Attorney Docket Number: 413514-US01/8103
Filing Date: 8/23/2023
Inventors: Agarwal et al.
Examiner: Thomas McCoy
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the application filed 8/23/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites the limitation “…wherein each of the second set of bumps is associated with a second active circuitry, different from the first active circuitry…”. This is contradictory to the earlier line of the claim “…wherein each of the second set of bumps is associated with a first active circuitry…”. For the purposes of examination, “…wherein each of the second set of bumps is associated with a second active circuitry, different from the first active circuitry…” will be interpreted as “…wherein each of the third set of bumps is associated with a second active circuitry, different from the first active circuitry…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 11855028 B2) in view of Sun (US 20230384367 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a method comprising:
Forming (1) a first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) on a substrate (e.g., semiconductor substrate 101) of a wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein the first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) is formed in accordance with a specified first diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “…the conductive bumps 125 are C4 bumps having a width between about 32 μm and about 80 μm”) and (2) a first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) of the wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein each of the first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) is formed in accordance with a specified second diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “the conductive bumps 127 are μ-bumps having a width (e.g., measured between opposing sidewalls) between, e.g., about 3 μm and about 30 μm…”).
Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A), however, fails to show using the first bump; probing a portion of the wafer that is associated with one or more of the first set of bumps; removing material associated with both the first bump and the first set of bumps to allow for re-formation of bumps in place of the first bump and the first set of bumps; and forming: (1) a second set of bumps, in place of the first bump, wherein each of the second set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter, and (2) a third set of bumps, in place of the first set of bumps, wherein each of the third set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter.
Sun (see, e.g., figs. 7D-7F), in a similar method to Yang, teaches probing (see, e.g., paragraph 64 “After forming the temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752, probing may be conducted through the temporary test solder caps 750 and/or through the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752”) solder material (e.g., temporary test solder caps 750 + temporary micro-bump solder caps 752), removing the solder material (see, e.g., paragraph 65 “…temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump caps 752 may be removed”), and forming solder bumps (e.g., first solder bump 744 + second solder bump 749) in place of the removed solder caps (e.g., note that first solder bump 744 + second bump 749 were formed in the same location as temporary test solder cap 750 + temporary micro-bump solder cap 752, respectively).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the bump probing and bump material removal of Sun within the method of Yang, in order to test the electrical functionality of the bumps, then removing the bump material in order to clear space for a new set of bumps (e.g., first set of bumps, replacing original first set of bumps – hereinafter third set of micro-bumps (note this new third set is identical to the first, so it also comprises the second specified diameter)). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to duplicate the first set of bumps into the now large, empty conductive pad region of Yang in order to increase the interconnect density within the wafer, enabling finer pitch interconnects and increasing the connections per unit area, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP 2144.04. Note that this duplicated set of micro-bumps (hereinafter, second set of bumps), possesses the specified second diameter, as did the original first set of bumps the second set was duplicated from.
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Sun teaches wherein each one of the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) and the third set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad regions 119B) comprises a micro-bump (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Sun teaches wherein each one of the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) and the third set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad regions 119B) is formed in accordance with the same height (see, e.g., annotated fig. 1 below, note that the duplicated sets of bumps possess the same physical characteristics).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Sun teaches forming the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) comprises forming multiple micro-bumps (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”) to maintain a large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) and a contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying (e.g., note that the duplicated first set of bumps 127 was duplicated onto the conductive pad region 119A) the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Chen (US 20220352103 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Sun fails to teach wherein removing the material associated with both the first bump and the first set of bumps comprises polishing, cutting, or grinding the material.
Chen (see, e.g., paragraph 17), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun, teaches removing a material associated with a solder bump comprises grinding the material (see, e.g., paragraph 17 “The solder bump may be removed by top die grinding…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grinding of Chen within the method of Yang in view of Sun, as grinding was a well-known technique at the time of filing the invention in order to remove bump material, as taught by Chen.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Oura (US 20160190022 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yang (see, e.g., fig, 8A) shows that the contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) comprises copper (see, e.g., paragraph 25 “The conductive pads 119 and the conductive lines 118 may comprise an electrically conductive material, such as copper or copper alloy”).
