DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein each of the first, second third, fourth, and fifth control plates includes an adjusting bolt" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears either claim 4 should be dependent upon claim 2 to provide proper antecedent basis or claim 5 should be dependent on claim 2 instead of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tymosch US 2017/0282308.
Tymosch discloses a work table for laser processing comprising: a lower plate (101) including a first area and a second area surrounding at least a portion of the first area; a first plate (104) disposed in the first area on the lower plate and having a polygonal shape in a plan view; and a second plate (102) disposed in the second area on the lower plate and movable (via rails 120; ¶0027) in the second area.
As for claim 4, Tymosch discloses a third plate disposed adjacent to a side of the second area on the lower plate.
As for claim 11, Tymosch discloses wherein a plurality of first adsorption holes (110) spaced apart from each other are defined on the first plate (104).
As for claim 12, Tymosch discloses wherein a plurality of second adsorption holes (110) adjacent to the first plate and spaced apart from each other are defined on the second plate (104).
As for claim 13, Tymosch discloses further comprising: a chamber (300) disposed inside the lower plate, wherein the chamber is connected to the plurality of first adsorption holes (110) and the plurality of second adsorption holes (110).
As for claim 16, Tymosch discloses a laser processing apparatus comprising: a lower plate (101) including a first area and a second area surrounding at least a portion of the first area; a first plate (104) disposed in the first area on the lower plate and having a polygonal shape in a plan view; a second plate (102) disposed in the second area on the lower plate, including a groove (140), and movable (via rail 120) in the second area; and a laser unit (400) that radiates a laser beam along the groove and disposed on the lower plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 14-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims in the application are deemed to be directed to a nonobvious improvement over the prior art. The claims recite a first, second, third fourth and fifth control plate positioned adjacent to and at specific sides of the first plate. The closest prior art of Tymosch teaches several support plates positioned on a first and third side of the first plate and auxiliary pushers (122) positioned at corners. Tymosch fails to disclose said support plates being at a second side and at a first corner of the first plate where the first and second side meet and at a second corner where the second side and the third side meet the specified positions as claimed specifically the prior art fails to disclose a second control plate positioned on a second side of the first plate. For the above reasons, the claims overcome the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723