DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 5, 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa (JP_2020140182; IDS, 11/18/2024) . Ogawa discloses an original plate for a flexographic printing plate. Ogawa discloses the flexographic printing plate precursor ha s a support (A), a photosensitive resin composition layer (B), an intermediate layer (C), and an ablation layer (D) in this order, in which the intermediate layer (C) contains a water-dispersible latex and a water-soluble polyurethane, and the water-dispersible latex and the water-soluble polyurethane have a polar group. (Para, 0019). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A flexographic printing plate precursor comprising, in the following order: a support; a photosensitive layer; an interlayer; and an infrared ablation layer, wherein the interlayer contains a rubber component and a resin component …’ Ogawa discloses a support (A) used in the flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment include, but are not limited to, polyester films such as a polypropylene film, a polyethylene film, polyethylene terephthalate, and polyethylene naphthalate; and a polyamide film , with a polyester film being preferable. (Para, 0019). Ogawa discloses the thickness of the support (A) is not particularly limited, but a dimensionally stable film having a thickness of 50 to 300 μ m is preferred. (Para, 0019). Ogawa disclose, in addition, an adhesive layer may be provided on the support (A) for the purpose of increasing the adhesive force between the support (A) and the photosensitive layer (B) . (Para, 0019). Ogawa discloses t he photosensitive resin composition layer (B) contains at least one elastomer, a photopolymerizable monomer, a photopolymerization initiator, or a photoinitiator system (a system using two or more photopolymerization initiators), and preferably further contains one or more additives such as a plasticizer, a processing aid, a dye, and a UV absorber. (Para, 0020). Ogawa discloses t he elastomer contained in the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) retains its shape after photopolymerization of the photosensitive resin composition, and has rubber elasticity. (Para, 0021). Ogawa discloses e xamples of such an elastomer include, but are not limited to, synthetic rubbers such as styrene-diene block copolymer, ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer, polyethylene oxide polyvinyl alcohol graft copolymer, polybutadiene, polyisoprene, styrene-butadiene rubber, nitrile-butadiene rubber, butyl rubber, styrene-isoprene rubber, styrene-butadiene-isoprene rubber, polynorbornene rubber, and ethylene-propylene-diene rubber (EPDM), natural rubber, latex, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl acetate, and partially saponified polyvinyl acetate (partially saponified polyvinyl alcohol) . (Para, 0021). Ogawa discloses e xamples thereof include various resins dispersible in water, such as a cellulose resin, an acrylic resin, a polyamide resin, a polyamide resin into which a hydrophilic group such as polyethylene oxide is introduced, an ethylene / vinyl acetate copolymer, and modified products thereof. (Para, 0021). Ogawa explains, f rom the viewpoint of the durability of the flexographic printing plate obtained using the flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment, the content of the elastomer in the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) is preferably 30% to 85% by mass, more preferably 40% to 80% by mass, and even more preferably 45% to 75% by mass, with respect to 100% by mass of the total amount of the photosensitive resin composition layer (B). Ogawa discloses t he photopolymerizable monomer contained in the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) is not particularly limited, and examples thereof include carboxylic acid esters such as acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, fumaric acid, and maleic acid; derivatives of acrylamide and methacrylamide, allyl esters, styrene and derivatives thereof, and N-substituted maleimide compounds (Para, 0022). Ogawa discloses t he content of the photopolymerizable monomer in the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) is preferably in a range of 2% by mass to 30% by mass, more preferably in a range of 2% by mass to 25% by mass, and still more preferably in a range of 2% by mass to 20% by mass with respect to 100% by mass of the total amount of the photosensitive resin composition in the step of manufacturing the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) from the viewpoint of the printing durability of the flexographic printing plate obtained using the flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment. (Para, 0026). Ogawa discloses t he flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment has an intermediate layer (C) between the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) described above and an ablation layer (D) described below. (Para, 0029). Ogawa discloses i t is preferable that the intermediate layer (C) has a sufficient film strength for suppressing the occurrence of pinholes in the ablation layer (D) described below, exhibits a function of sufficiently ensuring the adhesiveness between the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) and the ablation layer (D), and has sufficient flexibility so as not to impair the flexibility of the flexographic printing plate precursor. (Para, 0029). Ogawa discloses the intermediate layer (C) contains a water-dispersible latex and a water-soluble polyurethane. (Para, 0029). Ogawa explains, t he water-dispersible latex contained in the intermediate layer (C) has a function of improving the adhesiveness between the intermediate layer (C) and the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) and between the intermediate layer (C) and the ablation layer (D) described later. (Para, 0030). Ogawa further explains that b y providing the interlayer (C), it is possible to improve the adhesion between the interlayer (C) and the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) and between the interlayer (C) and the ablation layer (D), and it is possible