DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 1, 11, and 17
Pending: 1-20
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Independent Claim 11 recite(s) the limitation "substrate” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is a different substrate or refers back to “a substrate” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 1 (and dependent claim(s) 2-10), recite(s) the limitation "an electronic device" in line 4.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if ‘an electronic device’ (line 4) refers to the previously recited electronic device (line 1), or a different electronic device. The dependent claims (2-10) also refer back to ‘the electronic device of...’ and it is unclear which recitation of ‘an electronic device’ is to be used. The specification appears to use ‘electronic component’ in the configuration described; suggesting the applicant may have intended to use ‘electronic component’ instead. However, as written, the claim (and dependent claims) is indefinite.
Independent Claim 1 recite(s) the limitation "the electronic device” in lines 5, 6, and 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if ‘the electronic device’ refers to ‘an electronic device’ recited in line 1, or ‘an electronic device’ recited in line 4.
Independent Claim 1 recite(s) the limitation "substrate” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is a different substrate or refers back to “a substrate” in line 2.
Claims 2-10 are rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recite(s) the limitation "the lid attach material” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 depends on claim 2, which does not recite “a lid attach material”.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recite(s) the limitation "the lid attach material” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 depends on claim 14, which does not recite “a lid attach material”.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recite(s) the limitation "the dam” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 19 depends on claim 17, which does not recite “a dam”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 20190043797 A1) in view of Chang (US 20210096310 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Tan discloses: an electronic device (Tan, semiconductor package; Fig. 1c, element 100) comprising:
A substrate (Tan, bottom substrate layer; Fig. 1c, element 122); a substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of package substrate; Fig. 1c, element 126) over a side of the substrate; an electronic device (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 1c, element 130) over the side of substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall; an internal interconnect (Tan. wire bonds; Fig. 2, element 135) coupled to the electronic device and extending between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall; an encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) covering the internal interconnect between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall; a lid attach material (Tan, adhesive layer; Fig. 3, element 165) over the substrate sidewall (Tan, package substrate; Fig. 3, element 320) and the encapsulant; wherein a cavity (Tan, cavity; Fig. 1C, element 180) is defined between a bottom side of the lid (Tan, lid; Fig. 1C, element 170) and a top side of the electronic device.
Tan is silent regarding:
and a lid coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material;
Chang discloses:
and a lid (Chang, protection layer; Fig. 1B, element 125) coupled to the encapsulant (Chang, encapsulation; Fig. 1B, element 120) and the substrate sidewall (Chang, sidewall, Fig. 1B, element PDs′) by the lid attach material (Chang, optical interface layer; Fig. 1B, element 220, ¶ [0028]);
Tan discloses a lid, encapsulation, a substrate sidewall, and a lid attach material used for semiconductor packaging. Tan does not disclose the lid coupled to the encapsulant by the lid attach material. Chang discloses a lid coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material. Both Tan and Chang disclose semiconductor package assembly and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the lid attach material of Tan so that it couples the lid to the encapsulant and substrate sidewall for better mechanical fixation (Chang,¶ [0028]).
Re: Claim 2, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of package substrate; Fig. 2, element 120) comprises a dam (Tan, dam; Fig. 2, element 160) protruding from a ledge (Tan, substrate layer; Fig. 1c, element 124a) of the substrate sidewall
Re: Claim 4, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of package substrate; Fig. 1c, element 120) is a molded compound having a filler material (Tan discloses that the package substrate may include a plurality of dielectric substrate layers that may be laminated or built-up, ¶ [0021], dielectric substrate layers that are laminated or built up can be made from a molded compound having a filler material), and wherein the encapsulant ((Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) is a filler-free material (Tan, epoxy resin in liquid form, ¶ [0069]).
Re: Claim 5, Tan discloses all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) is unmolded (Tan discloses that the liquid encapsulant includes epoxy resin in liquid form dispensed into the recess region and cured (Tan, ¶ [0069]).
Re: Claim 6, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the internal interconnect (Tan, wire bonds; Fig. 2, element 135) comprises wire coupled to the top side of the electronic device (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 2, element 130) and coupled to the substrate (Tan, bottom layer of package substrate; Fig. 1C, element 122).
Re: Claim 7, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan is silent regarding:
wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board.
