CTFR 18/452,108 CTFR 85787 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Amendment The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 4/20/26. Applicant’s amendment to claims 16, 22 and 30 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15, 21 and 35 are cancelled. Applicant’s addition of new claims 36 and 37 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20, 22-34, 36 and 37 are pending and claims 23 and 24 are withdrawn. Claims 16-20, 22, 25-34, 36 and 37 are subject to examination at this time. Response to Arguments 07-38 Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Regarding claim 1 and the Tse reference: With a new interpretation, Tse teaches the amended limitations as set forth below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 16-20, 22, 25-34, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 16 and 30: Claim 16 recites “the second substrate is connected to a first end of the first substrate… wherein a first end of the second substrate is stacked on and at least partially overlaps one end of the first substrate…” It is unclear if “a first end of” is the same end or different end from “one end of” the first substrate. Claim 30 recites similar limitations so a similar rejection applies. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16, 19, 20, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse et al., US Publication No. 2017/0018488 A1 (from the IDS, of record) in view of Miyazawa, US Publication No. 2018/0128234 A1 (of record) . Regarding claim 16: One of ordinary skill in the art rotating Tse’s fig. 6A by 180 degrees would arrive at the claimed limitations. It would have been obvious to rotate Tse’s fig. 6A by 180 degrees because a rotation of a figure is considered within the “ordinary creativity” of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2141, Examination Guidelines for Determining Obviousness Under 35 U.S.C. 103: “A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” KSR, 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d at 1397 . Tse teaches: 16. A packaged structure, comprising (see fig. 6A rotated 180 degrees): PNG media_image1.png 276 489 media_image1.png Greyscale a first substrate (100), wherein power units (10) are disposed on a first surface (e.g. bottom surface) of the first substrate; and a second substrate (200), wherein a control unit (30) is disposed on a first surface (e.g. bottom surface) of the second substrate, the second substrate (200) is connected (e.g. solder at para. [0059], [0079] ) to a first end of the first substrate (100), the control unit (30) is electrically connected to the power units (10), and the control unit is configured to: … control the power units to work (e.g. driver for driving gate of power switching device at para. [0002] ), wherein the first surface (e.g. top surface) of the second substrate (200) is disposed on a same side as the first surface (e.g. top surface) of the first substrate (100), and wherein a first end (e.g. interior end) of the second substrate (200) is stacked on and at least partially overlaps one end (e.g. interior end) of the first substrate (100) along a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the first substrate. See Tse at para. [0001] – [0059], figs. 1-7. Tse does not expressly teach: the control unit is configured to: receive an external input signal, collect an internal sensing signal… In an analogous art, Miyazawa taches: a control unit (302+230) electrically connected to a power unit (210), the control unit is configured to: receive an external input signal (e.g. para. [0084] ), collect an internal sensing signal (e.g. para. [0092] ), and control the power unit to work (e.g. para. [0004] ), Regarding claim 19: Tse further teaches: 19. The packaged structure according to claim 16, wherein the control unit (30) is electrically connected to the power units (10), fig. 6A. In the embodiment shown in fig. 6, Tse does not expressly teach “…by a second connecting part, and the second connecting part comprises at least one flexible printed circuit board”. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to electrically connect the control unit and the power units by a second connecting part that comprises at least one flexible printed circuit board because Tse teaches this in the embodiment shown in fig. 7: wherein the control unit (30) is electrically connected to the power units (10) by a second connecting part (130), and the second connecting part comprises at least one flexible printed circuit board, para. [0056]. Tse further teaches: 20. The packaged structure according to claim 19, wherein a conductive line (e.g. copper rail, copper pattern, para. [0053] ) is arranged on the second substrate (200), and the flexible printed circuit board (130) is electrically connected to the control unit (30) by the conductive line on the second substrate, para. [0055] – [0058], fig. 7. 22. The packaged structure according to claim 21, wherein the first surface (e.g. bottom surface) of the second substrate (200) is connected to a second surface (e.g. top surface) of the first substrate (100), a first soldering part is disposed on the first surface of the second substrate, a second soldering part is disposed on the second surface of the first substrate, and the first soldering part is soldered to the second soldering part (e.g. solder at para. [0059], [0079] ), fig. 6A. 25. The packaged structure according to claim 16, wherein a first lead part (71 left) is disposed at a second end (e.g. exterior end) of the second substrate (200) and away from the first substrate (100), and the first lead part (71 left) is electrically connected to the control unit (30), and wherein a second lead part (71 right) is disposed at an end (e.g. exterior end) of the first substrate (100) and away from the second substrate (200), and the second lead part (71 right) is electrically connected to the power units (10), fig. 6. