DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2024/0264393 to Ahn et al.
Ahn discloses in the abstract and figures 4-5, an optical device comprising:
A first optical package (455) located over and bonded to an interposer substrate (550), the interposer substrate comprising a semiconductor substrate (paragraph 76 describes the silicon and photonic components); and
A cavity ring located over the semiconductor substrate (ring resonator disclosed in paragraph 72).
As to claims 7, 12 and 20, a laser is disclosed and bonded to the interposer substrate (“LD”; figure 5)
Claim 1 is similar to claim 15 above except that it is a method claim that recites the basic “forming” of the structure above without any specific steps. Since the structure is present, the formation of such would also be anticipated. Similarly, claims 5-8 and 12-14 disclose general packaging of a chip to a substrate via Ahn’s bonding pads (solder array 512).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-11, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of US 10/951,248 to Kamgiang et al.
As to claims 2-4, 9-11 and 18-19, Ahn discloses the invention as claimed except for specific materials such as lithium niobate and silicon nitride which are common in the art. Ahn does disclose lithium niobate as a modulator material (paragraph 71).
Claims 16-17 relate to ring cavity locations or with respect to claim 17 that the ring resonator is within a cavity resonant die. Ahn generally discloses ring resonators which would inherently have a cavity but lacks the resonant die.
Kamgiang discloses silicon nitride finishes for the resonator (column 7, line 47) as well as a resonant cavity die (411).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use known semiconductor materials to produce components as a matter of design choice to optimize said components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0285267 (resonator embedded within interposer 504).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874