DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Examiner decided to withdraw 112 rejections because applicant’s amendment to the claims overcome the rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 01/28/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. USPGPUB 2020/0153273 (hereinafter “Sun”) in view of Carr et al. USPGPUB 20180191160 A1 (hereinafter “Carr”).
As to claim 1, Sun to claim s method of configuring a microgrid (paragraph 0024 “micro-grids”) comprising: receiving configuration inputs from an operator (paragraph 0127 “micro-grid may be created via an operator by opening switches in the power distribution grid that electrically isolate the premises within an area of the power distribution grid from the rest of the power distribution grid”), the configuration inputs including an intended bus structure, a plurality of energy resources data, and energy resources priorities (paragraph 0137 “micro-grids can be a localized group of electricity sources and loads that normally operates connected to and synchronous with the traditional wide area synchronous grid (main-grid, or macro-grid), but can also disconnect to “island mode”, i.e. micro-grids can be structured to be unnetworked from the power distribution network during a restoration period, and function autonomously as physical or economic conditions dictate. In this way, a micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG)” and FIG. 1C); classifying assets and asset groups based on the plurality of energy resources data (paragraph 0137-0138 “micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG), especially Renewable Energy Sources (RES), renewable electricity, and can supply emergency power, changing between island and connected modes. For example, a micro-grid can be capable of operating in grid-connected and stand-alone modes and of handling the transition between the two” and paragraph 0055-0057, FIG. 1C-3); and generating a microgrid configuration based on the configuration inputs, the microgrid configuration providing for automatic operation of the microgrid (paragraph 0054-0057 and FIG. 1B “Step 140 includes activating switches using a computing device of computing devices of a computing hardware system communicatively linked to utility grid via information network”).
Sun does not explicitly teach wherein the energy resources priorities include a ranking of assets in order of priority.
However, Carr teaches wherein the energy resources priorities include a ranking of assets in order of priority (paragraph 0054-0055 “microgrid controller including a priority list of the plurality of electrical loads and plurality of grid forming sources, the priority list including a prioritized ranking of the electrical loads and grid forming sources to determine in what order a power configuration change occurs in light of power consumption within and available power of a microgrid”).
Sun and Carr are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy management system, as taught by Sun, and incorporating energy resources priorities include a ranking of assets in order of priority, as taught by Carr.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve and manage power in a microgrid or nanogrid remains an area of interest, as suggested by Carr (paragraph 0002).
As to claim 2, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the configuration inputs further include an operating modes input, the operating modes input including a redundancy mode in which additional assets may be placed on the microgrid than are strictly required for a level of load on the microgrid (paragraph 0054-0056 and FIG. 1B).
As to claims 3 and 18, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the plurality of energy resources data includes an asset properties input including one or more asset-specific parameters related to operation of the asset (paragraph 0114-0115 and FIG. 9-10).
As to claim 4, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the energy resources priorities includes a ranking of assets in order of priority for distributing power based on a type of each asset (paragraph 0056 and FIG. 1C).
As to claims 6 and 17, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the intended bus structure input includes data related to a number of energy resources and loads associated with buses and how the buses are connected to one another (FIG. 1B-1C and paragraph 0053-0057).
As to claim 7, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the assets or asset groups are classified into one or more types include energy storage assets and non-energy storage assets (paragraph 0009, 0037, 0106 and 0128-0132).
As to claim 8, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the non-energy storage asset types are further classified based on running hours, a state of health, and a state of energy estimation (paragraph 0039-0040 and 0093).
As to claim 9, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches further comprising: based on the generated microgrid configuration, configuring a predetermined range of power for each of the asset types, and operating at least one of the assets to power at least one load with the asset operating in the predetermined range (paragraph 0044-0063).
As to claim 11, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun teaches further comprising: generating a microgrid schematic based on the intended bus structure, the plurality of energy resources data, and the energy resources priorities (paragraph 0056, 0137-0138 and FIG. 1C); and Carr teaches displaying, on a display, the microgrid schematic, wherein the microgrid schematic includes a plurality of icons, the plurality of icons including at least a first icon representing a first asset, a second icon representing a second asset, and a third icon representing a load, and wherein the microgrid schematic includes at least one connection between at least two icons of the first icon, the second icon, or the third icon (paragraph 0011 and FIG. 1 “a microgrid 100 is shown in which a number of potential grid forming sources are used to provide power to a number of separate loads”).
