Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jayasena et al. (2015/0155876, hereinafter Jayasena) in view of Mohammed et al. (US 2018/0331037, hereinafter Mohammed).
With respect to claim 1, Jayasena discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 9), comprising:
a base (Para 0033 – bulk silicon); and a plurality of semiconductor die sets located on a surface of the base (Para 0033-0034) and stacked in sequence along a first direction (Para 0017-0018; 0032; and 0035; die-stacked memory device -Fig. 2), the plurality of semiconductor die sets being respectively connected to different ranks (Para 0025; number of ranks, the die-stacked memory device may implement four ranks, each rank implemented at a corresponding quadrant of each of the memory dies), and the plurality of semiconductor die sets being all electrically
connected to the base (Para 0034), and the first direction being a thickness direction of the base (Para 0033-0034); wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor die sets comprises a first die and a second die vertically interconnected (Para 0032 – vertical interconnect), and the first die and the second die are connected to a same rank (Para 0025).
Jayasena does not explicitly disclose that the vertical interconnect can be a face-to-face bonding of the first and the second die.
In an analogous art, Mohammed discloses that the vertical interconnect can be a a face-to-face bonding of the first and the second die (Para 0119 – first and second dies connected face to face in vertical interconnect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena’s device by having Mohammad’s disclosure in order to increase interconnection density, low power consumption with reduced package size.
Claims 2-3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena/Mohammed in view of Pagaila et al. (US 2012/0181673, hereinafter Pagaila).
With respect to claim 2, Jayasena/Mohammed discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Jayasena/Mohammed does not explicitly disclose wherein, the semiconductor device further comprises a first connection pad located on a first surface of the second die away from the base along the first direction, the second die comprises a conductive pillar, wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the conductive pillar, and the conductive pillar penetrates through the second die.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses wherein, the semiconductor device further comprises a first connection pad (254 of Fig. 14) located on a first surface of the second die (220) away from the base along the first direction (Fig. 14), the second die comprises a conductive pillar (250), wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the conductive pillar (Fig. 14 -Para 0069), and the conductive pillar penetrates through the second die (250 penetrates through 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to connect different layers of the stack of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, Jayasena/Mohammed discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2.
Jayasena/Mohammed does not explicitly disclose wherein the first die comprises a plurality of first bond pads arranged at intervals, and the plurality of first bond pads are located on a third surface of the first die away from the base along the first direction, the second die further comprises a plurality of second bond pads arranged at intervals, the plurality of second bond pads are located on a second surface of the second die close to the base along the first direction; and a projection area of each of the plurality of first bond pads coincides with a projection area of a corresponding one of the plurality of second bond pads along the first direction, and each of the plurality of first bond pads is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the plurality of second bond pads.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses wherein the first die (106 of Fig. 3c) comprises a plurality of first bond pads arranged at intervals (pads are arranged at intervals on the top of 106), and the plurality of first bond pads are located on a third surface of the first die away from the base along the first direction (pads are arranged on the top of 106 which is away from the base 52), the second die further comprises a plurality of second bond pads arranged at intervals (pads on the lower side of 58), the plurality of second bond pads are located on a second surface of the second die close to the base along the first direction (lower side of 58 is closer to the base 52); and a projection area of each of the plurality of first bond pads coincides with a projection area of a corresponding one of the plurality of second bond pads along the first direction (Fig. 3c), and each of the plurality of first bond pads is electrically connected to the corresponding one of the plurality of second bond pads (Para 0044-0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to connect different layers of the stack of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 5, Jayasena/Mohammed discloses the semiconductor device of claim 2.
Jayasena/Mohammed does not explicitly disclose a second connection pad located on the surface of the base; wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor die sets is electrically connected to the base through the first connection pad and the second connection pad.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses a second connection pad located
on the surface of the base (Fig. 3c – pads located on 52); wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor die sets is electrically connected to the base through the first connection pad and the second connection pad (Fig. 3c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to connect different layers of the stack of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 6, Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila discloses the semiconductor device of claim 5.
Jayasena/Mohammed does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the connection structures is configured to connect the first connection pad and the second connection pad.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses wherein each of the connection structures is configured to connect the first connection pad and the second connection pad (Fig. 3c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to connect different layers of the stack of a semiconductor device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila and further in view of Kim (US 2019/0244945, hereinafter Kim).
With respect to claim 4, Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila discloses the semiconductor device of claim 3.
Jayasena/Mohammed does not explicitly disclose wherein the second die further comprises a re-distributed layer located on the second surface, and configured to connect the second bond pad with the conductive pillar.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses wherein the second die further comprises an active layer (108 of Fig. 3c) located on the second surface (108 is located on the bottom side of 58), and configured to connect the second bond pad with the conductive pillar (108 connects the bond pads on the bottom side of 58 with conductive pillars 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to connect different layers of the stack of a semiconductor device.
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila does not explicitly disclose that a re-distribution layer is provided on the active layer.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses that a re-distribution layer is provided on the active layer (Para 0026 & 0033; 0048; 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad/Pagaila’s device by having Kim’s disclosure in order to electrically connect different components of multiple layers of a semiconductor device.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila in view of Lee et al. (US 2009/0134528, hereinafter Lee).
With respect to claim 7, Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila discloses the semiconductor device of claim 6.
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila does not explicitly disclose an insulating layer located between the plurality of semiconductor die sets and the base, and a dielectric layer located between two adjacent ones of the plurality of semiconductor die sets.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses an insulating layer (240/204 of Fig. 3B) located between the plurality of semiconductor die sets and the base (Fig. 3B), and a dielectric layer (206) located between two adjacent ones of the plurality of semiconductor die sets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad/Pagaila’s device by having Lee’s disclosure in order to avoid short circuiting between different components of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 8, Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7.
