DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Invention I is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/06/2026. Applicant has canceled claims 14-20. New claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-13 and 21-25 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 01/16/2025 fails to comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 C.F.R. § 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, the English-language publications indicated for the submitted foreign patent documents do not fulfill the concise-explanation requirement. MPEP § 609.04(a)(III) states, “An English-language equivalent application may be submitted to fulfill this requirement if it is, in fact, a translation of a foreign language application being listed” (emphasis added). Applicant makes no statement that the English-language publications are actually translations of the listed foreign patent references. Patent application publications may differ from their so-called foreign counterpart applications because subject matter is commonly added, modified, or deleted, including entirely different abstracts and claims, and therefore, are not necessarily translations of the foreign counterpart applications. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference number(s) not mentioned in the description: 180, 182 (Fig. 1).
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(d) or amendment to the specification to add the reference number(s) in the description in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.121(d). No new matter should be entered. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses the phrase “Disclosed herein is”. Correction is required. MPEP § 608.01(b). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 21-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“detection the” (claim 3, line 4) should be changed to --detecting the--;
“wherein the plurality of types of anomalies include” (claim 21, line 1) should be changed to --wherein the plurality of types of anomalies include--;
“wherein the plurality of types of anomalies further include” (claim 22, lines 1-2) should be changed to --wherein the plurality of types of anomalies further includes--;
“wherein the plurality of types of anomalies further include” (claim 23, lines 1-2) should be changed to --wherein the plurality of types of anomalies further includes--;
“detect s signal fragment” (claim 24, line 1) should be changed to --detect a signal fragment--;
“and in response to indicate a bad pad rinse transition” (claim 24, lines 2-3) should be changed to --in order to indicate a bad pad rinse transition-- (awkward language).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the Applicant) regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one criterion includes a degree of similarity to a reference spectrum representative of the type of anomaly. This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear and fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art what this means. The specification describes the criterion as “a frequency spectrum representative of the spectrum that occurs for the respective anomaly” (Spec. ¶ 0054). The specification also describes that the controller determines the presence of an anomaly if there is a sufficient match of the acoustic signal with one of the stored reference frequency spectrums (Id.). Thus, it is unclear what claim 5 means when the criterion “includes a degree of similarity” to a reference spectrum, because the criterion is the reference spectrum itself, and not the comparison to the reference spectrum. Does this simply mean that a determination is based on a sufficient similarity (i.e., sufficient match) to one of the criteria, which are reference spectrums? Or does this mean something else? For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Claim 6 is rejected on the basis it incorporates this limitation of claim 5.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Chew
Claims 1, 3, 11, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160013085 A1 (“Chew”).
Regarding claim 1, Chew discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Fig. 2, apparatus 100), comprising:
a platen to support a polishing pad (Fig. 2, platen 120 supports polishing pad 110);
a carrier head to hold a surface of a substrate against the polishing pad (Fig. 2, carrier head 140 is capable of holding a surface of substrate 10 against polishing pad 110);
a motor to generate relative motion between the platen and the carrier head so as to polish an overlying layer on the substrate (Fig. 2, motor 154 is capable of the recited function; ¶¶ 0019, 0029);
an in-situ acoustic monitoring system including an acoustic sensor that receives acoustic energy from the substrate and the polishing pad (Fig. 2, in-situ acoustic monitoring system 160 includes acoustic sensor 162 that performs the recited function; ¶¶ 0033-0044);
and a controller configured to detect an abnormal acoustic event based on measurements from the in-situ acoustic monitoring system, and determine a type of anomaly based on signals measured by the in-situ acoustic monitoring system during the abnormal acoustic event (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0033-0044, controller analyzes acoustic signals from the acoustic monitoring system 160 and detects an abnormal acoustic event (e.g., signal power exceeds a threshold value), and determines the type of anomaly (e.g., breakage of stubs); ¶¶ 0041-0042, “The signal from the sensor 162, e.g., after amplification, preliminary filtering and digitization, can be subject to data processing, e.g., in the controller 190, for either endpoint detection or detection of stub breakage...For example, a root mean square (rms) of the signal intensity (across the frequency spectrum and/or over time) can be calculated. If the power of the signal exceeds a threshold value, this indicates breakage of the stubs.”).
Regarding claim 3, Chew discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses wherein the detection of the abnormal acoustic event is based on the controller determining a power spectrum of the acoustic signals; determining a difference between the power spectrum and a reference power spectrum stored in a storage device of the apparatus; and detect[ing] the abnormal acoustic event based on the difference (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0039-0044, controller 190 determines the frequency spectrum of the acoustic signals from sensor 162, determines whether the measured frequency spectrum is different from a reference spectrum (e.g., whether the intensity of a frequency band exceeds a stored threshold value), and indicates an abnormal acoustic event based on that difference (e.g., breakage of the stubs)).
