DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 that the previous office action rejected “one side in the first direction” and the “other side in the first direction” as the same side which is incorrect. The office action identified (page 5 annotated figure reproduced below) gate pads (G11 and G12) at two different sides of two different semiconductor elements (11 and 12) which both face in the same first direction.
Claim 1 currently recites in part:
the first gate pad is disposed on the first semiconductor element on one side in the first direction, and
the second gate pad is disposed on the second semiconductor element on an other side in the first direction.
Based upon the plain meaning interpretation of the claim language, the Examiner respectfully submits that one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret “one side in the first direction” of the first semiconductor element and “an other side in the first direction” of the second semiconductor element as being the sides of the first and second semiconductor elements facing in the same first direction. The Examiner acknowledges that Applicant’s disclosure supports “an other side in the first direction” supports a side facing in the opposite direction, it has been established that it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification MPEP 2111.01 II, e.g. “[t]hough understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). However, Applicant’s use of the term “in the first direction” as including both in a direction as well as in the opposing direction may not be consistent with the plain meaning interpretation of “in the first direction”. For example, Merriam-Webster defines “direction” as “the line or course on which something is moving or is aimed to move or along which something is pointing or facing” and therefore two sides facing opposing directions may not be facing “in the first direction” based upon at least that definition. Even assuming for the sake of argument that one having ordinary skill in the art would interpret the “an other side in the first direction” to be so specifically construed as facing in the opposite direction to the “one side in the first direction” under the plain meaning interpretation, it has been established that claims are to be interpreted under the doctrine of broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI, MPEP 2111.01) and the pending interpretation of the pending claim language falls within the scope of broadest reasonable interpretation.
The Examiner acknowledges that amending to specify the language to include e.g. “in an opposite first direction” might overcome the pending obviousness rejection and Applicant is welcome to schedule an interview with the Examiner to discuss possible amendments. However, Applicant’s arguments to the previous office action are not persuasive and the previous rejection is maintained as mirrored below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0224327 A1 to Ikeda, “Ikeda”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0123034 A1 to Nakamura, “Nakamura”.
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda discloses a semiconductor device (FIG. 2), comprising:
a first semiconductor element (11, ¶ [0027]-[0029]) and a second semiconductor element (12, ¶ [0027]-[0029]) that are connected in parallel with each other (FIG. 1, ¶ [0023]);
a control integrated circuit (15, ¶ [0031],[0032]) controlling driving of the first semiconductor element (11) and the second semiconductor element (12);
a first gate pad (G11) disposed on the first semiconductor element (11) and receiving a signal (through 102 connected to G11) for controlling the driving of the first semiconductor element (11);
a second gate pad (G12) disposed on the second semiconductor element (12) and receiving a signal (through 102 connected to G12) for controlling the driving of the second semiconductor element (12);
a first wire (102 connected to G11) connecting the control integrated circuit to the first gate pad (G11); and
a second wire (102 connected to G12) connecting the control integrated circuit to the second gate pad (G12),
wherein the first semiconductor element (11) is of a rectangle having a long side extending in a first direction in the top view (e.g. up-down axis in FIG. 2), the second semiconductor element (12) is of a quadrangle (smaller rectangle) having a side extending in the first direction in the top view, the first semiconductor element (11) and the second semiconductor element (12) are disposed so that the long side of the first semiconductor element (11) faces the side of the second semiconductor element (12), and the control integrated circuit (which must be to the left based on the direction of 102), the first semiconductor element (11), and the second semiconductor element (12) are disposed in this order in a direction orthogonal to the first direction (left-right axis, since 102 is connected to the control integrated circuit), the first gate pad (G11) is disposed on the first semiconductor element (11) on one side (upwards the top) in the first direction, wherein the second gate pad (G12) is disposed on the second semiconductor element (12) on the “other side” (wherein the other side is interpreted as the side facing upwards in FIG. 2) in the first direction.
