DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 12/18/2025 wherein claims 2-4, 6, 8-20 and 23-25 are canceled, claim 5 is withdrawn, and claims 1, 7, 21-22, and 26-31 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 12,071,890) in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0271548), Terwilliger (US 11,603,798), Horner (US 6,003,298), and Uechi et al. (US 2021/0262383).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Terwilliger ‘890 teaches (Figures 1-6C) a turbine engine (24) for an aircraft (Column 4, lines 29-38), the turbine engine (24) comprising:
a core turbine engine (38, 66, 39, 40) including:
a core air flow path (50) for core air to flow therethrough (see Figures 1 and 3-4 and Column 5, lines 25-46);
a combustor (66) located in the core air flow path (50) to receive compressed air (from 32) and fluidly coupled to a fuel source (70) to receive fuel (via 76 and 72), the fuel (from 70) being injected (via 72) into the combustor (66) to mix with the compressed air (from 32) to generate a fuel and air mixture (Column 5, lines 47-56), the fuel and air mixture (Column 5, lines 47-56) being combusted in the combustor (66) to generate combustion gases (Column 5, lines 47-56);
a core shaft (42);
a turbine (40) located downstream of (see Figures 1 and 3-4) the combustor (66) to receive the combustion gases (see Figures 1 and 3-4 and Column 5, lines 47-56) and to cause the turbine (40) to rotate (Column 5, lines 47-56), the turbine (40) coupled to (see Figures 1 and 3-4 and Column 5, lines 4-20) the core shaft (42) to rotate the core shaft (42) when the turbine (40) rotates (Column 5, lines 50-59);
a fan (29) having a fan shaft (the shaft of the fan rotor 28) coupled to (the fan rotor and the LPT rotor can be coupled with geartrain; see Figures 1 and 3-4 and Column 5, lines 4-15) the core turbine engine (38, 66, 39, 40) to rotate (Column 5, lines 52-59) the fan shaft (the shaft of the fan rotor 28; see Figures 1 and 3-4 and Column 5, lines 4-15); and
a steam system (78) fluidly coupled to (via 114) the core air flow path (50) to provide steam (via 95) to the core air flow path (50) to add mass flow to the core air (within 33; see Figures 1 and 3-4), the steam system (78) including:
an evaporator (80 or 82) located downstream of (see Figures 1 and 3-4) the combustor (66), the evaporator (80 or 82) receiving water (from 88) and being fluidly connected to (via 50; see Figures 1 and 3-4) the combustor (66) to receive the combustion gases (50, from 66; see Figures 1 and 3-4) and to generate the steam (within line 106; see Figures 1 and 3-4);
a steam turbine (98) fluidly coupled to (see Figures 1 and 3-4) the evaporator (80 or 82) to receive the steam (within line 106) from the evaporator (80 or 82) and to cause the steam turbine (98) to rotate (Column 9, lines 14-24); and
a first steam control valve (92; see Figures 1 and 3) located upstream of the steam turbine (98) to control a flow of steam (from 106) into the core air flow path (via 114; see Figure 1), wherein the differential pressure across the steam turbine (98) is controlled by changing a position of the first steam control valve (92; see Column 7, lines 57-67) based on a change in operating condition (a high power mode of operation or a low power mode of operation; see Column 7, lines 57-67) of the turbine engine (24).
Terwilliger ‘890 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the steam turbine is coupled to the core shaft to rotate the core shaft when the steam turbine rotates, that the evaporator is a boiler that receives the combustion gases and boils the water to generate the steam, that the differential pressure is controlled across the steam turbine, a second steam control valve located downstream of the steam turbine, the second steam control valve movable between a closed position and an open position; and a controller operatively coupled to the first steam control valve and the second steam control valve, the controller configured to receive an input indicating a change in an operating condition of the turbine engine and configured to control a flow rate of the steam entering the combustor by changing a position of the second steam control valve to the closed position to prevent steam from entering the combustor and to the open position to allow the steam to enter the combustor in response to the input.
