DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 -2,23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)( 1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0411677 A1 to Then et al., “Then”. Regarding claim 1 , Then discloses an e lectronic component (e.g. FIG. 4) , comprising a first layer (130, ¶ [0034],[0025]) and a second layer (120, ¶ [0034],[0025]) , wherein a main surface (at 475) of the first layer (130) is arranged opposite a main surface (at 476) of the second layer (120) , wherein the first layer (130) comprises a polarized first material (P2) , and wherein a polarization of the first material faces in a first direction, and wherein the second layer comprises a polarized second material (P1) in one polarization state in which a direction of a polarization of the second material is at least in part opposite to the first direction so that a charge zone (475 and/or 476) forms along the main surface of the first and/or the second layer, said charge zone being electrically conductive. Regarding claim 2 , Then discloses the e lectronic component according to claim 1, and Then further teaches wherein the first material (130) comprises a wurtzite crystal structure ( GaN and AlGaN are inherently wurtzite, ¶ [0025]) , and wherein the second material (120) comprises a wurtzite crystal structure ( GaN and AlGaN are inherently wurtzite, ¶ [0025]) . Regarding claim 23 , Then discloses a m ethod for producing an electronic component (e.g. FIG. 4 , 5A ) , comprising: arranging a first layer (130, ¶ [0034],[0025]) and a second layer (120, ¶ [0034],[0025]) , s uch that a main surface (at 476) of the second layer (120) is arranged opposite a main surface (at 475) of the first layer (130) , such that the first layer comprises a first material (III-N, ¶ [0025]) , and the second layer (120) comprises a second material ( III-N, ¶ [0025]) , wherein the second material comprises at least one polarization state (P1) , and such that a polarization (P2) of the first material (130) faces in a first direction, such that the direction of the polarization (P2) of the second material (120) at least in the one polarization state of the second material is at least in part opposite to the first direction so that a charge zone (at 475 and/or 476) forms along the main surface of the first layer and/or the second layer, said charge zone (at 475 and/or 476) being electrically conductive at least when the second material is in the one polarization state. Regarding claim 24 , Then discloses the m ethod according to claim 23, and Then further discloses (e.g. FIG. 5A, ¶ [0038],[0039]) wherein arranging the first layer (130) and the second layer (120) comprises depositing the first layer (step 510) and the second layer (step 520) , wherein depositing takes place in such a way that the second material is in the one polarization state, after depositing the first layer and the second layer (as evidenced by final device in FIG. 4) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim s 3- 22 allowed. Claims 25-28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art generally teaches stacking layers of opposite polarity, see e.g. Then as discussed above. Prior art generally teaches ferroelectric layers including incorporating a ferroelectric layer as a barrier layer in a high electron mobility device e.g. U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0098871 A1 to Chen et al. Abstract including ferroelectric layer 130, including mixing ferroelectric directions (FIG. 3B) and p rior art generally teaches using a ferroelectric layer to apply strain, e.g. U.S. Patent Number 9,871,112 B1 to Cheng et al . Abstract . However, prior art fails to reasonably teach or suggest wherein the second material comprises a transition metal, wherein the second material is ferroelectric and comprises at least one polarization state , charge zone being electrically conductive at least when the second material is in the one polarization state, and wherein the one polarization state of the second material is a first polarization state and wherein the direction of the polarization of the second material in a second polarization state of the second material is at least in part aligned with the first direction, and wherein the electronic component is configured to set the second material of the second layer to the first polarization state, at least in regions , as claimed together with all of the other limitations of claim 3 as claimed. Claims 4-22 are allowable insofar as they depend upon and include all of the limitations of allowable claim 3. Claim 25 is objected to as including allowable subject matter for similar reasons to claim 3 and claims 26-28 are objected to as allowable insofar as they depend upon and include all of the limitations of claim 25. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ERIC A WARD whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3406 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 10-6 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Matthew Landau can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1731 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Eric A. Ward/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891