DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUETSUGU (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220133063 “Suetsugu”) in view of Zhang (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220319087 “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1 Suetsugu teaches A method (Fig. 2 “[0027] The server 10 includes, as hardware, a CPU, a storage device including RAM, ROM, and hard disk, a communication interface that enables communication through the communication network 30, and input/output interfaces such as a keyboard and a display”) comprising:
collecting data for a real-world object, wherein the collected data indicates one or more physical characteristics of the real-world object (“[0032] Methods for generating the clothing 3D data representing the three-dimensional shape of the clothing include a method of directly three-dimensionally scanning the clothing, inputting obtained scan data to the server 10”);
creating, with a computing system, a three-dimensional (3D) object based on some portion of the collected data, wherein the 3D object has a format compatible with a 3D graphics platform (“[0031] A clothing 3D generator 12 generates clothing 3D data representing a three-dimensional shape of clothing, using computer graphics. The “clothing” here include all clothing that the mannequin can wear, such as a hat, glasses, a mask, earphones, a bag, a ring, an accessory, shoes, a muffler, a scarf, gloves, a belt, and a wallet. [0035]….. For example, a function called “cloth simulation” of the existing open source software “Blender” may be used”);
obtaining, with the computing system, physics simulation data associated with the 3D object moving within the 3D graphics platform (“[0035]….. a method of placing the clothing on the mannequin in a natural manner by executing a physics engine between a cloth, paper pattern, or the like and the mannequin 3D data and then sewing the clothing and the cloth, paper pattern, or the like together, and a method of, with respect to clothing that fits the body, such as underwear, generating data by drawing a line on the mannequin, a body for draping, or the like and adding thickness. [0036] When generating the wearing 3D data representing the state in which the mannequin is wearing the clothing, the clothing physical properties input unit 131 represents the deformation of the clothing by inputting the physical properties of the clothing. Examples of the physical properties of the clothing include the mass, tensile stress, shearing stress, compressive stress, bending stress, and the like of the clothing”);
However Suetsugu is silent about updating, with the computing system, a model file associated with the 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within the 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on the obtained physics simulation data;
Zhang teaches updating, with a computing system, a model file associated with a 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within a 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on obtained physics simulation data (“[0063]…. The character animation files for each virtual character used in a video game may be generated using some of the modules provided by the game engine 300, such as animation engine 300e, physics engine 300a, sound engine 300c, scripting 300d, artificial intelligence 300f, scene graphics 300k, etc. [0067] The animation files for the virtual character C1 retrieved from the character animation files 302a are then executed—i.e., applied to the modified rig MR1. The animation file execution engine 315d is configured to detect the modified rig MR1 with the applied virtual markers generated for the virtual character C1 and execute the animation files using the modified rig MR1. [0058]…. Some example animation processors 315 that can be used for re-mastering animation files include Maya™ (Autodesk), 3ds Max (Autodesk), Blender™ (The Blender Foundation), or Flash™ (Adobe). The animation processor 315 is not restricted to the aforementioned list but can use other animation processors that are well-known in the industry or that are newly developed”);
Suetsugu and Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu by updating, with a computing system, a model file associated with a 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within a 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on obtained physics simulation data as taught by Zhang and use that with Suetsugu’s computing environment.
The motivation for the above is to create file that can be used by any client or server having a graphics platform.
Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the model file, when executed by a rendering engine, generates a rendering of the 3D object according to one or more animations based on the obtained physics data (Zhang “[0072]….. . The game engine retrieves the re-mastered animation files from the game files datastore 330 along with scene animation files 304a for the virtual scenes 303 and other game content and makes it available to the game code, during runtime, for generating the gameplay data. Depending on the context of the gameplay of the video game, appropriate animation files of the virtual character is retrieved by the game engine and made available to the game code to generate the gameplay data……The gameplay data with the improved graphics of the virtual characters of the video game are forwarded to the client devices of the users for rendering”).