Chang discloses:
wherein the substrate (Chang, second package component; Fig. 1C, element 300) comprises a printed circuit board (Chang, ¶ [0043]).
Tan discloses a substrate/package substrate. Tan does not disclose that the substrate comprises a circuit board. Chang discloses a substrate which may include a package substrate, a printed circuit board, or other circuit carrier that is capable of carrying integrated circuits. Both Tan and Chang disclose semiconductor package assembly and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the printed circuit board of Chang within the package substrate of Tan to enable further electrical connections (Chang, ¶ [0043]).
Re: Claim 8, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the lid (Tan, lid; Fig. 1C, element 170) is transmissive (Tan, the package lid may be formed from any suitable materials including transparent material (e.g., glass), ¶ [0036]).
Re: Claim 9, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Tan, cavity; Fig. 1C, element 180) is defined by the bottom side of the lid (Tan, lid; Fig. 1c, element 170), the top side of the electronic device (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 1c, element 130), a top side of the encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185), and an inner side of the lid attach material (Tan, adhesive layer; Fig. 1c, element 165).
Re: Claim 10, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Tan, cavity; Fig. 3, element 380) is isolated from the substrate sidewall (Tan, package substrate; Fig. 3, element 320).
Re: Independent Claim 11, Tan discloses:
An electronic device (Tan, semiconductor package; Fig. 1c, element 100) comprising: a substrate (Tan, bottom substrate layer; Fig. 1c, element 122); a substrate sidewall (Tan, side of package substrate; Fig. 1c, element 120) over a side of the substrate, the substrate sidewall comprising a dam (Tan, dam; Fig. 2, element 160) protruding away from the substrate (Tan, top planar surface of the bottom substrate layer; Fig. 2, element 122a); an electronic component (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 1c, element 130) over the side of substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall; an encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall; a lid attach material (Tan, adhesive layer; Fig. 3, element 165) over the substrate sidewall (Tan, package substrate; element 320) and the encapsulant; wherein a cavity (Tan, cavity; Fig. 1C, element 180) is defined between the lid (Tan, lid; Fig. 1C, element 170) and the electronic device.
Tan is silent regarding:
and a lid coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material;
Chang discloses:
and a lid (Chang, protection layer; Fig. 1B. element 125) coupled to the encapsulant (Chang, encapsulation; Fig. 1B, element 120) and the substrate sidewall (Chang, sidewall, Fig. 1B, element PDs′) by the lid attach material (Chang, optical interface layer; Fig. 1B, element 220, ¶ [0028]).
Tan discloses a lid, encapsulation, a substrate sidewall and a lid attach material used for semiconductor packaging. Tan does not disclose the lid coupled to the encapsulant by the lid attach material. Chang discloses a lid coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material. Both Tan and Chang disclose semiconductor package assembly and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the lid attach material of Tan so that it couples the lid to the encapsulant and substrate sidewall for better mechanical fixation (Chang,¶ [0028]).
Re: Claim 13, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Tan, cavity; Fig. 3, element 380) is isolated from the substrate sidewall (Tan, package substrate; Fig. 3, element 320).
Re: Claim 14, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
further comprising a wire (Tan, wire bonds; Fig. 2 element 135) coupling the electronic component (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 2, element 130) to the substrate (Tan, bottom layer of package substrate; Fig. 1C, element 122), wherein the encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 2, element 185) covers the wire between the electronic component and the substrate sidewall (Tan, side of package substrate; Fig. 2, element 120).
Re: Claim 15, Tan discloses all the limitations of claim 14 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein an interface (Tan, region between the lid and adhesive layer; Fig. 1c, elements 170 and 165, respectively) between the lid attach material (Tan, adhesive layer; Fig. 1c, element 165) and the encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 2, element 185) extends over the wire.
Re: Independent Claim 17, Tan discloses:
A method of manufacturing an electronic device (Tan, semiconductor package, claim 1) comprising: providing a substrate (Tan, bottom substrate layer; Fig. 1c, element 122); providing a substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of package substrate; Fig. 1c, element 120) over a side of the substrate; providing an electronic component (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 1c, element 130) over the side of substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall; providing an encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) between the substrate sidewall and the electronic component; providing a lid attach material (Tan, adhesive layer; Fig. 3, element 165) over the substrate sidewall (Tan, package substrate; element 320) and the encapsulant;
Tan is silent regarding:
and providing a lid coupled to the substrate sidewall and the encapsulant by the lid attach material.