to prevent the ablation layer (D) from being torn or scratched when the cover sheet (E) laminated on the ablation layer (D) is peeled off from the ablation layer (D) in the flexographic printing plate precursor. (Para, 0030). Ogawa discloses e xamples of the water-dispersible latex contained in the intermediate layer (C) include, but are not limited to, water-dispersible latex polymers such as polybutadiene latex, natural rubber latex, styrene-butadiene copolymer latex, acrylonitrile-butadiene copolymer latex, polychloroprene latex, polyisoprene latex, polyurethane latex, methyl methacrylate-butadiene copolymer latex, vinylpyridine polymer latex, butyl polymer latex, thiokol polymer latex, and acrylate polymer latex, and polymers obtained by copolymerizing these polymers with other components such as acrylic acid and methacrylic acid. (Para, 0031). Ogawa discloses a mong these, a water-dispersed latex polymer containing a butadiene skeleton or an isoprene skeleton in the molecular chain is preferable from the viewpoint of hardness and rubber elasticity. (Para, 0031). More s pecifically Ogawa discloses polybutadiene latex, styrene-butadiene copolymer latex, acrylonitrile-butadiene copolymer latex, methyl methacrylate-butadiene copolymer latex, and polyisoprene latex are preferable. (Para, 0031). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A flexographic printing plate precursor comprising, … and the resin component contains at least one of an acrylic resin or a methacrylic resin. ’ Moreover, it necessarily follows based on the composition of the intermediate layer disclosed, and the resin s which comprise the composition of the intermediate layer , the disclosures of Ogawa also teach the limitation of claim 5. Ogawa discloses the water-dispersible latex contained in the intermediate layer (C) constituting the flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment has a polar group, and preferred examples of the polar group include a carboxyl group, an amino group, a hydroxyl group, a phosphoric acid group, a sulfonic acid group, and salts thereof. (Para, 0031). Ogawa also discloses other components such as a surfactant, an anti - blocking agent, a release agent, a UV absorber, a dye, and a pigment may be added to the intermediate layer (C) as long as the strength and flexibility are not impaired. (Para, 0066). Ogawa also discloses a method for producing a flexographic printing plate using the flexographic printing plate precursor of the present embodiment includes a step of irradiating a flexographic printing plate precursor including a support (A), a photosensitive resin composition layer (B) disposed on the support (A), an intermediate layer (C) disposed on the photosensitive resin composition layer (B), and an ablation layer (D) disposed on the intermediate layer (C) with ultraviolet rays from the support (A) side, and a step of irradiating the ablation layer (D) with ultraviolet rays after drawing a pattern by irradiating the ablation layer (D) with infrared rays, in which the photosensitive resin composition layer (B) is irradiated with ultraviolet rays through the intermediate layer (C), and the ablation layer (D), the intermediate layer (C), and the unexposed photosensitive resin composition layer (B) are removed with the alkaline developer. (Para, 0085). These disclosures teach the limitation s of claim 7, ‘ A manufacturing method of a flexographic printing plate having a non-image area and an image area, the manufacturing method comprising: a mask forming step of, with respect to the flexographic printing plate precursor according to claim 1, forming an image on the infrared ablation layer included in the flexographic printing plate precursor to form a mask; an exposure step of, after the mask forming step, imagewise exposing the photosensitive layer included in the flexographic printing plate precursor through the mask; and a development step of, after the exposure step, performing development using a developer to form a non-image area and an image area. ’ Ogawa discloses t hereafter, a step of performing a post-exposure treatment is performed as necessary, thereby obtaining a plate (flexographic printing plate) formed of a cured product of the photosensitive resin composition layer (B). (Para, 0085). Moreover, these disclosures also teach the limitations of claim 18, ‘ A manufacturing method of a flexographic printing plate having a non-image area and an image area, the manufacturing method comprising: a mask forming step of, with respect to the flexographic printing plate precursor according to claim 5, forming an image on the infrared ablation layer included in the flexographic printing plate precursor to form a mask; an exposure step of, after the mask forming step, imagewise exposing the photosensitive layer included in the flexographic printing plate precursor through the mask; and a development step of, after the exposure step, performing development using a developer to form a non-image area and an image area. ’ Ogawa explains, from the viewpoint of imparting peel - ability, the surface of the printing plate may be brought into contact with a liquid containing a silicone compound and / or a fluorine compound. (Para, 0085). Ogawa also discloses t he step of irradiating ultraviolet rays from the support (A) side can be performed using a conventional irradiation unit. (Para, 0086). Ogawa discloses ultraviolet light having wavelengths of 150 to 500nm can be used, and ultraviolet light having wavelengths of 300 to 400nm can be particularly preferably used. (Para, 0086). Ogawa discloses the ultraviolet irradiation step may be performed before the step of drawing a pattern on the ablation layer (D) or after the step of drawing a pattern. (Para, 0086). Therefore, the recitations of claims 1, 5, 7 and 18 are anticipated by the disclosures of Ogawa as discussed above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim(s) 2 , 4 , 6 , 8- 10, 14-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa as applied to claim s 1 , 5 , 7 and 18 in paragraph 3 above, and further in view of Fujiki (US 2022/0043352; IDS, 11/28/2023) . The disclosures of Ogawa as discussed in