DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The claim set filed on 8/24/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and under consideration
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/17/2025 has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 8-10 are written as an “if” “then” statement pertaining to R2, R3, n and R1, but does not define what R2, R3, n and R1 can be if the statements are not true. Accordingly, the examiner is interpreting R2, R3, n and R1 to be defined by claim 1 in the event that the “if” “then” statement is false. If Applicants are attempting to only limit R2, R3 and n to that defined in claims 8-10, the examiner suggests amending the claim to remove the “if” “then” statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “… then R1 is not an optionally substituted piperidine when.” In the instant case, it is unclear what “when” is referring to and therefore, is indefinite. For prior art purposes, the examiner will be ignoring the ‘when” and just consider the proviso preceding the “when”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 , 8-10 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiltz et al. (US Patent No. 9,981,968B2, 2018-05-29). (see claim interpretations set forth above for claim 8-10 which does not specifically limit R2, R3 and n)
Schiltz et al. teach substituted pyrrolo[2,3-d]pyrimidine compounds useful for treating cancer and cell proliferative disorders having a general Formula I:
(abstract). Specifically, Schiltz et al. teach a compound having the structure
which reads on the instantly claimed compound, wherein R3 is a halo, R2 is a hydrogen, Alk is -CH-, and R1 is a 4 piperidine (claim 15 of US Patent). The US patent further teaches that the compounds of the invention are formulated as a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the compound and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients or diluents (column 17, lines 13-17). Moreover, with regards to the cancer, the US Patent teaches that cancers include but are not limited to leukemia, specifically acute myeloid leukemia (e.g. K562) (column 16, line 32 and example 4).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marquet et al. (Chimica Therapeutica (1971); 6 (6): 427-38). (see claim interpretations set forth above for claim 8-10 which does not specifically limit R2, R3 and n)
Marquet et al. teach compounds having the structures:
which reads on the instantly claimed compound wherein R3 is Cl, R2 is methyl, Alk is -CH2- and R1 is a hydrogen, hydroxy, hydroxy alkyl, alkoxy, phenyl substituted with an alkoxy or halogen, or a 5 membered ring comprising either an O or S (Table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 14-15 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,981,968B2 to Schiltz et al. (2018-05-29). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compound claimed in claim 15 of the US Patent having the structure:
anticipates the instantly claimed compound of the generic formula
wherein R3 is a halogen, R2 is a hydrogen, Alk is -CH2- and R1 is a piperidine. Moreover, the US Patent claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound together with a carrier, excipient or diluent (claim 18). The US Patent does not specifically claim a method of treating cancer. However, the US patent teaches that the compounds are useful for treating cancer and are formulated as a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the compound and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients or diluents (column 17, lines 13-17). Moreover, with regards to the cancer, the US Patent teaches that cancers include but are not limited to leukemia, specifically acute myeloid leukemia (e.g. K562) (column 16, line 32 and example 4).
Conclusion
Claims 3, 7 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art to the objected claims appears to be U.S. Patent No. 9,981,968B2 to Schiltz et al. as described above and herein. Specifically, Schiltz et al. teach a compound having the formula
, wherein the estimated IC50 value is >10 compared to a structurally similar compound
which has an estimated IC50 value of 1 (see Table 2). As such, there would be no motivation to select and modify the compound with for example, a -CH2- elongation, since it has one of the weakest estimated IC50 value’s vs. the majority of the other compounds tested.
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626