (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 connects to assembly unit 2, lines 101-102), the two second pivot members are also hidden at the inner surface of a corresponding protective plate with respect to the outside of the lens (Figs. 4 and 5, at least, show temple unit 3 connecting to assembly unit 2 and subsequently being hidden at the inner surface of assembly unit 2), wherein two spaced retaining members are formed at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens (Figs. 2 and 3 show assembly unit 2 that is equivalent to a protective plate at the lateral ends of lenses 11 and assembly unit 2 has an inner surface, lines 64-65, with assembly members 21 that are equivalent to two spaced retaining members formed at the inner surface of assembly unit 2), wherein the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with opposing upper and lower sides (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 has upper and lower sides opposing each other), the two spaced retaining members corresponding, respectively, to the upper and lower sides of a respective first pivot member (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 are equivalent to two spaced retaining members as noted above, and are upper and lower sides of assembly unit 2), and thereby a receiving compartment is formed between a corresponding one of the two retaining members at each of the two lateral ends of the lens and a corresponding one of the upper and lower sides of the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 form a receiving compartment), thereby two receiving compartments are formed at each lateral end of the lens (Fig. 2 shows assembly unit 2 at either lateral end of lens 11), and each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples are thereby movably fit in a corresponding one of the two receiving compartments at a respective lateral end of the lens (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 with two pivot members 31, lines 110-112, and Fig. 5, pivot portions 311 of pivot members 31 are received by pivot grooves 211 of assembly unit 2, lines 101-108), and each of the two temples is formed with a lug portion to be positioned adjacent to a corresponding one of the two opposing ends thereof formed with the two second pivot members (Figs. 2 and 3, slider 34, line 72, is equivalent to a lug portion and is positioned adjacent to pivot member 31), and each lug portion bulging outward (as shown in Fig. 2, slider 34 points outward).
Regarding new dependent claim 17, Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 11, wherein the other one of the two opposing ends of each of the two temples is formed as a clasping end (Fig. 2 of Wu shows temple units 3 are curved and therefore form a clasping end), thereby each of the two temples, the second pivot members of each of the two temples, and the clasping end of each of the two temples define a radian fitting a human face (as shown in Wu Fig. 2, the eyewear disclosed defines a radian because it is curved, and the eyewear disclosed by Wu is intended for people, lines 15-17 of machine translation).
Regarding new dependent claim 18, Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 17, wherein the lug portion of each of the two temples stands out of the corresponding radian and forms a curved section on the respective temple (Figs. 2 and 3, slider 34, refer to line 72, is equivalent to a lug portion and is positioned to stand out from the radian defined by the eyewear on a curved section of temple unit 3).
Regarding new dependent claim 19, Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 18, wherein each curved section is shaped according to human fingers (Wu, in Fig. 2, shows the eyewear disclosed therein is curved, and temple units 3 are curved, and because the eyewear is intended for use by people, the temple units 3 must be shaped according to human fingers to be used as intended).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Simioni et al. US Patent 5,898,471 (of record, see Office action dated 09/25/2025, hereinafter, “Simioni”), Conway US Patent 5,418,581 (hereinafter, “Conway”), and Lin US PGPub 2024/0027792 A1 (hereinafter, “Lin”).
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Wu discloses a lightweight industrial eyeglass structure (Fig. 2 depicts an embodiment of the eyeglasses disclosed, refer to lines 59-61 of the machine translation), comprising:
a lens having two lateral ends (Fig. 2, lens base 1 holds lenses 11, lines 59-62, and lenses 11 have two lateral ends), each of the two lateral ends of the lens being formed with a protective plate (Figs. 2 and 3 show assembly unit 2 that is equivalent to a protective plate at the lateral ends of lenses 11, lines 64-65), the protective plate at each of the two lateral ends of the lens having an inner surface (Figs. 2 and 3, assembly unit 2 has an inner surface, lines 64-65), and
a first pivot member is formed at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens (Fig. 3, assembly unit 2 includes two assembly members 21 formed with a pivot slot that opens toward the other assembly member 21, lines 64-66),
thereby each first pivot member is hidden at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens with respect to an outside of the lens (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 are hidden at the inner surface of assembly unit 2), wherein each first pivot member extends between two opposing first and second ends (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 extends between two opposing first and second ends), and wherein the first end of each first pivot member faces the outside of the lens (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 face the outside of lenses 11); and
