DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 11-13, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867.
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses,
A display device (figure 2) comprising:
a display panel (elements 110, 120, 130 and 140) including:
a first non-foldable portion (left NFA portion of the display panel);
a second non-foldable portion (right NFA portion of the display panel); and
a foldable portion (FA portion of the display panel) between the first non-foldable portion and the second non-foldable portion (as seen in figure 7); and
a barrier layer (figure 2, element 150, disposed under display panel 110/120/130) disposed under the display panel, wherein the barrier layer includes:
a first barrier layer (left side of 150 that corresponds to left NFA) disposed under the first non-foldable portion (figure 2);
a second barrier layer (right side of 150 that corresponds to right NFA) disposed under the second non-foldable portion; and
a plurality of protrusions (151, specifically element 151a being the plurality of protrusions, disposed between the first and second barrier layer, similar to present application figures 5-6) disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer and protruding downward from a bottom surface of the foldable portion (figure 2, such that 151a is protruding downward from bottom surface of foldable portion of at least 140, similar to how present application figure 6 “protrudes”), and
wherein the first and second barrier layers and the plurality of protrusions are disposed on a same layer and are disposed on a same plane (figure 2 protrusions 151a and the barrier layers (left and right side of 150 as described above) are on the same layer and disposed on a same plane), and
wherein the plurality of protrusion are disposed in a same single layer (figure 2, same 151a same layer as 150) as the first and second barrier layers and are physically separated from the first and second barrier layers (Figure 2, 151a physically separated from the barrier layers due to 151b; this is similar configuration as of at least figure 11 of present application).
Regarding claim 5, Song discloses,
wherein the first barrier layer is disposed flat on an entirety of a bottom surface of the first non-foldable portion (as seen in figure 2, left NFA of the first barrier 150), and
the second barrier layer is disposed flat on an entirety of a bottom surface of the second non-foldable portion (as seen in figure 2, right NFA of the first barrier 150).
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses,
wherein the first barrier layer, the second barrier layer, and the plurality of protrusions are directly disposed on a bottom surface of the display panel (figure 2, the protrusions 151a making the barrier the first barrier layer, the second barrier layer, and the plurality of protrusions are directly disposed on a bottom surface of the display panel).
Regarding claim 11, Song discloses,
wherein the first non-foldable portion, the second non-foldable portion, and the foldable portion are arranged in a first direction (first direction being figure 1 and 2, Y axis), and the foldable portion is folded around a folding axis (folding axis along the X direction in figure 1 and 2, such that the axis is parallel to the FA region) extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction.
Regarding claim 12, Song discloses,
wherein the plurality of protrusions are arranged in the first direction and the second direction (figure 1 and 2, where the protrusions are along the x and y direction of the folding region).
Regarding claim 13, Song discloses,
Wherein the plurality of protrusion extends in the second direction and are arranged in the first direction (figure 1 and 2, since the protrusions are along x and y direction as described in claim 11, therefor the portion of the protrusions extends in the second direction (x direction) and arranged across the folding region in the first direction (y direction)).
Regarding claim 15, Song discloses,
wherein the plurality of protrusions extend in the first direction and are arranged in the second direction (figure 1 and 2, since the protrusions are along x and y direction as described in claim 11, therefor the portion of the protrusions extends in the first direction (y direction) and arranged across the folding region in the second direction (x direction)).
Regarding claim 16, Song discloses,
a first dummy layer (figure 2, element 140 is the first dummy layer between element 280 and the foldable portion of the display panel; similar to present application figure 22) disposed between the plurality of protrusions and the foldable portion.
Regarding claim 17, Song discloses,
wherein the first dummy layer has a lower modulus than the barrier layer (the barrier layer is 150 and the dummy layer is 140, therefore at least rigid element 150 would be greater than the dummy (adhesive layer) of 140 since rigid material has higher modulus than flexible adhesive)).
Regarding claim 19, Song discloses,
A display device (figure 2) comprising:
a display panel (elements 110, 120 and 130);
a first barrier layer (left side of 150 that corresponds to left NFA under the display panel) disposed under the display panel;
a second barrier layer (right side of 150 that corresponds to right NFA) disposed under the display panel, and spaced apart from the first barrier layer in a direction parallel to the plane of the display panel (figure 1 and 2, right and left side of 150 are spaced apart; similar to present application at least figure 6);
a plurality of protrusions (151a being the plurality of protrusions in figure 2, disposed between the first and second barrier layer, similar to present application figures 5-6) disposed between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer and protruding downward from a bottom surface of the display panel (as seen in figure 2, the element 151a are protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the display panel, which is similar to how the protrusion are being illustrated in the present application at least figure 6);
A dummy layer (element 140) disposed between the plurality of protrusion and the display panel, and
Wherein the plurality of protrusions do not extend further in a thickness direction than the first and second barrier layers (as seen in figure 2, the protrusions 151a are not extending further in a thickness direction than the first and second barrier layers as described above),
wherein the plurality of protrusion are disposed in a same single layer (figure 2, same 151a same layer as 150) as the first and second barrier layers and are physically separated from the first and second barrier layers (Figure 2, 151a physically separated from the barrier layers due to 151b; this is similar configuration as of at least figure 11 of present application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867 in view of Namkung US Pub 2016/0084994.