Yang in view of Sun, however, fails to teach explicitly teach wherein the large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps and the contact pad underlying the micro-bumps is configured to mitigate effects of any electromigration-induced damage.
Oura (see, e.g., paragraph 37), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun, teaches that copper is a known material to mitigate the effects of electromigration-induced damage within conductive material (see, e.g., paragraphs 34 “As a countermeasure against electromigration, in the electrode pad, copper (Cu) or the like is contained in the aluminum (Al)” or paragraph 37 “To improve electromigration resistance, copper (Cu) or the like is introduced into the electrically conductive material”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention that the electromigration resistance characteristics within the copper of Oura would be included within the copper contact pads of Yang in view of Sun, as this was a well-known material characteristic of copper at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Oura.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Shakya (US 20230314479 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Sun fails to teach wherein none of the first set of bumps, the second set of bumps, or the third set of bumps is probed using a sacrificial pad formed on the wafer.
Shakya (see, e.g., fig. 8), in a similar method to Yan in view of Sun, teaches probing a set of bumps (see, e.g., step 805 of fig. 8) without using a sacrificial pad (see, e.g., paragraphs 41-43 “…providing the inspection tool with a probe head including a probe card with a plurality of probes…for which the first set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a first type of signal and the second set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a second type of signal.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the probing method of Shakya within the method of Yang in view of Sun during probing (before removing the bump material, per Sun), as the signal probing method of Shakya was a well-known technique for testing bump conductivity at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Shakya.
Claims 8-10, 12, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay (US 20210134759 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a method comprising:
Forming (1) a first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) on a substrate (e.g., semiconductor substrate 101) of a wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein the first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) is formed in accordance with a specified first diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “…the conductive bumps 125 are C4 bumps having a width between about 32 μm and about 80 μm”) and (2) a first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) of the wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein each of the first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) is formed in accordance with a specified second diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “the conductive bumps 127 are μ-bumps having a width (e.g., measured between opposing sidewalls) between, e.g., about 3 μm and about 30 μm…”).
Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A), however, fails to show using the first bump; probing a portion of the wafer that is associated with one or more of the first set of bumps; forming a protective layer over the first bump and the first set of bumps, removing material associated with both the first bump and the first set of bumps to allow for re-formation of bumps in place of the first bump and the first set of bumps; and forming: (1) a second set of bumps, in place of the first bump, wherein each of the second set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter, and (2) a third set of bumps, in place of the first set of bumps, wherein each of the third set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter.
Sun (see, e.g., figs. 7D-7F), in a similar method to Yang, teaches probing (see, e.g., paragraph 64 “After forming the temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752, probing may be conducted through the temporary test solder caps 750 and/or through the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752”) bump material (e.g., temporary test solder caps 750 + temporary micro-bump solder caps 752), removing the bump material (see, e.g., paragraph 65 “…temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752 may be removed”), and forming solder bumps (e.g., first solder bump 744 + second solder bump 749) in place of the removed solder caps (e.g., note that first solder bump 744 + second bump 749 were formed in the same location as temporary test solder cap 750 + temporary micro-bump solder cap 752, respectively).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the bump probing and bump material removal of Sun within the method of Yang, in order to test the electrical functionality of the bumps, then removing the bump material in order to clear space for a new set of bumps (e.g., first set of bumps, replacing original first set of bumps – hereinafter third set of micro-bumps (note this new third set is identical to the first, so it also comprises the second specified diameter)). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to duplicate the first set of bumps into the now large, empty conductive pad region of Yang in order to increase the interconnect density within the wafer, enabling finer pitch interconnects and increasing the connections per unit area, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP 2144.04. Note that this duplicated set of micro-bumps (hereinafter, second set of bumps), possesses the specified second diameter, as did the original first set of bumps the second set was duplicated from.