As to claim 12, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the configuration inputs are input, at least in part, from a stored configuration library (paragraph 0056-0058 and 0127-0137).
As to claim 13, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches wherein the microgrid is configured to operate based on one or more control limits including: at least one of: a finite minimum active power; a power factor; a number of generator starts over a period of time; a battery state of charge; and a battery state of health (paragraph 0093-0096 and FIG. 10).
As to claim 14, Sun and Carr teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun further teaches further comprising: generating one or more microgrid operational commands based on the microgrid configuration, a mode of operation input, and one or more sensed operational parameters of the microgrid.
As to claim 19, Sun teaches a method of configuring a microgrid (paragraph 0024 “micro-grids”) including: receiving configuration inputs from an operator (paragraph 0127 “micro-grid may be created via an operator by opening switches in the power distribution grid that electrically isolate the premises within an area of the power distribution grid from the rest of the power distribution grid”), the configuration inputs including an intended bus structure, an automatic operating modes input, a load types input, an asset type properties input, an asset groups and setpoints input, an asset priorities input, and a tie breaker status input(paragraph 0137 “micro-grids can be a localized group of electricity sources and loads that normally operates connected to and synchronous with the traditional wide area synchronous grid (main-grid, or macro-grid), but can also disconnect to “island mode”, i.e. micro-grids can be structured to be unnetworked from the power distribution network during a restoration period, and function autonomously as physical or economic conditions dictate. In this way, a micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG)” and FIG. 1C, paragraph 0110 “tie switches enhance the system resilience by picking up more critical loads”, paragraph 0011 “maximum critical loads, and restore fewer non-critical loads”); classifying assets and asset groups based on the configuration inputs (paragraph 0137-0138 “micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG), especially Renewable Energy Sources (RES), renewable electricity, and can supply emergency power, changing between island and connected modes. For example, a micro-grid can be capable of operating in grid-connected and stand-alone modes and of handling the transition between the two” and paragraph 0055-0057, FIG. 1C-3); and generating a microgrid configuration based on the one or more configuration inputs, the microgrid configuration providing for automatic operation of the microgrid (paragraph 0054-0057 and FIG. 1B “Step 140 includes activating switches using a computing device of computing devices of a computing hardware system communicatively linked to utility grid via information network”).
As to claim 15, Sun teaches a configurable microgrid (paragraph 0024 “micro-grids”) comprising: an electrical bus comprising: a plurality of assets configured to provide electrical energy to the configurable microgrid (paragraph 0137 “micro-grids can be a localized group of electricity sources and loads that normally operates connected to and synchronous with the traditional wide area synchronous grid (main-grid, or macro-grid), but can also disconnect to “island mode”, i.e. micro-grids can be structured to be unnetworked from the power distribution network during a restoration period, and function autonomously as physical or economic conditions dictate. In this way, a micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG)” and FIG. 1C, paragraph 0055-0058); at least one electrical load for receiving electrical energy from the configurable microgrid (paragraph 0044-0054 “restore maximum critical loads, and fewer non-critical loads, using DGs, until the main power grid is back” and FIG. 1C-5); an interface for receiving one or more configuration inputs (paragraph 0053-0058 “an input interface 145, a memory 144, an information network 153, a computer device 157. The computer device 157 can be connected to the set of switches 110 that installed in the power distribution system 115” 0127-0135); a system controller including a processor and a memory storing one or more instructions that, when executed by the processor (paragraph 0046-0053 “hardware processor 155 in communication with an input interface 145, a memory 144, an information network 153, a computer device 157”), cause the configurable microgrid to: receive the configuration inputs from an operator, the configuration inputs including an intended bus structure, a plurality of energy resources data, and energy resources priorities (paragraph 0137 “micro-grids can be a localized group of electricity sources and loads that normally operates connected to and synchronous with the traditional wide area synchronous grid (main-grid, or macro-grid), but can also disconnect to “island mode”, i.e. micro-grids can be structured to be unnetworked from the power distribution network during a restoration period, and function autonomously as physical or economic conditions dictate. In this way, a micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG)” and FIG. 1C); classify assets and asset groups based on the plurality of energy resources data (paragraph 0137-0138 “micro-grid can effectively integrate various sources of distributed generation (DG), especially Renewable Energy Sources (RES), renewable electricity, and can supply emergency power, changing between island and connected modes. For example, a micro-grid can be capable of operating in grid-connected and stand-alone modes and of handling the transition between the two” and paragraph 0055-0057, FIG. 1C-3); and generate a microgrid configuration based on the one or more configuration inputs, the microgrid configuration providing for automatic operation of the microgrid (paragraph 0054-0057 and FIG. 1B “Step 140 includes activating switches using a computing device of computing devices of a computing hardware system communicatively linked to utility grid via information network”).