two temples (Fig. 2 shows a temple unit 3 on either side of the glasses), each of the two temples being pivotally connected to a corresponding protective plate at each of the two lateral ends of the lens and being formed with two opposing ends (Fig. 2 shows temple unit 3 pivotally connected to assembly unit 2, lines 101-102, temple units 3 have two opposing ends), and one of the two opposing ends of each of the two temples is formed with two second pivot members (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 with two pivot members 31, lines 110-112), the two second pivot members of each of the two temples are spaced vertically and aligned with respect to each other (Fig. 3 shows pivot members 31 are spaced vertically and aligned with respect to each other, lines 64-65), thereby subsequent to the two second pivot members and a corresponding first pivot member being connected to one another (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 connects to assembly unit 2, lines 101-102), the two second pivot members are also hidden at the inner surface of a corresponding protective plate with respect to the outside of the lens (Figs. 4 and 5, at least, show temple unit 3 connecting to assembly unit 2 and subsequently being hidden at the inner surface of assembly unit 2), wherein the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with a hole (Fig. 3, assembly unit 2 has pivot slot 211, lines 65-66), and wherein a mouth is formed between the two second pivot members of each of the two temples (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 has two pivot members 31, lines 67-69, thereby forming a mouth), thereby the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens is fittingly received and retained in a corresponding one of the two temples (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 receive pivot members 31 of temple unit 3, lines 65-69),
each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples being formed with a surface (pivot members 31 each have surfaces as shown in at least Fig. 3), and a boss is formed at the surface of each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples (Fig. 3, pivot portion 311 is a boss formed at the surface of pivot member 31, lines 75-76), wherein the surface formed at one of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples opposingly faces the surface formed at the other one of the two second pivot members (Fig. 3, pivot members 31 opposingly face the surface formed at the other pivot member 31 on temple units 3), thereby each of the two temples is formed with two bosses (Fig. 3, pivot portion 311 is formed on each of pivot members 31 on each of temple units 3, lines 75-77), and the two bosses formed at each of the two temples are fittingly received and retained in the hole of a corresponding first pivot member (Fig. 5, pivot portions 311 of pivot members 31 are received by pivot grooves 211 of assembly unit 2, lines 101-108), the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with opposing first and second sides (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 with opposing first and second sides), and each of the two temples is formed with a lug portion to be positioned adjacent to a corresponding one of the two opposing ends thereof formed with the two second pivot members (Figs. 2 and 3, slider 34, line 72, is equivalent to a lug portion and is positioned adjacent to pivot member 31), and each lug portion bulging outward (as shown in Fig. 2, slider 34 points outward).
Wu does not disclose the eyeglasses are lightweight nor that the eyeglasses are intended for industrial use. However, these statements are directed to intended use, and per MPEP 2111.02(II), if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction, Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020), therefore the statements that the eyeglasses are lightweight and for industrial use will not be considered to carry patentable weight. Wu also does not disclose the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with a vertically extending through hole (as noted above, in Fig. 3 assembly unit 2 has pivot slot 211, lines 65-66, rather than a vertically extending through hole) and Wu does not disclose the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples (assembly unit 21 and pivot member 31 fit together as shown in Figs. 2-5, but Wu does not specify the fitting is in the mouth formed by the pivot members 31), nor does Wu disclose wherein a size of an opening defined at the mouth formed at each of the two temples is smaller than a thickness of the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens (Wu does not disclose any relative sizes or dimensions to make a comparison between the instant application and the prior art) and Wu does not disclose each of the opposing first and second sides of the first pivot member is formed with a guiding slope extending from the first end of the respective first pivot member towards the corresponding through hole (Wu does not disclose any guiding slope or equivalent).
In the same field of invention, Simioni discloses a hinge for eyeglasses, with temple 1 having first end 3 that can be arranged to the front 2 at a second lateral end 8 which has a through hole 11, see at least Fig. 1 and refer to col. 3 lines 1-54 thereof. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Simioni to the disclosure of Wu and included a through hole in assembly member 21 of assembly unit 2, to provide optimal precision in the positioning of the parts (Simioni, col. 4 lines 13-15).
The prior art combination of Wu in view of Simioni does not disclose the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples, nor does the prior art combination disclose wherein a size of an opening defined at the mouth formed at each of the two temples is smaller than a thickness of the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens and the prior art combination does not disclose each of the opposing first and second sides of the first pivot member is formed with a guiding slope extending from the first end of the respective first pivot member towards the corresponding through hole.
In the same field of invention, Conway discloses an eyewear hinge system, see Figs. 1-5 thereof, with hinge member 12 having connecting element 13 for holding post 14 (col. 2, lines 49-50) and receiving member 22 attached to temple 20 (col. 2, lines 44-46). Conway teaches receiving member 22 comprises means for frictionally receiving post 14 (col. 3, lines 35-36). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Conway to the disclosure of Wu and modified assembly unit 2 and pivot members 31 so that the size of the opening defined by the mouth formed by pivot members 31 is smaller than a thickness of the assembly members 21 at the respective lateral end of the lenses 11, so that temples can be removed and replaced for functional purposes (Conway, col. 4, lines 15-16). The prior art combination of Wu in view of Conway also teaches and renders obvious the limitation the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples, because the receiving members 22 of Conway are equivalent to a mouth and must hold the pivot member equivalent to function as a secure attachment of the temple to the lenses.
