DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response
Acknowledged is the applicant’s request for reconsideration filed on April 21, 2026. Claim 16 is amended.
The applicant contends:
(1) The cited prior art – Kaufman, specifically – shows a gas heater (528) enclosing a gas supply (512) that directs gas into a plenum (506) (Fig. 5). Critically, Kaufman’s gas supply and heater are external to the plenum, whereas claim 16 now requires these features to be “contained within” the plenum (p. 8).
(2) Claim 16 further stipulates that the gas supply comprises “oxygen between 2 and 100 percent.” Although the Office rejected this limitation under the grounds of intended use, Bour does not explicitly teach an oxygen content within the claimed range (pp. 8-9).
In response,
(1) The examiner notes, as an initial matter, that Applicant’s own gas heater (52) is external to the boundary of the claimed plenum (40), as each drawing confirms. 112(a) rejections have been applied, accordingly. Yet, in the interests of compact prosecution, the examiner observes that Kaufman’s gas heater (528) directly contacts the topside of the plenum and, therefore, meaningfully imparts thermal energy to the plenum region through conduction. The examiner understands this phenomenon to render obvious the new material, as the heat generated by the gas heater is properly “contained within” the plenum.
(2) As the previous Office letter elaborates, in claims directed to an apparatus, the prior art must merely evidence the structural capacity to replicate a given functional limitation; the prior art need not teach the limitation expressly in order to satisfy the threshold for rejection. It has been held, for instance, that a recitation drawn to the intended manner of employing a claimed apparatus does not differentiate said apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
The limitation at issue pertains to the act of supplying a gas with a specified range of oxygen concentration. In this case, the operator must simply charge a fluid source container of Bour’s CVD apparatus with oxygen or a gas containing at least two percent oxygen. Subsequently, the operator can control the apparatus to supply the aforementioned gas to the reaction zone through the preexisting conduit network. As can now be seen, whether or not Bour expressly discloses the claimed oxygen concentration is not germane, as the apparatus is inherently capable of accommodating and then dispersing a gas comprising at least two percent oxygen. This is because the gas flowing through the system is not a structural component of the apparatus itself but, rather, is functional artifact generated by the intended use of the apparatus.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder – “system,” in this case – that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
The “conveyor system” of claims 16 and 17;
The “exhaust system” of claim 33.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The conveyor system (30) will be interpreted as one of a belt conveyor, a gravity roller conveyor, a chain conveyor, a pusher plate system, a chain-driven line conveyor, or rollers in accordance with paragraph [0020] of Applicant’s specification.
The exhaust system (32) will be interpreted as a conduit in accordance with Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 and its dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, claim 16 has been amended to stipulate that the “gas supply and said gas heater are contained within said plenum.” As shown by Figure 2, Applicant’s gas heater (52) appears to be upstream of and structurally distinct from the plenum (40). Although the gas supply, which is being interpreted broadly as the stream of gas fed to the reaction zone (20), clearly enters the plenum, the examiner does not understand the gas heater (52) to be “contained within” the plenum’s boundary. For this reason, the new material recited by claim 16 constitutes new matter and is rejected under 112(a). To expedite prosecution, the claim will be examined as written, nevertheless.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-24 and 28-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bour, US 2011/0268880, in view of Vellaikal et al., US 2013/0273262, and Kaufman-Osborn et al., US 2017/0350004, hereafter “Kaufman.”
Claim 16: Bour describes a processing apparatus, comprising:
A plurality of heat treatment modules including a first (114a) and last (114c) module, each module comprising:
A reaction zone (212a) having first and second openings (Fig. 2);
A conveyor system (218) that transports a material (130) from the first to the second opening [0025];
A plenum (114a) positioned above the reactor zone [0026];
A gas supply;
A gas heater [0036];
A vented barrier between the plenum and reaction zone (Fig. 4C).
Wherein the gas supply and heater are communicatively connected to the plenum so as to condition an atmosphere released into the reaction zone via the vents.
Concerning the new material directed to “desired material containing organic lubricants and binders,” the examiner observes that these are merely articles worked upon by the apparatus. By definition, the article worked upon is external to the scope of the apparatus itself and is not patentable subject matter – expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus (Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969)). It can simply be said that the operator can provide this content to the conveyor of the prior art apparatus.
Relatedly, the matter of a “gas supply comprising oxygen between 2 and 100 percent” is directed to the intended use of the apparatus, where it has been held that a recitation drawn to the intended manner of employing a claimed apparatus does not differentiate said apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)). Bour’s gas supply is capable of accommodating any fluid, including a flow distribution comprising at least 2 percent oxygen. The operator can simply supply the necessary admixture of source gases to yield the claimed oxygen percentage.
Bour is silent regarding the configuration of the vents and the class of conveyor, whereby Vellaikal addresses both omissions. As shown by Figure 2, Vellaikal discloses an in-line processing apparatus in which a conveyor belt (214) translates substrates along a linear path below a series of treatment modules [0021]. Further, the reference interposes a vented barrier between a plenum and reaction zone, where the vents decrease in density in the direction of substrate travel (Fig. 6B). This arrangement augments deposition upon the substrate’s leading edge in order to promote a more uniform profile [0033]. As Bour shares this desideratum, it would have been obvious to configure the vents as a gradient since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement is within the scope of ordinary skill.
