DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment received on 03/18/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7 and 15) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 8-14 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) based upon an application filed in PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA on 08/01/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0075730 A1; Lee et al.; 03/2020; (“Lee”).
Regarding Claim 1. Lee discloses A semiconductor structure (Figures 20 and 21, semiconductor structure where Figure 20 is a layout and Figure 21 are cross sectional views according to [0123]), comprising a substrate (#101, Figure 21, substrate) and word line structures (#130, Figure 21, gate structure including gate electrode #132 which may be a word line according to [0131]);
wherein an isolation structure (#110, Figure 21, cell device isolation layer) is formed in the substrate (Figure 21, #110 is formed in #101), and the isolation structure defines active areas arranged in staggered rows in the substrate (#104, Figure 21 right panel, [0069], “cell device isolation layer 110 may define the cell active region 104”, Figures 20 and 18 of the method of making show that the active regions (#104) are arranged in staggered rows);
wherein the isolation structure comprises a trench formed in the substrate (Figure 21, [0108], “first insulating layer 112 [of #110] may define a trench”), an isolation layer filled in the trench (#112 and #116, Figure 21, first and second insulating layers), and a shielding layer (#114, Figure 21, cell shielding layer) located in the isolation layer (Figure 21, #114 is located in the trench shaped structure of #112 and #116), and in a top view, the shielding layer comprises a plurality of individual patterns arranged in staggered rows (Figures 20 and 18 of the method show that the shielding layers (#114/#214) surround the active layers which are arranged in staggered rows as described above and each grouping of particles for #114 are individual patterns arranged in staggered rows); and
wherein the word line structures are located in the substrate (Figure 21, #130s are located in the substrate #101), pass through the isolation structure and the active area alternately (Figure 21, #130s pass through alternating active regions #104 and cell device isolation layers #110), and are located above the shielding layer (Figure 21, #130 is located above #114).
Regarding Claim 2. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a distance between the shielding layer and bottoms of the word line structures (Figure 21, [0130], “shielding layer 114 may include a plurality of particles spaced apart from each other and may not be in contact with the gate insulating film 131”, i.e. the use of the phrase “may not” is interpreted as envisioning an embodiment where there may be contact between particles of #114 and #131 such that the distance is zero therebetween; Examiner notes that the gate structure is formed by etching trenches into the structure where shielding layer particles have been formed to the top of the substrate (see Figure 13) such that the etch may expose at least one particle of #114 on which #131 is formed) is smaller than a distance between the shielding layer and a bottom of the isolation structure along a direction perpendicular to a plane on which the substrate is located (Figure 24, #114 is separated from a bottom of #110 by at least the thickness of #112 along a vertical direction perpendicular to the top of the substrate, i.e. a separation of zero through direct contact between #114 and #131 is smaller than the separation between #114 and the bottommost surface of #110).
Regarding Claim 3. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the isolation layer (#112 and #116, Figure 21, first and second insulating layers) comprises:
a first isolation dielectric layer (#112, Figure 21, first insulating layer) located at a bottom and sidewalls of the trench (Figure 21, #112 is located at a bottom and sidewalls of the trench in which #110 is formed); and
a second isolation dielectric layer (#116, Figure 21, second insulating layer) located on a surface of the first isolation dielectric layer and under the shielding layer (Figures 21, #116 is on a surface of #112 and extends partially underneath #114 to make contact with #112, see Figure 1B showing a zoomed in image of how the second insulating layer #26 extends under the shielding layer #24 to contact first insulating layer #22).
Regarding Claim 5. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein word line trenches are formed in the substrate (Figure 21, trenches passing through #101 in which #130s are located), and
a word line structure is located in each of the word line trenches (Figure 21, each of the trenches includes a #130 therein); and
wherein the word line structure (#130) comprises:
a gate dielectric layer (#131, Figure 21, gate insulating film) located at a bottom and sidewalls of a word line trench (Figure 21, #131 is located on a bottom and sidewalls of the trenches in which #130s are located); and
a word line conductive layer (#132, Figure 21, gate electrode which may be a word line according to [0131]) located on a surface of the gate dielectric layer (Figure 21, #132 is located on a surface of #131).