Regarding claim 18 Suetsugu teaches A system comprising: one or more processing devices to perform operations (Fig. 2 “[0027] The server 10 includes, as hardware, a CPU, a storage device including RAM, ROM, and hard disk, a communication interface that enables communication through the communication network 30, and input/output interfaces such as a keyboard and a display”) comprising:
collecting data for a real-world object, wherein the collected data indicates one or more physical characteristics of the real-world object (“[0032] Methods for generating the clothing 3D data representing the three-dimensional shape of the clothing include a method of directly three-dimensionally scanning the clothing, inputting obtained scan data to the server 10”);
creating, with a computing system, a three-dimensional (3D) object based on some portion of the collected data, wherein the 3D object has a format compatible with a 3D graphics platform (“[0031] A clothing 3D generator 12 generates clothing 3D data representing a three-dimensional shape of clothing, using computer graphics. The “clothing” here include all clothing that the mannequin can wear, such as a hat, glasses, a mask, earphones, a bag, a ring, an accessory, shoes, a muffler, a scarf, gloves, a belt, and a wallet. [0035]….. For example, a function called “cloth simulation” of the existing open source software “Blender” may be used”);
obtaining, with the computing system, physics simulation data associated with the 3D object moving within the 3D graphics platform (“[0035]….. a method of placing the clothing on the mannequin in a natural manner by executing a physics engine between a cloth, paper pattern, or the like and the mannequin 3D data and then sewing the clothing and the cloth, paper pattern, or the like together, and a method of, with respect to clothing that fits the body, such as underwear, generating data by drawing a line on the mannequin, a body for draping, or the like and adding thickness. [0036] When generating the wearing 3D data representing the state in which the mannequin is wearing the clothing, the clothing physical properties input unit 131 represents the deformation of the clothing by inputting the physical properties of the clothing. Examples of the physical properties of the clothing include the mass, tensile stress, shearing stress, compressive stress, bending stress, and the like of the clothing”);
However Suetsugu is silent about updating, with the computing system, a model file associated with the 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within the 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on the obtained physics simulation data;
Zhang teaches updating, with a computing system, a model file associated with a 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within a 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on obtained physics simulation data (“[0063]…. The character animation files for each virtual character used in a video game may be generated using some of the modules provided by the game engine 300, such as animation engine 300e, physics engine 300a, sound engine 300c, scripting 300d, artificial intelligence 300f, scene graphics 300k, etc. [0067] The animation files for the virtual character C1 retrieved from the character animation files 302a are then executed—i.e., applied to the modified rig MR1. The animation file execution engine 315d is configured to detect the modified rig MR1 with the applied virtual markers generated for the virtual character C1 and execute the animation files using the modified rig MR1. [0058]…. Some example animation processors 315 that can be used for re-mastering animation files include Maya™ (Autodesk), 3ds Max (Autodesk), Blender™ (The Blender Foundation), or Flash™ (Adobe). The animation processor 315 is not restricted to the aforementioned list but can use other animation processors that are well-known in the industry or that are newly developed”);
Suetsugu and Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu by updating, with a computing system, a model file associated with a 3D object to include image rendering data associated with rendering a movement of the 3D object within a 3D graphics platform, based at least in part on obtained physics simulation data as taught by Zhang and use that with Suetsugu’s computing environment.
The motivation for the above is to create a file that can be used by any client or server having a graphics platform.
Claim 20 is directed to a device claim (Suetsugu Fig. 2 “[0027] The server 10 includes, as hardware, a CPU, a storage device including RAM, ROM, and hard disk, a communication interface that enables communication through the communication network 30, and input/output interfaces such as a keyboard and a display”) and its scope and functions are similar in scope and functions performed by the system claim 18 and therefore claim 20 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 3 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the obtained physics simulation data corresponds to one or more physical positions associated with the real-world object based on a simulated physical behavior of the real-world object (Suetsugu’s object has one or more positions “[0035] Examples of a method for generating the wearing 3D data include a method of combining the already generated clothing 3D data and mannequin 3D data, a method of placing the clothing on the mannequin in a natural manner by executing a physics engine between a cloth, paper pattern, or the like and the mannequin 3D data and then sewing the clothing and the cloth, paper pattern, or the like together, and a method of, with respect to clothing that fits the body, such as underwear, generating data by drawing a line on the mannequin, a body for draping, or the like and adding thickness”).