Regarding claim 11, Chew discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses wherein the acoustic sensor is arranged within a recess in a top surface of the platen (Figs. 2; ¶ 0034, sensor 162 is arranged within recess in top surface of platen 120).
Regarding claim 25, Chew discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as applied above and further discloses wherein the controller is configured to remove the substrate from contact with the polishing surface in response to determining an identified type of anomaly (Chew Fig. 2; ¶ 0049, “If breakage is detected, then the controller 190 can cause the polishing system to issue a visual or auditory alert, e.g., generated on the controller 90, or to automatically take corrective action (320). For example, polishing can be halted immediately, the substrate 10 removed from the polishing pad 110, and the polishing pad 110 subjected to cleaning, e.g., a high pressure rinse with a cleaning fluid, to remove any debris.”).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Chew in view of Wang
Claims 2, 4-9, 12, 21-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160013085 A1 (“Chew”) in view of US 20190143474 A1 (“Wang”).
Chew pertains to a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Fig. 2). Wang pertains to a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 2A-C). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2, Chew discloses the apparatus of claim as applied above. Chew does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller detects the abnormal acoustic event based on comparison of the signal to prior measurements of acoustic signals generated by friction between test substrates and the polishing pad. However, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious this claim.
Wang discloses wherein the controller detects the abnormal acoustic event based on comparison of the signal to prior measurements of acoustic signals generated by friction between test substrates and the polishing pad (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056, controller 310/320 detects an abnormal acoustic event based on comparison of acoustic signals from sensors 250 with stored sound spectra patterns previously obtained from substrates previously polished with the polishing pad of the CMP device in a polishing process where no abnormalities occurred (i.e., these are “test substrates” emitting sound caused by friction during the polishing process); ¶ 0053, “a model for sound spectrum for a normal CMP process (with a given set of parameters) is generated using regression analysis performed over several normal cycles of the CMP process. In such embodiments, a predetermined normal event is recognized based on the model, and an abnormal event is recognized by recognizing a deviation from the model sound spectra.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Wang with Chew by modifying the controller of Chew to store prior measurements of acoustic signals (i.e., reference measurements of the acoustic frequency spectrum) based on test substrates (or prior substrates polished with the CMP process), which include substrates polished normally (i.e., no issues) and ones polished with an abnormal event occurring (e.g., a defect), and to use these reference measurements for comparison with the obtained acoustic signals to detect an abnormal acoustic event. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because this would allow the Chew controller to make a more accurate determination of an abnormal condition, including determining the type of anomaly based on the analysis of the acoustic frequency spectrum, instead of only performing an analysis based on an exceeded threshold of part of the spectrum (Chew ¶¶ 0041-0042). Wang teaches that this improved determination may be done by acoustic frequency spectrum matching (Wang Fig. 4; ¶¶ 0039-0042; ¶ 0042, “once a pattern for the sound spectra (interchangeably referred to herein as the “sound pattern”) is recognized, the signal processor 310 generates a feedback signal including information relating to the CMP process based on the sound pattern, and transmits the feedback signal to the process controller 320...if the pattern of sound spectra indicates an abnormal process, the feedback signal indicates to the process controller 320 that an abnormal or anomalous event has occurred. In such cases, the feedback signal includes information about the anomalous event indicating, for example, the type of event and the source of anomaly.”). Examiner notes that the use of reference acoustic frequency spectrum data based on test substrates or prior polished substrates and comparison with a measured acoustic signal is known in the art (US 20160207163 A1 (“Matsui”) Figs. 1-4; ¶¶ 0037-0045; ¶ 0039, “The reference data shown in FIG. 4 are obtained as follows: Data regarding elastic waves in the case where polishing is finished without the occurrence of a scratch/crack is collected. Moreover, data regarding elastic waves is also collected for each type and degree of a scratch/crack when the scratch/crack actually occurs. The data are plotted in a multidimensional feature space having feature amounts as axes, and categorized into a normal polishing mode and various fault modes.”; ¶ 0045, “The AE sensor detects elastic waves that occur due to the deformation or breakage of a film to be processed during the polishing of the film to be processed. The elastic wave processing part performs the frequency analysis that uses Fourier transform or the pattern recognition that uses the previously obtained reference data for the elastic waves detected by the AE sensor, and thereby detects or predicts the occurrence of a scratch or a crack. Therefore, it is possible to detect or predict in real time the occurrence of a damage abnormality during polishing such as a scratch/crack.”; see also US 6424137 B1 (“Sampson”) Figs. 1-2; 3:17-47, 3:57-4:46).
