Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) to the Claims 1 and 15 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MORIMOTO (US 2023/0118691 - hereinafter, "Morimoto") .
With respect to Claim 1, Morimoto teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 below)
An electronic control unit (10) for a vehicle (101), the electronic control unit (10) comprising:
a single piece housing (11) including an electric unit (930+30), the housing comprising an outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) surrounding an interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11);
a heat sink (11, in paragraph [0084], “The second housing 11 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper. The second housing 11 acts as a heat sink that dissipates heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20. The lid 40 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper, and is joined to the second housing 11. With this configuration, the heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20 is efficiently dissipated from the lid 40 to the outside if the heat is transferred from the second housing 11”) positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11), the heat sink (11) comprising a first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 below) on a first side (see annotated Figure 21 below) of the heat sink (11) and a second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 below) on a second side (see annotated Figure 21 below) of the heat sink (11);
a first printed circuit board (20) electrically connected to the electric unit (930+30, in paragraph [0050], “An electric driving device 1 includes the motor 30 and the ECU 10 fixed to an anti-load side of a shaft 31 of the motor 30. The electric driving device 1 may also include an adapter that connects the ECU 10 to the motor 30”, and in paragraph [0084], “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the ECU 10 includes the first circuit board 60, a second circuit board 20, a second housing 11, a lid 40, a power supply wiring module 90, and a connector CNT”), wherein the first printed circuit board (20) is positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) directly adjacent to (see annotated Figure 21 below) to the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 below) of the heat sink (11); and
a second printed circuit board (60, in paragraph [0091], “As a result, one terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the first motor coil wiring 321 of the motor 30, and the other terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the second motor coil wiring 322 of the motor 30”) electrically connected to the electric unit (930+30), wherein the second printed circuit board (60) is positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) directly adjacent to (see annotated Figure 21 below) to the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 below) of the heat sink (11);
wherein the heat sink (11) is designed monolithically (Heat sink designed or configured to be a part of the housing or integrated into the housing) with the housing (11) such that the heat sink (11) conducts heat generated by the first printed circuit board (20) and by the second printed circuit board (60) to the outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11).
Figure I
Figure II
With respect to Claim 2, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first printed circuit board (20) and the second printed circuit board (60) are power boards (in paragraph [0090], “FIG. 10A is an exploded perspective view of a configuration example for attaching the terminal blocks to a power circuit board according to the embodiment. As illustrated in FIGS. 9 and 10A, the terminal block 80 includes a base 81, mounting fittings 82, and conductive terminals 83. The base 81 is made of insulating material and secures insulation between terminals. One end of the conductive terminal 83 is inserted into and electrically connected to the first circuit board 60”) for conducting current to the electric unit (930+30, in paragraph [0091], “As a result, one terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the first motor coil wiring 321 of the motor 30, and the other terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the second motor coil wiring 322 of the motor 30”).
With respect to Claim 3, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the electronic control unit (10) is an electronic control unit of an electric power steering system (100, in paragraph [0049], “The electric power steering device 100 also includes a torque sensor 194 that detects steering torque of the steering shaft 192, a motor 30, an electronic control unit (hereinafter referred to as ECU) 10 that controls the motor 30, a reduction gear 175, and a second rack-and-pinion mechanism 170”).
With respect to Claim 4, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the heat sink (11) and the housing (11) are made from the same metal (in paragraph [0084], “The second housing 11 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper. The second housing 11 acts as a heat sink that dissipates heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20. The lid 40 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper, and is joined to the second housing 11. With this configuration, the heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20 is efficiently dissipated from the lid 40 to the outside if the heat is transferred from the second housing 11”).
With respect to Claim 5, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first printed circuit board (20) is attached to (see annotated Figure 21 above, first PCB (20) is indirectly attached to heat sink (11) through the lid (40) but the first PCB is directly adjacent to the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above)) the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11), and wherein the second printed circuit board (60) is attached to the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heatsink (11).
With respect to Claim 6, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the heat sink (11) is sandwiched between the first printed circuit board (20) and the second printed circuit board (60).
With respect to Claim 7, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) is arranged diagonally opposite to the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above, HCS-1 is diagonally to HCS-4 and HCS-2 is diagonally to HCS-3).
With respect to Claim 8, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) and the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) are located at different widths (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the housing (11).
With respect to Claim 9, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) is located on a first heat conduction portion (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11) and the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) is located on a second heat conduction portion (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11).
With respect to Claim 10, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the first heat conduction portion (see annotated Figure 21 above) and the second heat conduction portion (see annotated Figure 21 above) are connected to each other by an intermediate portion (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11) extending along a length (L) of the housing (11).