The prior art combination of Wu in view of Simioni and Conway does not disclose each of the opposing first and second sides of the first pivot member is formed with a guiding slope extending from the first end of the respective first pivot member towards the corresponding through hole.
In the same field of invention, Lin discloses a glasses rim 10 with pivotal rotating component 20 and temple 40 (par. [0019] thereof, see at least Fig. 1) where engaging part 32 has a pivotal rotating column 321, and column 321 has a guiding inclined surface 321A (par. [0026] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Lin to the disclosure of Wu and included a guiding inclined surface on assembly 21 to allow for easy insertion and fastening during assembly (Lin, par. [0026]).
Regarding amended dependent claim 7, modified Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein two spaced retaining members are formed at the inner surface of the protective plate of each of the two lateral ends of the lens (Figs. 2 and 3 show assembly unit 2 that is equivalent to a protective plate at the lateral ends of lenses 11 and assembly unit 2 has an inner surface, lines 64-65, with assembly members 21 that are equivalent to two spaced retaining members formed at the inner surface of assembly unit 2), the two spaced retaining members corresponding, respectively, to upper and lower sides of a respective first pivot member (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 are equivalent to two spaced retaining members as noted above, and are upper and lower sides of assembly unit 2), and thereby a receiving compartment is formed between a corresponding one of the two retaining members at each of the two lateral ends of the lens and a corresponding one of the upper and lower sides of the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 form a receiving compartment), thereby two receiving compartments are formed at each lateral end of the lens (Fig. 2 shows assembly unit 2 at either lateral end of lens 11), and each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples are thereby movably fit in a corresponding one of the two receiving compartments at a respective lateral end of the lens (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 with two pivot members 31, lines 110-112, and Fig. 5, pivot portions 311 of pivot members 31 are received by pivot grooves 211 of assembly unit 2, lines 101-108).
Regarding amended dependent claim 8, modified Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 1, and Wu further discloses wherein the other one of the two opposing ends of each of the two temples is formed as a clasping end (Fig. 2 of Wu shows temple units 3 are curved and therefore form a clasping end), thereby each of the two temples, the second pivot members of each of the two temples, and the clasping end of each of the two temples define a radian fitting a human face (as shown in Wu Fig. 2, the eyewear disclosed defines a radian because it is curved, and the eyewear disclosed by Wu is intended for people, lines 15-17 of machine translation).
Regarding amended dependent claim 9, modified Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 8, and Wu further discloses wherein the lug portion of each of the two temples stands out of the corresponding radian and forms a curved section on the respective temple (Figs. 2 and 3, slider 34, refer to line 72, is equivalent to a lug portion and is positioned to stand out from the radian defined by the eyewear on a curved section of temple unit 3).
Regarding amended dependent claim 10, modified Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 9, and Wu further discloses wherein each curved section is shaped according to human fingers (Wu, in Fig. 2, shows the eyewear disclosed therein is curved, and temple units 3 are curved, and because the eyewear is intended for use by people, the temple units 3 must be shaped according to human fingers to be used as intended).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Simioni and Conway.
Regarding new dependent claim 15, Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 11, and Wu further discloses wherein the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with a hole (Fig. 3, assembly unit 2 has pivot slot 211, lines 65-66), and wherein a mouth is formed between the two second pivot members of each of the two temples (Fig. 3 shows temple unit 3 has two pivot members 31, lines 67-69, thereby forming a mouth), thereby the first pivot member at a respective lateral end of the lens is fittingly received and retained in a corresponding one of the two temples (Fig. 3, assembly members 21 receive pivot members 31 of temple unit 3, lines 65-69), each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples being formed with a surface (pivot members 31 each have surfaces as shown in at least Fig. 3), and a boss is formed at the surface of each of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples (Fig. 3, pivot portion 311 is a boss formed at the surface of pivot member 31, lines 75-76), wherein the surface formed at one of the two second pivot members of each of the two temples opposingly faces the surface formed at the other one of the two second pivot members (Fig. 3, pivot members 31 opposingly face the surface formed at the other pivot member 31 on temple units 3), thereby each of the two temples is formed with two opposing bosses (Fig. 3, pivot portion 311 is formed on each of pivot members 31 on each of temple units 3, lines 75-77), and the two bosses formed at each of the two temples are fittingly received and retained in the hole of a corresponding first pivot member (Fig. 5, pivot portions 311 of pivot members 31 are received by pivot grooves 211 of assembly unit 2, lines 101-108).