Chang discloses:
and providing a lid (Chang, protection layer; Fig. 1B. element 125) coupled to the encapsulant (Chang, encapsulation; Fig. 1B, element 120) and the substrate sidewall (Chang, sidewall, Fig. 1B, element PDs′) by the lid attach material (Chang, optical interface layer; Fig. 1B, element 220, ¶ [0028]);
Tan discloses a lid, encapsulation, a substrate sidewall and a lid attach material used for semiconductor packaging. Tan does not disclose the lid coupled to the encapsulant by the lid attach material. Chang discloses a lid coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material. Both Tan and Chang disclose semiconductor package assembly and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the lid attach material of Tan so that it couples the lid to the encapsulant and substrate sidewall for better mechanical fixation (Chang, ¶ [0028]).
Re: Claim 18, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
further comprising providing an internal interconnect (Tan, wire bonds; Fig. 2 element 135) between the substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of substrate package; Fig. 1c, element 120) and the electronic component (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 1c, element 130).
Re: Claim 20, Tan and Chang disclose all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Tan further discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Tan, side part of package substrate; Fig. 1c, element 120) is a molded compound having a filler material (Tan discloses that the package substrate may include a plurality of dielectric substrate layers that may be laminated or built-up, ¶ [0021], dielectric substrate layers that are laminated or built up can be made from a molded compound having a filler material), and wherein the encapsulant (Tan, encapsulant; Fig. 1c, element 185) is a filler-free material (Tan, epoxy resin in liquid form, ¶ [0069]).
Claim(s) 3, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 20190043797 A1) in view of Chang (US 20210096310 A1), further in view of Furuyashiki (US 20100001174 A1).
Re: Claim 3, Tan discloses all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Tan is silent regarding:
wherein the lid attach material contacts a top side of the dam, a lateral side of the dam, the ledge of the substrate sidewall, and a top side of the encapsulant.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85), contacts a top side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), a lateral side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), the ledge of the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70), and a top side of the encapsulant (Furuyashiki, encapsulating resin; Fig. 20d, element 96).
Tan discloses a lid attach material, a dam, a substrate sidewall, and an encapsulant. Tan does not disclose the lid attach material contacting a top side of the encapsulant. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. Tan and Furuyashiki disclose dams, lid attach material, encapsulants, and substrates for semiconductor packaging, hence all are analogous art. A POSITA before the effective filing date would be motivated to place the lid attach material as taught by Furuyashiki to the dam taught by Tan, for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094]).
Re: Claim 12, Tan and Chang discloses all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Tan and Chang are silent regarding:
wherein the lid attach material contacts a top side of the dam, a vertical side of the dam, a top side of the substrate sidewall, and a side of the encapsulant.
wherein the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85), contacts a top side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), a vertical side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), a top side of the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70), and a side of the encapsulant (Furuyashiki, encapsulating resin; Fig. 20d, element 96).
Tan and Chang disclose a lid attach material, a dam, a substrate sidewall, and an encapsulant. Tan and Chang do not disclose the lid attach material contacting a top side of the encapsulant. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. Tan, Chang, and Furuyashiki disclose dams, lid attach material, encapsulants, and substrates for semiconductor packaging, hence all are analogous art. A POSITA before the effective filing date would be motivated to place the lid attach material as taught by Furuyashiki to the dam taught by Tan and Chang, for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094 - 0095]).
Re: Claim 16, Tan and Chang discloses all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Tan and Chang are silent regarding:
wherein a fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral sidewall of the lid.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein a fillet of the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, a portion of the adhesive; Fig. 2b, element 85) extends from the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80) to a lateral sidewall of the lid (Furuyashiki, lid; Fig. 2b, element 90).
Tan and Chang disclose dams and lid attach materials. Tan and Chang do not disclose a portion of the lid attach material extending from the dam to a lateral sidewall of the lid. Tan, Chang, and Furuyashiki disclose dams and lid attach materials for use in semiconductor packaging, and therefore are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of lid attach materials to the dam of Tan for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094 – 0095]).