Regarding claim 4, Chew discloses the apparatus of claim as applied above. Chew does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to store a catalog that includes a plurality of types of anomalies and at least one criterion for each type of anomaly. However, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious this claim.
Wang discloses wherein the controller is configured to store a catalog that includes a plurality of types of anomalies and at least one criterion for each type of anomaly (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
The obviousness rationale for claim 4 is the same as for claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 4 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the at least one criterion includes a degree of similarity to a reference spectrum representative of the type of anomaly (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
The obviousness rationale for claim 5 is the same as for claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 4 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to store a different reference spectrum for each different type of anomaly (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
The obviousness rationale for claim 6 is the same as for claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 4 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the types of anomalies include at least one of a scratch in the surface of the substrate, an unexpected film type, a bad pad rinse transition, or a bubble between the substrate and the polishing pad (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
The obviousness rationale for claim 7 is the same as for claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 7 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the types of anomalies include an unexpected film type, and the determination is based on comparing the acoustic signals to prior measurements of acoustic signals generated by test substrates comprising an expected film type and the polishing pad (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0021-0022, 0040, 0044, 0055, 0059, disclosing detection of the event of a change in material (an “unexpected film type”) at the wafer surface based on a different sound spectrum received in comparison with the reference sound spectrum of an expected material; ¶ 0022, “For example, a change in material at the wafer surface because of removal of a film at the top surface of the wafer changes the sound spectrum depending on the material immediately underneath the film at the top surface of the wafer in some embodiments.”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 8 is the same as for claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 7 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the types of anomalies include a bad pad rinse transition (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0021-0022, “The amplitude and frequency of sound inside the chamber 100 may depend on factors such as...composition of the slurry 135, rate of flow of the slurry 135...For example, a scratch on the wafer surface may result in a temporary change in composition of the slurry by temporarily adding particles of the material of the wafer surface to the slurry. These particles may get washed away as more slurry is added to the process and the process continues to operate. However, the temporary change in composition of the slurry may be sufficient to temporarily change the sound spectrum associated with the CMP process.”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 9 is the same as for claim 7 with the following addition:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further modify the Chew/Wang combination by including detection (via using a reference spectrum) for the anomaly of “bad pad rinse transition”, which is when cleaning fluid is not entirely removed from the pad surface and is mixed with incoming slurry, diluting or otherwise altering the slurry and its distribution (Spec. ¶ 0051). Wang teaches that an abnormal slurry condition or composition could be detected using sound spectra (Wang ¶¶ 0021-0022). Wang also teaches that the types of events that could be detected using sound spectra analysis is not limited and provides examples of different types of events (Wang ¶¶ 0039-0045, 0053-0055). Chew teaches that the apparatus is capable of performing a cleaning process, which includes the use of cleaning fluid (Chew Fig. 2; ¶ 0049, “the polishing pad 110 subjected to cleaning, e.g., a high pressure rinse with a cleaning fluid, to remove any debris”). In light of these teachings, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the additional detection capability for a “bad pad rinse transition” because it is a condition that may occur during CMP processing, and the ability to detect that condition would enhance the yield because it would ensure every substrate is being polished with the same slurry composition and distribution, thereby producing consistently polished substrates.
