DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 02/03/2026 amended claims 1-3, 6-9, 12-14, 17-20 and cancelled claim 11. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are pending and rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 12.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 02/03/2026 appropriately amended the title; hence the objections to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20070242231 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Chen teaches a projection apparatus (Fig. 7; [0034]) comprising: an illumination system (Fig. 3 and 6) configured to generate an illumination light beam (302) and comprising: two light source modules (320a/b/c) each comprising a plurality of light sources and configured to provide a plurality of light beams; two light guiding modules (326, 327 for 320a/b/c) respectively disposed on transmission paths of the plurality of light beams generated by the two light source modules (320a/b/c), and the two light guiding modules configured to respectively guide the plurality of light beam to form a first and a second guiding light beams (321a/b/c); a first reflector (332/336) disposed on a transmission path of the first guiding light beam (321a/c); and a light homogenization element (310) configured to receive the first and second guiding light beams (321a/b/c), wherein the first guiding light beam (321a/c) is reflected toward the light homogenization element (310) by the first reflector (332/336), the second guiding light beam (321b) is transmitted to the light homogenization element (310) without passing through the first reflector; a light valve (420) disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam; and a projection lens (430) disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection apparatus ([0034]), and wherein a first incident direction of the first guiding light beam (321a/c) from the first reflector toward the light homogenization element (310) and a second incident direction of the second guiding light beam (321b) from one of the two light guiding modules toward the light homogenization element (310) define an angle.
Chen does not explicitly teach the angle is not zero degree.
It is immediately obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art that having the direction of the first guiding light beam (321a/c) from the first reflector toward the light homogenization element (310) and a second incident direction of the second guiding light beam (321b) from one of the two light guiding modules toward the light homogenization element (310) being perfectly parallel, i.e., the angle being exactly zero, only exists in the abstract. Manufacturing tolerance allows for the angle being not zero.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Chen further teaches the first guiding light beam (321a/c) is incident to the first reflector (332/336) at an incident angle and emitted from the first reflector (332/336) at an emitted angle, and a sum of the incident angle and the emitted angle is less than 90 degrees.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Chen further teaches the second guiding light beam (321b) is vertically incident to the light homogenization element (310; Fig. 3 and 6).
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20230259012 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Sasaki teaches a projection apparatus (50; Fig. 1-12) comprising: an illumination system (1) configured to generate an illumination light beam (L) and comprising: two light source modules (LS1/LS2) each comprising a plurality of light sources (11) and configured to provide a plurality of light beams; two light guiding modules (12-18 for LS1/LS2) respectively disposed on transmission paths of the plurality of light beams generated by the two light source modules (LS1/LS2), and the two light guiding modules configured to respectively guide the plurality of light beam to form a first and a second guiding light beams (F1/F2); a first reflector (2A) disposed on a transmission path of the first guiding light beam (F1); and a light homogenization element (3) configured to receive the first and second guiding light beams (F1/F2), wherein the first guiding light beam (F1) is reflected toward the light homogenization element (3) by the first reflector (2A), the second guiding light beam (F2) is transmitted to the light homogenization element (3) without passing through the first reflector (2A); a light valve (54) disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam; and a projection lens (52) disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection apparatus, and wherein a first incident direction of the first guiding light beam (F1) from the first reflector toward the light homogenization element (3) and a second incident direction of the second guiding light beam (F2) from one of the two light guiding modules toward the light homogenization element (3) define an angle.
Sasaki does not explicitly teach the angle is not zero degree.
It is immediately obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art that having the direction of the first guiding light beam (F1) from the first reflector toward the light homogenization element (3) and a second incident direction of the second guiding light beam (F2) from one of the two light guiding modules toward the light homogenization element (3) being perfectly parallel, i.e., the angle being exactly zero, only exists in the abstract. Manufacturing tolerance allows for the angle being not zero.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Sasaki further teaches the first and second guiding light beams (F1/F2) are respectively emitted from the two light guiding modules (12-18 for 320b/c) in transmission directions substantially perpendicular to each other ([0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki further teaches main optical axes of the two light source modules (LS1/LS2) are perpendicular to each other ([0028]).
Claims 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Okuda (US 20130162956 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Chen does not explicitly teach each of the light guiding modules (326, 327 for 320a/b/c) comprises a color separating mirror and a second reflector, at least one of the light beams emitted by each of the light source modules (320a/b/c) is passed through the color separating mirror, and the other of the light beams emitted by each of the light source modules (320a/b/c) are sequentially reflected by the second reflector, reflected by the color separating mirror.
Okuda teaches the light guiding modules comprises a color separating mirror (10) and a second reflector (240), at least one of the light beams emitted by the light source module is passed through the color separating mirror (10), and the other of the light beams emitted by each of the light source modules are sequentially reflected by the second reflector (240), reflected by the color separating mirror (10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Okuda; because it allows using plurality light sources in a specific beam width.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Chen further teaches the first reflector (332/336) is non-perpendicular and non-parallel to any one of the color separating mirrors (326/327).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combination of Chen and Okuda consequently results in the first reflector (332/336 of Chen) is non-perpendicular and non-parallel to any one of the second reflectors (240 of Okuda).
Claims 7, 9, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lin (US 20060146296 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Chen does not explicitly teach the first and second guiding light beams (321a/b/c) are incident to the light homogenization element (310) at respective incident angles, and the incident angles are not equal to each other.
Lin teaches the two guiding light beams (OB1/OB2) are incident to the light homogenization element (130) at respective incident angles, and the incident angles are not equal to each other (Fig. 8 and 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Lin; because it allows using the TIR effects reducing light loss.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Chen does not teach light spots of the first and second guiding light beams (321a/b/c) incident to the light homogenization element (310) being overlapped.
Lin teaches light spots of the two guiding light beams (OB1/OB2) incident to the light homogenization element (130) being overlapped.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chen with Lin; because it allows using the TIR effects reducing light loss.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendment/s.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882