DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 - 21 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
The Primary Examiner agrees with the Applicant’s traversal; thus, the restriction is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xhafa et al. (US Pub. 20230063402 A1).
For claim 1, Xhafa discloses monitoring devices including processors configured to acquire battery monitoring information for monitoring a state of a battery (secondary network nodes 206 and 210 include processors and generate battery-health packets containing voltage, current, or temperature information) [0036], [0076]–[0080]; and
a controller including a processor configured to acquire the battery monitoring information via wireless communication with the monitoring devices and execute a predetermined process based on the battery monitoring information (primary network node 102 includes processor 204, wirelessly receives battery-health packets from the secondary nodes, and uses the packet information to control the WBMS, including performing cell balancing) [0022]–[0025], [0036],
wherein the processor of the controller is further configured to transmit instructions to the monitoring devices via unicast communication and broadcast communication within a communication cycle (Figs. 3 and 7) (DL frame 324 may be transmitted by broadcast to all secondary nodes or by unicast to an individual secondary node during superframe 302) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082]; and
the instructions include an instruction transmitted via the unicast communication to each of the monitoring devices about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (unicast DL frame 324 may request a secondary network node to provide data concerning the health of its associated battery cells) [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082]; and
an instruction transmitted via the broadcast communication to the monitoring devices about a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information (broadcast DL frame 324 is received by the secondary nodes, which operate according to synchronized superframe timing and transmit battery-information packets during assigned time slots) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
For Claim 10, Xhafa discloses a controller for monitoring a state of a battery (Figs. 2A and 8), the controller comprising:
a processor configured to acquire battery monitoring information via wireless communication from monitoring devices configured to acquire the battery monitoring information from the battery (primary network node 102 includes processor 204 and wirelessly receives UL packets containing battery-cell voltage, current, temperature, and other battery-health information from secondary network nodes 206 and 210) [0022]–[0025], [0036]–[0039], [0076]–[0080];
execute a predetermined process based on the battery monitoring information (the primary network node determines the generation time of the received battery-information packet and uses the information to control the WBMS, including performing battery-cell balancing) [0022]–[0023], [0077], [0080]; and
transmit instructions to the monitoring devices via unicast communication and broadcast communication within a communication cycle (Figs. 3 and 7) (DL frame 324 may be transmitted by broadcast to all secondary network nodes or by unicast to an individual secondary network node during superframe 302) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082],
wherein the instructions include an instruction transmitted via the unicast communication to each of the monitoring devices about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (unicast DL frame 324 may request a secondary network node to provide information concerning the health of its associated battery cells) [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082]; and
an instruction transmitted via the broadcast communication to the monitoring devices about a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information (broadcast DL frame 324 is received by the secondary network nodes, which operate according to synchronized superframe timing and generate and transmit battery-information packets during assigned time slots) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
For Claim 20, Xhafa discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions configured to be executed by a controller (Fig. 2A) (primary network node 102 includes non-transitory memory 202 storing executable code 205 for execution by processor 204) [0005], [0036];
the controller being configured to acquire battery monitoring information via wireless communication with monitoring devices and execute a predetermined process based on the battery monitoring information (primary network node 102 wirelessly receives battery-health packets from secondary network nodes 206 and 210 and uses the received packet information to determine packet-generation time and control the WBMS) [0022]–[0025], [0036]–[0039], [0076]–[0080];
the monitoring devices being configured to acquire the battery monitoring information for monitoring a state of a battery (processor-equipped secondary network nodes monitor associated battery cells and generate packets containing voltage, current, temperature, and other battery-health information) [0036]–[0039], [0076], [0079];
the instructions, when the program is executed by the controller, causing the controller to transmit instructions to the monitoring devices via unicast communication and broadcast communication within a communication cycle (Figs. 2A, 3, and 7) (processor 204 executes code 205 to control communications in which DL frame 324 may be transmitted by broadcast to all secondary network nodes or by unicast to an individual secondary network node during superframe 302) [0005], [0036], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082];
the instructions including an instruction transmitted via the unicast communication to each of the monitoring devices about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (unicast DL frame 324 may request a secondary network node to provide data concerning the health of its associated battery cells) [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082]; and
an instruction transmitted via the broadcast communication to the monitoring devices about a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information (broadcast DL frame 324 is received by the secondary network nodes, which use synchronized superframe timing and assigned time slots to generate and transmit their battery-information packets) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
For Claim 21, Xhafa discloses a method for monitoring a state of a battery (Figs. 8–9), the method comprising:
acquiring battery monitoring information via wireless communication from monitoring devices that acquire the battery monitoring information from the battery (primary network node 102 wirelessly receives UL packets from secondary network nodes 206 and 210 containing battery-cell voltage, current, temperature, and other battery-health information) [0022]–[0025], [0039], [0076], [0079];
executing a predetermined process based on the battery monitoring information (the primary network node calculates the generation time of the received battery-information packet and uses the information to control the WBMS, including performing battery-cell balancing) [0022]–[0023], [0077], [0080]; and
transmitting instructions to the monitoring devices via unicast communication and broadcast communication within a communication cycle (Figs. 3 and 7) (during superframe 302, primary network node 102 transmits DL frame 324, which may be broadcast to all secondary network nodes or transmitted by unicast to an individual secondary network node) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082],
wherein the instructions include an instruction transmitted via the unicast communication to each of the monitoring devices about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (unicast DL frame 324 may request a secondary network node to provide battery-health information for its associated battery cells) [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082]; and
an instruction transmitted via the broadcast communication to the monitoring devices about a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information (broadcast DL frame 324 is received by the secondary network nodes, which follow synchronized superframe timing and generate and transmit battery-information packets during their assigned slots) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
For claims 2, and 11, Xhafa discloses to set an order of the unicast communication with each of the monitoring devices and the broadcast communication with the monitoring devices in the communication cycle (periodic or a periodic transmission of unicast or broadcast messages) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082],
transmit the instructions to the monitoring devices in the order, and transmit an instruction about a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information to the monitoring devices via the unicast communication (periodic or a periodic transmission of unicast or broadcast messages) [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
For claim 5, Xhafa discloses after receiving the instruction from the controller about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (Figs. 3, 5, 7) [0073]-[0076],
transmit the battery monitoring information and acknowledgements to the controller via the unicast communication in response to the instruction (ACK 716 is set to 1 when the DL is successfully received, payload 720 may contain battery-cell health information, and the secondary node transmits the UL frame in response to the DL request) [0073]-[0076].