Regarding claim 4 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the simulated physical behavior of the real-world object corresponds to at least one of a motion behavior associated with the real-world object or a draping behavior associated with the real-world object (Suetsugu “[0018]……. a method of, with respect to clothing that fits the body, such as underwear, generating data by drawing a line from a body for draping and floating the thickness of a textile or the like, and others”).
Regarding claim 5 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches providing the collected data for the real-world object as input to a physics simulation engine, wherein the physics simulation engine is configured to generate the physics simulation data associated with the real-world object based on the simulated physical behavior of the real-world object in view at least one of soft-body dynamics or rigid-body dynamics associated with the real-world object. (Suetsugu “[0035] Examples of a method for generating the wearing 3D data include a method of combining the already generated clothing 3D data and mannequin 3D data, a method of placing the clothing on the mannequin in a natural manner by executing a physics engine between a cloth, paper pattern, or the like.[0036] The wearing 3D generator 13 includes a clothing physical properties input unit 131 and a use mannequin determination unit 132. When generating the wearing 3D data representing the state in which the mannequin is wearing the clothing, the clothing physical properties input unit 131 represents the deformation of the clothing by inputting the physical properties of the clothing. Examples of the physical properties of the clothing include the mass, tensile stress, shearing stress, compressive stress, bending stress, and the like of the clothing”).
Regarding claim 6 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the updated rendering data comprises information pertaining to one or more animations for a rendering of the real-world object based on at least in part on the obtained physics simulation data (Suetsugu “[0046] The display unit 14 of the server 10 sends the wearing 3D data generated by the wearing 3D generator 13 to the client 20. The client 20 receives the wearing 3D data from the server 10 and displays the three-dimensional shape representing the state in which the mannequin is wearing the clothing (step S105). Thus, the user is able to check a state in which the user is wearing the clothing being sold at a real store or an EC site and to check whether the user is wearing the clothing well when taking poses”.
Zhang “[0062]….. The updated gameplay data includes updates to expressions on the face of the rigs representing the virtual characters, which are obtained from the re-mastered character animation files, wherein the updates to expressions of the virtual characters are based on the current context of the game”).
Regarding claim 8 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the one or more physical characteristics of the real-world object correspond to at least one of a size of the real-world object, a shape of the real-world object, a color of the real-world object, a design associated with the real-world object, one or more materials associated with the real-world object, or one or more defects associated with the real-world object (Suetsugu “[0031] A clothing 3D generator 12 generates clothing 3D data representing a three-dimensional shape of clothing, using computer graphics”).
Regarding claim 9 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the collected data includes image data comprising at least one of a set of two-dimensional (2D) images depicting the real-world object, a video depicting the real-world object, or a set of three-dimensional (3D) images depicting the real-world object (Suetsugu “[0032] Methods for generating the clothing 3D data representing the three-dimensional shape of the clothing include a method of directly three-dimensionally scanning the clothing”).
Regarding claim 17 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the computing system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for three-dimensional (3D) assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for performing operations using a large language model (LLM); a system for performing synthetic data generation; a system for generating synthetic data; a system for presenting at least one of virtual reality content, augmented reality content, or mixed reality content; a system implemented at least partially in a data center, or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Suetsugu “[0031] A clothing 3D generator 12 generates clothing 3D data representing a three-dimensional shape of clothing, using computer graphics. [0035]….. For example, a function called “cloth simulation” of the existing open source software “Blender” may be used”).
Regarding claim 21 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the model file further includes object data indicating at least one of a bone structure associated with the 3D object, a mesh for the 3D object, one or more blend shapes for the 3D object, or a motion vector for each vertex of at least a portion of the mesh, the motion vector indicating a degree and a direction of a motion of a respective vertex in accordance with an animation of the 3D object (Zhang “[0044] A virtual character is represented within the video game using a character rig (or simply referred to as a “rig”). The rig includes two parts—a hierarchical set of interconnected parts called digital bones to define a bone structure (i.e., three-dimensional (3D) model), and a surface representation, called mesh or skin, used to cover the bone structure”).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barnes et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20190021426 “Barnes”).
Regarding claim 2 Suetsugu modified by Zhang is silent about modifying the collected data to have the format associated with the 3D graphics platform.