Re: Claim 19, Tan and Chang discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Tan and Chang are silent regarding:
wherein the substrate sidewall comprises a dam that contacts the lid attach material, wherein a fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70) comprises a dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80) that contacts the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85), wherein a fillet (Furuyashiki, a portion of the adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85, ¶ [0094]) of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid (Furuyashiki, lid; Fig. 2b, element 90).
Tan and Chang disclose dams and lid attach materials. Tan and Chang do not disclose a portion of the lid attach material extending from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid. Tan, Chang, and Furuyashiki disclose dams and lid attach materials for use in semiconductor packaging, and therefore are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of lid attach materials to the dam of Tan for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094 – 0095]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20240203803 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Kim discloses: an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising:
A substrate (Kim, substrate; Fig. 1, element 11); a substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153, ¶ [0019]) over a side of the substrate; an electronic device (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14, ¶ [0019]) over the side of substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall; an internal interconnect (Kim, conductive structures; Fig. 1, element 114, ¶ [0020]) coupled to the electronic device and extending between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall; an encapsulant (Kim, top portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 151, ¶ [0033]) covering the internal interconnect between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall; a lid attach material (Kim, adhesive; Fig. 1, element 164, ¶ [0041]) over the substrate sidewall and the encapsulant; and a lid (Kim, lid; Fig. 1, element 16, ¶ [0041]) coupled to the encapsulant and the substrate sidewall by the lid attach material; wherein a cavity (Kim, cavity; Fig. 2B, element , ¶ [0031]) is defined between a bottom side of the lid and a top side of the electronic device (Kim demonstrates this in a later step, Fig. 2E, ¶ [0039]).
Re: Claim 4, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153, ¶ [0019]) is a molded compound (Kim, ¶ [0032]) having a filler material (Kim, i.e. resin, ¶ [0033]), and wherein the encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15) is a filler-free material (Kim, i.e. epoxy, resin, polymer, a mold compound, a protective material, or a mold material, ¶ [0033]).
Re: Claim 5, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15) is unmolded (Kim, ¶ [0032]).
Re: Claim 7, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board (Kim, substrate can be referred to as a printed circuit board (PCB) or a laminate substrate, ¶ [0026]).
Re: Claim 9, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Kim, cavity; Fig. 2, element 530) is defined by the bottom side of the lid (Kim, lid; Fig. 5, element 16), the top side of the electronic device (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 5, element 14), a top side of the encapsulant (Kim, top portion of encapsulant; Fig. 5, element 351), and an inner side of the lid attach material (Kim, adhesive; Fig. 5, element 164).
Re: Claim 10, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Kim, cavity; Fig. 2B, element 530) is isolated from the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; fig 2B, element 153).
Re: Independent Claim 17, Kim discloses:
A method of manufacturing an electronic device (Kim, a method to manufacture an electronic device ¶ [0016]), comprising: providing a substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153) over a side of the substrate (Kim, substrate; Fig 1. Element 11); providing a substrate providing an electronic component (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14) over the side of the substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall; providing an encapsulant (Kim, top and bottom portion of encapsulant, Fig. 1, elements 151 and 152, respectively) between the substrate sidewall and the electronic component; providing a lid attach material (Kim, adhesive; Fig. 1, element 164) over the substrate sidewall and the encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15); and providing a lid (Kim, lid; Fig. 1, element 16) coupled to the substrate sidewall and the encapsulant by the lid attach material.
Re: Claim 18, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
further comprising providing an internal interconnect (Kim, conductive structures; Fig. 1, element 114) between the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of the encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153) and the electronic component (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14, ¶ [0020]).
Re: Claim 20, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of the encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153) is a molded compound having a filler material (Kim, i.e. resin; ¶ [0033]), and wherein the encapsulant is a filler-free material (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15, ¶ [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 8, 11, 13-15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20240203803 A1) in view of Tan (US 20190043797 A1).
Re: Claim 2, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
a dam (Kim, dam; Fig. 1, element 116, ¶ [0051])
Kim is silent regarding:
wherein the substrate sidewall comprises a dam protruding from a ledge of the substrate sidewall.