Terwilliger ‘548 teaches (Figures 1-2) a turbine engine (20) for an aircraft (Paragraph 0016) having a steam turbine (68) that may be used to either drive engine accessory components or may be coupled to a core shaft (94, of engine spool 96; see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0038) to rotate the core shaft (94) when the steam turbine rotates (the shaft power 70 from the steam turbine can provide additional power to the engine spool 96; see Paragraph 0038), and a controller (80) operatively coupled to first and second steam control valves (78, 90) to change a position of the valves (78, 90) after receiving an input indicating a change in operating condition (82) of the turbine engine (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 to have the steam turbine being coupled to a core shaft to rotate the core shaft when the steam turbine rotates and to have a controller operatively coupled to the steam control valves to change a position of the valves after receiving an input indicating a change in operating condition of the turbine engine, as taught by Terwilliger ‘548, in order to provide additional power for engine operation (see Paragraph 0038 of Terwilliger ‘548) and to control the operation of the valves based on engine operating conditions and steam quality (Paragraphs 0041 and 0047 of Terwilliger ‘548). Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the evaporator is a boiler that receives the combustion gases and boils the water to generate the steam, that the differential pressure is controlled across the steam turbine, and a second steam control valve located downstream of the steam turbine that is movable between a closed position and an open position, wherein the flow rate of steam entering the combustor is controlled by changing a position of the steam control valve to the closed position to prevent steam from entering the combustor and to the open position to allow the steam to enter the combustor in response to the input.
Terwilliger ‘798 teaches (Figures 1-6) a turbine engine (300, 400, 600) for an aircraft (see abstract) having an evaporator (328 or 426) that is a boiler (see Figures 3 and 4) that receives the combustion gases (from 320 or 404) and boils the water (from 324 or 422) to generate steam (322 or 428).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548 to have the evaporator be a boiler that receives the combustion gases and boils the water to generate the steam, as taught by Terwilliger ‘798, in order to vaporize the liquid water to generate steam to be injected into the burner section so that the efficiency of the combustion process is increased (Column 8, lines 22-37 and Column 9, lines 4-20 of Terwilliger ‘798). Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548 and Terwilliger ‘798 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the differential pressure is controlled across the steam turbine, and a second steam control valve located downstream of the steam turbine that is movable between a closed position and an open position, wherein the flow rate of steam entering the combustor is controlled by changing a position of the steam control valve to the closed position to prevent steam from entering the combustor and to the open position to allow the steam to enter the combustor in response to the input.
Horner teaches (Figure 1) a first steam control valve (36) located upstream of a steam turbine (12) to control a differential pressure (by controlling the opening degree of 36; see Figure 1) across the steam turbine (12), and a second steam control valve (38, downstream of 12 and upstream of 20; see Figure 1) to control a flow of the steam (exiting 12; see Figure 1) into the core air flow path (the flow through 20 and 22; see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548 and Terwilliger ‘798 to have a steam control valve located upstream of the steam turbine to control a differential pressure across the steam turbine and a steam control valve located downstream of the steam turbine to control a flow of the steam into the core air flow path, as taught by Horner, in order to control the amount of steam supplied to the turbine (Column 2, lines 58-60 of Horner).
Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, and Horner does not teach that the second steam control valve is movable between a closed position and an open position, wherein the flow rate of steam entering the combustor is controlled by changing a position of the steam control valve to the closed position to prevent steam from entering the combustor and to the open position to allow the steam to enter the combustor in response to the input.
Uechi teaches (Figures 1-29) a steam control valve (120) that controls the flow of steam into a combustor (18), wherein the steam control valve (120) is movable between a closed position and an open position (the device 120 may be an on-off valve used for switching between a fully open sate and a fully closed state; see Paragraph 0133), wherein the flow rate of steam (from 108) entering the combustor (18) is controlled by changing a position of the steam control valve (120) to the closed position to prevent (in an operating state A; see Paragraph 0135) the steam (from 108) from entering the combustor (18) and to the open position to allow (in an operating state B; see Paragraph 0136) the steam (from 108) to enter the combustor (18) in response to the input (from 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, and Horner to have the steam control valve be movable between a closed position and an open position, wherein the flow rate of steam entering the combustor is controlled by changing a position of the steam control valve to the closed position to prevent steam from entering the combustor and to the open position to allow the steam to enter the combustor in response to the input, as taught by Uechi, in order to switch the valve between a fully open state and a fully closed state to control the power output (Paragraphs 0133 and 0136 of Uechi).
