DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of inventive group I in the reply filed on 6/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-17 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“manipulation source is configured to provide a manipulation signal” in claim 18, which is interpreted in accordance with the disclosure to refer to a laser; and
“optical element is configured to cause the manipulation signal to be incident on the metasurface” in claim 18, which is interpreted in accordance with the disclosure to refer to lenses, mirrors, waveguides, and fiber optic cables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, 18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 18 recite, “a plurality of electrodes configured to define a confinement volume configured to confine one or more quantum objects therein, a plurality of quantum object positions defined within the confinement volume.”
The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.
While there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 262, 191 USPQ 90, 96 (CCPA 1976), a question as to whether a specification provides an adequate written description may arise in the context of an original claim. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc).
In the instant case, the claim defines the invention by functional language specifying a desired result to be obtained from the processor, namely “a confinement volume configured to confine one or more quantum objects therein.” The disclosure explains that the quantum objects may be “an atom and/or ion, neutral or ionic molecule, quantum particle, quantum dot, and/or other objects whose respective quantum state is controllable via application of manipulation signals.” Instant PgPub para 35. However, the disclosure fails to explain how the claimed confinement volume may be created for any “quantum object” other than an ion. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize that the applicant had possession of a “confinement volume configured to confine” an atom, a neutral molecule, a quantum particle, a quantum dot, or any other qubit modality that is not a trapped ion. Since one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention, the claims are rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites, “where the one or more metamaterial structures can be used as a transparent electrode for a photoactive device.” It is unclear what is meant by the above “use” limitation since no explanation is provided as to the context of such a capability. It is not even evident that such a “use” requires the rest of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites, “the metamaterial structures contain tunable properties related to variable free carrier concentration.” No explanation is provided for the meaning of “related” in the above limitation. Further, the specification sheds no light on this limitation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have no way to determine whether properties of a given metamaterial structure were “related” in the claimed fashion, because the degree and quality of the claimed relationship are left totally unexplained. As such, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites, “wherein the one or more metasurface comprises of ITO materials used as truncated waveguides.” The combination of unusual grammar and the “used as” limitation of claim 14 make it entirely unclear what structure is being claimed. The specification offers no clarification. As such, the claim is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0410266 A1 [Saffman] in view of US 2012/0327502 A1 [Zheludev].
Regarding Claim 1:
Saffman teaches a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising (abstract),
a plurality of electrodes configured to define a confinement volume configured to confine one or more quantum objects therein, a plurality of quantum object positions defined within the confinement volume (Fig. 1 (104)); and
one or more metasurfaces, each metasurface of the one or more metasurfaces associated with a respective quantum object position of the plurality of quantum object positions (para 55- metamaterial).
However, Saffman does not specify that the metasurface comprises a transparent conducting oxide.
Zheludev describes a tunable metamaterial made with indium tin oxide, which is a transparent conducting oxide. Para 48. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the tunable metamaterial of Zheludev as the metasurface of Saffman. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow for the tuning of the metasurface to provide desired optical controls. Zheludev para 12.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the metasurface comprises a two-dimensional array of metamaterial structures comprising the transparent conducting oxide. Zheludev para 61, Fig. 8a-i.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 3, wherein the two-dimensional array of metamaterial structures is configured to enable at least one of (a) phase control or (b) wavefront shaping of an induced beam provided by the metasurface. Zheludev para 12.
Regarding Claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 3, wherein the transparent conducting oxide is disposed at least on respective surfaces of a plurality of metamaterial structures of the two-dimensional array of metamaterial structures. Zheludev paras 48, 61, 74.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of metamaterial structures is a pillar extending from a surface of the quantum object confinement device a distance in a range of 0.5 nm to 1 μm. See Zheludev Fig. 10a.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more metamaterial structures comprise a dielectric material. Zheludev paras 75, 85.
Regarding Claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more metamaterial structures comprises a core comprising the dielectric material and the core is enveloped within a shell comprising the transparent conducting oxide. Zheludev Fig. 9b, as described in para 87.
Regarding Claim 11:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 9, where the one or more metamaterial structures can be used as a transparent electrode for a photoactive device. One could use a tunable metasurface as a photoactive device.
Regarding Claim 13:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the conducting transparent oxide is indium tin oxide (ITO). Zheludev paras 48, 74.
Regarding Claim 14:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more metasurface comprises of ITO materials used as truncated waveguides. Zheludev Figs. 8a-i demonstrate ITO materials in a metasurface.
Regarding Claim 21:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 1, wherein a metasurface of the one or more metasurfaces comprises an array of metamaterial structures that comprises at least one of (a) positive metamaterial structures of (b) negative metamaterial structures. Zheludev para 61.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0410266 A1 [Saffman] in view of US 2012/0327502 A1 [Zheludev] as applied to claim 8, and further in view of US 2020/0166783 A1 [Roy].
Regarding Claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum object confinement apparatus of claim 8, but fails to teach that the dielectric material comprises titanium dioxide.
Roy teaches a metasurface (abstract) comprising a dielectric, wherein the dielectric comprises titanium dioxide. Para 33. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the titanium dioxide of Roy as the dielectric of Zheludev. One would have been motivated to do so since Roy shows titanium dioxide is an effective dielectric for metasurfaces.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0348251 A1 [Monroe] in view of US 2012/0327502 A1 [Zheludev].
Regarding Claim 18:
Monroe teaches a quantum computer (para 122) comprising:
a quantum object confinement apparatus comprising of:
a plurality of electrodes configured to define a confinement volume configured to confine one or more quantum objects therein, a plurality of quantum object positions defined within the confinement volume (Fig. 3, paras 64-65); and
at least one manipulation source wherein the at least one manipulation source is configured to provide a manipulation signal (laser in Fig. 12, para 50); and
at least one optical element (Fig. 12 – optical fiber), wherein the at least one optical element is configured to cause the manipulation signal to be incident on a modulator such that the modulator causes an induced beam to be incident on the respective quantum object position (para 51).
However, Monroe fails to teach that the modulator includes one or more metasurfaces, each metasurface of the one or more metasurfaces associated with a respective quantum object position of the plurality of quantum object positions, wherein the metasurface comprises a transparent conducting oxide;
Zheludev teaches a modulator includes one or more metasurfaces (Figs. 16, 20; paras 120, 124), the metasurface associated with a position, wherein the metasurface comprises a transparent conducting oxide (Para 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the tunable metamaterial modulator of Zheludev as the modulator of Monroe. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow for the tuning of the metasurface to provide desired optical controls. Zheludev para 12.
Regarding Claim 20:
The above modified invention teaches the quantum computer of claim 18, wherein the metasurface is formed by a plurality of metamaterial structures, at least an outer surface of each of the plurality of metamaterial structures formed of the transparent conducting oxide. Zheludev paras 48, 61, 74., Fig. 8a-i.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7,447,719 B2 describes a quantum computer.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881