DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application No. 2018/0337073 to Hoffman et al.
In regards to Claim 1, Hoffman teaches a method of treating workpieces or of manufacturing treated workpieces (Claims 1-20) thereby providing: a number of slit pockets 135 each dimensioned to accommodate a single of said workpieces 125 therein, and comprising first loading workpieces subsequently in time and with a time lag between subsequent first loadings into first slit pockets of said number of slit pockets and performing treatment of said workpieces loaded subsequently in time in said first slit pockets (first slip pockets of slots 1-3, [0031-0032]), thereby selecting said first slit pockets by skipping second slit pockets 4-6 between first slit pockets; and, thereafter, second loading workpieces subsequently in time (when the first slit pockets are occupied, [0036]) and with a time lag between subsequent second loadings into second slit pockets of said number of slit pockets having been skipped by said first loading (as when the slots of 103 are full slots 4-6 are then loaded [0036]) and performing treatment of said workpieces loaded subsequently in time in said second slit pockets (thermal treatment, along a certain time, or annealing period [0029]); unloading subsequently in time and with a time lag between subsequent unloadings (unloading based on remaining processing time and transferring substrate out of chamber [0037-0038]), workpieces from said first and from said second slit pockets treatment of said workpieces being unloaded having been completed (as result of finished processing, [0042-0049; 0005-0048], see also Fig. 1, 3 for methodology).
In regards to Claim 2, Hoffman teaches unloading by unloading a workpiece having been completely treated from respective slit pockets of said first and said second slit pockets and performing, directly succeedingly to said unloading, said first and second loadings respectively into said slit pockets having been freed by said unloading [0042-0048].
In regards to Claim 11, Hoffman teaches said treatment is a thermal treatment [0019-0020].
In regards to Claim 12, Hoffman teaches minimizing heat exchange between workpieces just having been loaded and workpieces just being completely treated by said first and second loadings, as it prevents heat loss from the interior volume during transfer [0027].
In regards to Claims 13 and 14, Hoffman teaches that minimizing the extent of handling paths for loading and unloading of workpieces by said unloading a workpiece having been completely treated from respective slit pockets of said first and said second slit pockets and by performing, directly succeedingly to said unloading, said first and second loadings respectively into said slit pockets having been freed by said unloading, as Hoffman teaches sequencing of the elevator for improving throughput and calculating loading and unloading and elevator movement (see Fig. 3; [0016-0048]).
In regards to Claims 15 and 16, Hoffman teaches that number of slit pockets are arranged to form a stack of slit pockets, as shown in Fig. 1.
In regards to Claim 17, Hoffman teaches providing more of said slit pockets than said number of slit pockets, as shown in Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2018/0337073 to Hoffman et al.
The teachings of Hoffman are relied upon as set forth in the above 102 rejection.
In regards to Claims 3 and 4, Hoffman teaches selecting said time lag between subsequent first loadings, said time lag between subsequent second loadings and said time lag between subsequent unloadings are calculated and dependent on transfer time, processing time in stations outside of 100, available slots, and annealing/heating time that change to improve heat loss and overall throughput [0027, 0001-0048]. Thus, the time lag between loadings and unloadings are a result effective variable for improving processing efficiency.
Hoffman does not expressly teach that these time lags are equal.
However, because the time lag is a result effective variable that is based on a calculation for loading and unloading based on processing and annealing times and the availability of a slot, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the time lag to improve processing efficiency and thus changed the time lag to be equal.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of Hoffmans expressly teach the values, and thus the ranges of time lags, are result effective variables for improving processing efficiency such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the ranges is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claims 5 and 6, Hoffman teaches time lag is selected in dependency of a workpiece throughput to be achieved, as it is calculated and dependent on transfer time, processing time in stations outside of 100, available slots, and annealing/heating time that change to improve heat loss and overall throughput, as per the rejections of Claims 3 and 4 above.
In regards to Claims 7, 8, 9, and 10, Hoffman teaches comprising selecting a treatment time span for complete treatment of said workpieces and determining said number in dependency of the extent of said time lags and of said selected treatment time span for complete treatment, as it is calculated and dependent on transfer time, processing time in stations outside of 100, available slots, and annealing/heating time that change to improve heat loss and overall throughput, as per the rejections of Claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 above.
In regards to Claim 18, Hoffman teaches selecting a treatment time span for completing treatment of said workpieces and selecting said time lags in dependency of a desired throughput of completely treated workpieces, as it is calculated and dependent on transfer time, processing time in stations outside of 100, available slots, and annealing/heating time that change to improve heat loss and overall throughput, as per the rejections of Claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 above, and further selecting said number to be at least equal to a quotient of said treatment time span and of said time lags, rounded to the next higher integer, as the calculations are used to optimize the availability of time slots, the through put, and the treatment times implicitly.
In regards to Claim 19, Hoffman teaches a method of treating workpieces or of manufacturing treated workpieces (Claims 1-20) thereby providing: a number of slit pockets 135 each dimensioned to accommodate a single of said workpieces 125 therein, and comprising first loading workpieces subsequently in time and with a time lag between subsequent first loadings into first slit pockets of said number of slit pockets and performing treatment of said workpieces loaded subsequently in time in said first slit pockets (first slip pockets of slots 1-3, [0031-0032]), thereby selecting said first slit pockets by skipping second slit pockets 4-6 between first slit pockets; and, thereafter, second loading workpieces subsequently in time (when the first slit pockets are occupied, [0036]) and with a time lag between subsequent second loadings into second slit pockets of said number of slit pockets having been skipped by said first loading (as when the slots of 103 are full slots 4-6 are then loaded [0036]) and performing treatment of said workpieces loaded subsequently in time in said second slit pockets (thermal treatment, along a certain time, or annealing period [0029]); unloading subsequently in time and with a time lag between subsequent unloadings (unloading based on remaining processing time and transferring substrate out of chamber [0037-0038]), workpieces from said first and from said second slit pockets treatment of said workpieces being unloaded having been completed (as result of finished processing, [0042-0049; 0005-0048], see also Fig. 1, 3 for methodology).
Hoffman teaches that minimizing the extent of handling paths for loading and unloading of workpieces by said unloading a workpiece having been completely treated from respective slit pockets of said first and said second slit pockets and by performing, directly succeedingly to said unloading, said first and second loadings respectively into said slit pockets having been freed by said unloading, as Hoffman teaches sequencing of the elevator for improving throughput and calculating loading and unloading and elevator movement (see Fig. 3; [0016-0048]).
Hoffman teaches selecting said time lag between subsequent first loadings, said time lag between subsequent second loadings and said time lag between subsequent unloadings are calculated and dependent on transfer time, processing time in stations outside of 100, available slots, and annealing/heating time that change to improve heat loss and overall throughput [0027, 0001-0048]. Thus, the time lag between loadings and unloadings are a result effective variable for improving processing efficiency.
Hoffman does not expressly teach that these time lags are equal.
However, because the time lag is a result effective variable that is based on a calculation for loading and unloading based on processing and annealing times and the availability of a slot, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the time lag to improve processing efficiency and thus changed the time lag to be equal.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of Hoffmans expressly teach the values, and thus the ranges of time lags, are result effective variables for improving processing efficiency such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the ranges is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. United States Patent Application No. 2006/0223334 to Saki which is drawn to processing times and transfers.
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716