Yang in view of Sun, however, fails to teach forming a protective layer over the bump and the first set of bumps, and then removing the protective layer.
Fay (see, e.g., fig. 4), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun, teaches a protective layer (e.g., external layer 118 + paragraph 39 “The external layer 118 can be a protective layer that reduces the risk of damage to the pillars 115…”) over a set of conductive pillars (e.g., pillars 115), and then removing (see, e.g., paragraph 39 “The exterior layer or coating 118 may include various materials that permit the probing of a pillar 115 that may be removed by subsequent processing”) the protective layer (e.g., external layer 118 + paragraph 39 “The external layer 118 can be a protective layer that reduces the risk of damage to the pillars 115…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the protective layer of Fay over the original first bump configuration of Yang in view of Sun, in order to protect the bumps before eventual removal and replacement (see paragraph 39 of Fay).
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Sun teaches wherein each one of the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) and the third set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad regions 119B) comprises a micro-bump (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Sun teaches wherein each one of the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) and the third set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad regions 119B) is formed in accordance with the same height (see, e.g., annotated fig. 2 below, note that the duplicated sets of bumps possess the same physical characteristics).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Sun teaches forming the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) comprises forming multiple micro-bumps (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”) to maintain a large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) and a contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying (e.g., note that the duplicated first set of bumps 127 was duplicated onto the conductive pad region 119A) the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127).
Regarding claim 15, Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A) shows most aspects of the instant invention, including a method comprising:
Forming (1) a first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) on a substrate (e.g., semiconductor substrate 101) of a wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein the first bump (e.g., conductive bump 125) is formed in accordance with a specified first diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “…the conductive bumps 125 are C4 bumps having a width between about 32 μm and about 80 μm”) and (2) a first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) of the wafer (e.g., semiconductor device 100 + paragraph 11 “The semiconductor device 100 may be a device wafer…”), wherein each of the first set of bumps (e.g., conductive bumps 127) is formed in accordance with a specified second diameter (see, e.g., paragraph 33 “the conductive bumps 127 are μ-bumps having a width (e.g., measured between opposing sidewalls) between, e.g., about 3 μm and about 30 μm…”).
Yang (see, e.g., fig. 8A), however, fails to show using the first bump; probing a portion of the wafer that is associated with one or more of the first set of bumps; forming a protective layer over the first bump and the first set of bumps, removing material associated with both the first bump and the first set of bumps to allow for re-formation of bumps in place of the first bump and the first set of bumps; and forming: (1) a second set of bumps, in place of the first bump, wherein each of the second set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter and a specified first height, and (2) a third set of bumps, in place of the first set of bumps, wherein each of the third set of bumps is formed in accordance with the specified second diameter and the specified first height, and wherein each of the third set of bumps is associated with a second active circuitry, different from the first active circuitry, formed as part of the wafer.
Sun (see, e.g., figs. 7D-7F), in a similar method to Yang, teaches probing (see, e.g., paragraph 64 “After forming the temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752, probing may be conducted through the temporary test solder caps 750 and/or through the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752”) solder material (e.g., temporary test solder caps 750 + temporary micro-bump solder caps 752), removing the solder material (see, e.g., paragraph 65 “…temporary test solder caps 750 and the temporary micro-bump solder caps 752 may be removed”), and forming solder bumps (e.g., first solder bump 744 + second solder bump 749) in place of the removed solder caps (e.g., note that first solder bump 744 + second bump 749 were formed in the same location as temporary test solder cap 750 + temporary micro-bump solder cap 752, respectively).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the bump probing and bump material removal of Sun within the method of Yang, in order to test the electrical functionality of the conductive bumps, then removing the bump material in order to clear space for a new set of bumps (e.g., first set of bumps, replacing original first set of bumps – hereinafter third set of micro-bumps (note this new third set is identical to the first, so it also comprises the second specified diameter)). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to duplicate the first set of bumps into the now large, empty conductive pad region of Yang in order to increase the interconnect density within the wafer, enabling finer pitch interconnects and increasing the connections per unit area, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See also MPEP 2144.04. Note that this duplicated set of micro-bumps (hereinafter, second set of bumps), possesses the specified second diameter, as did the original first set of bumps the second set was duplicated from. In addition, note that the second set of bumps and the third set of bumps are formed in accordance with a specified first height (see, e.g., annotated fig. 3 below). In addition, note that the second set of bumps (placed on the large conductive pad region 119A) is associated with a first active circuitry (e.g., conductive lines 105 and vias 107 connected to 119A) and the third set of bumps (placed on the smaller conductive pad regions 119B) is associated with a second active circuitry (e.g., conductive lines and vias 107 connected to 119B).