Sun does not explicitly teach a ranking of assets that are configured to produce power.
However, Carr teaches a ranking of assets that are configured to produce power (paragraph 0054-0055 “microgrid controller including a priority list of the plurality of electrical loads and plurality of grid forming sources, the priority list including a prioritized ranking of the electrical loads and grid forming sources to determine in what order a power configuration change occurs in light of power consumption within and available power of a microgrid”).
Sun and Carr are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy management system, as taught by Sun, and incorporating energy resources priorities include a ranking of assets in order of priority, as taught by Carr.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve and manage power in a microgrid or nanogrid remains an area of interest, as suggested by Carr (paragraph 0002).
Claim(s) 5, 10, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. USPGPUB 2020/0153273 (hereinafter “Sun”) in view of Carr et al. USPGPUB 20180191160 A1 (hereinafter “Carr”) further in view of Reddy et al. USPGPUB 2023/0060100 (hereinafter “Reddy”).
As to claims 5, 16 and 20, Sun Carr teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination of Sun and Carr does not explicitly teach wherein the energy resource priorities include: an economic mode based on energy cost; an emissions mode based on carbon emissions; and a renewables penetration mode based on renewable assets.
However, Reddy teaches wherein the energy resource priorities include: an economic mode based on energy cost; an emissions mode based on carbon emissions; and a renewables penetration mode based on renewable assets (paragraph 0061 and 0093-0102).
Sun, Carr and Reddy are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to energy management system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above energy management system, as taught by Sun and Carr, and incorporating economic mode based on energy cost; an emissions mode based on carbon emissions, as taught by Reddy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prove the physical survivability of the islanded grid in the post-restorative state until after the infrastructures are fully recovered, as suggested by Sun (paragraph 0005).
As to claim 10, Sun and Carr teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sun and Carr does not explicitly teach further comprising: configuring a cost function map for each of the asset types; and operating the microgrid such that at least one of the assets is operating at a minimum cost level as determined based on the cost function map of the asset type.
However, Reddy teaches further comprising: configuring a cost function map for each of the asset types; and operating the microgrid such that at least one of the assets is operating at a minimum cost level as determined based on the cost function map of the asset type (paragraph 000-0009, 0048-0051).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Meurant et al USPGPUB 2022/0147004 teaches a method for automatically configuring an electricity distribution microgrid includes: acquiring technical data describing properties of the microgrid, notably a topology of the microgrid, and properties of at least some of the electrical equipment connected to the microgrid, by way of a software configuration tool implemented by a remote computer server; automatically generating a set of executable software functions making it possible to automatically drive the equipment of the microgrid, by taking account of the properties of the microgrid acquired by the configuration tool; and automatically installing the software functions generated on an electronic controller belonging to a microgrid control system, the controller being connected to the equipment via a communication link.
BALLANTINE et al. USPGPUB 2017/0005480 A1 teaches an electrical power system, including a fuel cell system having a plurality of fuel cell segments and an energy storage system electrically coupled to the fuel cell system. The energy storage system including a plurality of energy storage system technologies, an energy storage system direct current (DC) bus configured to electrically connect the plurality of energy storage system technologies to the fuel cell system, and an energy storage system technologies management system configured manage impedance of the energy storage system and electric coupling of the energy storage system and the fuel cell system.
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119