Although Bour teaches a gas heater, there is no indication that it can generate temperatures “between 700 and 1800 degrees Fahrenheit,” as claim 16 now requires. In supplementation, Kaufman discloses a process chamber comprising a gas supply (518) for supplying a vapor to the substrate situated on the support (504) below (Fig. 5). To maintain a temperature necessary to prevent condensation of the process gas, Kaufman enshrouds the gas supply conduit (512, 514) with a heater jacket (528) [0084]. Because Kaufman prescribes heating both the process gases and the substrate support to 500° C (932° F), one of ordinary skill would deem it reasonable to generate a commensurate level of energy via the heating jacket. It should be noted that Bour already suggests a processing temperature, 617° F, very near the claimed threshold of 700° F [0046]. In view of the foregoing, it would have been obvious to incorporate a similarly situated gas heater to achieve the predictable result of regulating the thermal environment of the processing region.
Lastly, regarding the new material, Kaufman’s gas heater (528) directly contacts the topside of the plenum and, therefore, meaningfully imparts thermal energy to the plenum region through conduction. The examiner understands this phenomenon to render obvious the new material, as the heat generated by the gas heater is properly “contained within” the plenum. That is, heating the plenum region by situating the heater inside its boundary, on the one hand, and heating the plenum region via conduction by situating the heater at its boundary, on the other, are equivalent solutions directed toward the same objective, whereby the selection of either is obvious over the other.
Claim 17: As shown by Figure 6, the Vellaikal’s vents are arrayed linearly in the width direction.
Claim 18: Vellaikal provides at least four rows, but each row comprises only five vents rather than six. Even so, the effort to provide one additional vent would have been within the scope of ordinary skill, since as it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8).
Claim 19: Assuming that each module comprises the same vented barrier, the vent density at the first opening will necessarily be higher than at the second opening.
Claim 20: Vellaikal’s vents are circular rather than rectangular, but modifying the opening’s shape is a matter ordinary skill – a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Dailey, MPEP 3144.04, 357 F.2nd 669, 149 USPQ 1966).
Claim 21: Vellaikal is silent regarding the matter of aspect ratio, but this is a result-effective variable affecting matters of flow rate. As such, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to assess various ratios during routine experimentation. Further, Determining the optimal value of a result-effective variable is within the scope of ordinary skill (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215, CCPA 1980).
Claim 22: Figure 6A of Vellaikal depicts vents that are uniform in size.
Claim 23: Given that Bour’s apparatus operates at elevated temperatures, the vented barrier must necessarily be formed of a “high temperature material” in order to remain functional.
Claim 24: As shown by Figure 4E of Bour, each module comprises its own fluid inlet (760) and heat exchanger (714) [0048]. As operator can control these systems to create an “independently conditioned atmosphere” – it has been held that claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959)).
Claims 28, 31: The type of gas supplied is a matter of intended use, where evidence of the prior art’s capacity to reproduce a claimed functional recitation is sufficient to satisfy the threshold for rejection – a recitation concerning the manner in which a claimed apparatus is to be employed does not differentiate the apparatus from prior art satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex parte Masham 2, USPQ2D 1647). An operator can simply charge the gas supply canister with any species of fluid.
Claim 29: Absent further clarification, any one of Bour’s heating mechanisms can be taken as the claimed “thermal processing furnace.” Necessarily, any component within the processing apparatus is “operatively connected” to any other component contained within the same.
Claim 30: Necessarily, the composite prior art apparatus is capable of mixing an incoming atmosphere from one end of the system with a conditioned atmosphere from the module. The standard of mixing availed by the claim is “sufficient,” and it is the Office’s position that the prior art satisfies this threshold.
Claim 32: Because each of Bour’s modules are arrayed linearly without a barrier therebetween, each opening is “operatively connected” to every other opening.
Claim 33: Bour provides a conduit (120a), i.e., the “exhaust system,” for evacuating an effluent [0029].
Claim 34: By using the verb “may,” the claim expresses an optional contingency. Because it is optional, the prior art need not satisfy said contingency.
Claims 35-36: The claim set does not attribute lateral structural boundaries to the modules; rather, a given module is bounded by arbitrary first and second openings that are simply volumes of space. Simply by delimiting the volume of space attributed to one module differently from the volume attributed to another module is sufficient to satisfy the limitations of these claims.
Claim 37: The operate can regulate the thermal output of each respective heater within successive reaction zones to progressively increase zone temperature. As noted above, Kaufman controls the gas heater to generate temperatures near 1,000° F, which is short of the claimed threshold of 1,500° F. However, simply increasing the capacity and/or output of the heating mechanism to raise the temperature further is within the scope of ordinary skill, since applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results is obvious.
Claim 38: The matter of “oxidation potential” can be regulated via the intended use of the apparatus, such as regulating the pressure, atmospheric composition, and temperature appropriately. The prior art apparatus is capable of manipulating each of these characteristics as directed by an operator.
Claim 39: The composite prior art apparatus is capable of accommodating and supplying each of the enumerated chemical species – it has been held that claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959)).
Claim 40: The prior art apparatus can be controlled such that the effluent does not contain hydrocarbons; for instance, the types of gases supplied to the process chamber can be selected such that their resultant interactions do not generate hydrocarbons.
Conclusion
The following prior art is made of record as being pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, yet is not formally relied upon: Harada et al., US 4,913,090. Harada discloses a processing apparatus comprising a plurality of heat treatment modules (21), a reaction zone (23) having first and second openings, a conveyor system (30), a plenum situated above the reaction zone, and a gas supply (4, 41ff; Fig. 5A).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATHAN K FORD whose telephone number is (571)270-1880. The examiner can normally be reached on 11-7:30 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, can be reached at 571 272 1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571 273 8300.
/N. K. F./
Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/KARLA A MOORE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716