paragraph 3 above do teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 4, 8, 14. Moreover, as discussed above, Ogawa also discloses the intermediate layer may include other components such as a surfactant, an anti - blocking agent, a release agent, a UV absorber, a dye, and a pigment may be added to the intermediate layer (C) as long as the strength and flexibility are not impaired. (Para, 0066). Still, the disclosures of Ogawa as discussed above still fall short of teaching and/or suggest the limitation of claim 2, ‘ The flexographic printing plate precursor according to claim 1, wherein the interlayer further contains an oxygen scavenging agent or inorganic layered particles. ’ However, the disclosures of Ogawa further in view of the discl osures of Fuj i ki provide such teachings. Fujiki discloses a flexographic printing raw plate comprising at least a support, a photosensitive resin composition layer, an intermediate layer, and an infrared ablation layer sequentially stacked, wherein the intermediate layer comprises a hydrophilic resin (A) and a layered inorganic compound (B), and the intermediate layer has a film thickness of 2 μm or more and 30 μm or less. (Para, 0033-0035). Fujiki also discloses the flexographic printing raw plate according , the intermediate layer includes 0.1 to 20 parts by mass of the layered inorganic compound (B) per 100 parts by mass of the hydrophilic resin (A). (Para, 0037). The disclosures of Ogawa further in view of these disclosures of Fujiki teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 2 . Fujiki also discloses t he flexographic printing raw plate, the layered inorganic compound (B) is water-swellable synthetic mica. (Para, 0038 , 0189-0190 ). The disclosures of Ogawa further in view of this disclosures of Fujiki teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 4. Fujiki discloses the intermediate layer further comprises a water-dispersible latex (C). (Para, 0040). Fujiki discloses the intermediate layer comprises 5 to 45 parts by mass of the water-dispersion latex (C) per 100 parts by mass of the hydrophilic resin (A). (Para, 0045). The disclosures of Ogawa further in view of these disclosures of Fujiki teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim s 6 , 9, 15 and 17 . Moreover, the disclosures of Ogawa as dis cussed in paragraph 4 above, which teaches a method for producing a flexographic printing plate using a printing plate precursor, further in view of the se disclosures of Fujiki as discussed above also teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 10, 16 and 19. It would have been obvious to one of ord inary skill in the art at the tim e of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Ogawa further in view of the disclosures of Fujiki because both are directed to analogous flexographic printing plate precursors and Fujiki discloses including an inorganic compound in the intermediate layer imparts an oxygen blocking property to the layer and improves pin hole resistance of the layer. Claim(s) 3 , 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa as applied to claim s 1, 5, 7 and 18 in paragraph 3 above, and further in view of Yang (US 2004/0087687) . The disclosures of Ogawa as discussed in paragraph 3 fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 3, ‘ The flexographic printing plate precursor according to claim 2, wherein the oxygen scavenging agent is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of a phosphite compound, a phosphine compound, and a thioether compound. ’ How e ver, the disclosures of Ogawa further in view of the disclosures of Yang provide such teachings. Yang is directed to a photocurable composition. Yang discloses that is well known to use t rimethyl phosphite has been disclosed as a scavenger of aryl radicals in a curable epoxy system using an aryl iodonium cationic initiator . (Para, 0005). Yang also discloses that p hotocurable formulations containing ethylenically unsaturated monomers, a radical photoinitiator, and approximately 1% nonylated triphenylphosphite (as "stabilizer") have been used for making flexographic printing plates. (Para, 0005). The disclosures of Ogawa as discussed in paragraph 3 above further in view of these disclosures of Yang teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 3. Moreover, the disclosures of Ogawa as discussed in paragraph 3 above further in view of these disclosures of Yang teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 11 and 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Ogawa further in view of the disclosures of Yang because Yang discloses that it is known to add trimethyl phosphate as a scavenger to photocurable compositions to provide stabilization of the photocurable layer especially in methods of fabricating flexographic printing plates; therefore, providing one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of successfully fabricating a desired printing plate structure. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa and Yang as applied to claim s 3, 11 and 13 in paragraph 7 above, and further in view of Fujiki . The disclosures of Ogawa and Yang are relied upon as discussed in paragraph 7 above and the disclosures of Fujiki are relied upon as discussed in paragraph 6 above. The combination of Ogawa and Yang further in view of the disclosures of Fujiki teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the combination of Ogawa and Yang further in view of the disclosures of Fujiki because Ogawa, Yang and Fujiki are all directed to photocurable compositions useable in flexographic printing plate fabrication giving one of ordinary skill in the art a reasonable expectation of successfully fabricating a flexographic printing plate having desired properties and structure. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CALEEN O SULLIVAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6569 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri: 7:30 am-4:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dale Page can be reached at 571-270-7877 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CALEEN O SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899