DETAILED ACTION
Election of Species and Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendments to the claims in the response filed on May 29th 2026 are acknowledged. Applicant’s amendment excludes applicant’s elected species of I-35, from the genus of claim 1. See MPEP § 803.02:
Should applicant, in response to a rejection of a Markush claim, overcome the rejection by amending the Markush claim to exclude the species anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art, the amended Markush claim will be examined again. The examination will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush claim. In the event prior art is found during this examination that anticipates or renders obvious the amended Markush claim, the claim will be rejected and the action can be made final unless the examiner introduces a new ground of rejection that is neither necessitated by applicant’s amendment of the claims nor based on information submitted in an information disclosure statement filed during the period set forth in 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p). See MPEP § 706.07(a). Amendments submitted after the final rejection further restricting the scope of the claim may be denied entry if they do not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.116. See MPEP § 714.13.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 15-19, and 21-26 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on May 29th 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b) Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendments in the response filed on May 29th 2026 are acknowledged. Applicant has amended claim 15 to recite a portion of the compounds from Table 1, and has amended claim 19 to recite the treatment of cancer rather than “an CDK2-mediated disorder…” Applicant has overcome all 112(b) rejections and the rejections are thereby withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 101 Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendments in the response filed on May 29th 2026 are acknowledged. Applicant has amended claim 18 to no longer recite the judicial exception of “inhibiting CDK2 in a biological sample.” Applicant has thereby overcome the 101 rejection over claim 18 and the rejection is consequently withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections Overcome by Amendment
Applicant’s amendments in the response filed on May 29th 2026 are acknowledged. Applicant has amended claim 1 to further limit X, W, and Y rings. The compounds of Winterton no longer anticipate applicant’s compound genus, and the 102 rejections over Winterton are thereby withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b) Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is indefinite for reciting subject matter outside the scope of claim 1, upon which it depends. Claim 1 requires:
.
Claim 15 recites compound I-235, which includes a piperidine ring in the Ring Y location:
.
Claim 15 is thereby not further limiting to claim 1, upon which it depends.
35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lach (Lach et al., A general route to unsubstituted N-aryl and heteroarylaminobenzenesulfonamides, Tetrahedron Letters, Volume 52, Issue 16, 2011, Pages 1882-1887).
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 24-26 are directed towards the compound,
,
Wherein Ring W is
.
Lach teaches the compound,
(Lach, pg. 1886).
Lach’s compound is anticipatory of claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 24-26.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 16-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Booth (WO 01/55148 A1 published on August 2nd 2001).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 22-23 are directed towards the compound,
,
Wherein Ring W is
.
Booth teaches the compound,
(Booth, pg. 133, Example 295).
Booth’s compound is anticipatory of claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 22-23.
Claim 16 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 1 and a carrier. Booth teaches such compositions (Booth, pg. 13), anticipating claim 16.
Claim 17 is directed towards the composition of claim 16, wherein the composition comprises additional therapeutic agents. Booth teaches a composition comprising additional therapeutic agents (Booth, pg. 15), anticipating claim 17.
Claim 18 is directed towards a method of inhibiting CDK2 in a patient via administration of the compound of claim 1. Booth teaches the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases via administration of the compound described above (Booth, pg. 228, claim 13), and that the compound has CDK2 inhibitory activity (Booth, pg. 186, Table 4). Said administration would thereby result in the inhibition of CDK2, and Booth thereby anticipates claim 18.
35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth in view of Winterton (WO2020168178 published on August 20th 2020).
Claims 19 and 21 are directed towards the treatment of cancer characterized by amplification or overexpression of CCNE1 via administration of the compound of claim 1. For the teachings of Booth as they relate to claim, see the above 102 rejection of claim 1.
Booth teaches compounds with CDK2 inhibitory activity. Booth does not explicitly teach the treatment of CCNE1 overexpressed cancers with Booth’s compounds. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating CCNE1 overexpressed cancers with Booth’s compounds because CDK2 inhibitors are known in the art to be useful in the treatment of said cancers. See Winterton, who teaches the treatment of CCNE1 overexpressed cancers with CDK2 inhibitors (Winterton, pg. 181, claim 56). One of ordinary skill in the art would thereby have a reasonable expectation of success in treating CCNE1 overexpressed cancers with Booth’s CDK2 inhibitors, and claims 19 and 21 are prima facie obvious.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winterton (WO2020168178 published on August 20th 2020) in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012), and Booth 2 (WO 03/062236 A1 published on July 31 2003).
The claims are directed towards the compound:
.
One such compound is compound I-252 (encompassed by claims 1-2, 4-7, 15, and 22-23):
.
Winterton teaches the compound,
(Winterton, pg. 116, Example A1).
Winterton’s compound differs from applicant’s in just three locations:
.
Regarding locations 1 and 2, Winterton differs from applicant’s compound only in the bioisosteric replacement of a hydrogen for a methyl, or vice versa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation in performing such a replacement, because it is one of the most common bioisosteric replacements in the field of drug discover (Brown, pg. 17).
Regarding location 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation in performing the replacement of the saturated ring with applicant’s unsaturated ring, because such ring forms are already very well-known in the field of potent CDK inhibitors.
See Booth 2, who teaches the compound,
(Booth 2, pg. 62, Example 36),
which is commonly known as the successful drug, ‘palbociclib.’
Palbociclib shares the core ring feature with applicant’s compound and one of ordinary skill in the art would thereby have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the substitution of this core feature when developing CDK inhibitors. Applicant’s compound I-252 and claims 1-2, 4-7, 15, and 22-23 are thereby prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutical adjuvant. Winterton teaches the compound as part of an adjuvant therapy with additional active agents (Winterton, pg. 94), and claim 16 is thereby prima facie obvious.
Claim 17 requires that the pharmaceutical composition of claim 16 comprises additional active agents. As Winterton teaches additional active agents (Winterton, pg. 94), claim 17 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 is directed towards a method of inhibiting CDK2 in a patient via administration of a compound of claim 1. Winterton teaches such a method (Winterton, pg. 153, claim 23), rendering claim 18 prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 is directed towards the treatment of cancer via administration of a compound of claim 1. Winterton teaches the treatment of cancer with the compounds (Winterton, pg. 180, claim 49), and claim 19 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 21 requires that the cancer of claim 19 is characterized by overexpression of CCNE1. Winterton teaches the treatment of cancer characterized by CCNE1 overexpression (Winterton, pg. 181, claim 56), and claim 21 is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629