Annotated Fig. 3
Yang in view of Sun, however, fails to teach forming a protective layer over the bump and the first set of bumps, and then removing the protective layer.
Fay (see, e.g., fig. 4), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun, teaches a protective layer (e.g., external layer 118 + paragraph 39 “The external layer 118 can be a protective layer that reduces the risk of damage to the pillars 115…”) over a set of conductive pillars (e.g., pillars 115), and then removing (see, e.g., paragraph 39 “The exterior layer or coating 118 may include various materials that permit the probing of a pillar 115 that may be removed by subsequent processing”) the protective layer (e.g., external layer 118 + paragraph 39 “The external layer 118 can be a protective layer that reduces the risk of damage to the pillars 115…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the protective layer of Fay over the original first bump configuration of Yang in view of Sun, in order to protect the bumps before eventual removal and replacement (see paragraph 39 of Fay).
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Sun teaches wherein each one of the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) and the third set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad regions 119B) comprises a micro-bump (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Sun teaches forming the second set of bumps (e.g., duplicated first set of bumps 127 in conductive pad region 119A) comprises forming multiple micro-bumps (see, e.g., paragraph 26 “…and micro-bumps (see, e.g., 127 in FIG. 8A)…”) to maintain a large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) and a contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying (e.g., note that the duplicated first set of bumps 127 was duplicated onto the conductive pad region 119A) the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127).
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, Chen, and Li (US 20230012986 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay fails to teach wherein removing the material associated with the protective layer and both the first bump and the first set of bumps comprises polishing, cutting, or grinding the material.
Chen (see, e.g., paragraph 17), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches removing a material associated with a solder bump comprises grinding the material (see, e.g., paragraph 17 “The solder bump may be removed by top die grinding…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grinding of Chen within the method of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, as grinding was a well-known technique at the time of filing the invention in order to remove bump material, as taught by Chen.
Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, however, fails to teach removing the material associated with the protective layer comprises polishing, cutting, or grinding the material.
Li (see, e.g., fig. 6), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, teaches removing a portion of a protective layer (e.g., protective layer 20) comprises grinding (see, e.g., paragraph 69 “Finally, as shown in (c) in FIG. 6, grinding is performed on a surface of the first protective layer 20, to expose the first conductive connector 201.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grinding of Li within the method of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, as grinding was a well-known technique at the time of filing the invention in order to remove protective layer material, as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay fails to teach wherein removing the material associated with the protective layer and both the first bump and the first set of bumps comprises polishing, cutting, or grinding the material.
Chen (see, e.g., paragraph 17), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches removing a material associated with a solder bump comprises grinding the material (see, e.g., paragraph 17 “The solder bump may be removed by top die grinding…”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grinding of Chen within the method of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, as grinding was a well-known technique at the time of filing the invention in order to remove bump material, as taught by Chen.
Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, however, fails to teach removing the material associated with the protective layer comprises polishing, cutting, or grinding the material.