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Miyazawa because “…an effect is achieved in that malfunction is prevented by reliably causing the power semiconductor element to be conductive when a control signal to cause the power semiconductor device to be conductive is input to the semiconductor device”. See Miyazawa at para. [0097] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 30, 33 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse et al., US Publication No. 2017/0018488 A1 (from the IDS, of record) in view of Miyazawa, US Publication No. 2018/0128234 A1 (of record) and Echigo et al, US Publication No. 2021/0162980 A1 (of record) . Regarding claim 30: Tse and Miyazawa teach the limitations as applied to claim 16 above, and Miyazawa further teaches a battery at para. [0023]. Tse and Miyazawa do not expressly teach: An electric power control system, comprising: …the packaged structure is configured to convert a direct current of a battery into an alternating current to supply the alternating current to a power apparatus… In an analogous art, Echigo teaches: (see fig. 1) An electric power control system (1/2/3/4/5), comprising: …a packaged structure (3) configured to convert a direct current of a battery (4) into an alternating current to supply the alternating current to a power apparatus (2) …, para. [0017] – [0029]. Regarding claim 33: Tse teaches the limitation as applied to claim 19 above. Regarding claim 34: Tse teaches the limitation as applied to claim 20 above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Miyazawa because “…an effect is achieved in that malfunction is prevented by reliably causing the power semiconductor element to be conductive when a control signal to cause the power semiconductor device to be conductive is input to the semiconductor device”. See Miyazawa at para. [0097] . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Echigo because in an electric vehicle a battery supplies charged electric power to a driving motor via an inverter that converts DC power into AC power. See Echigo at para. [0022] – [0023] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17, 18, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claims 16 and 30 above, in further view of Bayerer et al., US Publication No. 2016/0056132 A1 (of record) . Regarding claim 17: Tse and Miyazawa teach all the limitations of claim 16 above, and Tse further teaches: (see fig. 3) wherein the power units (10) include a row of power units that are disposed on the first substrate (100), the row…comprises at least one corresponding power unit (10) arranged in a first direction Tse and Miyazawa but do not expressly teach: corresponding power units in each row of the plurality of rows of power units are electrically connected by a first corresponding connecting part. In an analogous art, Bayerer teaches: (see fig. 21) wherein the power units (1) include a plurality of rows (21, 22, 23, 24) of power units that are disposed on a first substrate (70), each row of the plurality of rows (21, 22, 23, 24) of power units comprises at least one corresponding power unit (1) arranged in a first direction (r2), and corresponding power units (1) in each row of the plurality of rows (21, 22, 23, 24) of power units are electrically connected by a first corresponding connecting part (4). See Bayerer at para. [0095] – [0097]. Bayerer further teaches: 18. The packaged structure according to claim 17, wherein the first corresponding connecting part (4) comprises a conductor (e.g. bonding wire), the conductor is in a multi-arch bridge shape, the conductor comprises a plurality of arch structures and a connecting part (e.g. at trough of the bridges) connected between adjacent arch structures, and the connecting part is electrically connected to the power units, fig. 21. Regarding claim 31: Bayerer teaches the limitations as applied to claim 17 above Regarding claim 32: Bayerer teaches the limitations as applied to claim 18 above It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Bayerer because this enables the plurality of power units to be connected in series. See Bayerer at para. [0095] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Casey et al., US Publication No. 2007/0057284 A1 (of record) . Regarding claim 26: Tse teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above, and further teaches a power unit of the power units comprises a power chip, para. [0043]. Tse does not expressly teach: a surface of the power chip and that has a pin is away from the first substrate. In an analogous art, Casey teaches: a surface of the power chip (72) and that has a pin (“input/output pins) is away from a first substrate (74), para. [0006] – [0008] . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Casey because the exposed pins enable the connection of bonding wires (71) to the power chip (71), para. [0007] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Prechtl et al., US Publication No. 2017/0025523 A1 (of record) . Regarding claim 27: Tse teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above, but does not expressly teach: a housing, wherein the housing has accommodation space inside, and the first substrate and the second substrate are located inside the housing. In an analogous art, Prechtl teaches: a housing, wherein the housing has accommodation space inside for semiconductor chips, para. [0076]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Prechtl to form “a housing, wherein the housing has accommodation space inside, and the first substrate and the second substrate are located inside the housing” because housing provides protection against external impacts. See Prechtl at para. [0076] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Kanschat et al., DE 102006040435 B3 (see attached English machine translation, of record) . Regarding