DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the communication filed on 08/21/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 4, which depends from Claim 1, recites the limitation: “the common lead frame can be used for any of the first package, the second package, and a third package” (emphasis added). However, Claim 1 recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for both a first package and a second package” (emphasis added). The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear because Claim 4 recites that the common lead can be used for any first, second, or third packages. Yet, Claim 1 recites that the common lead can be used for both the first and second packages. Therefore, Claim 4 has been rendered indefinite.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the claims’ dependency to Claim 4.
Claim 9, which depends from Claim 7, recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for any of the first package, the second package, and a third package” (emphasis added). However, Claim 7 recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for both a first package and a second package” (emphasis added). The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear because Claim 9 recites that the common lead can be used for any first, second, or third packages. Yet, Claim 7 recites that the common lead can be used for both the first and second packages. Therefore, Claim 9 has been rendered indefinite.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the claims’ dependency to Claim 9.
Claim 9, which depends from Claim 7, recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for any of the first package, the second package, and a third package” (emphasis added). However, Claim 7 recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for both a first package and a second package” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the common lead frame recited in Claim 9 refers back to the common lead frame recited in Claim 7, or introduces another common lead frame into the claimed invention. Therefore, Claim 9 has been rendered indefinite.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the claims’ dependency to Claim 9.
Claim 13, which depends from Claim 11, recites the limitation: “the common lead frame can be used for any of the first package, the second package, and a third package” (emphasis added). However, Claim 11 recites the limitation: “a common lead frame can be used for both a first package and a second package” (emphasis added). The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear because Claim 13 recites that the common lead can be used for any first, second, or third packages. Yet, Claim 11 recites that the common lead can be used for both the first and second packages. Therefore, Claim 13 has been rendered indefinite.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the claims’ dependency to Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masao (JP 2019 041062 A).
Regarding claim 1, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) discloses a common lead frame that can be used for both a first package and a second package, the common lead frame having:
a planar shape according to specifications of each of a first chip 21, on lower left die pad 11 used in the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second chip 21, on middle left die pad 11 used in the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a (Para 0021, Para 0023),
wherein a thickness of at least a part of a lead portion 12, outer portion (see FIG. 6) through which any one of a first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a of the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a of the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a passes is smaller than a thickness of a lead portion 12 through which the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a do not pass (Para 0035, Para 0045).
Regarding claim 2, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) teaches the common lead frame according to claim 1, wherein a through hole e.g., space created by cutting area 46 is formed in at least a part of a lead portion 12 through which any one of the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a passes (Para 0021).
Regarding claim 3, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) teaches a semiconductor device 20 that is either the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a or the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a for which the common lead frame according to claim 1 is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao (JP 2019 041062 A), and further in view of Kierse (US 2014/0035113).
Regarding claim 7, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) discloses a method for forming a common lead frame, the method comprising:
form a planar shape of a common lead frame 10 that can be used for both a first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second package 20, for middle left package region 10a, based on specifications of each of a first chip 21, on lower left die pad 11 used in the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second chip 21, on middle left die pad 11 used in the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a (Para 0021, Para 0023); and
make a thickness of at least a part of a lead portion 12, outer portion (see FIG. 6) through which any one of a first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a of the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a of the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a passes smaller than a thickness of a lead portion 12 through which the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a do not pass in the common lead frame 10 (Para 0035, Para 0045).
Although the method as disclosed by Masao shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Masao fails to expressly teach a computer performing the method.
Kierse (see, e.g., FIG. 2A – FIG. 2L) teaches a computer e.g., dry or wet etching system for the purpose of producing a plurality of smooth recessed region in a lead frame (Para 0050-Para 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of making a common lead frame that can be used for both a first package and a second package and making a portion of a lead portion smaller of Masao to include a computer as described by Kierse for the purpose of producing a plurality of smooth recessed regions in a lead frame (Para 0054).
Regarding claim 8, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) teaches the method for forming a common lead frame according to claim 7, the method comprising: forming a through hole e.g., space created by cutting area 46 in at least a part of a lead portion 12 through which any one of the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a passes in the common lead frame 10 (Para 0021).
Regarding claim 11, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) discloses a processing of:
forming a planar shape of a common lead frame 10 that can be used for both a first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second package 20, for middle left package region 10a, based on specifications of each of a first chip 21, on lower left die pad 11 used in the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second chip 21, on middle left die pad 11 used in the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a (Para 0021, Para 0023); and
making a thickness of at least a part of a lead portion 12, outer portion (see FIG. 6) through which any one of a first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a of the first package 20, for lower left package region 10a and a second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a corresponding to an outer peripheral side e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a of the second package 20, for middle left package region 10a passes smaller than a thickness of a lead portion 12 through which the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a do not pass in the common lead frame 10 (Para 0035, Para 0045),
Although Masao discloses substantial features for claimed invention, Masao fails to expressly teach a control program for causing a computer to execute processing of the method.
Kierse (see, e.g., FIG. 2A – FIG. 2L) teaches a control program for causing a computer to execute processing e.g., dry or wet etching system for the purpose of producing a plurality of smooth recessed region in a lead frame (Para 0050-Para 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of making a common lead frame that can be used for both a first package and a second package and making a portion of a lead portion smaller of Masao to include a control program for causing a computer to execute processing as described by Kierse for the purpose of producing a plurality of smooth recessed region in a lead frame (Para 0054).
Regarding claim 12, Masao (see, e.g., FIG. 2, FIG. 6) teaches the control program according to claim 11, further causing the computer to execute processing of forming a through hole e.g., space created by cutting area 46 in at least a part of a lead portion 12 through which any one of the first cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of lower left package region 10a and the second cutting line C1, e.g., upper side of middle left package region 10a passes in the common lead frame 10 (Para 0021).
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817