Wu does not disclose the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with a vertically extending through hole (as noted above, in Fig. 3 assembly unit 2 has pivot slot 211, lines 65-66, rather than a vertically extending through hole) and Wu does not disclose the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples (assembly unit 21 and pivot member 31 fit together as shown in Figs. 2-5, but Wu does not specify the fitting is in the mouth formed by the pivot members 31).
In the same field of invention, Simioni discloses a hinge for eyeglasses, with temple 1 having first end 3 that can be arranged to the front 2 at a second lateral end 8 which has a through hole 11, see at least Fig. 1 and refer to col. 3 lines 1-54 thereof. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Simioni to the disclosure of Wu and included a through hole in assembly member 21 of assembly unit 2, to provide optimal precision in the positioning of the parts (Simioni, col. 4 lines 13-15).
The prior art combination of Wu in view of Simioni does not disclose the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples.
In the same field of invention, Conway discloses an eyewear hinge system, see Figs. 1-5 thereof, with hinge member 12 having connecting element 13 for holding post 14 (col. 2, lines 49-50) and receiving member 22 attached to temple 20 (col. 2, lines 44-46). Conway teaches receiving member 22 comprises means for frictionally receiving post 14 (col. 3, lines 35-36). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Conway to the disclosure of Wu and modified assembly unit 2 and pivot members 31 so that the size of the opening defined by the mouth formed by pivot members 31 is smaller than a thickness of the assembly members 21 at the respective lateral end of the lenses 11, so that temples can be removed and replaced for functional purposes (Conway, col. 4, lines 15-16). The prior art combination of Wu in view of Conway also teaches and renders obvious the limitation the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples, because the receiving members 22 of Conway are equivalent to a mouth and must hold the pivot member equivalent to function as a secure attachment of the temple to the lenses.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Simioni and Conway as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Lin.
Regarding new dependent claim 16, Wu in view of Simioni and Conway discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 15, and Wu further discloses wherein each first pivot member extends between two opposing first and second ends (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 extends between two opposing first and second ends), and wherein the first end of each first pivot member faces the outside of the lens (Fig. 3 shows assembly members 21 face the outside of lenses 11).
The prior art combination of Wu in view of Conway teaches and renders obvious the limitation the first pivot member is fittingly received and retained in the mouth of a corresponding one of the two temples, because the receiving members 22 of Conway are equivalent to a mouth and must hold the pivot member equivalent to function as a secure attachment of the temple to the lenses.
The prior art combination of Wu in view of Simioni and Conway does not disclose each of the opposing upper and lower sides of the first pivot member at each of the two lateral ends of the lens is formed with a guiding slope extending from the first end of the respective first pivot member towards the corresponding through hole (Wu does not disclose any guiding slope or equivalent, nor does Simioni or Conway).
In the same field of invention, Lin discloses a glasses rim 10 with pivotal rotating component 20 and temple 40 (par. [0019] thereof, see at least Fig. 1) where engaging part 32 has a pivotal rotating column 321, and column 321 has a guiding inclined surface 321A (par. [0026] thereof). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Lin to the disclosure of Wu and included a guiding inclined surface on assembly 21 to allow for easy insertion and fastening during assembly (Lin, par. [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Wu in view of Simioni, Conway, and Lin discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 1, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the lens and the two temples when being assembled have a combined weight of between 12grams and 13grams (Wu, Simioni, Conway, and Lin are all silent as to mass or weight of the devices disclosed therein).
Regarding dependent claim 3, modified Wu does not disclose all the limitations of the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 2, and therefore the limitation wherein the lens is made of a high-viscosity shatter-resistant polycarbonate material is allowable by its dependence on claim 2.
Examiner notes that Conway, in col. 3 lines 31-34, discloses the use of an optical quality plastic such as polycarbonate for the lens.
Regarding amended dependent claim 4, modified Wu does not disclose all the limitations of the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 2, and therefore the limitation wherein the two temples are made of a high-viscosity shatter-resistant polycarbonate material is allowable by its dependence on claim 2.
Examiner notes that Conway does disclose, in col. 3 lines 31-34, the use of an optical quality plastic such as polycarbonate for hinge member 12 if it is integral with lens 30.
Regarding new dependent claim 12, Wu discloses the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 11, but does not disclose wherein the lens and the two temples when being assembled have a combined weight of between 12grams and 13grams (Wu is silent as to mass or weight of the eyewear disclosed therein).
Regarding new dependent claim 13, Wu does not disclose all the limitations of the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 12, and therefore the limitation wherein the lens is made of a high-viscosity shatter-resistant polycarbonate material is allowable through its dependence on dependent claim 12.
Regarding new dependent claim 14, Wu does not disclose all the limitations of the lightweight industrial eyeglass structure of claim 12, and therefore the limitation wherein the two temples are made of a high-viscosity shatter-resistant polycarbonate material is allowable through its dependence on dependent claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 10/31/2025 prompted the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872