Ikeda fails to clearly teach in sufficient detail the control integrated circuit (15) being of a rectangle having a long side extending in a first direction in a top view.
Nakamura teaches (FIG. 4) wherein a control integrated circuit (3N) is a rectangle having a long side extending in a first direction (left-right axis, since long sides of 1UN and 1VN face each other along the left-right axis) in a top view.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda with a rectangular control integrated circuit along a first direction as exemplified by Nakamura in order to achieve miniaturization of the power module (Nakamura ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda in view of Nakamura yields the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and although Ikeda discloses wherein an angle between the first wire (102 connected to G11) and the first direction ranges from 80° to 100° (90 degrees as pictured), Ikeda fails to clearly teach in sufficient detail for anticipation wherein the angle between the second wire (102 connected to G12) and the first direction is also 80° to 100°.
However, Nakamura shows (FIG. 4) wherein the angles of the wires connected from the semiconductor elements (a 10 on each of 1UN, 1VN, 1WN) and the control integrated circuit (3N) are within the claimed range (approximately 90 degrees) with the analogous first direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda in view of Nakamura with the angles within the claimed ranges as suggested by Ikeda and Nakamura since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the angles determine the package dimensions and therefore miniaturization of the package making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 3, although Ikeda in view of Nakamura yields the semiconductor device according to claim 1, Ikeda fails to clearly teach wherein the first semiconductor element (11) contains SiC.
However, Ikeda teaches wherein the second semiconductor element (12) contains SiC (¶ [0029]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda in view of Nakamura by swapping the position of the first and second semiconductor elements since it has been held in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention,
wherein in the instant case it would have been obvious to apply simple substitution of swapping the first and second semiconductor elements with the predictable and desired result of forming a functioning switching apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, although Ikeda in view of Nakamura yields the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and Ikeda fails to clearly teach wherein the first semiconductor element (11) is smaller in chip area than the second semiconductor element (12) in the top view.
Rather, Ikeda further teaches wherein the second semiconductor element (12) is smaller in chip area (as pictured) than the first semiconductor element (11) in the top view.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda in view of Nakamura by swapping the position of the first and second semiconductor elements since it has been held in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention,
wherein in the instant case it would have been obvious to apply simple substitution of swapping the first and second semiconductor elements with the predictable and desired result of forming a functioning switching apparatus.
Regarding claim 7, although Ikeda in view of Nakamura yields the semiconductor device according to claim 1, Ikeda fails to clearly teach wherein the first semiconductor element is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, and the second semiconductor element is an insulated gate bipolar transistor.
Rather, Ikeda further teaches wherein the second semiconductor element (12) is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (¶ [0027]-[0029]), and the first semiconductor element (11) is an insulated gate bipolar transistor (¶ [0024]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda in view of Nakamura by swapping the position of the first and second semiconductor elements since it has been held in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention,
wherein in the instant case it would have been obvious to apply simple substitution of swapping the first and second semiconductor elements with the predictable and desired result of forming a functioning switching apparatus.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0224327 A1 to Ikeda, “Ikeda”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0123034 A1 to Nakamura, “Nakamura”, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0198431 A1 to Zhang et al., “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda in view of Nakamura yields a power conversion device (switching apparatus in FIG. 1 as described by Ikeda, Nakamura power module (title)), comprising:
a main conversion circuit (Ikeda FIG. 1) including the semiconductor device according to claim 1, the main conversion circuit converting an input power to output a resulting power;
a control circuit (Ikeda’s 15) outputting, to the main conversion circuit, a control signal for controlling the main conversion circuit.
Ikeda fails to clearly teach a radiating fin radiating outside heat generated by driving of the semiconductor device.
Zhang teaches (e.g. FIG. 8) a radiating fin (16, ¶ [0022]) radiating (to the) outside heat generated by driving of semiconductor devices.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Ikeda in view of Nakamura with a heat radiating fin as taught by Zhang in order to enhance the mechanical reliability of the power device (Zhang ¶ [0022],[0023]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric A. Ward/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891