claim 28: Tse teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above, but does not expressly teach: wherein a first region on the housing and that corresponds to a second surface of the first substrate has a first notch, and wherein a second region on the housing and that corresponds to the control unit has a second notch. In an analogous art, Kanschat teaches: (see figs. 6-7) wherein a first region on the housing (40) and that corresponds to a second surface a the first substrate has a first notch (53), and wherein a second region on the housing…has a second notch (51). See Kanschat at pages 9-10 It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Kanchat to form “wherein a first region on the housing and that corresponds to a second surface of the first substrate has a first notch, and wherein a second region on the housing and that corresponds to the control unit has a second notch” because the notches to provide for mechanical attachment. See Kanschat at pages 9-10 . . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Pan et al., US Publication No. 2020/0006186 . Regarding claim 29: Tse teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above, and further teaches 120A functions as heat sink, para. [0032]. Tse does not expressly teach: wherein a first heat sink is disposed on a second surface of the first substrate, and wherein a second heat sink is disposed on a surface of the control unit that faces away from the second substrate. In an analogous art, Pan teaches a heat sink (118) disposed on a second surface of substrate (102), para. [0058] , fig. 1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Kanchat to form “wherein a first heat sink is disposed on a second surface of the first substrate, and wherein a second heat sink is disposed on a surface of the control unit that faces away from the second substrate” because heat transfer enhancements improve temperature control within a package. See Pan at para. [0054] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tse in view of Miyazawa, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Regarding claim 36: Tse and Miyazawa teach all the limitations of claim 16 above and Tse further teaches: 36. The packaged structure according to claim 16, wherein the control unit comprises a control chip (30) disposed on the first surface of the second substrate (200), wherein a surface of the control chip that has a pin each face the second substrate (e.g. flip chip at para. [0047] ), and the control chip is electrically connected (e.g. An electrical connection between control chip 30 and chip 40 is inherent or obvious because substrate 200 is a PCB with metallization shown in fig. 5) to another chip (40) by a conductive line arranged on the second substrate (200) Tse does not expressly teach the control unit comprises a drive chip. In an analogous art, Yan teaches a control unit comprises a control chip and drive chip. Specifically, Yan teaches: 36. The packaged structure according to claim 16, (see fig. 9) wherein a control unit comprises a control chip (910) and a drive chip (912), both disposed on a first surface of a substrate, wherein a surface of the control chip that has a pin and a surface of the drive chip that has a pin each face the second substrate (e.g. control chip and driver chip are bonded to the substrate by flip-chip bonding, para. [0012] ), and the control chip (910) is electrically connected to the drive chip (912) by a conductive line (e.g. “contact regions”, para. [0060] ) arranged on the second substrate. Based on the teachings of Yan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form Tse’s another chip (40) to be a drive chip of the control unit so that the control chip (30) in response to the external input signals can control the drive chip to provide operating current. See Yan at para. [0060]. Regarding claim 37: Tse and Yan teaches the limitations as applied to claim 36 above. Miyazawa further teaches collecting an internal sensing signal at applied to claim 16 above. Yan further teaches: (see fig. 9) wherein the control chip (910) is configured to: receive the external input signal (e.g. para. [0060] ), process the external input signal (e.g. para. [0060] ), send a processed signal to the drive chip (912) by a conductive line (e.g. “contact regions”, para. [0060] ) arranged on the second substrate, and the drive chip is configured to: send a control signal (e.g. operating current, para. [0060] ) to downstream units via a second connecting part (e.g. “contact regions”, para. [0060] ) based on the processed signal to control the downstream units to work. One of ordinary skill in the art applying the teachings of Yan to Tse and Miyazawa would accomplish “send a control signal to the power units…to control the power units to work” because (i) In both Tse and Miyazawa the units downstream from the control unit are the power units; and (ii) Miyazawa teaches the control unit is configured to control the power units to work at para. [0004]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tse with the teachings of Yan to form a control unit to comprise a drive chip so that an operating current can be sent to downstream units (-i.e. power units). See Yan at para. [0060]. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michele Fan whose telephone number is 571-270-7401. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 7:30 am to 4 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff Natalini, can be reached on (571) 272-2266. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Michele Fan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 15 June 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 10 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 11 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 12 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/452,108 Page 13 Art Unit: 2818