With respect to Claim 11, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the heat sink (11) includes recesses (117, in paragraph [0085]) and/or grooves configured to receive electronic components (electronic part) of at least one of the first printed circuit board (20) and the second printed circuit board (60).
With respect to Claim 12, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein at least one cut-out (118+119, in paragraph [0093]) for a connector of the electronic control unit (10) is provided between the outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) and the heat sink (11).
With respect to Claim 13, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
wherein the outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) has a cylindrical shape or a substantially cylindrical shape (see Figure 7) and/or the heat sink has a substantially circular plate-like shape.
With respect to Claim 14, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
An electric power steering system (100) comprising:
the electronic control unit (10) according to claim 1;
wherein the electric unit (930+30) is an electric motor provided inside the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11, see Figure 22, the shaft (31) of the electric unit (930+30) is received inside of a support portion (70) of housing (11)) and electrically connected (in paragraph [0091], “As a result, one terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the first motor coil wiring 321 of the motor 30, and the other terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the second motor coil wiring 322 of the motor 30”) to the first printed circuit board (20) and to the second printed circuit board (60).
With respect to Claim 15, Morimoto further teaches (in Figure 7 and 21 and as shown in annotated Figure 21 and in 2nd annotated Figure 21 above)
A vehicle (101) comprising:
at least one of:
an electronic control unit (10) comprising:
a single piece housing (11) including an electric unit (30), the housing (11) comprising an outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) surrounding an interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11);
a heat sink (11, in paragraph [0084], “The second housing 11 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper. The second housing 11 acts as a heat sink that dissipates heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20. The lid 40 is made of metal with high heat dissipation, such as aluminum and copper, and is joined to the second housing 11. With this configuration, the heat generated by the first circuit board 60 and the second circuit board 20 is efficiently dissipated from the lid 40 to the outside if the heat is transferred from the second housing 11”) positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11), the heat sink (11) comprising a first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) on a first side (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11) and a second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) on a second side (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11);
a first printed circuit board (20) electrically connected to the at least one electric unit (930+30, in paragraph [0050], “An electric driving device 1 includes the motor 30 and the ECU 10 fixed to an anti-load side of a shaft 31 of the motor 30. The electric driving device 1 may also include an adapter that connects the ECU 10 to the motor 30”, and in paragraph [0084], “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the ECU 10 includes the first circuit board 60, a second circuit board 20, a second housing 11, a lid 40, a power supply wiring module 90, and a connector CNT”), wherein the first printed circuit board (20) is positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) directly adjacent to (see annotated Figure 21 above) the first heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11); and
a second printed circuit board (60, in paragraph [0091], “As a result, one terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the first motor coil wiring 321 of the motor 30, and the other terminal block 80 electrically connects the first circuit board 60 to the second motor coil wiring 322 of the motor 30”) electrically connected to the electric unit (930+30), wherein the second printed circuit board (60) is positioned in the interior volume (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11) directly adjacent to (see annotated Figure 21 above) to the second heat conduction surface (see annotated Figure 21 above) of the heat sink (11);
wherein the heat sink (11) is designed monolithically (Heat sink designed or configured to be a part of the housing or integrated into the housing) with the housing (11) such that the heat sink (11) conducts heat generated by the first printed circuit board (20) and by the second printed circuit board (60) to the outer wall (see 2nd annotated Figure 21 below) of the housing (11);
and
the electric power steering system (100) according to claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to the amendment to Claim 1 and 15,
“Claims 1-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as allegedly being unpatentable over Morimoto (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0118691). Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Nonetheless, to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite the single piece housing includes an outer wall surrounding an interior volume of the housing, and the heat sink, the first printed circuit board, and the second printed circuit board are positioned in the interior volume of the housing. Amended claim 1 also recites that the heat sink conducts heat generated by the first printed circuit board and by the second printed circuit board to the outer wall of the housing.
The Office Action maps the second housing 11 of Morimoto's electronic control unit 10 to a "housing" and a "heat sink" as recited in claim 1. See Office Action, page 4 and the Office's annotated FIG. 21 of Morimoto (reproduced below). However, the "heat sink" of Morimoto is not positioned in an "interior volume" surrounded by an "outer wall" of the second housing 11. Similarly, the "printed circuit board(s) 60" of Morimoto, which are mapped to the "second printed circuit board" of claim 1, are not positioned in an "interior volume" surrounded by an "outer wall" of the second housing 11. Morimoto therefore does not disclose each and every element of amended claim 1…” (Present remarks page 5-7) The Examiner respectfully disagrees and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835