DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are other than black and white line drawings. Specifically, all lines must be solid black and well-defined. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0052126 (hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Nam discloses a method of operating a wireless communication device, the method comprising: transmitting control information over one or more physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources to a peer wireless communication device, wherein the control information includes sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration information ([0036][0089]: details a slot format may include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) portion carrying first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1); SCI (such as a first SCI-1) associated with (such as scheduling) an SL-PRS transmission may reserve resources for the SL-PRS 210 in any one or more of a current slot (the slot during which the UE 115 transmits the reserving SCI-1) or one or more future slots); and transmitting SL-PRS over one or more SL-PRS resources indicated by the SL-PRS configuration information to the peer wireless communication device ([0036][0089]: details SCI (such as a first SCI-1) associated with (such as scheduling) an SL-PRS transmission may reserve resources for the SL-PRS 210 in any one or more of a current slot (the slot during which the UE 115 transmits the reserving SCI-1) or one or more future slots), wherein, based on the one or more PSCCH resources and the one or more SL-PRS resources scheduled in a sidelink slot, transmission of the control information over the one or more PSCCH resources and transmission of the SL-PRS over the one or more SL-PRS resources are separated in a time domain by at least a minimum time gap (FIG. 5; [0037]: details SCI, slot, gap portions… that precede an SL-PRS burst; gap symbol 540 between PSCCH 520 and SL-PRS 530).
Claims 5 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0086126 (hereinafter Nam2).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Nam 2 discloses a method of operating a wireless communication device, the method comprising: transmitting control information over one or more physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resources to a peer wireless communication device ([0083]: details sidelink control block 225 may include a PSCCH (e.g., which may carry SCI-1, among other information), SCI-2, and one or more DMRS), wherein the control information includes sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configuration information ([0083]: details SCI-1 and/or SCI-2 in the sidelink control block 225 may carry or otherwise convey information for an associated SL-PRS burst 230 (e.g., the time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), a pattern for the SL-PRS burst 230, transmit power level, etc.)); and transmitting SL-PRS over one or more SL-PRS resources indicated by the SL-PRS configuration information to the peer wireless communication device ([0083]: details SL-PRS burst), wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates multiple SL-PRS resources, including the one or more SL-PRS resources for transmission of the SL-PRS, based on: a pattern of at least a first portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, a number of repetitions of the pattern, one or more slots in which the pattern is applicable, one or more specific locations of at least a second portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof ([0083][0084]: details SCI-1 and/or SCI-2 in the sidelink control block 225 may carry or otherwise convey information for an associated SL-PRS burst 230 (e.g., the time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), a pattern for the SL-PRS burst 230, transmit power level, etc.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of US 2023/0171750 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Nam does not explicitly teach wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates: a slot in which one of the one or more SL-PRS resources is located, a symbol index in the slot indicating a starting symbol of the one of the one or more SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof.
However, Lee teaches wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates: a slot in which one of the one or more SL-PRS resources is located, a symbol index in the slot indicating a starting symbol of the one of the one or more SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof ([0154]: details Since the SL-PRS is preferably transmitted as a contiguous wideband signal, the resource region (e.g., frequency region) for SL-PRS transmission may be configured with a position (or index) of a starting RB and the number (length) of RBs constituting the resource region (e.g., frequency region). Alternatively, the resource region (e.g., frequency region) for SL-PRS transmission may be configured with a position (or index) of a starting subchannel and the number (length) of subchannels constituting the resource region (e.g., frequency region)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the teachings of Lee and include wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates: a slot in which one of the one or more SL-PRS resources is located, a symbol index in the slot indicating a starting symbol of the one of the one or more SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof of Lee with Nam. Doing so would improve performance of the communication system (Lee, paragraph [0026]).
Claims 4-6 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of US 2022/0397633 (hereinafter Baek).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Nam does not explicitly teach receiving other control information over one or more other PSCCH resources that includes other configuration information from one or more other wireless communication devices; and determining the one or more PSCCH resources and the one or more SL-PRS resources based on the other configuration information and the minimum time gap.
However, Baek teaches receiving other control information over one or more other PSCCH resources that includes other configuration information from one or more other wireless communication devices; and determining the one or more PSCCH resources and the one or more SL-PRS resources based on the other configuration information and the minimum time gap ([0132][0217][0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the teachings of Baek and include receiving other control information over one or more other PSCCH resources that includes other configuration information from one or more other wireless communication devices; and determining the one or more PSCCH resources and the one or more SL-PRS resources based on the other configuration information and the minimum time gap of Baek with Nam. Doing so would effectively provide sidelink positioning related control information (Baek, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Nam does not explicitly teach obtaining information specifying the minimum time gap from a server device different from the wireless communication device and different from the peer wireless communication device.
However, Baek teaches obtaining information specifying the minimum time gap from a server device different from the wireless communication device and different from the peer wireless communication device ([0130]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the teachings of Baek and include obtaining information specifying the minimum time gap from a server device different from the wireless communication device and different from the peer wireless communication device of Baek with Nam. Doing so would effectively provide sidelink positioning related control information (Baek, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Nam does not explicitly teach obtaining capability information of the peer wireless communication device; and determining the minimum time gap based on the capability information of the peer wireless communication device.
However, Baek teaches obtaining capability information of the peer wireless communication device; and determining the minimum time gap based on the capability information of the peer wireless communication device ([0132]: details relationship between the minimum time gap and the processing time of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the teachings of Baek and include obtaining capability information of the peer wireless communication device; and determining the minimum time gap based on the capability information of the peer wireless communication device of Baek with Nam. Doing so would effectively provide sidelink positioning related control information (Baek, paragraph [0040]).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Nam2.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Nam does not explicitly teach wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates multiple SL-PRS resources, including the one or more SL-PRS resources for the transmission of the SL-PRS, based on: a pattern of at least a first portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, a number of repetitions of the pattern, one or more slots in which the pattern is applicable, one or more specific locations of at least a second portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof.
However, Nam2 teaches wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates multiple SL-PRS resources, including the one or more SL-PRS resources for the transmission of the SL-PRS, based on: a pattern of at least a first portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, a number of repetitions of the pattern, one or more slots in which the pattern is applicable, one or more specific locations of at least a second portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof ([0083][0084]: details SCI-1 and/or SCI-2 in the sidelink control block 225 may carry or otherwise convey information for an associated SL-PRS burst 230 (e.g., the time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), a pattern for the SL-PRS burst 230, transmit power level, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nam to incorporate the teachings of Nam2 and include wherein the SL-PRS configuration information indicates multiple SL-PRS resources, including the one or more SL-PRS resources for the transmission of the SL-PRS, based on: a pattern of at least a first portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, a number of repetitions of the pattern, one or more slots in which the pattern is applicable, one or more specific locations of at least a second portion of the multiple SL-PRS resources, or a combination thereof of Nam2 with Nam. Doing so would improve positioning accuracy (Nam2, paragraph [0072]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou (US 2024/0049163) details positioning.
Li (US 2024/0356699) details sidelink positioning.
Wang (US 2025/0031175) details PRS transmission.
Zhang (US 2026/0059558) details resource mapping.
/JASPER KWOH/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415