Regarding claim 2,
Song teaches the display device as described in claim 1 comprising the plurality of protrusion.
Song does not teach the plurality of protrusions have a downwardly convex shape in a schematic cross-sectional view, and the plurality of protrusions are arranged in a dot type in a plan view.
Namkung in similar field of display device (figures 1-3) teaches plurality of protrusions have a downwardly convex shape (as seen in figure 2, P6_2 to P6_6 and as seen in figure 1b) in a schematic cross-sectional view, and the plurality of protrusions are arranged in a dot type in a plan view (as seen in figure 1b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the shape of a downwardly convex shape in a schematic cross-sectional view, and the plurality of protrusions are arranged in a dot type in a plan view as taught by Namkung such that the plurality of protrusion of Song as always arranged in a downwardly convex shape in a schematic cross-sectional view, and the plurality of protrusions are arranged in a dot type in a plan view, such modification will ensure the display panel is not damaged and stress is alleviated (paragraph 47-48, Namkung).
Regarding claim 3,
Song teaches a gap between two protrusion adjacent to each other among the plurality of protrusion (figure 2, gap between each of 151a).
Song does not explicitly teach the exact size of the gap such that the gap between two protrusion adjacent to each other among the plurality of protrusion is smaller than a diameter of a stylus device. However, adjusting the gap between the protrusion is not new.
Namkung in similar field of display device (figures 1-3) teaches the gap between two protrusion adjacent to each other among the plurality of protrusion is smaller than a diameter of a stylus device (paragraph 56 describes the space between the protrusion can be in contact with each other or to be space apart from each other, thereby at least the spacing range of 0mm to some value greater than 0mm is taught).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Namkung to have minimal gap between two protrusion adjacent to each other among the plurality of protrusion is smaller than a diameter of a stylus device such that the gap is modified of Song, such modification will alleviate the stress (paragraph 47-48, Namkung) and ensure the display panel is not damaged.
Regarding claim 4, Song as modified teaches,
wherein the gap between the two protrusions adjacent to each other among the plurality of protrusions is greater than about 0 mm and smaller than about 0.7 mm (as taught in claim 3 the Song as modified by Namkung such that at least greater than 0mm is taught therefore at least 0.1 mm can be the space between adjacent two protrusions).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867 in view of Jeon et al. US Pub 2017/0145166
Regarding claim 7,
Song teaches the barrier layer is a flexible material (paragraph 67) which contains silicon but not limited to that.
Song does not teach wherein the barrier layer contains polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane.
Jeon in the field of electronic device teaches use of polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane (abstract paragraph 203).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane in the material of barrier layer of Song, such modification will provide high transparency and desired hardness to the barrier layer (paragraph 203).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867 in view of Kim et al. US Pub 2021/0291493
Regarding claim 8,
Song teaches the barrier layer has a modulus of some value (the modulus of certain value of the material of barrier layer of Song).
Song does not teach the barrier layer has a modulus in a range of about 1 giga pascal to about 5 giga pascals.
Kim in similar field teaches protective material (paragraph 59) comprising specific material such that the modulus is 1.5giga Pascals (paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the modulus characteristic as taught by Kim such that material of the barrier layer is modified to have 1.5 giga pascal or less thus being within the range that is being claimed, such modification will provide desired level of elastic deformation.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867 in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114.
Regarding claim 9,
Song teaches a support plate (element 170, figure 2) disposed below the barrier layer.
Song does not teach the support plate includes openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view. However, providing a support plate such that one continues support plate is provided with opening is not new.
Park in similar field of display device teaches the support plate including includes openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view (figure 14, element 1440 support plate includes openings in the folding region FR).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the support plate of Song with the teaching of Park such that the support plate is continuous piece which comprises openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view, such modification will provide more flexible display device and ensure curved section does not loose quality (paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 10, Song as modified teaches,
further comprising: an adhesive layer (element 360, between barrier layer 280 and the support plate 170 as modified, figure 7, song) disposed between the barrier layer and the support plate, wherein lower portions of the plurality of protrusions are in direct contact with the adhesive layer (as seen in figure 7, lower portion of the protrusions 281 are in lower contact with 360).