Li (see, e.g., fig. 6), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, teaches removing a portion of a protective layer (e.g., protective layer 20) comprises grinding (see, e.g., paragraph 69 “Finally, as shown in (c) in FIG. 6, grinding is performed on a surface of the first protective layer 20, to expose the first conductive connector 201.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the grinding of Li within the method of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Chen, as grinding was a well-known technique at the time of filing the invention in order to remove protective layer material, as taught by Li.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Oura.
Regarding claim 13, Yang (see, e.g., fig, 8A) in view of Sun teaches that the contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) comprises copper (see, e.g., paragraph 25 “The conductive pads 119 and the conductive lines 118 may comprise an electrically conductive material, such as copper or copper alloy”).
Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, however, fails to teach explicitly teach wherein the large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps and the contact pad underlying the micro-bumps is configured to mitigate effects of any electromigration-induced damage.
Oura (see, e.g., paragraph 37), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches that copper is a known material to mitigate the effects of electromigration-induced damage within conductive material (see, e.g., paragraphs 34 “As a countermeasure against electromigration, in the electrode pad, copper (Cu) or the like is contained in the aluminum (Al)” or paragraph 37 “To improve electromigration resistance, copper (Cu) or the like is introduced into the electrically conductive material”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention that the electromigration resistance characteristics within the copper of Oura would be included within the copper contact pads of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, as this was a well-known material characteristic of copper at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Oura.
Regarding claim 19, Yang (see, e.g., fig, 8A) in view of Sun teaches that the contact pad (e.g., conductive pad region 119A) underlying the micro-bumps (e.g., micro-bumps of duplicated first set of bumps 127) comprises copper (see, e.g., paragraph 25 “The conductive pads 119 and the conductive lines 118 may comprise an electrically conductive material, such as copper or copper alloy”).
Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, however, fails to teach explicitly teach wherein the large contact surface between the multiple micro-bumps and the contact pad underlying the micro-bumps is configured to mitigate effects of any electromigration-induced damage.
Oura (see, e.g., paragraph 37), in a similar method to Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches that copper is a known material to mitigate the effects of electromigration-induced damage within conductive material (see, e.g., paragraphs 34 “As a countermeasure against electromigration, in the electrode pad, copper (Cu) or the like is contained in the aluminum (Al)” or paragraph 37 “To improve electromigration resistance, copper (Cu) or the like is introduced into the electrically conductive material”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention that the electromigration resistance characteristics within the copper of Oura would be included within the copper contact pads of Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay, as this was a well-known material characteristic of copper at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Oura.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay and Shakya.
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay fails to teach wherein none of the first set of bumps, the second set of bumps, or the third set of bumps is probed using a sacrificial pad formed on the wafer.
Shakya (see, e.g., fig. 8), in a similar method to Yan in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches probing a set of bumps (see, e.g., step 805 of fig. 8) without using a sacrificial pad (see, e.g., paragraphs 41-43 “…providing the inspection tool with a probe head including a probe card with a plurality of probes…for which the first set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a first type of signal and the second set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a second type of signal.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the probing method of Shakya within the method of Yang in view of Sun during probing (before removing the bump material, per Sun), as the signal probing method of Shakya was a well-known technique for testing bump conductivity at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Shakya.
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Sun further in view of Fay fails to teach wherein none of the first set of bumps, the second set of bumps, or the third set of bumps is probed using a sacrificial pad formed on the wafer.
Shakya (see, e.g., fig. 8), in a similar method to Yan in view of Sun further in view of Fay, teaches probing a set of bumps (see, e.g., step 805 of fig. 8) without using a sacrificial pad (see, e.g., paragraphs 41-43 “…providing the inspection tool with a probe head including a probe card with a plurality of probes…for which the first set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a first type of signal and the second set of probes contact microbumps providing connectivity for a second type of signal.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to include the probing method of Shakya within the method of Yang in view of Sun during probing (before removing the bump material, per Sun), as the signal probing method of Shakya was a well-known technique for testing bump conductivity at the time of filing the invention, as taught by Shakya.
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/Thomas McCoy/
_______________________
Thomas McCoy
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2814
571-272-0282
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814