For claims 7, and 13, Xhafa discloses the broadcast communication uses a frequency band outside a predetermined frequency band (uses frequency-hopping tables, blacklisting, and configuration channels, channels 37–39 may be used for configuration and the other 37 channels for data.) [0028]-[0029].
For claims 8, and 14, Xhafa discloses the broadcast communication uses a frequency band different from a frequency band used in communication executed before or after the broadcast communication (uses frequency-hopping tables, blacklisting, and configuration channels, channels 37–39 may be used for configuration and the other 37 channels for data; which can be at the same frequency or at different frequencies) [0028]-[0029], [0046], [0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xhafa et al. (US Pub. 20230063402 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US Pub. 20220346118 A1).
For claims 3, and 17, Xhafa discloses to set a timing of acquisition of the battery monitoring information based on the timing of acquisition transmitted via communication that in timing of receiving the instruction among the unicast communication and the broadcast communication in the communication cycle [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082], and
acquire the battery monitoring information at the set timing of acquisition [0030], [0045]–[0047], [0076], [0082].
But Xhafa doesn’t explicitly discloses communication that is later in timing of receiving the instruction.
However, Wu discloses communication that is later in timing of receiving the instruction [0462], [0525].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing scheduling schemes used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Xhafa with Wu to ensure scheduling for data transmission can be optimized, thus, improving communication speed.
For claim 19, Xhafa discloses after receiving the instruction from the controller about acquisition of the battery monitoring information (Figs. 3, 5, 7) [0073]-[0076],
transmit the battery monitoring information and acknowledgements to the controller via the unicast communication in response to the instruction (ACK 716 is set to 1 when the DL is successfully received, payload 720 may contain battery-cell health information, and the secondary node transmits the UL frame in response to the DL request) [0073]-[0076].
Claims 4, 9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xhafa et al. (US Pub. 20230063402 A1) in view of Shiraishi (US Pub. 20130067256 A1).
For claims 4, and 18, Xhafa discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
Xhafa further discloses the unicast communication [0045]–[0047].
But Xhafa doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Shiraishi.
Shiraishi discloses to acquire the battery monitoring information based on a content received via the unicast communication when a difference between a timing of receiving the battery monitoring information via the communication (Figs. 2, 5, 9) [0031]-[0035],[0039] and
a timing of receiving the battery monitoring information via the broadcast communication is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (Figs. 2, 5, 9, Step 20) [0031]-[0035],[0039].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing scheduling schemes used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Xhafa with Shiraishi to ensure scheduling functions can be properly utilized, thus, improving network functions.
For claims 9, and 15, Xhafa discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Xhafa doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Shiraishi.
Shiraishi discloses to acquire a voltage of the battery as the battery monitoring information from the monitoring devices, obtain current information from a current sensor configured to measure a current flowing through the battery [0059]-[0065], and
transmit an instruction via the broadcast communication to the monitoring devices about acquisition of the voltage of the battery such that the voltage is acquired at a measurement timing of the current [0059]-[0065].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing scheduling schemes used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Xhafa with Shiraishi to ensure scheduling functions can be properly utilized, thus, improving network functions.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xhafa et al. (US Pub. 20230063402 A1) in view of Caren et al. (US Pub. 20140300311 A1).
For claim 6, Xhafa discloses an order of receiving the battery monitoring information and execute the broadcast communication when the controller receives the acknowledgements from the monitoring devices (frames may be retransmitted based on ACK information) [0046], [0062].
But Xhafa doesn’t explicitly discloses to confirm.
However, Caren discloses to confirm an order of receiving the battery monitoring information [0025] and execute the broadcast communication when the controller receives the acknowledgements from the monitoring devices [0025].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing scheduling schemes used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Xhafa with Caren to ensure the communication network can receive all proper instructions, thus, improving network data integrity.
For claim 12, Xhafa discloses to receive acknowledgements from the monitoring devices in response to the instructions transmitted to the monitoring devices [0045]–[0047], [0062], [0076], [0082], and
an order of the monitoring devices receiving the battery monitoring information and execute the broadcast communication when the controller receives the acknowledgements from the monitoring devices (frames may be retransmitted based on ACK information) [0046], [0062].
But Xhafa doesn’t explicitly discloses to confirm.
However, Caren discloses to confirm an order of receiving the battery monitoring information [0025] and execute the broadcast communication when the controller receives the acknowledgements from the monitoring devices [0025].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing scheduling schemes used in a mobile device; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Xhafa with Caren to ensure the communication network can receive all proper instructions, thus, improving network data integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200023999 A1; US 20200399863 A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409