It is noted that Applicant’s specification states “The boiler 102 can include any type of boiler or heat exchanger for extracting heat from the combustion gases 66 and vaporizing liquid water into steam or water vapor as the liquid water and the combustion gases 66 flow through the boiler 102” in Paragraph 0035.
Regarding Claim 21, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 further teaches (Figures 1-6C) wherein the first steam control valve (92; see Figures 1 and 3) is located upstream of (see Figures 1 and 3) the steam turbine (98) and downstream of (see Figures 1 and 3) the boiler (80 or 82).
It is noted that Horner also teaches (Figures 1-2) a first steam control valve (29) that is located upstream of (see Figure 1) the steam turbine (12) and downstream of (see Figure 1) the boiler (34).
It is noted that Applicant’s specification states “The boiler 102 can include any type of boiler or heat exchanger for extracting heat from the combustion gases 66 and vaporizing liquid water into steam or water vapor as the liquid water and the combustion gases 66 flow through the boiler 102” in Paragraph 0035.
Regarding Claim 26, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the first steam control valve and the second steam control valve each includes a plurality of open positions, the controller being configured to move the first steam control valve and the second steam control valve among the plurality of open positions.
Horner teaches (Figure 1) a first steam control valve (36) and a second steam control valve (38) each includes a plurality of open positions (the positions required to vary the amount of steam supplied to the steam turbine and to the combustor; see Column 3, lines 39-56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi to have the steam control valves include a plurality of open positions, as taught by Horner, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi does not teach, as discussed so far, the controller being configured to move the first steam control valve and the second steam control valve among the plurality of open positions.
Terwilliger ‘548 teaches (Figures 1-2) the controller (80) being configured to move the steam control valves (78, 90; see Paragraphs 0041 and 0047) among a plurality of open positions (positions between open and closed when the valves are actuated from a closed position to an open position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi to have the controller configured to move the first steam control valve and the second steam control valve among the plurality of open positions, as taught by Terwilliger ‘548, in order to actuate the valves based on information indicative of engine operating conditions and/or steam quality (Paragraphs 0041 and 0047 of Terwilliger ‘548).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 12,071,890) in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0271548), Terwilliger (US 11,603,798), Horner (US 6,003,298), and Uechi et al. (US 2021/0262383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lima et al. (US 2021/0276725).
Regarding Claim 7, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi does not teach a sensor, the controller communicatively coupled to the sensor that sends the input indicating the change in the operating condition of the turbine engine to the controller.
Lima teaches (Figures 1-4) an aircraft engine (see abstract) including a sensor (engine temperature sensors, ambient air temperature and pressure sensors, other conventional sensors; see Paragraph 0026) that are communicatively coupled to a controller (150) that sends an input indicating a change in an operating condition (310; see Paragraph 0026) of the turbine engine to the controller (150).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi to have a sensor communicatively coupled to the controller that sends the input indicating the change in the operating condition of the turbine engine to the controller, as taught by Lima, in order to detect changes in the aircraft operating condition and update the engine to adapt to new aircraft operating conditions (Paragraph 0026 of Lima).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 12,071,890) in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0271548), Terwilliger (US 11,603,798), Horner (US 6,003,298), and Uechi et al. (US 2021/0262383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0254920).
Regarding Claim 22, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the second steam control valve is located upstream of the core air flow path and downstream of the steam turbine.
Terwilliger ‘920 teaches (Figures 1-3) a turbine engine (110) for an aircraft (see abstract) having a steam valve (114) that is located upstream of (see Figure 3) the core air flow path (through 26) and downstream of (see Figure 3) the steam turbine (112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi to have at least one steam control valve located upstream of the core air flow path and downstream of the steam turbine, as taught by Terwilliger ‘920, in order to control an amount of heat transferred to the cooled steam flow exiting the steam turbine to the combustor (Paragraph 0044 of Terwilliger ‘920).