Tan discloses:
the substrate sidewall (Tan, side of package substrate; Fig. 2, element 120) comprises a dam (Tan, dam; Fig. 2, element 160) protruding from a ledge (Tan, planar surface of the first intermediate substrate layer; Fig. 2, element 124a) of the substrate sidewall (Tan, Fig. 2).
Kim discloses a dam with a location that can be adjusted. Tan discloses a dam structure positioned between the bond pads and the sidewall of the recess region to contain the encapsulant. Kim and Tan disclose dams within semiconductor packaging hence both are analogous art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adopt the dam placement of Tan and modify the dam location of Kim to contain the encapsulant and prevent the encapsulant from extending to the lid-attach region (Tan, ¶ [0040]).
Re: Claim 6, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the internal interconnect (Kim, conductive structure; Fig. 1, element 114) comprises wire (Kim, i.e. trace; ¶ [0040]) coupled to the electronic device (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14) and coupled to the substrate (Kim, substrate; Fig. 1, element 11).
Kim is silent regarding:
wire coupled to the top side
Tan discloses:
wire (Tan, wire bonds; Fig. 2, element 135) from top of electronic device (Tan, semiconductor die; Fig. 2, element 130)
Kim discloses a conductive structure comprising a wire (i.e., trace) coupled to the bottom side of the electronic device and coupled to the substrate. Tan discloses wire bonds from the top of the semiconductor die to create electrical connection between the interconnect structures of the package substrate and electronic device. Kim and Tan both disclose conductive structures within semiconductor packaging and are therefore analogous art. A POSITA before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Kim with Tan to place the wire on the top side of the electronic device to electrically connect the semiconductor die to further interconnect structures of the package (Tan, ¶ [0031]).
Re: Claim 8, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
a lid (Kim, Lid; Fig. 1, element 16, ¶ [0039])
Kim is silent regarding:
wherein the lid is transmissive
Tan discloses:
The lid (Tan, package lid; Fig. 2, element 170, ¶ [0036]) is transmissive.
Kim discloses a lid over a device region which can comprise a metal material, such as copper, copper alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, or steel use stainless (SUS). Tan discloses that a package lid may be may be formed from any suitable materials including transparent material (e.g., glass) (or opaque material (e.g., metal or ceramic)) to accommodate an image sensor. Kim and Tan both disclose lids used in semiconductor packaging and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date to implement the lid of Kim with a transparent material in order to provide optical access (Tan, ¶ [0037]).
Re: Independent Claim 11, Kim discloses: an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising: A substrate (Kim, substrate; Fig. 1, element 11); a substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153, ¶ [0019]) over a side of the substrate; a substrate sidewall over a side of the substrate (Kim, Fig. 1), a dam (Kim, dam; Fig. 5, element 116); an electronic component (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14) over the side of substrate and adjacent the substrate sidewall (Kim, Fig. 1); an encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15) between the electronic device and the substrate sidewall;; a lid attach material (Kim, adhesive; Fig. 1, element 164, ¶ [0041]) over the substrate sidewall and the encapsulant; and a lid (Kim, lid; Fig. 1, element 16, ¶ [0019]) coupled to the encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 15) and the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 1, element 153, ¶ [0019]) by the lid attach material (Kim, adhesive; Fig. 1, element 164, ¶ [0041]); wherein a cavity (Kim, cavity; Fig. 2B, element 530, ¶ [0031]) is defined between the lid and the electronic device (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 2E, element 14, ¶ [0039]).
Kim is silent regarding:
the substrate sidewall comprising a dam protruding from the substrate sidewall away from the substrate;
Tan discloses:
the substrate sidewall (Tan, side of package substrate; Fig. 2, element 120) comprises a dam (Tan, dam, Fig. 2, element 160) protruding away from the substrate (Tan, substrate; Fig. 2, element 122a, ¶ [0035])
Kim discloses a dam that can be configured between underfill and the electronic component and Tan discloses the dam protruding from the substrate to contain and prevent liquefied encapsulant material from encroaching onto the lid-attach region. Both disclose dams used within semiconductor packaging and are therefore analogous art. It would have been obvious to a POSITA before the effective filing date to substitute the dam configuration of Kim with the one disclosed by Tan to serve as a reservoir region (Tan, ¶ [0040]) and provide a rigid and mechanically strong structure to protect the component from mechanical stresses and moisture in the environment (Tan, ¶ [0068]).
