DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and claims 13-14 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330.
Regarding claim 1, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; An arrangement of carbon nanotubes (CNTs), comprising: a substrate (100) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; substrate 200]; a first CNT block (110) rising up from the substrate (100) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of high density 110a rising up from substrate 200]; a second CNT block (120) rising up from the substrate (100) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of high density 110b rising up from substrate 200], the first CNT block (110) and the second CNT block (120) being spaced apart from each other [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of high density 110a and 110b are laterally offset from each other]; and a CNT link (130) connecting the first CNT block (110) to the second CNT block (120) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of low density 120 bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b], wherein CNTs of the CNT link (130) are oriented in a same direction as CNTs of the first CNT block (110) and the second CNT block (120) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 2-3; the orientation of the CNTs in the low density stacks 120 are same as the stack of high density 110a and 110b], and wherein the CNT link (130) is configured as a CNT bridge which does not touch any underlying structure [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of low density 120 bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b and stack of low density 120 does not touch the surface of the substrate 200].
Regarding Claim 2, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; the CNT link (130) includes a CNT wall [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of low density 120 is CNT wall].
Regarding Claim 3, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; an adhesion-reducing layer (105) in an area on the substrate (100) that is below the CNT bridge (130) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; intermediate layer 210a is below the stack of low density 120].
Regarding Claim 4, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; the CNT link (130) comprises at least one of: - a predetermined thickness (D), - a predetermined width (B) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of low density 120 bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b has a predetermined width], - a predetermined distance (H) above the substrate (100).
Regarding Claim 5, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; the predetermined thickness (D) or the predetermined width (B) or the predetermined distance (H) changes along the connection between the first CNT block (110) and the second CNT block (120) in a predetermined manner [Fig. 6A-6B; thickness of the stack of low density 120 changes due to low density formation of CNTs at various point].
Regarding Claim 7, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; at least one further CNT link (135) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of high density 110c bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b], wherein the at least one further CNT link (135) connects the first CNT block (110) to the second CNT block (120) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; stack of high density 110c bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b] and CNTs of the at least one further CNT link (135) are aligned in a same direction as the CNTs of the first CNT block (110) or the second CNT block (120) [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 2-3; the orientation of the CNTs in the high density stacks 110c are same as the stack of high density 110a and 110b].
Regarding Claim 8, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; the CNT link (130) is connected to the at least one further CNT link (135) by a crosslink (137) of CNTs [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 4; stack of high density 110c and the stack of low density 120 connected and bridged between stack of high density 110a and 110b].
Regarding Claim 10, Yilmazoglu discloses; a coating [Page 10, ¶ 3; a coating, for example the thin CNT layer 120, with piezoelectric materials such as zinc oxide (ZnO) to generate electricity (energy harvesting)] on at least one of: - the CNT link (130), - the at least one further CNT link (135), - the first CNT block (110), - the second CNT block (120), wherein the coating is configured to enhance or cause at least one of: a thermoresistive effect, a pyroelectric effect, a thermochromic effect, and a piezoelectric effect [Page 10, ¶ 3; a coating, for example the thin CNT layer 120, with piezoelectric materials such as zinc oxide (ZnO) to generate electricity (energy harvesting)].
Regarding Claim 11, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; a sensor, comprising: the arrangement of carbon nanotubes (CNTs) according to claim 1; and an evaluation unit (200) configured to determine electrical characteristics of the arrangement and, based thereon, to perform at least one of: - a power measurement of electromagnetic waves, - a force measurement, - an acceleration measurement, - a flow measurement [Page 12, ¶ 1; the following quantities can be measured: force, acceleration, angular velocity, pressure, tactile, vibration, flow (gas or liquid) and more].
Regarding Claim 12, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; a method, comprising: applying the arrangement according to claim 1 - as a bolometer, - as a power meter for THz signals, - as a force meter, or - as an accelerometer [Page 12, ¶ 1; the following quantities can be measured: force, acceleration, angular velocity, pressure, tactile, vibration, flow (gas or liquid) and more].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-12 above, and in view of Fig. 4A-4D of Primary reference Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330.
Regarding Claim 6, Yilmazoglu Oktay discloses; at least one electrical contact of the first CNT block (110) and the second CNT block (120) selected from the group consisting of: a first contact layer (115) for contacting the first CNT block (110), the first contact layer (115) being formed adjacent to or partially below the first CNT block (110) on the substrate (100) and comprising a metal [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; first electrical contact element 130a with a stack of high density 110a], a second contact layer (125), the second contact layer (125) being formed adjacent to or partially below the second CNT block (120) on the substrate (100) and comprising a metal [Fig. 6A-6B and Page 9, ¶ 1; the second electrical contact element 130b with a stack of high density 110b], Yilmazoglu Oktay substantially discloses the claimed invention, including two stack of high density CNT wall connected by a link of low density CNT stack and a further link of high density CNT stack in Fig. 6A-6B but is silent about a first broadening (117) of the first CNT block (110) on a side facing the substrate (100, and a second broadening (127) of the second CNT block (120) on a side facing the substrate (100). However, Yilmazoglu Oktay teaches in Fig 4A-4D that the high density stacks form, in part, spacers that extend at least partially into the low density stacks to define a variable distance stop. The spacers are therefore themselves formed from nanotubes (Fig 4A-4D;115a, 115b and Page 4, ¶ 1). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yilmazoglu Oktay by providing a first broadening (117) of the first CNT block (110) on a side facing the substrate (100, and a second broadening (127) of the second CNT block (120) on a side facing the substrate (100), so that spacers are formed, to allow changing the variable distance between adjacent high-density stacks only in a predetermined range (Page 4, ¶ 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-12 above, and in view of Dijon, US 2012/0292103.
Regarding Claim 9, Yilmazoglu Oktay substantially discloses the claimed invention, including two stack of high density CNT wall connected by a link of low density CNT stack and a further link of high density CNT stack, but silent about at least one further CNT block (151, 152) rising up from the substrate (100),wherein the CNT link (130) or the at least one further CNT link (135) connects the first CNT block (110), the second CNT block (120), and the at least one further CNT block (151, 152). However, Dijon teaches that multiple nanotubes bundles 8 are interconnected by a nanotube bundle 8’ (Fig. 5B). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yilmazoglu Oktay by providing at least one further CNT block (151, 152) rising up from the substrate (100), wherein the CNT link (130) or the at least one further CNT link (135) connects the first CNT block (110), the second CNT block (120), and the at least one further CNT block (151, 152), so that forming the electric connections, in an electronic device, with bundles of carbon nanotubes (CNT) directed along a first direction and contained in cavities called vias. Such CNT bundles are laterally interconnected by lines, also formed of CNT bundles along a second direction ([0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New 102 rejection anticipated by Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 and new sets of 103 rejections such as Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 in view of Fig. 4A-4D of Primary reference Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 and Yilmazoglu Oktay, DE 102017115330 in view of Dijon, US 2012/0292103, please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AZM PARVEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892