Barnes teaches modifying collected data to have format associated with 3D graphics platform (“[0018]……. In the example shown in FIG. 5, the user has selected a color to be added to the front panel of the jersey. As soon as the user provides a design input, the production-ready design file is dynamically updated to reflect the user's design input. The production-ready design file is then converted to a two-dimensional image file in a format such as bitmap or another image format, and applied to the 3-dimensional model shown on the screen in real-time. The image file format may include, for example, 3D Studio Max (.max, 0.3ds), AC3D (.AC), Apple 3DMF (0.3dm/.3dmf), Autocad (.dwg), Blender (.blend), Caligari Object (.cob)”);
Barnes and Suetsugu modified by Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang by modifying collected data to have format associated with 3D graphics platform as taught by Barnes.
The motivation for the above is to have the collected data in a specific format for compatibility with the platform at the same time have the user controllability.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Xi et al. (US Patent No. 12361517 “Xi”).
Regarding claim 7 Suetsugu modified by Zhangis silent about providing at least a subset of the image rendering data associated with the 3D object moving within the 3D graphics platform to an additional computing system for generating the rendering of the real-world object according to the one or more animations.
Xi teaches providing at least a subset of image rendering data associated with an object to an additional computing system for generating the rendering of the real-world object (Col 20 lines 65-col 21 lines 5 “As further shown in FIG. 6A, and by reference numbers 660 and 670, the XR device 170 may identify a division of data for offloaded rendering and may transmit the data for rendering. For example, the XR device 170 may identify the division of data between the first wireless communication device 610-1 and the second wireless communication device 610-2 and, in accordance with the division of data, may transmit a first portion of the data to the first wireless communication device 610-1 and a second portion of the data to the second wireless communication device 610-2”);
Xi and Suetsugu modified by Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang by providing at least a subset of the image rendering data associated with the 3D object moving within the 3D graphics platform to an additional computing system for generating the rendering of the real-world object according to the one or more animations similar to providing at least a subset of image rendering data associated with an object to an additional computing system for generating the rendering of the real-world object as taught by Xi.
The motivation for the above is to offload the rendering work into multiple devices.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Colbert (US Patent No. 10304227 “Colbert”).
Regarding claim 10 Suetsugu modified by Zhang is silent about providing the image data as input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model that is trained to predict, based on given image data, one or more physical characteristics associated with objects depicted in the given image data; obtaining one or more outputs of the AI model;
Colbert teaches providing image data as input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model that is trained to predict, based on given image data, one or more physical characteristics associated with objects depicted in the given image data; obtaining one or more outputs of the AI model (“Claim 1. A method comprising: initializing a Generative Adversarial Network (“GAN”) comprising an analysis neural network and a synthesis neural network; training the analysis neural network to recognize characteristics of an input image of a training garment alone”);
Colbert and Suetsugu modified by Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang by providing image data as input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model that is trained to predict, based on given image data, one or more physical characteristics associated with objects depicted in the given image data; obtaining one or more outputs of the AI model as taught by Colbert.
The motivation for the above is to provide automation in data generation.
Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Colbert teaches extracting, from the obtained one or more outputs of the AI model, characteristic data indicating the one or more physical characteristics of the real-world object, wherein the physics simulation data is further obtained based on the extracted characteristic data (Colbert “Claim 1. A method comprising: initializing a Generative Adversarial Network (“GAN”) comprising an analysis neural network and a synthesis neural network; training the analysis neural network to recognize characteristics of an input image of a training garment alone”.
Suetsugu “[0035]….. a method of placing the clothing on the mannequin in a natural manner by executing a physics engine between a cloth, paper pattern, or the like and the mannequin 3D data and then sewing the clothing and the cloth, paper pattern, or the like together, and a method of, with respect to clothing that fits the body, such as underwear, generating data by drawing a line on the mannequin, a body for draping, or the like and adding thickness. [0036] When generating the wearing 3D data representing the state in which the mannequin is wearing the clothing, the clothing physical properties input unit 131 represents the deformation of the clothing by inputting the physical properties of the clothing. Examples of the physical properties of the clothing include the mass, tensile stress, shearing stress, compressive stress, bending stress, and the like of the clothing”).
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asaria et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210319614 “Asaria”).