Re: Claim 13, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein the cavity (Kim, cavity; Fig. 2B, element 530, ¶ [0031]) is isolated from the substrate sidewall (Kim, side portion of encapsulant; Fig. 2B, element 153).
Re: Claim 14, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
further comprising a wire (Kim, Conductive structure; Fig. 1, element 114 comprises trace; ¶ [0024]) coupling the electronic component (Kim, electronic component; Fig. 1, element 14) to the substrate (Kim, substrate; Fig. 1, element 11), wherein the encapsulant (Kim, encapsulant top portion; Fig. 1, element 151, ¶ [0033]) covers the wire between the electronic component and the substrate sidewall.
Re: Claim 15, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 14 on which this claim depends. Kim further discloses:
wherein an interface (Kim, layer between encapsulant and adhesive; Fig.1, elements 15 and 164, respectively) between the lid attach material and the encapsulant extends over the wire (Kim, conductive structure (i.e. a trace); Fig. 1 element 114).
Claim 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20240203803 A1) in view of Furuyashiki (US 20100001174 A1).
Re: Claim 19, Kim discloses all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends. Kim is silent regarding:
wherein the substrate sidewall comprises a dam that contacts the lid attach material, wherein a fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70) comprises a dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80) that contacts the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85), wherein a fillet (Furuyashiki, a portion of the adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85, ¶ [0094]) of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid (Furuyashiki, lid; Fig. 2b, element 90).
Kim and Furuyashiki disclose dams and lid attach materials for use in semiconductor packaging and therefore both are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of lid attach materials to the dam of Kim for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094]).
Claim(s) 3, 12, 16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20240203803 A1) in view of Tan (US 20190043797 A1), further in view of Furuyashiki (US 20100001174 A1).
Re: Claim 3, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends. Kim and Tan are silent regarding:
wherein the lid attach material contacts a top side of the dam, a lateral side of the dam, the ledge of the substrate sidewall, and a top side of the encapsulant
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85), contacts a top side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), a lateral side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), the ledge of the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70), and a top side of the encapsulant (Furuyashiki, encapsulating resin; Fig. 20d, element 96).
Kim, Tan, and Furuyashiki disclose dams, lid attach material, encapsulants, and substrates for semiconductor packaging, hence all are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA before the effective filing date would be motivated to place the lid attach material as taught by Furuyashiki to the dam in Kim, as modified by Tan, for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094]).
Re: Claim 12, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kim and Tan are silent regarding:
wherein the lid attach material contacts a top side of the dam, a vertical side of the dam, a top side of the substrate sidewall, and a side of the encapsulant.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85) contacts a top side of the dam, a vertical side of the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80), a top side of the substrate sidewall (Furuyashiki, first ribs surface; Fig. 2b, element 70), and a side of the encapsulant (Furuyashiki, encapsulating resin; Fig. 20d, element 96).
Kim, Tan, and Furuyashiki disclose dams, lid attach material, encapsulants, and substrates for semiconductor packaging, hence all are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA before the effective filing date would be motivated to place the lid attach material as taught by Furuyashiki to the dam in Kim, as modified by Tan, for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094]).
Re: Claim 16, Kim and Tan disclose all the limitations of claim 11 on which this claim depends. Kim and Tan are silent regarding:
wherein a fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral sidewall of the lid.
Furuyashiki discloses:
wherein a fillet of the lid attach material (Furuyashiki, adhesive, Fig. 2b, element 85) extends from the dam (Furuyashiki, dam; Fig. 2b, element 80) to a lateral sidewall of the lid (Furuyashiki, lid; Fig. 2b, element 90).
Kim, Tan, and Furuyashiki disclose dams and lid attach materials for use in semiconductor packaging and therefore are analogous art. Furuyashiki discloses that the fillet of the lid attach material extends from the dam to a lateral wall of the lid to more firmly fix the lid to the substrate sidewall. A POSITA would be motivated to combine the teachings of lid attach materials to the dam of Kim for a firmer connection of the lid even with a smaller amount of adhesive (Furuyashiki, ¶ [0094]).
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure:
Kim (20240203803 A1), which discloses semiconductor devices and the methods of manufacturing.
Conclusion
/NIMARTA KAUR CHOWDHARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898