Regarding Claim 6. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein an upper surface of the word line conductive layer is lower than a top surface of the word line trench (Figure 21 right pane, an upper surface of #132 is lower than a top surface of the trench in which #130s are located), and
the word line structure (#130) further comprises:
a filling dielectric layer (#133, Figure 21, gate capping film which may be an insulating/dielectric material according to [0132]) located on a surface of the word line conductive layer and filling the word line trench (Figure 21, #133 is located on an upper surface of #132 and at least partially fills the trenches in which #130s are located).
Regarding Claim 7. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein each of the active areas (#104) further comprises:
a source (#104b, Figure 21, second impurity region which may be a source region according to [0133]), the source being located at one side of a corresponding one of the word line structures passing through a corresponding active area (Figure 21, [0133], #104b extends through an active region #104 at a side of one of the gate electrodes #132); and
a drain (#104a, Figure 21, first impurity region which may be a drain region according to [0133]), the drain being located at a side of the word line structure passing through the corresponding active area away from the source (Figure 21, [0133], #104a extends through the active region #104 at a side of the gate electrode #132 and is necessarily away from the source region to form a channel therebetween).
Regarding Claim 15. Lee discloses A memory structure, comprising the semiconductor structure of claim 1 (Figure 21, [0067], the region CELL shown in Figure 21 may be a cell array for a semiconductor memory device such as DRAM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0075730 A1; Lee et al.; 03/2020; (“Lee”).
Regarding Claim 4. Lee discloses The semiconductor structure of claim 3.
Lee does not disclose, as part of the Figure 21 embodiment, that the isolation layer further comprises: a third isolation dielectric layer located in the trench and between the shielding layer and the word line structures.
However, Lee also teaches an alternative embodiment of the semiconductor device (Figures 4 and 5) wherein the isolation layer (#112, #116, and #118, Figures 4 and 5, first, second, and third insulating layers) further comprises a third isolation dielectric layer (#118, Figure 5, third insulating layer) located in the trench (Figure 5, #118 is in the isolation layer trench) and between the shielding layer and the word line structures (Figure 5 and 21, incorporation of #118 into Figure 21 would necessarily result in #118 being at least partially between the bottommost portions of #114 and the word line structures above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in the prior art reference, Lee, as doing so does not require a leap of inventiveness, Boston Scientific v. Cordis (Fed. Cir. 2009). Incorporating the feature of a third isolation dielectric layer to the isolation layer from the embodiment of Figure 5 into the embodiment of Figure 21 would modify the insulative properties of the cell device isolation layer (see [0086]-[0088] of Lee) through modifying the horizontal width and the material properties therein.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and corresponding remarks, see page 8 of the remarks, filed 03/18/2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 7 and corresponding remarks, see page 8 of the remarks, filed 03/18/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 7 have been fully considered. The objection to claim 7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and corresponding arguments, see pages 8-10 of the remarks, filed 03/18/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, and all 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections of the dependent claims, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant argues that Lee does not disclose “in a top view, the shielding layer comprises a plurality of individual patterns arranged in staggered rows” as recited in amended claim 1. In particular, applicant argues that the shielding layer of Lee (#114, Figure 21) includes a plurality of particles and can therefore not be construed as a plurality of individual patterns arranged in staggered rows. The examiner respectfully disagrees. While applicant is correct that the shielding layer is composed of a plurality of particles in Lee, this does not preclude the particles from being interpreted as “patterns” which are arranged in staggered rows. It is the examiner’s interpretation that Lee’s Figures 20 and 18 of the method of making show that the active regions (#104) are arranged in staggered rows and further show that the shielding layers (#114/#214) surround the active layers which are arranged in staggered rows as described above and each grouping of particles for a given #114 around a given active region #104 are interpreted as individual patterns arranged in the same staggered rows in the top down view. For this reason, it is the examiner’s interpretation that Lee does disclose all the elements/limitations of amended claim 1.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0075730 A1; Lee et al.; 03/2020; (“Lee”).
Claim 4 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0075730 A1; Lee et al.; 03/2020; (“Lee”).
Applicant’s request for rejoinder of method claims 8-14 based on the believed allowability product claim 1, see page 10 of the remarks, filed 03/18/2026, has been fully considered but is not found persuasive. Claim 1 stands rejected as described above. Claim(s) 8-14 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812