Regarding claim 11 Suetsugu modified by Zhang is silent about wherein the image rendering data corresponds to a plurality of distinct rendering formats, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a request from a client device for access to the rendering data associated with the rendering of the real-world object; and determining a rendering format associated with the client device, wherein the at least the subset of the image rendering is provided to the client device and has a distinct rendering format that corresponds to the determined rendering format associated with the client device.
Asaria teaches image rendering data corresponds to a plurality of distinct rendering formats, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a request from a client device for access to the rendering data associated with the rendering of the real-world object; and determining a rendering format associated with the client device, wherein the at least the subset of the image rendering is provided to the client device and has a distinct rendering format that corresponds to the determined rendering format associated with the client device (“ABSTRACT : requesting at least one 3D visualization associated with an object; a client computer in the data communication with the at least one web server, the client computer configured to receive the at least one web page and execute the 3D-embedding instructions included therein to send a request for the visualization associated with the object; and a visualization server in data communication with the client computer configured to determine whether the visualization is available, and determine whether the client computer is operable to render the 3D visualization, and determine whether to provide the 3D visualization data to the client computer.
[0029] In some embodiments, the 3D visualization data file may be stored in a suitable format that is suitable for representing 3D visualization data and readily transmittable over a network such as the Internet. For example, the 3D visualization data file may be in a format that is compliant with Open Graphics Library (“OpenGL”) specification. Other suitable formats for the 3D visualization data file may include one or more of Binary, Collada DAE, JSON, 3D Studio, and Wavefront OBJ formats”);
Asaria and Suetsugu modified by Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang by having image rendering data that corresponds to a plurality of distinct rendering formats, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving a request from a client device for access to the rendering data associated with the rendering of the real-world object; and determining a rendering format associated with the client device, wherein the at least the subset of the image rendering is provided to the client device and has a distinct rendering format that corresponds to the determined rendering format associated with the client device as taught by Asaria.
The motivation for the above is to enhance Suetsugu’s invention to support different type of client devices.
Regarding claim 12 Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Asaria teaches responsive to receiving an additional request from an additional client device for access to the image rendering data associated with the rendering of the 3D object, determining an additional image rendering format associated with the additional client device, wherein the additional rendering format is distinct from the rendering format associated with the client device; identifying an additional subset of the image rendering data, the additional subset corresponding to the determined additional rendering format; and providing the additional subset of the image rendering data to the additional client device (Asaria supports different type of formats and also multiple clients. So the teaching of claim 11 is also applicable in claim 12 for supporting different types of client devices,
“[0018] As noted above, images of objects in existing websites may not provide complete visualization of objects from desired angles. At least some of the embodiments described herein attempt to transmit and render three-dimensional visualizations of various objects at client computers.
[0029] In some embodiments, the 3D visualization data file may be stored in a suitable format that is suitable for representing 3D visualization data and readily transmittable over a network such as the Internet. For example, the 3D visualization data file may be in a format that is compliant with Open Graphics Library (“OpenGL”) specification. Other suitable formats for the 3D visualization data file may include one or more of Binary, Collada DAE, JSON, 3D Studio, and Wavefront OBJ formats”);
Regarding claim 13 Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Asaria teaches wherein the rendering format associated with the client device corresponds to at least one of one or more hardware components of the client device or an instance of an application executing using the client device (Asaria “[0045] The web pages provided would typically include address information of one or more servers hosting the image data and instructions in computer code to retrieve the image data from the appropriate servers. The browser applications on the client computers 16 will then execute the instructions to retrieve the image data from the servers at the addresses provided”).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20200258280 “Park”).
Regarding claim 14 Suetsugu modified by Zhang teaches wherein the real-world object is a real-world clothing object (Suetsugu” [0006]… the wearing 3D generator represents deformation of the clothing by inputting physical properties of the clothing”), but is silent about identifying additional image rendering data associated with generating a rendering of a virtual avatar associated with a user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing the additional image rendering data to a client device associated with the user with the image rendering data for generating the rendering of the real-world clothing object worn by the virtual avatar;
Park teaches identifying additional image rendering data associated with generating a rendering of a virtual avatar associated with a user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing the additional image rendering data to a client device associated with the user with the image rendering data for generating the rendering of the real-world clothing object worn by the virtual avatar (Park “[0053] Referring to FIGS. 3A, 3B and 3C, the electronic device 101 may generate the avatar animation 300 moving in the order of FIG. 3A, FIG. 3B, and FIG. 3C. The avatar animation may include, for example, and without limitation, an animated image (e.g., -mp4, avi, or gif) indicating that an avatar (e.g., 310) moves in an AR or VR environment. [0087] According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate animation data for the hair 601 and an accessory (e.g., the earring 605 or clothing) worn by the avatar 610 based on a physically-based animation generation scheme, in response to receiving the user input 650. [0072] According to an embodiment, the display device 160 may include a screen and a display configured to display the avatar animation”).
Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang by identifying additional image rendering data associated with generating a rendering of a virtual avatar associated with a user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing the additional image rendering data to a client device associated with the user with the image rendering data for generating the rendering of the real-world clothing object worn by the virtual avatar as taught by Park.
The motivation for the above is to enhance the animation of avatar.
Regarding claim 15 Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park teaches receiving a request from the client device to update a rendering of the avatar to provide the avatar in at least one of a particular position, a particular state, or a particular environment; updating the rendering of the real-world clothing object worn by the user to correspond to the at least one of the particular position, the particular state, or the particular environment of the request; and providing the updated rendering of the real-world clothing object worn by the user, wherein the updated rendering of the real-world clothing object reflects an updated rendering of the avatar, in accordance with the request (Park “[0084] Referring to FIG. 6, the electronic device 101 may, for example, generate the avatar animation 600 moving in the order of FIG. 6A, FIG. 6B, and FIG. 6C. An avatar 610 may include a plurality of objects (e.g., a hair 601, a face 602, a body 603, a hand 604, and an earring 605). In FIG. 6A, the electronic device 101 may receive a user input 650 to move the hand 604 of the avatar 610 in a specified direction (e.g., upward).
[0085] According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate animation data for the hand 604 moving in the specified direction depending on the user input 650. [0087] According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may generate animation data for the hair 601 and an accessory (e.g., the earring 605 or clothing) worn by the avatar 610 based on a physically-based animation generation scheme, in response to receiving the user input 650”).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Wilkinson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20160196602 “Wilkinson”).
Regarding claim 16 Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park is silent about determining a comfort level associated with at least one portion of the real-world clothing object worn by the user based on the obtained physics simulation data and user data associated with the user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing, for presentation on a GUI on the client device of the user, an indication of the determined comfort level associated with the at least one portion of the real-world clothing object.
Wilkinson teaches determining a comfort level associated with at least one portion of the real-world clothing object worn by the user based on the obtained physics simulation data and user data associated with the user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing, for presentation on a GUI on the client device of the user, an indication of the determined comfort level associated with the at least one portion of the real-world clothing object (“[0022]….. A shoe with a low value of stretch may be more likely to provide a high level of support. Similarly, a comfort level may be determined and stored based upon the amount of stretch and deformation. A shoe having a high level of stretch and deformation may result in a low comfort rating as the shoe may be likely to rub the wearer's foot in various areas due to the stretch and deformation. [0037] In some embodiments, the system may determine whether each potential candidate object's satisfies the user-specified fit preference 411. The system may discard the candidate object 412 if the fit preference is not satisfied. For example, to determine whether a candidate object satisfies the fit preference, the system may develop a “comfort score” for the candidate object. [0046]…… The recommendation may show visually how the footwear, apparel, or accessory compares to the user's previously purchased footwear, apparel, or accessory by displaying the comfort level”);
Wilkinson and Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Suetsugu modified by Zhang and Park by determining a comfort level associated with at least one portion of the real-world clothing object worn by the user based on the obtained physics simulation data and user data associated with the user interested in the real-world clothing object; and providing, for presentation on a GUI on the client device of the user, an indication of the determined comfort level associated with the at least one portion of the real-world clothing object as taught by Wilkinson.
The motivation for the above is to help user in making purchasing decision.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 USC 103 pages 10-11 for claims 1, 18 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However upon further consideration a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUETSUGU (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220133063 “Suetsugu”) in view of Zhang (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220319087 “Zhang”).
With respect to remarks regarding dependent claims, examiner refers applicant to the response given above as there is no additional arguments for dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612