DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12598909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant and patented claims claim many of the same compounds and devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2017/0309841) (Kim).
In reference to claim 8-11, 13, and 15-16, Kim teaches the compound H-10 as shown below that reads on the instant claims.
For Claim 8: Reads on wherein X1 to X3 are each N, a1 is 0, Ar1 is Formula 2-3, b4 is 1, one R4 is cyano, a2 and a3 are each 0, Ar2 is formula 2-1, b5 is 0, and Ar3 is formula 2-1, b5 is 1, and R1 is Si(Q1)(Q2)(Q3), and Q1, Q2 and Q3 are each phenyl.
For Claim 9: Reads on formula wherein at least one is different.
For Claim 10: Reads on condition i.
For Claim 11: Reads on condition i.
For Claim 13: Reads on 2-1(1), 2-1(2) and 2-3(1).
For Claim 15: Reads on 2-1(2).
For Claim 16: Reads on X1 to X3 are each N.
Claims 1-7, 12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2017/0309841).
In reference to claims 1-7, Kim teaches devices comprising an anode, cathode, emitting layer, electron transport layer, hole transport layer and including a compound of formula 2 as a host in an emitting layer with Pt dopants or iridium dopants such as compound D-96 as shown below as a phosphorescent dopant. The office notes that the drawing of D-96 includes an obvious drawing error.
While Kim does not exemplify a device with the claimed features, Kim teaches that such application is one of the possible device applications of the device of Kim. The ordinarily skilled artisan would find using the device of Kim in the application taught by Kim immediately obvious without an explicit example.
In reference to claims 12, 14 and 17-20, Kim teaches the device as described above for claim 8 and further teaches that hydrogen in various groups of formula (2) (compound H-10 is a compound of formula (2)) can be substituted for deuterium (Kim [0034]).
Kim discloses the compound of formula (2) that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein one or more hydrogen atoms are substituted for deuterium. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compounds of formula (2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for formula (2) to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786