Regarding claim 12, Chew discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Fig. 2, apparatus 100), comprising:
a platen to support a polishing pad (Fig. 2, platen 120 supports polishing pad 110);
a carrier head to hold a surface of a substrate against the polishing pad (Fig. 2, carrier head 140 is capable of holding a surface of substrate 10 against polishing pad 110);
a motor to generate relative motion between the platen and the carrier head so as to polish an overlying layer on the substrate (Fig. 2, motor 154 is capable of the recited function; ¶¶ 0019, 0029);
a polishing liquid source to deliver a polishing liquid onto the polishing pad (Fig. 2, polishing liquid 132 from source 130 is provided onto polishing pad 110);
a rinse liquid source to deliver a rinse liquid onto the polishing pad (Chew ¶ 0049, a cleaning fluid is used to automatically clean the polishing pad via a source (the source is inherently disclosed due to the fact that cleaning fluid is automatically provided onto the pad), “If breakage is detected, then the controller 190 can cause the polishing system to issue a visual or auditory alert, e.g., generated on the controller 90, or to automatically take corrective action (320). For example, polishing can be halted immediately, the substrate 10 removed from the polishing pad 110, and the polishing pad 110 subjected to cleaning, e.g., a high pressure rinse with a cleaning fluid, to remove any debris.”);
an in-situ acoustic monitoring system including an acoustic sensor that receives acoustic energy from the substrate and the polishing pad (Fig. 2, in-situ acoustic monitoring system 160 includes acoustic sensor 162 that performs the recited function; ¶¶ 0033-0044);
and a controller configured to detect...based on measurements from the in-situ acoustic monitoring system (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0033-0044, controller analyzes acoustic signals from the acoustic monitoring system 160 and detects an abnormal acoustic event (e.g., signal power exceeds a threshold value), and determines the type of anomaly (e.g., breakage of stubs); ¶¶ 0041-0042, “The signal from the sensor 162, e.g., after amplification, preliminary filtering and digitization, can be subject to data processing, e.g., in the controller 190, for either endpoint detection or detection of stub breakage...For example, a root mean square (rms) of the signal intensity (across the frequency spectrum and/or over time) can be calculated. If the power of the signal exceeds a threshold value, this indicates breakage of the stubs.”).
Chew does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to detect a bad pad rinse transition based on measurements from the in-situ acoustic monitoring system.
However, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious this claim.
Wang discloses:
a controller configured to detect a bad pad rinse transition based on measurements from the in-situ acoustic monitoring system (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056; ¶¶ 0021-0022, “The amplitude and frequency of sound inside the chamber 100 may depend on factors such as...composition of the slurry 135, rate of flow of the slurry 135...For example, a scratch on the wafer surface may result in a temporary change in composition of the slurry by temporarily adding particles of the material of the wafer surface to the slurry. These particles may get washed away as more slurry is added to the process and the process continues to operate. However, the temporary change in composition of the slurry may be sufficient to temporarily change the sound spectrum associated with the CMP process.”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 12 is the same as for claim 9.
Regarding claim 21, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 4 as applied above. Wang further discloses wherein the plurality of types of anomalies include[s] a scratch in the surface of the substrate, and an unexpected film type (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0021-0022, 0040, 0044, 0055, 0059, disclosing detection of the event of a change in material (an “unexpected film type”) at the wafer surface based on a different sound spectrum received in comparison with the reference sound spectrum of an expected material; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
The obviousness rationale for claim 21 is the same as for claim 4.
Claim 22 is rejected on the same basis as claim 9, except as depending from claim 21.
Regarding claim 24, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 9 as applied above. Chew further discloses wherein the controller is configured to detect s signal fragment in which a signal power spectrum fluctuates outside of anticipated boundaries and in response to indicate a bad pad rinse transition (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0033-0044, controller analyzes acoustic signals from the acoustic monitoring system 160 and detects an abnormal acoustic event (e.g., signal power exceeds a threshold value), and determines the type of anomaly (e.g., breakage of stubs); ¶¶ 0041-0042, “The signal from the sensor 162, e.g., after amplification, preliminary filtering and digitization, can be subject to data processing, e.g., in the controller 190, for either endpoint detection or detection of stub breakage...For example, a root mean square (rms) of the signal intensity (across the frequency spectrum and/or over time) can be calculated. If the power of the signal exceeds a threshold value, this indicates breakage of the stubs.”; ¶ 0043, “In some implementations, a frequency analysis of the signal is performed. For example, a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) can be performed on the signal to generate a frequency spectrum. A particular frequency band can be monitored, and if the intensity in the frequency band exceeds a threshold value, this can indicate breakage of the stubs. As another example, a wavelet packet transform (WPT) can be performed on the signal to decompose the signal into a low-frequency component and a high frequency component. The decomposition can be iterated if necessary to break the signal into smaller components. The intensity of one of the frequency components can be monitored, and if the intensity in the component exceeds a threshold value, this can indicate breakage of the stubs.”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 24 is the same as for claim 9 with the following addition:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to further modify the Chew/Wang combination, to also use the ability disclosed in Chew to analyze the intensity of a particular frequency band or a frequency component of the measured sound spectrum (in some situations) in order to detect an anomaly such as “bad pad rinse transition”. This would have been obvious because the processing needed to determine whether the intensity of a particular frequency band or a frequency component of the measured sound spectrum exceeds a threshold value is less than sound spectrum pattern matching because it is less complicated, which would lead to faster detection and faster action taken in the event of such an anomaly.
Chew in view of Wang and Kramer
Claims 10, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160013085 A1 (“Chew”) in view of US 20190143474 A1 (“Wang”) and US 20050142987 A1 (“Kramer”).
