Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “at least one fourth comprises” should read --at least one fourth member comprises--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 13-14, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dickson et al. (US 2009/0072849 A1), hereafter Dickson.
Regarding claim 1, Dickson at fig. 1 (see below) and ¶0025 discloses a conduction inspection jig, comprising: a first member 111 positioned on a substrate side [side of 114] and having a plurality of first openings 117 and a flexural strength of 300 MPa or higher [because of Ceramic/fiber glass, see ¶0025] such that a substrate is configured to be connected to a tester; a second member 110 having a plurality of second openings 115 and positioned on a printed wiring board side 108 such that an electrical inspection is performed on a printed wiring board [using 120]; a support member 113 positioned between the first member and the second member such that the support member is forming a space [space as shown between 111 and 110] between the first member and the second member; a plurality of third members [“In the various embodiments, the probe plates 104, 110, 111 can be constructed from any electrically insulating material, including fiberglass materials, laminates, ceramics, or plastics.” 104 with laminations as explained at ¶0025] positioned below the first member 111 and configured to be laminated directly with respect to each other such that each of the third members has a plurality of third openings [104 with laminations as explained at ¶0025] positioned; and
a probe 109 configured to be positioned in one of the first openings 117 in the first member and one of the second openings 115 in the second member such that the probe penetrates through the one of the first openings, the space formed between the first member and the second member [“The probes are disposed through a plurality of probe plates 104, 110, 111 in the test fixture 102, each with a drill pattern of openings 105, 115, 117.’, see ¶0025], and the one of the second openings and has a first end portion protruding from the first member and a second end portion protruding from the second member on an opposite side with respect to the first end portion [because of spring action of 109 at both ends], wherein the plurality of third openings in each of the third members is configured such that the probe penetrates through the one of the first openings in the first member and a respective one of the third openings in each of the third members [“The probes are disposed through a plurality of probe plates 104, 110, 111 in the test fixture 102, each with a drill pattern of openings 105, 115, 117.’, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 2, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 1, wherein each of the third members has a flexural strength of lower than 300 MPa [implicit to plastic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 3, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 1, wherein the first member comprises ceramic [ceramic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 4, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 2, wherein each of the third members comprises resin [implicit to plastic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 6, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 1, wherein the second member has a flexural strength of 300 MPa or higher [ceramic/fiber glass, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 8, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 6, wherein the second member comprises ceramic [ceramic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 13, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 1, wherein the support member 113 is configured to substantially surround the space formed between the first member and the second member [as shown above].
Regarding claim 14, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 2, wherein the first member comprises ceramic [ceramic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 17, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 2, wherein the second member has a flexural strength of 300 MPa or higher [ceramic/fiber glass, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 19, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig according to claim 17, wherein the second member comprises ceramic [ceramic, see ¶0025].
Regarding claim 20, as stated above at rejection of claim 1, Dickson at fig. 1 (see above) and ¶0025 discloses a method for manufacturing a printed wiring board, comprising: setting the printed wiring board 108 with respect to the conduction inspection jig of claim 1 [see rejection above] such that the first end portion of the probe 109 makes contact with an electrode 106 of the printed wiring board and that the second end portion of the probe 109 makes contact with an electrode connected to the tester 120; and conducting inspection of the printed wiring board using the tester [Abstract].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickson as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Kazama et al. (US 2004/0157475 A1), hereafter Kazama.
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 16, Dickson discloses all the elements of a conduction inspection jig. Dickson is silent about wherein each of the third members has a peripheral part and a central part formed such that the central part is formed thinner than the peripheral part and that the plurality of openings is formed in the central part. Rather, at ¶0025 discloses the third members has laminations. Kazama at fig. 4 discloses each of the third members [6 formed of 4 and 5, see fig. 3-4] has a peripheral part and a central part formed such that the central part is formed thinner [ 6 above 3, fig. 4] than the peripheral part [6 at the periphery, fig. 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the third member of Dickson with the third members has a peripheral part and a central part formed such that the central part is formed thinner than the peripheral part as taught by Kazama, in order obtain durability and strength and to minimize the cost while meeting the necessary performance of the given test condition (see support member at ¶0016-0017). Modified Dickson discloses the plurality of openings is formed in the central part.
Claim(s) 11-12, 7 and 9-10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickson as applied to claims 1, 6 and 17 above, and further in view of Kazama et al. (US 2004/0157475 A1), hereafter Kazama.
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 18, Dickson at fig. 1 and ¶0025 discloses the conduction inspection jig. Dickson is silent about at least one fourth member positioned above the second member and having a plurality of fourth openings and a flexural strength of lower than 300 MPa, wherein the plurality of fourth openings is configured such that the probe penetrates through a respective one of the fourth openings. Rather, at ¶0025 discloses the second members has laminations.
Kazama at fig. 3-4 discloses the conduction inspection jig including at least one fourth member 6 positioned above the second member [other 6 of fig. 2] and having a plurality of fourth openings 2 and a flexural strength of lower than 300 MPa [implicit to plastic, 0039], wherein the plurality of fourth openings is configured such that the probe [electroconductive contact members 1, as example] penetrates [Abstract] through a respective one of the fourth openings [2]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Dickson with at least one fourth member positioned above the second member as claimed, in order to obtains advantages that Kazama have to offer i.e. to increase mechanical strength (see Abstract and ¶0009-0011).
Regarding claim 9, Kazama discloses the at least one fourth member 6 comprises a plurality of fourth members [4, 5 as shown at fig. 3].
Regarding claim 10, Kazama discloses the at least one fourth member comprises resin [see Abstract for resina and ¶0017].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dickson and Kazama discloses the second member comprises resin [implicit to plastic and ¶0025 of Dickson; Kazama also discloses i.e. other 6 is made of resin], and the at least one fourth member comprises resin [see Abstract for resina and ¶0017 of Kazama]. .
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
March 12, 2026