Regarding claim 20, Song teaches
An electronic device (fig 1, 2, title foldable display device; paragraph 34-37) comprising a display device (figure 2) providing an image, wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel (elements 110, 120 and 130) including a foldable portion (the region of display panel that is associated with FA in figure 7);
a support plate (element 170, figure 2) disposed below the display panel and includes opening overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view (the space between 170 meaning space between 171 and 172);
a first barrier layer (left side of 150 that corresponds to left NFA under the display panel) disposed between the display panel and the support plate;
a second barrier layer (right side of 150 that corresponds to right NFA) disposed between the display panel and the support plate, and spaced apart from the first barrier layer in a direction parallel to a plane of the display panel (figure 1 and 2, right and left side of 150 are spaced apart; similar to present application at least figure 6);
a plurality of protrusions (151a being the plurality of protrusions in figure 2, disposed between the first and second barrier layer, similar to present application figures 5-6) arranged between the first barrier layer and the second barrier layer and protruding downward from a bottom surface of the display panel (as seen in figure 2, the element 151a are protruding downwards from the bottom surface of the display panel as described above); and
Wherein the plurality of protrusion overlap the opening in a plane view (as seen in figure 2, the protrusion 151a at least overlaps the opening between 171/172, at least when the display device of Song is in folded configuration), and the first and second barrier layers and the plurality of protrusion are disposed on a same layer and disposed on a same plane (as seen in the annotated drawing under claim 1 the protrusions and the barrier layers (BRL1 and BRL2) are on the same layer and disposed on a same plane).
Song does not teach the support plate includes openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view. However, providing a support plate such that one continues support plate is provided with opening is not new.
Park in similar field of display device teaches the support plate including includes openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view (figure 14, element 1440 support plate includes openings in the folding region FR).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the support plate of Song with the teaching of Park such that the support plate is continuous piece which comprises openings overlapping the foldable portion in a plane view, such modification will provide more flexible display device and ensure curved section does not loose quality (paragraph 4). Thereby, the modification will also render the plurality of protrusions overlap the openings (as modified) in a plan view.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867.
Regarding claim 14, Song teaches,
Wherein the plurality of protrusion extends in the second direction and are arranged in the first direction (figure 1 and 2, since the protrusions are along x and y direction as described in claim 11, therefor the portion of the protrusions extends in the second direction (x direction) and arranged across the folding region in the first direction (y direction)).
Song does not teach the plurality of protrusions extend longer in the second direction than in the first direction.
However, Song in embodiment of figures 4, 6, and 7 provides teaching that the protrusions can be different size in x and y direction, since they are adjusting the pitch and the length of the protrusions.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to adjust the size of the plurality of protrusions to extend longer in the second direction than the first direction, since such modification would provide the desired bendability to the display. Furthermore, such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP§2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. US Pub 2019/0204867 in view of Lee et al. US Pub 2018/0190936.
Regarding claim 18, Song teaches,
further comprising: a second dummy layer (figure 2, element 160 disposed under first dummy layer 140 and between the plurality of protrusions (281) disposed under the first dummy layer, wherein the second dummy layer has a lower modulus than the barrier layer (the second dummy layer is an optical clear resin or optical clear adhesive as disclosed in paragraphs 50, 52 and 101, each adhesive member is same material; furthermore barrier layer is rigid member thus the rigid member has a higher modulus than the flexible adhesive 160).
Song does not explicitly teach the second dummy layer between the plurality of protrusions.
Lee in similar field of flexible display teaches a (second) dummy layer (figure 5, element 110, adhesive), such that the dummy layer is provided between the plurality of protrusions (as seen in figures 4-5, 110 provided between the protrusions 1108 in the space 1107).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention made to provide the configuration of the dummy layer of Lee such that the second dummy layer (which is also adhesive) is provided between the plurality of protrusions of Song, such modification will ensure that there is no boundary visible in the display panel (paragraph 80 of Lee, boundary in the display panel is thus invisible).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provides remarks towards the newly amended limitation of “the plurality of protrusion are disposed in a same single layer as the first and second barrier layers and are physically separated from the first and second barrier layers” is not taught by the rejection provided in the previous office action, specifically by Song provided. However, the office respectfully disagrees. As provided in the rejection, after reconsidering the embodiment of Song of figure 2, the office notes the newly amended limitation is met by figure 2 of Song as provided in the newly citation (i.e., new interpretation) with respect to the new embodiment.
Conclusion
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841