It is noted that Horner also teaches (Figure 1) a second steam control valve (38, downstream of 12 and upstream of 20; see Figure 1) that is located upstream of the core air flow path (through 20) and downstream of the steam turbine (12).
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 12,071,890) in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0271548), Terwilliger (US 11,603,798), Horner (US 6,003,298), and Uechi et al. (US 2021/0262383) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Khandwavla et al. (US 2015/0322822).
Regarding Claim 27, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 teaches (Figures 1-6C) a water pump (90) in fluid communication with (see Figure 1) the boiler (80, 82) to direct a flow of water (see flow arrows in Figure 1) into the boiler (80, 82). Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi does not teach, as discussed so far, that the controller operatively coupled to the water pump to control a speed of the water pump.
Khandwavla teaches (Figures 1-10) a water pump (280) in fluid communication with (see Figure 2) a boiler (270) to direct a flow of water (from 280) into the boiler (270), the controller (205) operatively coupled to (see Figure 2, Paragraph 0042, and Paragraph 0053) the water pump (280) to control a speed of the water pump (280).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, and Uechi to have the controller be operatively coupled to the water pump to control a speed of the water pump, as taught by Khandwavla, in order to provide the feedwater to the fluid path towards the HRSG and to control the temperature and/or the flow rate of the feedwater entering the heater to regulate the heat exchange occurring in the heater (Paragraphs 0042 and 0053 of Khandwavla).
Regarding Claim 28, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Khandwavla teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Khandwavla teaches (Figures 1-10) a controller (205) operatively coupled to (see Figure 2, Paragraph 0042, and Paragraph 0053) the water pump (280) to control a speed of the water pump (280). Terwilliger ‘890 further teaches (Figures 1-6C) the speed of the water pump (90) is changed in response to an indication of a change in an operating condition of the turbine engine (a first mode of operation corresponding to a high power setting of the engine and a second mode of operation corresponding to a lower power setting, wherein the flowrate of the water from the water pump during the second mode of operation is greater than a flowrate of water from the water pump during the first mode of operation; see Column 9, line 49 – Column 10, line 15).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 12,071,890) in view of Terwilliger et al. (US 2024/0271548), Terwilliger (US 11,603,798), Horner (US 6,003,298), Uechi et al. (US 2021/0262383), and Lima et al. (US 2021/0276725) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tomlinson et al. (US 2002/0083712).
Regarding Claim 29, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the sensor is located in the core air flow path.
Tomlinson teaches (Figures 1-4) sensors (FT, 44) to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (10) that include sensors located in the core air flow path (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima to have the sensor is located in the core air flow path, as taught by Tomlinson, in order to measure the temperatures and pressures in the compressor and turbine to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0030 of Tomlinson).
Regarding Claim 30, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the sensor is a temperature sensor and the input indicating the change in operating condition of the turbine engine is a temperature detected by the temperature sensor.
Tomlinson teaches (Figures 1-4) sensors (FT, 44) to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (10) that include temperature sensors and the input indicating a change in operating condition of the turbine engine is a temperature detected by the temperature sensor (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify T Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima to have the sensor be a temperature sensor and the input indicating the change in operating condition of the turbine engine is a temperature detected by the temperature sensor, as taught by Tomlinson, in order to measure the temperatures and pressures in the compressor and turbine to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0030 of Tomlinson).
Regarding Claim 31, Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the sensor is a pressure sensor and the input indicating the change in the operating condition of the turbine engine is a pressure detected by the pressure sensor.
Tomlinson teaches (Figures 1-4) sensors (FT, 44) to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (10) that include pressure sensors and the input indicating a change in operating condition of the turbine engine is a pressure detected by the pressure sensor (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Terwilliger ‘890 in view of Terwilliger ‘548, Terwilliger ‘798, Horner, Uechi, and Lima to have the sensor be a pressure sensor and the input indicating the change in operating condition of the turbine engine is a pressure detected by the pressure sensor, as taught by Tomlinson, in order to measure the temperatures and pressures in the compressor and turbine to monitor the condition and operation of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0030 of Tomlinson).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 21-22, and 26-31 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action, necessitated by amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments are addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741