DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election without traverse on January 21, 2026, non-elected claims 16-19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes FORMING A HIGH ENERGY RADIATION DETECTOR WITH EXPOSED INSULATING LAYER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “forming at least one first guard ring contact region, which is p+-doped in the semiconductor body at the first main side, wherein the at least one first guard ring contact region running around and a distant from an entrance window, seen in top view of the entrance window, and wherein the at least one first guard ring contact region is electrically contacted by a first guard contact running through the bottom insulation layer and the reinforcing layer.” The bolded portion does not make sense.
Claim 12 has not been rejected over the prior art because, in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections supra, there is sufficient uncertainty that it would not be proper to reject the claims on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szeles, US 2008/0203514 A1.
Claim 1: Szeles discloses
providing a semiconductor body (1) with a first main side (top, FIG. 8) and an opposite, second main side (bottom), wherein the semiconductor body is configured to detect radiation with an energy of at least 10eV (“x-ray”, [0011]), and wherein the first main side includes a radiation entrance area for the radiation;
generating a bottom insulation layer (22) located directly at the first main side, the bottom insulation layer comprising a first electrically insulating material ([0040]);
applying a sacrificial layer (24) directly on the bottom insulation layer across the entrance area so that throughout the entrance area the bottom insulation layer is between the semiconductor body and the sacrificial layer (FIG. 4);
applying a reinforcing layer (26) over the bottom insulation layer so that the sacrificial layer is sandwiched between the bottom insulation layer and the reinforcing layer, the reinforcing layer comprising a second electrically insulating material;
and exposing the bottom insulation layer from the sacrificial layer and from the reinforcing layer in the entrance area, wherein the bottom insulation layer and the reinforcing layer remain directly on top of each other in at least one insulation region of the first main side outside the entrance area (FIG. 8).
Claim 3: the bottom insulation layer is generated with a constant thickness all over the first main side, and wherein a final thickness of the bottom insulation layer in the entrance area, after exposing the bottom insulation layer from the sacrificial layer and from the reinforcing layer, is the same as a thickness of the bottom insulation layer immediately after generating the bottom insulation layer (FIG. 8).
Claim 8: Szeles discloses applying a protection layer on top of the reinforcing layer, wherein exposing the bottom insulation layer from the sacrificial layer and from the reinforcing layer includes exposing the bottom insulation layer from the protection layer, and wherein a plurality of holes are formed through the protection layer outside the entrance area for electrically contacting the semiconductor body. As no distinction is made between the protection layer and the reinforcing layer, the protection layer can be the outer part of 26, and the reinforcing layer the inner part of 26. Note that the outer part of 26 will be applied after the inner part is already there.
Claim 15: the bottom insulator layer and the reinforcing layer are applied all over the first main side continuously and as closed layers (FIG. 3).
Claim 20: Szeles discloses
providing a semiconductor body (2) with a first main side (top, FIG. 8) and an opposite, second main side (bottom), wherein the semiconductor body is configured to detect radiation with an energy of at least 10eV (“x-ray”, [0011]), and wherein the first main side includes a radiation entrance area for the radiation;
generating a bottom insulation layer (22) located directly at the first main side, the bottom insulation layer comprising a first electrically insulating material;
applying a sacrificial layer (24) directly on the bottom insulation layer across the entrance area so that throughout the entrance area the bottom insulation layer is between the semiconductor body and the sacrificial layer (FIG. 8, FIG. 4);
and exposing the bottom insulation layer from the sacrificial layer in the entrance area, and wherein the bottom insulation layer remains in at least one insulation region of the first main side outside the entrance area (FIG. 8, FIG. 5). Note that FIG. 8 is an alternation of the method of FIGS. 2-7 where layer 22 is not removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szeles in view of Orava, US 6,215,123 B1.
Claim 7: Szeles discloses that exposing the bottom insulation layer from the sacrificial layer and from the reinforcing layer in the entrance area comprises:
removing the reinforcing layer by a first etching method “If protective film 26 is a photoresist, apertures 34 are formed therein by selectively etching soluble portions of the photoresist.” [0044].
Szeles does not disclose specifically the etching of the sacrificial layer; however, etching the photoresist and etching the target layer are typically done separately. See e.g. Orava FIGS. 3C-3E, first etching the photoresist 12, and then in a second step etching the target layer 11. It would have been obvious to do this in separate steps as the ordinary technique in the art.
The etching of the sacrificial layer is selective relative to the bottom insulation layer, as the bottom insulating layer is not removed in the embodiment of FIG. 8.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szeles.
Claim 11 recites that a thickness of the bottom insulation layer, as generated, is at least 0.03µm and at most 0.16µm ([0052]), “desirably 100 Angstroms and more desirably 25 Angstroms”. The ranges are largely overlapping, and it would have been obvious for those in the art to select a thickness in the claimed range given the guidance of Szeles.
Claim 11 recites that a thickness of the reinforcing layer, as applied, is at least 0.05µm and at most 0.3µm and is larger than the thickness of the bottom insulation layer, as generated, and wherein a thickness of the sacrificial layer, as applied, is at least 0.1µm and at most 0.6µm. Changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Claim 13: the bottom insulation layer and the reinforcing layer are also generated on the second main side with the same thicknesses as on the first main side (FIG. 2), respectively. Szeles discloses a single thickness for layer 22, and through methods that would be expected to generate uniform thickness. Thus the subject matter of claim 13 is suggested by Szeles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 10, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, Szeles discloses “a thin oxide film 22 of native oxides of CdZnTe, such as Cd(Zn)TeOx, TeOx, CdO or ZnO, is formed on substrate 2 by UV/Ozone oxidation.” [0040]. It is not clear that it would be obvious to substitute thermal oxidation.
With respect to claims 4, there are not p+ cathode regions disclosed.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, Szeles does not disclose a protection layer or reinforcing layer of a nitride produced by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition.
With respect to claim 14, Szeles does not disclose the claimed drift ring contact regions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited: Zorzi, US 2019/0011577 A1, discloses p+ regions 12 under an insulating layer 15, but does not disclose the reinforcement layer, or disclose that the p+ regions are formed after the bottom insulating layer.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897