Jayasena does not explicitly disclose a plurality of semiconductor die
sets arranged in sequence along a second direction, the second direction being any direction in a plane on which the base is located.
In an analogous art, Mohammed discloses a plurality of semiconductor die
sets arranged in sequence along a second direction, the second direction being any direction in a plane on which the base is located (Fig. 11-14 – die sets arranged in vertical direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena’s device by having Mohammed’s disclosure in order to avoid short circuiting between different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila/Lee in view of Kim.
With respect to claim 9, Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila/Lee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8.
Jayasena does not explicitly disclose a plastic packaging layer covering at least the plurality of semiconductor die sets and the base; wherein the base further comprises connection solder balls, the connection solder balls and the second connection pads are respectively located on two surfaces of the base along the first direction.
In an analogous art, Pagaila discloses a plastic packaging layer covering at least the plurality of semiconductor die sets and the base (Para 0051; and 0158).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammad’s device by having Pagaila’s disclosure in order to protect components of a semiconductor device.
Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila/Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the base further comprises connection solder balls, the connection solder balls and the second connection pads are respectively located on two surfaces of the base along the first direction.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the base further comprises connection solder balls (Fig. 2 – solder balls on the lower surface of 100), the connection solder balls and the second connection pads are respectively located on two surfaces of the base along the first direction (Fig. 2 – connection pads on the top of 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jayasena/Mohammed/Pagaila/Lee’s device by having Kim’s disclosure in order to connect with external components.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Pang et al. (US 2015/0380392, hereinafter Pang) in view of Ruckerbauer et al. (US 2010/0074038, hereinafter Ruckerbauer).
With respect to claim 20, Pang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 4), comprising: a base (112); and a first semiconductor die set (102 & 108) located on a surface of the base (Fig. 4); wherein the first semiconductor die set comprises a first die and a second die bonded face-to-face (Para 0028 – face to face); a first connection structure connected the second die and the base, wherein the first connection structure is used to transmit low signal (Para 0034-0035 and 0040 – larger-pitch terminals + RDL routing to the package terminal (suitable for lower speed control, power or other signals); a second connection structure connected the second die and the base, wherein the first connection structure is used to transmit high signal (Para 0029; and 0044- The small interconnect pitch of terminals allows a high interconnection density between logic die and memory die. high density interconnect optimized for high bandwidth/high-signal data)
Pang does not explicitly disclose that the first die and the second die are connected to a same rank.
In an analogous art, Ruckerbauer discloses that the first die and the second die are connected to a same rank (Para 0001; and 0056-0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pang’s device by having Ruckerbauer’s disclosure in order to miniaturize the size of the semiconductor device.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Pang/Ruckerbauer in view of Tan et al. (US 2003/0148597, hereinafter Tan).
With respect to claim 21, Pang/Ruckerbauer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 20.
Pang/Ruckerbaue does not explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first connection pad located on a first surface of the second die away from the base, and the semiconductor device further comprises a second connection pad located on the surface of the base, and the first connection structure is configured to connect the first connection pad and the second connection pad.
In an analogous art, Tan discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a first connection pad located on a first surface of the second die away from the base (Fig. 4 - Para 0010 – bond pads on the upper surface of the second die), and the semiconductor device further comprises a second connection pad located on the surface of the base (Para 0008 - terminal pads on the support substrate), and the first connection structure is configured to connect the first connection pad and the second connection pad (Para 0008-0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pang/Ruckerbauer’s device by having Tan’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Pang/Ruckerbauer/Tan in view of Greco et al. (US 2021/0384168, hereinafter Greco).
With respect to claim 22, Pang/Ruckerbauer/Tan discloses the semiconductor device of claim 21.
Pang/Ruckerbaue/Tan does not explicitly disclose wherein the second die comprises a conductive pillar, wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the conductive pillar, and the conductive pillar penetrates through the second die.
In an analogous art, Greco discloses wherein the second die comprises a conductive pillar (Para 0046; Fig. 1B), wherein the first connection pad is electrically connected to the conductive pillar, and the conductive pillar penetrates through the second die (Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pang/Ruckerbauer/Tan’s device by having Greco’s disclosure in order to connect different components of a semiconductor device.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that prior art does not explicitly disclose
“ each of the plurality of semiconductor die sets comprises a first die and a second die bonded face-to-face, and the first die and the second die are connected to a same rank” .
Examiner respectfully disagrees because wherein each of the plurality of semiconductor die sets comprises a first die and a second die vertically interconnected (Para 0032 – vertical interconnect), and the first die and the second die are connected to a same rank (Para 0025 – in one rank there can be different dies stacked on each other - the DRAM ranks each may be implemented across multiple memory dies 120. For example, the die-stacked memory device 102 may implement four ranks, each rank implemented at a corresponding quadrant of each of the memory dies 120).
Jayasena does not explicitly disclose that the vertical interconnect can be a face-to-face bonding of the first and the second die.
In an analogous art, Mohammed discloses that the vertical interconnect can be a a face-to-face bonding of the first and the second die (Para 0119 – first and second dies connected face to face in vertical interconnect).
As stated above, Jayasena clearly discloses that each rank can be implemented across multiple stacked dies. In addition to that, claim language “ .. the first and second die are connected to a same rank” does not specify how these dies are connected to the same rank. Therefore, Jayasena clearly discloses that in a rank there can be multiple stacked dies.
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained. Newly added claims 20-22 have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments regarding prior art rejection have been considered, however they are not persuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899