Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (CN 111393594 A; all citations are directed toward the English machine translation).
Huang et al discloses an active ester resin of Structural Formula (2), prepared from allylation of phenolic resins using sodium hydroxide and allyl chloride (salification and grafting) [p. 0072; synthesis examples], and that a prepreg or an insulating film is prepared using the active ester resin that may be used for a printed wiring board [p. 0063-0067].
Huang teaches Y1 is represented by -CH2-CH=CH2 or –(C=O)-R3, wherein R3 is aryl or substituted aryl, and X may be the following [p. 0013]:
Huang discloses that structural formula 2 has n=1-10 [p. 0012]. Note that n=1 in structural formula (2) of Huang corresponds to n=2 in [formula 1] of applicants]. The method of Huang et al would result in terminal alkenyl groups when Y1= CH2-CH=CH2.
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanao (JP 6216179 B2; all citations are directed toward the English machine translation).
Masanao discloses a curable resin composition and prepreg used to prepare electronic materials such as printed circuit boards [p. 0001-0002].
Masanao exemplifies the preparation of a curable resin by reacting a naphthol aralkyl resin (represented by formula 2) with chloromethylstyrene [synthesis examples 1 and 2; p. 0099, 0102]. In formula 2, R1 is hydrogen, Ar is -Ph-, and n is a number from 2 to 20 [p. 0023-0025, 0029, 0035-0036].
The curable resin prepared by Masanao is represented by formula 1, which corresponds to applicants [formula 3] wherein L is a methylbenzyl group and V is a vinyl group.
Masanao discloses the reaction between the naphthol aralkyl resin represented by the above formula (2) and the vinyl aromatic halomethyl compound may be carried out by reacting them in a liquid phase using an alkali metal hydroxide as a dehydrohalogenating agent [p. 0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masanao (JP 6216179 B2; all citations are directed toward the English machine translation) in further view of Yang (WO 2021/246182; all references drawn to US 2023/0242691 A1).
The disclosure of Masanao is above and is applied here as such.
Masanao discloses a curable resin composition and prepreg used to prepare electronic materials such as printed circuit boards, wherein the curable resin is prepared from the reaction between a naphthol aralkyl resin represented by the above formula (2) and a vinyl aromatic halomethyl compound. Masanao is silent with respect to functionalization with non-aromatic halogenated moieties.
Yang is directed toward a curable resin composition and prepreg for printed circuit boards [p. 0001]. Yang teaches a generic curable resin (A) that has multiple crosslinking groups (X) [p. 0046-0048, 0053]. Yang teaches (A) is prepared from an intermediate phenolic resin, such as a naphthol and phenol resins [p. 0046-0048, 0053]. Yang teaches (A) ingredient can be obtained by reacting the intermediate resin, in the presence of a basic catalyst, with (meth)acrylic anhydride, (meth)acrylic acid chloride, chloromethylstyrene, chlorostyrene, allyl chloride, or allyl bromide [p. 0081, 0083-0084]. Yang teaches basic catalysts include alkali metal hydroxides [p. 0081, 0083-0084]. By allowing the two compounds to react, crosslinking groups (X) can be introduced into the intermediate phenolic compound [p. 0081]. Similar to Masanao, Yang teaches the use of chloromethylstyrene to introduce (X), however, Yang teaches the methacryloyloxy group is the preferred (X) because it contains methyl groups in its structure compared, unlike other crosslinking groups (e.g., the vinylbenzyl, allyl ether, and other polar ether groups). Yang further teaches resins (A) with methacryloyloxy group (X) have lower molecular mobility because of greater steric hindrance, and the resulting cured product has a lower dielectric loss tangent, which improves electrical properties [p. 0002, p. 0063].
In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare a curable resin using the naphthol aralkyl resin of Masanao by grafting (meth)acrylic anhydride or (meth)acrylic acid chloride as Yang teaches resins with methacryloyloxy crosslinking groups have improved electrical properties.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kawashita (WO 2021/125121 A1).
/HOLLEY GRACE HESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL J FEELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766