Chew pertains to a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Fig. 2). Wang pertains to a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 2A-C). Kramer pertains to a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 1-5). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 10, the Chew/Wang combination makes obvious the apparatus of claim 7 as applied above. Chew and Wang do not explicitly disclose wherein the types of anomalies include a bubble between the substrate and the polishing pad. However, the Chew/Wang/Kramer combination makes obvious this claim.
Kramer discloses wherein the types of anomalies include a bubble between the substrate and the polishing pad (Fig. 2b; ¶ 0042, “For instance, the pronounced magnitude of the frequency component at approximately 2 Hz in FIG. 2b may indicate the presence of a bubble in the polishing pad 102”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Kramer with the Chew/Wang combination by including detection (via using a reference spectrum) for the anomaly of a bubble between the substrate and the polishing pad. Wang teaches that the types of events that could be detected using sound spectra analysis is not limited and provides examples of different types of events (Wang ¶¶ 0039-0045, 0053-0055). In light of these teachings, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the additional detection capability for the anomaly of a bubble between the substrate and the polishing pad because it is a condition that may occur during CMP processing, and the ability to detect that condition would enhance the yield because it would ensure every substrate is being polished properly (e.g., without the presence of a bubble), thereby producing consistently polished substrates.
Regarding claim 13, Chew discloses a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Fig. 2, apparatus 100), comprising:
a platen to support a polishing pad (Fig. 2, platen 120 supports polishing pad 110);
a carrier head to hold a surface of a substrate against the polishing pad (Fig. 2, carrier head 140 is capable of holding a surface of substrate 10 against polishing pad 110);
a motor to generate relative motion between the platen and the carrier head so as to polish an overlying layer on the substrate (Fig. 2, motor 154 is capable of the recited function; ¶¶ 0019, 0029);
a polishing liquid source to deliver a polishing liquid onto the polishing pad (Fig. 2, polishing liquid 132 from source 130 is provided onto polishing pad 110);
an in-situ acoustic monitoring system including an acoustic sensor that receives acoustic energy from the substrate and the polishing pad (Fig. 2, in-situ acoustic monitoring system 160 includes acoustic sensor 162 that performs the recited function; ¶¶ 0033-0044);
and a controller configured to detect... (Fig. 2; ¶¶ 0033-0044, controller analyzes acoustic signals from the acoustic monitoring system 160 and detects an abnormal acoustic event (e.g., signal power exceeds a threshold value), and determines the type of anomaly (e.g., breakage of stubs); ¶¶ 0041-0042, “The signal from the sensor 162, e.g., after amplification, preliminary filtering and digitization, can be subject to data processing, e.g., in the controller 190, for either endpoint detection or detection of stub breakage...For example, a root mean square (rms) of the signal intensity (across the frequency spectrum and/or over time) can be calculated. If the power of the signal exceeds a threshold value, this indicates breakage of the stubs.”).
Chew does not explicitly disclose:
a controller configured to detect a bubble in the polishing liquid between the substrate and the polishing pad.
However, the Chew/Wang/Kramer combination makes obvious this claim.
Wang discloses:
a controller configured to detect... (Figs. 2A-C, 3-4; ¶¶ 0025, the detection criterion includes a specific sound spectrum pattern related to the anomaly, “The occurrence of a desired event or an anomalous event in a CMP process may be detected by continuously analyzing the sound spectrum to detect patterns in the sound spectrum during the CMP process and comparing the detected patterns with known or learned patterns of sound spectrum. Anomalous events include, without limitation, a micro-scratch on the wafer surface from slurry abrasive; abnormal positioning or thickness of the polishing pad; abnormal leveling of the polishing pad; the platen or the wafer; degradation of the polishing pad, etc.”; ¶¶ 0043-0044, controller 320 includes a non-transitory computer readable-memory for processing the sound data, including comparing the measured sound spectrum with stored sound spectrum patterns; ¶¶ 0035, 0039-0042, 0046, 0051-0056).
Kramer discloses a controller configured to detect a bubble in the polishing liquid between the substrate and the polishing pad (Fig. 2b; ¶ 0032, controller 120/130; ¶ 0042, “For instance, the pronounced magnitude of the frequency component at approximately 2 Hz in FIG. 2b may indicate the presence of a bubble in the polishing pad 102”).
The obviousness rationale for claim 13 is the same as for claim 10.
Claim 23 is rejected on the same basis as claim 10, except as depending from claim 21.
Status of Claims
Claims 14-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-25 have been added. Claims 1-13 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 1-13 and 21-25 are rejected.
Conclusion
/KENT N SHUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723